We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Bourbon House New Orleans

Hostel | 1660 Annunciation Street, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA 70103

72.9% Overall Rating

150 out of 179 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2014)

"Very nice staff, Maya was my favourite, she is so helpful!! Liked the kitchen, also the location."

Read all AAE Bourbon House New Orleans reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellations must be 48 hours prior to the arrival date in order to avoid a charge for the 1st night, and on special events, can result in a 3 night charge.. All cancellations must be submitted through email. Holiday bookings (Mardi Gras, Jazz Fest, Voodoo Fest, July 4th, New Years, etc.) must be for at least 3 nights and must be canceled a full 7 days ahead of time

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Orleans?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New Orleans

Atlas House
17.80 USD

Hostel 98.0% 7 reviews
Auberge Nouvelle Orleans
18.36 USD

Hostel 93.6% 17 reviews
Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel
16.00 USD

Hostel 59.7% 196 reviews
India House Backpacker's Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 82.1% 260 reviews
Nola Jazz House
29.71 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 9 reviews
Days Inn New Orleans Airport
34.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.9%

Overall Rating

150 out of 179 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Bourbon House New Orleans'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
83.2%
Value
72.8%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 157 of 168 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The two staff are very friendly and nice people. Easy access to St.Charles Avenue, which is a main street in this city.

Disliked: The door of my room cannot be locked properly. They haven't change the lock yet. I feel unsafe of my properties.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Handel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Great value! Very social atmosphere, met lots of people. Air conditioning worked great, the free wifi was fast and reliable.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Oliver Daetwiler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

24 June 2012

Liked: Preis & Küche

Disliked: Sauberkeit Sanitäranlagen, Lage, Sehr schlechte Zimmer

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bourbon house was the best stay I have had so far in the u.s. nawlins is a classic place to stay and the hostel matches it perfectly. Only 5 mins on tram from city centre, next door to wallmart for cheap food and mike and tatiana (and friends) know everything about the city and all the best places to go whether your there one day or two weeks. Also eat as many free pancakes as you can possibly manage and watch euros on tele! Very clean as well If you can, mike and other staff members go out to best places in town and will make sure that your night is the best it possibly can be knowing all the busy places to be so much recommended

Disliked: N/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location near Magazine St. was perfect. A lot of small bars en restaurants are located near the hostel. Furthermore, the neighborhood (Garden District) is nice to have a relaxed walk. If you want to go to downtown New Orleans, French Quarter, Mississippi, etc. it will take you 5 minutes to walk to St. Charles Street and take the streetcar from there ($1,25) and you'll be in Canal St. in just several minutes. Very convenient! If you are a 'sightseeing' traveler, the location is perfect, you will get value for money and you are near the beautiful (and less touristic) Garden District, Magazine St. and St. Charles Street. Downtown is just a streetcar ride of less than 10 minutes and the neighborhood is safe. There are multiple showers in the hostel, so you do not have to wait in the morning, the beds are good and there are possibilities to make breakfast and you can use the kitchen facilities of the hostel. If you are in New Orleans to have a great time and to meet new people, I would strongly recommend going to this place. Mike, the guy who runs the place, is a boss! Working during the day, partying at night. He is a fun guy! He will pick you up from Amtrak/Greyhound, he will point out every interesting bar/restaurant/concert or whatever you are interested in. The staff is very easy-going. They will help you out with virtually anything. I missed my bus to the airport and Mike arranged transport for me which was great! I stayed 3 nights in New Orleans, and if I did not had a flight back home, I would definitely stayed there for some extra nights. The hostel has a cool outside area where you can relax, have a beer and meet new people. Moreover, the bars do not close before 5AM and the streetcar is still running to the hostel. So no expensive cab rides or whatsoever. New Orleans was a fun city and the stay at this hostel made it even better! I had a great time! - Location (near Magazine St and in Garden District) - Relaxed atmosphere - Friendliness of staff - Mike Szymczak; he is a boss! - There is always something going on... - Good beds, proper showers and the possibility to have a breakfast or use the kitchen facilities. - A computer for travellers without Smartphones or laptops. Good WiFi

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Moody

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Mike and the rest of the staff are terriffic. As soon as we arrived we felt very welcomed. The staff does a great job to provide a sense of community that appeals to international travellers as well as Americans. Met travellers of several different age groups and from America, Asia, Europe, Oceania, and Africa while there. Great experience, keep up the great work guys.

Disliked: Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, no complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everyone made me feel welcome and everyone was great very helpful

Disliked: no complantins it was a very good stay

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were really friendly and helpful, one of them got up at 7am to drive me to the greyhound station for free. hostel has a big outside area with tables, couchs and a bbq which is an awesome area to meet people and pre drink in. short taxi ride to french quarter & 2 minutes walk to Walmart. would definately stay again

Disliked: there are bugs, but it is in Louisiana so deal with it!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe, amazing kitchen, 5 mins walk from walmart (such a positive, bought food at walmart then cooked in the amazing kitchen, great combo), excellent helpful staff. We stayed 2 nights at Jo and Flo's Candlelight hostel in Treme before coming to this place, and this hostel was far superior to jo and flo's in so many ways...

Disliked: Location. It is quite a way out of town, it's a 10 minute walk to the streetcar which is unpredictable, then a 10 minute ride from the streetcar once you get on (we usually waited about 15 mins), then either 10 min walk to the middle of the french quarter, or 25 min walk to frenchman st. Not convenient really, taxi was kind of a must...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, good to meet other travellers. Nice outdoor seating area. Hostel can organise tours for you.

Disliked: Our room wasn't very nice. We booked a private room and when we checked in the beds weren't even made so we saw how grubby the mattress was, burn marks etc. However we saw another room that paid the same price and it was really nice, more like a hotel room, so maybe just luck of the draw. The bathroom near our room was quite dirty, hair all in the shower, but another bathroom was quite clean, so seems they don't really look after the back section of the hostel very well.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2012

Liked: We only paid about $50/night, which was a good price considering that most of the other places that were that cheap in New Orleans were pretty scary or way too far from anything. For $50 a night, you pretty much get what you pay for. The hostel was a little hard to see because they don't have a visible sign out front. The private room we booked actually had 2 extra bunk beds that we didn't need, but they didn't charge extra for them. We also had an air conditioned room and a fan, although the A/C wasn't always on. The bed was queen-sized and the bedding was decent (not gross or anything), which was nicer than we expected. The hostel has a free shuttle service from AmTrak and Greyhound. They also offer a discount on an airport shuttle ($15/person), which can save you a little extra on the cab fare, just make sure to schedule the shuttle 12 hours in advance. We missed the window on that and ended up paying $33 for United Cab to take the two of us, which wasn't too much more. The hostel isn't in a horrible location. It's a couple blocks from Magazine St, which has several shops, restaurants, bars, etc. There's also a Walmart supercenter close by. It's not super close to the French Quarter, but it's a 10-15 minute walk to the streetcar which can get you there. If you don't have a car, then prepare to do lots of walking. Or you can always take a cab. The hostel also apparently has bicycles for rent, $17/person or $15/each for 2 people. There is also free wi-fi and a small tv in the common area.

Disliked: Make sure that you use their bedding and not your own (don't use your own sheets, sleeping bag, etc) because it's against their policy and they will charge you a fee for doing so. However, do make sure that you bring your own towels, as the hostel does not provide them. They might have a couple extra ones laying around, but I remembered to bring ours at the last minute and I'm really glad we did. The bathrooms were honestly kind of gross. The one closest to us was obviously the most convenient to use, and probably one of the nicer ones, but the tile floor was always kind of slimy and the tub would have standing water in it after a couple of minutes in the shower. I wish I would have brought flipflops because I kept feeling like I was going to get athlete's foot. One of the other bathrooms was very musty and damp. The hostel office was very disorganized and messy. When I tried to pay after checking in, they had to unplug their internet connection from the modem and plug the credit card reader in. I guess they didn't realize that the modem needed to be reset, because they kept thinking my card was declined that night. They told us it was totally fine to pay the next day, and after talking to my bank, I learned that my card was never declined, their card reader was just not connected to the line. Fortunately, someone else on staff figured it out the next day and was able to run my card. We weren't aware that they charge 8% extra if you pay with a card instead of cash until we were checking in. Be warned that several travelers like to hang out in the back porch area (there are some tables and chairs out there), and they drink and smoke pot. The hostel doesn't really care what you do as long as it doesn't cause them any trouble, but if you have a problem with either of those things then you might not want to crash here. Nobody bothered us at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas L Bolduc

Alone

Events / festivals
Family Holiday

11 April 2012 Thomas L would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and orderly. The staff was very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. There were plenty of showers and bathrooms. I especially liked the other guests. There was such a diverse group of young people from around the world who were friendly, well educated, and interesting. I very much enjoyed my stay and would recommend this place to anyone who has an open mind and an open heart. There are obviously sacrifices one makes to stay somewhere for 20 dollars a night, but if you are aware of this you will not be disappointed. Good Luck

Disliked: Lockers were a bit small, but I managed to get most of my stuff secured. The kitchen was locked at midnight.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxing atmosphere in garden district location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily STONE

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly

Disliked: Too few bathroom facilities

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere- great to meet new people from all over the world, close to streetcar,walmart. Perfect position between french quarter and garden disctrict.

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Familys, lnely travellers and groups of youngsters all visited the hostel. It was quiet, filled with social people. The kitchen was open until midnight and offered free breakfast every morning. Great value for the money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice house-like setup. Decent location to garden district and downtown.

Disliked: Hard to find hostel. With bunk beds in small rooms, not a ton of free space. Living room is functional but not overly comfortable. If its not booked, grab a room fast, good enough!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2012

Liked: Only Female 6 room was good. They always clean the room and whole area.

Disliked: 1. Breakfast: They just gave us batter of pancake. 2. Shower room: Lack of shower room. Sometimes, there was no hot water. 3. Safety: The area is really unsafety. I heard from neighbor. 4. Staff: I don't know why many people said staff was really nice. I booked Only Female 6 room for 5 days. However, when I get there, they said I had to stay mixed room for a one day because only female room always was full. I was upset, but I just standed because I understood. After one day, I stayed Only female room for two days. However, after two days later, they said I had to change room again becasue 6 woman was coming the room! I was angry and I thought they should not get the booking if there is no room! They showed me the another room and the room was 4 female room. I thought the room is better than 6 female room but it wasn't. It was too small to keep baggage. So, I asked them to get a refund. While they refund, I knew there was no room in another hostel. So I said I just stayed in 4 female room. But they said they will not allow me to stay in this hostel even if I booked again through the Internet. They are so mean and cold-hearted person.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms and pancake all you can eat every morning!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wes and Denver really made our stay at bourbon house they were very helpful and gave fantastic advice!

Disliked: Room was very small Bunk beds very uncomfortable

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wes and Denver at the front desk were the best, they did everything they could to make our stay great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff extremely helpful and friendly with knowledge of the area and good tours to do - plus will book these tours for you. Great atmosphere with big patio and a living room for socialising with other guests. Free wifi worked throughout hostel. Free breakfast. Good location - in beautiful Garden district and 20min walk to the French quarter. Close to transport and grocery store and walking distance to cafes and bars of magazine street. Always plenty of hot water for showers no matter time of day

Disliked: 3-bed dorm quite small - not really enough room for 3 people with big suitcases. Sound tended to travel so if not going out the noise could keep you up

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and homey feel of the hostel.

Disliked: The staff were hard work and did not go the extra mile to help.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DANTE MAURO BOSIO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2011 DANTE MAURO would recommend this property

Liked: At the top: the friendly staff Second: cleaning Third: atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing..naybe, a bit far for french quarter buit ok..there is the street car so nice...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good value, clean, bbq

Disliked: not enough bathrooms, area is a bit dodgy so you cant walk around at night