We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel

Hostel | 2249 Carondelet St., New Orleans, Louisiana, USA 70130

56.7% Overall Rating

128 out of 203 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/05/2014)

Rachel Bartlett thinks…

"I liked the ease to come and go and have opportunity to socialize in the backyard patio. Also I enjoyed the separate male and female dorms."

Read all Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

**Only Visa and Mastercard credit or debit cards accepted for reservations. A first night deposit in addition to the 10% internet reservation deposit will be charged to your card on all private rooms, and on dorm beds during holiday and special event periods. A 5 day advance cancellation notice is required for a full refund of this first night deposit on all private rooms, and on dorm beds during holiday and special event periods.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Orleans?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New Orleans

Auberge Nouvelle Orleans
21.00 USD

Hostel 93.1% 26 reviews
Atlas House
18.00 USD

Hostel 96.4% 11 reviews
Garden District House
18.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
IHSP French Quarter House
30.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
India House Backpacker's Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 82.5% 261 reviews
Nola Jazz House
23.34 USD

Guesthouse 95.1% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
56.7%

Overall Rating

128 out of 203 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel'

Atmosphere
54.4%
Location
69.6%
Facilities
49.6%
Cleanliness
45.6%
Staff
64.8%
Value
54.4%
Safety
58.4%
Refine your results Showing 137 of 153 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big private room

Disliked: No Internet in the Rom

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, close to streetcar, big room

Disliked: room was dirty for a few days, backed up pluming, ectc.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Carr

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2015 James would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, spacious and pleasant grounds.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2015

Liked: NOTHING

Disliked: EVERYTHING. Let me make a short list of the top reasons: visible mould patches the size of your hand on some of the mattresses, blood stains in the mattresses the size of your hand, the bathrooms were never cleaned in 3 days whilst i was there and there were 2 showers for 20 beds, there were local homeless people staying there, the location is in a rough area, there is no security at all (people from the streets actually walk into the room). Please don't stay here.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Diane Holland

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2014

Liked: Absolutely nothing

Disliked: Everything

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014

Liked: Spacious Rooms

Disliked: Uneasiness in regards to security

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rachel Bartlett

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

06 May 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the ease to come and go and have opportunity to socialize in the backyard patio. Also I enjoyed the separate male and female dorms.

Disliked: I didn't like the lack of hand soup and sanitation in the rooms.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Marcus Hansson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2014 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: We have read so many bad reviews about this place but it was really nice. Big rooms.

Disliked: The reputation

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful (but not overly friendly) staff despite the annoyingly restrictive check in times. Clean enough. Large dorms were fine.

Disliked: Nothing particularly interesting in terms of atmosphere. No lockers for property safety. Location would be fine if the trolley wasn't broken, which it was - and no one mentioned that too us or told us how best to get into town. Lots of walking!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014

Liked: -

Disliked: Very bad wifi, no lockers, no breakfast included, old rooms (beds and washrooms)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shane Plum

Alone

Events / festivals

09 April 2014 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: It was full of friendly people

Disliked: It was a little bit out of the way

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big garden and great price

Disliked: They never clean the place, it was pretty damn dirty when I was there. Kitchen was big but there was only one stove that barely worked

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2014

Liked: Staff is very kind and helpful.

Disliked: The room was very dirty. They overbooked one of the beds .

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014

Liked: Helpful staff.

Disliked: Filthy rooms. Covered with bugs. Odd but helpful staff.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Hui Li

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

04 January 2014 Hui would recommend this property

Liked: Close to street cars and then you can move around almost everywhere in town. They also provide towels, good for travelers who like their light luggage travel. Nice garden areas even on this winter time.

Disliked: Bed is kind of soft and once you lie on you are almost wrapped up. Also it makes squeezing noises with each move.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

tony brown

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2013 tony would recommend this property

Liked: In a good area, not far from town, streetcar, bars and food close by. Two courtyards to meet people.

Disliked: No lockers, or shelves to put your clothes.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Devon Bell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Devon would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and walking distance to Bourbon street.

Disliked: Too many creepy guys living there and they were all long term residents. Weird guys drinking everyday at 10am.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roxann Lopez

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

13 November 2013 Roxann would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! We needed a place that was affordable to stay at and in a good location. This is one block from the St. Charles streetcar and is very affordable. We were surprised our room came with a kitchenette too!

Disliked: The bathroom had a slight odor. I think from age. But it wasn't terrible.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2013

Liked: Don´t expect luxury, but apart from that everything was clean. Be aware, that there are not only travellers, but also long-term residences, but also, they were nice.

Disliked: The staff in the girl´s dorm was very nice, helpful and it was always clean.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff Clay and Claudia is very helpful. and it's close to the garden district, very short walk to the Streetcar.

Disliked: Wifi doesn't work good!! Not clean, cockroach is crazy. rug looks nasty.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sisse Bertelsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Sisse would recommend this property

Liked: For a hostel this was nice and clean and the reception were very helpful! It's close to downtown, very easy to take a street car to Bourbon Street.

Disliked: A few of the older men around the place liked giving compliments to young women, which at times made me slightly uncomfortable. It may not be the perfect spot for women travelling alone. That being said, nothing actually happened and in general my stay was quite pleasant.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

10 September 2013

Liked: The highlight of my stay was leaving as soon as I could.

Disliked: It's a complete dump, the rooms are not clean, the staff who work there are drunk middle aged men who live on the premises. The showers and bathroom were unhygienic and hadn't clearly not been cleaned in a good while. The desk staff were unfriendly and unwelcoming and the beds were crawling with bed bugs. A complete shock and disgrace. The place needs to be thoroughly looked at and inspected, I'd prefer to see it shut down as it is not fit for staying in. Though the nightly rate was cheap, I still felt it was far too expensive for what it was offering. The staff were unenthusiastic and didn't give a care about anything in that hostel. The rooms felt unsafe and I was very apprehensive about leaving any of my belongings in the room as the door didn't lock properly. The room we stayed in was also freezing with air con we couldn't turn off. The linen we were given were filthy and any sheets on the bed looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a while. After our first night we were ready to leave. It was a hell hole.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the st. charles trolley. Trolley runs through the night. So easy access after a late night out. Had a microwave, refrigerator, towels, toiletries etc. Has free parking, which is great for New Orleans, where parking can be upto 40$ overnight.

Disliked: Although its close to St. Charles, walk the opposite direction and you'll be right in the middle of a ghetto. Unfortunately I drove in that way and already had a preemptive dislike toward the place. But once I entered the place its not too bad. Its old but is good enough if you are used to staying in hostels.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2013

Liked: It was the cheapest place to stay that still had beds available for Jazzfest. Pretty much the only reason my friend and I stayed there, although the location is alright.

Disliked: It's a poorly laid out compound and none of the staff showed us where anything was, not even our rooms. It took us until right before our stay ended to find out there even was a kitchen. The bathroom in the women's dorm room leaves absolutely no privacy, and while I'm not a princess, if you have to go at 3 in the morning, you will be waking everyone up. And no one enjoys that. Everything else was pretty lackluster and underwhelming.