HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Bourbon House New Orleans

Hostel | 1660 Annunciation Street, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA 70103

75.9% Overall Rating

145 out of 173 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

Jack Goodwin thinks…

"Atmosphere was fantastic met so many amazing new friends Caleb is the man to talk to so friendly and helpful. My favorite hostel employee ever by far."

Read all AAE Bourbon House New Orleans reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellations must be 48 hours prior to the arrival date in order to avoid a charge for the 1st night, and on special events, can result in a 3 night charge.. All cancellations must be submitted through email. Holiday bookings (Mardi Gras, Jazz Fest, Voodoo Fest, July 4th, New Years, etc.) must be for at least 3 nights and must be canceled a full 7 days ahead of time

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Orleans?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New Orleans

Atlas House
20.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Auberge Nouvelle Orleans
39.88 USD

Hostel 91.9% 6 reviews
Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 62.3% 188 reviews
Casa Vecchia
30.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
India House Backpacker's Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 78.7% 253 reviews
Days Inn New Orleans Airport
34.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.9%

Overall Rating

145 out of 173 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Bourbon House New Orleans'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
70.4%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
73.6%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 152 of 162 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities and cleanliness.

Disliked: Could be a little closer to the French Quarter... :P

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff, nice backyard patio, free wifi, kitchen, laundry room

Disliked: No lockers or secure places to store your stuff. At times (i.e., mornings & evenings) there were not enough washrooms to accomodate the number of people staying there

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff (especially Jason!), nice backyard patio with a cool atmosphere, all the amenities (free wifi, kitchen, laundry room, etc.)

Disliked: No lockers/places to lock your stuff

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Master

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 November 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff, clean room, nice New Orleans-y atmoshpere with the smoking courtyard in the back. Did I mention great staff?

Disliked: My only gripe was that I didn't have a bathroom closer to my room. I was in a cute room upstairs, but the nearest bathroom was on the main floor off the common room area. When the lights are off in the common area, it makes for a difficult time to get to (especially if you've 'enoyed New Orleans to the fullest,' if you know what I mean...).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andreas Maier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2012 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff members, They answer every questions and give recommendations, they also organize activities with the hostel guests. Good Hostel to meet new people

Disliked: Not the newest facility but ok for the price.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very hippie-ish

Disliked: Ventilators in the room that are too close to the double bed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Bonavires

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: It was really cute! Like a big house with a garden. Jason, the owner, has been great! he helped us a lot with ours planning and organizing.

Disliked: Nothinr really. It is not in the french quarter but not really far either (30 min walk) and it is very close to the garden district and Magazine st.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Lowrey

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. I made reservations for next week at this place. Priceless!

Disliked: Nothing. It was quiet and very easy to get around here!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Britt Hanson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

18 September 2012 Britt would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly, they were more than happy to answer questions and book taxis and tours they are by far the best staff I have found at a hostel especially Chad. The hostel had a really homely feel which was nice and the beefs were comfy too.

Disliked: Bit hard to find at first and the airport shuttle does not service it which sucks!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, social atmosphere and staff were friendly and helpful - excellent work from Chad and Jason. I had a great time!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rory Underhill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2012 Rory would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, very nice hostel, brilliant atmosphere, very helpful and friendly staff, especially Jason, made my stay really fun and helped out with the tours. Perfect combination of party hostel and relaxed place. Highly reccomend!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Tuson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel manager (Jason) was exceptionally helpful and helped promote a good vibe..

Disliked: Read carefully the age rules concerning dorms. Got myself in a wee spot of bother over that.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Employee and new manager were very friendly and helpful. Really nice guys that want to give you al the information they have.

Disliked: you have to pay for a locker key (?!)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice location near the buses and street car lines, and nice space with backyard picnic tables.

Disliked: I couldn't figure out what breakfast was - I went into the kitchen each morning, and heard there was supposed to be French toast or something, but couldn't figure out where or what was supposed to do. Also, the website had said there was a discounted NOLA shuttle from the airport for $17, but apparently that shuttle service is on holiday, and the shuttle service at the airport did not know anything about a discount - they told me it was $28 one-way. If I had at least known in advance, I could have mapped out public transportation better. Instead, it took me 2 hours on public transportation, so I was late for an important meeting, which I would have scheduled for later if I had known the shuttle was not an option.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, meet other guests from different countries, pretty good location for main tourist areas, enjoyed pancake breakfasts, rooms clean, tidy and comfortable. Good tv and free access computer

Disliked: Some rooms a bit small for number of beds and toilets/showers really busy

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good atmosphere, one of the best places I've stayed when it comes to meeting people!

Disliked: It was at a bad location - word on the street is that you should walk around there at night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is clean and the staff is friendly. It's in a good location, there's lots of restaurants and bars nearby, and a liquor store within a couple of blocks.

Disliked: We stayed at the India House Hostel for a few days before coming here to AAE and by comparison this place is a bit characterless. On the other hand, there are no bugs in the kitchen.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a really great time at this hostel. The staff is super friendly and helpful. Its a great place to meet an connect with other travlers. we met a lot of great people there. we would come back to that hostel for sure :)

Disliked: --

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pancakes in the morning - the best way to get your day started. the price is good for what you get. the hostel is located in the beautiful garden district.

Disliked: if you want to be close to the French quarter this hostel is not the right adress. if you don't like to.make party this hostel might also be the wrong choice. there are a lot of drunken and loud people in the evening and night. the bathrooms stink rotten. they are disgusting. look for the cleaner bathroom in the back. i saw a cockroach.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carmen Juarez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2012 Carmen would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, nice tour of the place before you get stuck in. A 20ish minute walk to the French Quarter, plenty to see and do around the place. Good mix of fellow travellers, nice community vibe. And who doesn't like free pancake breakfasts.

Disliked: A tiny bit far from town, although it is in a lovely neighbourhood.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The two staff are very friendly and nice people. Easy access to St.Charles Avenue, which is a main street in this city.

Disliked: The door of my room cannot be locked properly. They haven't change the lock yet. I feel unsafe of my properties.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Handel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Great value! Very social atmosphere, met lots of people. Air conditioning worked great, the free wifi was fast and reliable.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Oliver Daetwiler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

24 June 2012

Liked: Preis & Küche

Disliked: Sauberkeit Sanitäranlagen, Lage, Sehr schlechte Zimmer

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bourbon house was the best stay I have had so far in the u.s. nawlins is a classic place to stay and the hostel matches it perfectly. Only 5 mins on tram from city centre, next door to wallmart for cheap food and mike and tatiana (and friends) know everything about the city and all the best places to go whether your there one day or two weeks. Also eat as many free pancakes as you can possibly manage and watch euros on tele! Very clean as well If you can, mike and other staff members go out to best places in town and will make sure that your night is the best it possibly can be knowing all the busy places to be so much recommended

Disliked: N/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location near Magazine St. was perfect. A lot of small bars en restaurants are located near the hostel. Furthermore, the neighborhood (Garden District) is nice to have a relaxed walk. If you want to go to downtown New Orleans, French Quarter, Mississippi, etc. it will take you 5 minutes to walk to St. Charles Street and take the streetcar from there ($1,25) and you'll be in Canal St. in just several minutes. Very convenient! If you are a 'sightseeing' traveler, the location is perfect, you will get value for money and you are near the beautiful (and less touristic) Garden District, Magazine St. and St. Charles Street. Downtown is just a streetcar ride of less than 10 minutes and the neighborhood is safe. There are multiple showers in the hostel, so you do not have to wait in the morning, the beds are good and there are possibilities to make breakfast and you can use the kitchen facilities of the hostel. If you are in New Orleans to have a great time and to meet new people, I would strongly recommend going to this place. Mike, the guy who runs the place, is a boss! Working during the day, partying at night. He is a fun guy! He will pick you up from Amtrak/Greyhound, he will point out every interesting bar/restaurant/concert or whatever you are interested in. The staff is very easy-going. They will help you out with virtually anything. I missed my bus to the airport and Mike arranged transport for me which was great! I stayed 3 nights in New Orleans, and if I did not had a flight back home, I would definitely stayed there for some extra nights. The hostel has a cool outside area where you can relax, have a beer and meet new people. Moreover, the bars do not close before 5AM and the streetcar is still running to the hostel. So no expensive cab rides or whatsoever. New Orleans was a fun city and the stay at this hostel made it even better! I had a great time! - Location (near Magazine St and in Garden District) - Relaxed atmosphere - Friendliness of staff - Mike Szymczak; he is a boss! - There is always something going on... - Good beds, proper showers and the possibility to have a breakfast or use the kitchen facilities. - A computer for travellers without Smartphones or laptops. Good WiFi

Disliked: Nothing!