We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel

Hostel | 2249 Carondelet St., New Orleans, Louisiana, USA 70130

61.9% Overall Rating

123 out of 195 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/05/2014)

Rachel Bartlett thinks…

"I liked the ease to come and go and have opportunity to socialize in the backyard patio. Also I enjoyed the separate male and female dorms."

Read all Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

**Only Visa and Mastercard credit or debit cards accepted for reservations. A first night deposit in addition to the 10% internet reservation deposit will be charged to your card on all private rooms, and on dorm beds during holiday and special event periods. A 5 day advance cancellation notice is required for a full refund of this first night deposit on all private rooms, and on dorm beds during holiday and special event periods.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Orleans?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New Orleans

Auberge Nouvelle Orleans
23.76 USD

Hostel 93.6% 17 reviews
Atlas House
14.99 USD

Hostel 99.4% 5 reviews
AAE Bourbon House New Orleans
15.40 USD

Hostel 72.9% 179 reviews
India House Backpacker's Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 82.1% 260 reviews
Nola Jazz House
29.71 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 9 reviews
Days Inn New Orleans Airport
34.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.9%

Overall Rating

123 out of 195 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
54.4%
Staff
71.2%
Value
59.2%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 131 of 146 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

08 May 2010

Liked: Nothing, it was disgusting

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a busy spring break when I stayed and it was the only available hostel in town. I can't comment on any of the other rooms (everyone else seemed happy) but just do not book the male only dorms.Y'just know it's going to be crap when an obvious heroin addict, surrounded by caged budgies, checks you in. I found my room in the men's dorm and whoa daddy... A bald, shirtless moustached man lay in bed next to mine, hand down his pants, smiling maniacally at the kids TV show "Barney" and was smoking a giant cigar beneath the "No Smoking No Exucses" sign. The cigar smelt as tho it contained human faeces. Even inside the place looked as tho it had been hit by the floods, 'cept I was assured by locals this was high ground. The bathroom had and inch of black slippery filth on the floor and the waste paper basket was full off bloodied tissues and so much matted dirty, bloody dental floss hung out one side of the bin it looked like one of the dudes from zz top's beards. The lockers nor any of the doors locked... it didn't inspire a great deal of confidence.After one night and a whole bunch of weird bites appearing in my armpit, I decided to bite the bullet, get a real hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Miranda Whitehead

15 March 2010 Miranda would recommend this property

Liked: I love the location of Marquette House. This is my second stay with them. They have a property across the street from the main house that is all private rooms, and they are HUGE. I stayed alone in a room that could easily house 5. Small kitchenette, too. It's kept pretty clean, but I shared my room with a little mouse who lived under the fridge. Since I didn't keep food out on the counters, it didn't bother me...but I know it may be a turn off for some. Also, the courtyard is great. Save your money for the awesome food in New Orleans and stay here. Plus, Igors is around the corner in St Charles Ave, and that place is a local's hangout that ROCKS.

Disliked: Miranda left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The private rooms are excellent - the doorms are spacious I would reccomend booking a private room here before looking at other hostels in the area especially at Mardi Gras time. For Female travellers there is a tricky resident who I would be careful of which management should address , other that that it is a good place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michelle Fisher

23 February 2010 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Marquette house is close to Igor's and right off St. Charles, prime location. The staff are Awesome, I love love love staying there!

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

22 February 2010

Liked: Avoid at any cost.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

13 February 2010

Liked: Very little to like. Scary place and not female-friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Is okay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 December 2009

Liked: I thought the people were sweet, despite their obvious problems

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 November 2009

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is pretty basic and wouldn't be to bad if you're travelling in a group. I was on my own and didn't meet anyone other than 2 members of staff the whole time i was there. Location is pretty good right near the street car but i would still be careful walking around the neighbourhoods on your own. Kitchen facilities are poor.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 July 2009

Liked: It was pretty boring staying here and the people around the hostel seem like very seedy characters. I felt constantly I had to watch out for myself/my belongings.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Warren Jones

23 February 2009 Warren would recommend this property

Liked: Great price

Disliked: Warren left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

David Schaefer

16 February 2009 David would recommend this property

Liked: I rented my own private apartment for $50/night. I did not stay in the dorm area. The apartment was an excellent value, with a full kitchen, couch, table, and chairs, and it was located just one block from the street car that could take me downtown or uptown to Tulane University--perfect for my needs. A supermarket is one block away. I was very comfortable and slept well each night.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

06 January 2009

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

barry stephenson

05 January 2009 barry would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location, affordable, and provided all that I needed for a great trip.

Disliked: barry left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

31 December 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big Space.Quite.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 October 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to Chase bank ATM and trolley to take you into the French Quarter, we didn't need a car to explore the city. A convenience store near buy had hot breakfast. Spacious room with own bathroom, kitchen sink and full size refrigerator. Located in scenic garden district, nice, historic atmosphere of the building and garden.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Davide Brugna

23 August 2008

Liked: the worst of the hostel!!

Disliked: Davide left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 June 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although it needs a major remodeling, bathrooms and especially the linen were clean. Although it should be open between 12 pm and 5 pm, the staff was quite helpful. Although just a few block away from a very poor neighborhood, it is not in a bad neighborhood and only one block from St. Charles St and affluent Garden District. Although there is no common room, there is a plenty of space to hangout outdoors with tables and chairs. The staff assigns people to seperate rooms so you have your privacy: I was the only one in my 4 bed dorm room. Alghough matresses are far from being orthopedic, they are quite comfortable: Definitely a good place to sleep well: no noise whatsoever. Although parking lot could be fenced, nothing happened to my car. Although could located closer to the French District, it is only one block from the St. Charles Streetcar Line.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 June 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Allen & Tann are great. Even the house keeping staff is responsive

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Elizabeth Michael-Trumbull

28 May 2008 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Location and easy to find from highway

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Moqi Xu

06 May 2008 Moqi would recommend this property

Liked: People

Disliked: Moqi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Barkley

05 May 2008 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The Management, crew and guest.

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.