HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House New Orleans Hostel

2249 Carondelet Street, LA 70130, New Orleans, USA

Atmosphere 57%

Cleanliness 51%

Facilities 53%

Location 70%

Safety 63%

Staff 63%

Value 62%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 1.00USD

Important Information

**Only Visa and Mastercard credit or debit cards accepted for reservations. A first night deposit in addition to the 10% internet reservation deposit will be charged to your card on all private rooms, and on dorm beds during holiday and special event periods. A 5 day advance cancellation notice is required for a full refund of this first night deposit on all private rooms, and on dorm beds during holiday and special event periods.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Orleans?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 57%

Cleanliness 51%

Facilities 53%

Location 70%

Safety 63%

Staff 63%

Value 62%

Showing 41-22 of 22 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: One thing a really liked about the place was that people were very nice! Both the travelers and some of the staff. and there was free coffee in the morningsIt was close to the city with a bus that stopped 3 minutes away and that drove 24 hours a day

Disliked: However, I must admit that I have never been in a place less clean ( and I've been backpacking a lot around the world). My sheets had so many holes and marks and spots. The rooms were dirty and smelt bad. It wasn't possible to open any windows and there were people smoking inside the rooms, so after my days there I nearly felt like I had Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease.It didn't seem to be a safe area, I would never walk alone there a night

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: The location was only about a 15-20 min. walk to the French Quarter, which was a something we did not expect.

Disliked: The staff was not very helpful or friendly. There isn't any indoor social area, which given the chilly weather was something we could have used. The bunker beds were not very sturdy, and one of them actually broke. Overall, the experience was average: not the greatest value for your money but not horrible given what you pay.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Rooms are huge and I liked the idea behind it...intergated kitchenette with fridge would make a longer stay possible. Well connected to the city by streetcar and to greyhound station/Amtrak by bus (route 91)

Disliked: interiour needs maintenance ! plugs are not fixed, air condition is connected with loose cables, toilet bowl moves while in use, bath tub isolation doesnt work, faucet doesnt worked well a.s.o. But in the end is was charming in a way...

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Everything. It was so disgusting that we didn't even feel comfortable to stay the night we paid for. The staff didn't even apologise or care. BED BUGS!!!!!

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Great hostel. Not the usual hostel atmosphere but great if you want a cheep quite stay. Location is good about 15mins from downtown. The area is a little bad, but nothing that can't be overcome with a little bit of common sense. Always get a cab at night though particularly if your on your own. Apart from that the hostel is great

Disliked: Location, but not too big a deal

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The place is nice, hanging out in the backyard is recommended. The locals you'll meet there may seem a bit sketchy, but are quite nice. Don't believe all of the housekeeper's stories! There's a cool pub (Igor's) around the corner where you can also do your laundry :)

Disliked: Bedbugs! Poor wi-fi service.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay in the Marquette house, the staff is very friendly and they will always be there for you. I had a better time than if i had stayed at a Hotel, since i was traveling alone, i had the opportunity to make a few friends.

Disliked: The location and place might seem insecure, but honestly my Boss was staying at the Hyatt and she was paying 340 dollars per night, i payed 120 dollars for 5 days.......so seriously how can you complain?

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Friendly environment and nice courtyard to chat around

Disliked: Presence of mosquitos

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: There is a different group of people here than the usual internationals you find in most hostels, which was a nice change. More locals who were keen for a chat. Cheap as, also.

Disliked: No lockers. WI fi was pretty weak.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the garden

Disliked: the bed bugs

Check Availability