We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Bourbon House New Orleans

Hostel | 1660 Annunciation Street, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA 70103

72.9% Overall Rating

150 out of 179 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2014)

"Very nice staff, Maya was my favourite, she is so helpful!! Liked the kitchen, also the location."

Read all AAE Bourbon House New Orleans reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellations must be 48 hours prior to the arrival date in order to avoid a charge for the 1st night, and on special events, can result in a 3 night charge.. All cancellations must be submitted through email. Holiday bookings (Mardi Gras, Jazz Fest, Voodoo Fest, July 4th, New Years, etc.) must be for at least 3 nights and must be canceled a full 7 days ahead of time

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Orleans?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New Orleans

Atlas House
19.80 USD

Hostel 98.0% 7 reviews
Auberge Nouvelle Orleans
18.36 USD

Hostel 93.6% 17 reviews
Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel
16.00 USD

Hostel 61.9% 195 reviews
India House Backpacker's Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 82.1% 260 reviews
Nola Jazz House
29.71 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 9 reviews
Days Inn New Orleans Airport
34.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.9%

Overall Rating

150 out of 179 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Bourbon House New Orleans'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
83.2%
Value
72.8%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 157 of 168 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Seunarine

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 December 2012 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: The home efect and everything else that goes with it

Disliked: Nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

David Don-Lopez

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012

Liked: The courtyard

Disliked: The "breakfast" (only a big bowl with pancake dough), the bathrooms were not so much clean

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lesleyann Fleming

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2012 Lesleyann would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful and friendly staff. Particularly Jason who upgraded us so that we could check in early after a long bus journey. Close to bus stop and is a short ride to the French Quarter. Short walk to Walmart.

Disliked: Lesleyann left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nobuhiro Maruta

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2012 Nobuhiro would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location( garden district)

Disliked: staff is not very nice

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff Jason and Chad were fantastic. They were helpful, welcoming and friendly. The outdoor area was a great place to chill out and made it easy to meet other solo travelers.

Disliked: Sharing bathrooms with other dorms meant that sometimes there was a line.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities and cleanliness.

Disliked: Could be a little closer to the French Quarter... :P

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff, nice backyard patio, free wifi, kitchen, laundry room

Disliked: No lockers or secure places to store your stuff. At times (i.e., mornings & evenings) there were not enough washrooms to accomodate the number of people staying there

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff (especially Jason!), nice backyard patio with a cool atmosphere, all the amenities (free wifi, kitchen, laundry room, etc.)

Disliked: No lockers/places to lock your stuff

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Master

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 November 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff, clean room, nice New Orleans-y atmoshpere with the smoking courtyard in the back. Did I mention great staff?

Disliked: My only gripe was that I didn't have a bathroom closer to my room. I was in a cute room upstairs, but the nearest bathroom was on the main floor off the common room area. When the lights are off in the common area, it makes for a difficult time to get to (especially if you've 'enoyed New Orleans to the fullest,' if you know what I mean...).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andreas Maier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2012 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff members, They answer every questions and give recommendations, they also organize activities with the hostel guests. Good Hostel to meet new people

Disliked: Not the newest facility but ok for the price.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very hippie-ish

Disliked: Ventilators in the room that are too close to the double bed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Bonavires

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: It was really cute! Like a big house with a garden. Jason, the owner, has been great! he helped us a lot with ours planning and organizing.

Disliked: Nothinr really. It is not in the french quarter but not really far either (30 min walk) and it is very close to the garden district and Magazine st.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Lowrey

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. I made reservations for next week at this place. Priceless!

Disliked: Nothing. It was quiet and very easy to get around here!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Britt Hanson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

18 September 2012 Britt would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly, they were more than happy to answer questions and book taxis and tours they are by far the best staff I have found at a hostel especially Chad. The hostel had a really homely feel which was nice and the beefs were comfy too.

Disliked: Bit hard to find at first and the airport shuttle does not service it which sucks!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, social atmosphere and staff were friendly and helpful - excellent work from Chad and Jason. I had a great time!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rory Underhill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2012 Rory would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, very nice hostel, brilliant atmosphere, very helpful and friendly staff, especially Jason, made my stay really fun and helped out with the tours. Perfect combination of party hostel and relaxed place. Highly reccomend!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Tuson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel manager (Jason) was exceptionally helpful and helped promote a good vibe..

Disliked: Read carefully the age rules concerning dorms. Got myself in a wee spot of bother over that.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Employee and new manager were very friendly and helpful. Really nice guys that want to give you al the information they have.

Disliked: you have to pay for a locker key (?!)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice location near the buses and street car lines, and nice space with backyard picnic tables.

Disliked: I couldn't figure out what breakfast was - I went into the kitchen each morning, and heard there was supposed to be French toast or something, but couldn't figure out where or what was supposed to do. Also, the website had said there was a discounted NOLA shuttle from the airport for $17, but apparently that shuttle service is on holiday, and the shuttle service at the airport did not know anything about a discount - they told me it was $28 one-way. If I had at least known in advance, I could have mapped out public transportation better. Instead, it took me 2 hours on public transportation, so I was late for an important meeting, which I would have scheduled for later if I had known the shuttle was not an option.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, meet other guests from different countries, pretty good location for main tourist areas, enjoyed pancake breakfasts, rooms clean, tidy and comfortable. Good tv and free access computer

Disliked: Some rooms a bit small for number of beds and toilets/showers really busy

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good atmosphere, one of the best places I've stayed when it comes to meeting people!

Disliked: It was at a bad location - word on the street is that you should walk around there at night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is clean and the staff is friendly. It's in a good location, there's lots of restaurants and bars nearby, and a liquor store within a couple of blocks.

Disliked: We stayed at the India House Hostel for a few days before coming here to AAE and by comparison this place is a bit characterless. On the other hand, there are no bugs in the kitchen.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a really great time at this hostel. The staff is super friendly and helpful. Its a great place to meet an connect with other travlers. we met a lot of great people there. we would come back to that hostel for sure :)

Disliked: --

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pancakes in the morning - the best way to get your day started. the price is good for what you get. the hostel is located in the beautiful garden district.

Disliked: if you want to be close to the French quarter this hostel is not the right adress. if you don't like to.make party this hostel might also be the wrong choice. there are a lot of drunken and loud people in the evening and night. the bathrooms stink rotten. they are disgusting. look for the cleaner bathroom in the back. i saw a cockroach.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carmen Juarez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2012 Carmen would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, nice tour of the place before you get stuck in. A 20ish minute walk to the French Quarter, plenty to see and do around the place. Good mix of fellow travellers, nice community vibe. And who doesn't like free pancake breakfasts.

Disliked: A tiny bit far from town, although it is in a lovely neighbourhood.