We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel

Hostel | 2249 Carondelet St., New Orleans, Louisiana, USA 70130

59.7% Overall Rating

131 out of 207 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/05/2014)

Rachel Bartlett thinks…

"I liked the ease to come and go and have opportunity to socialize in the backyard patio. Also I enjoyed the separate male and female dorms."

Read all Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

**Only Visa and Mastercard credit or debit cards accepted for reservations. A first night deposit in addition to the 10% internet reservation deposit will be charged to your card on all private rooms, and on dorm beds during holiday and special event periods. A 5 day advance cancellation notice is required for a full refund of this first night deposit on all private rooms, and on dorm beds during holiday and special event periods.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Orleans?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New Orleans

Auberge Nouvelle Orleans
19.38 USD

Hostel 94.1% 27 reviews
Atlas House
17.80 USD

Hostel 95.0% 15 reviews
Garden District House
18.00 USD

Hostel 89.5% 3 reviews
IHSP French Quarter House
28.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
India House Backpacker's Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 82.2% 262 reviews
Nola Jazz House
18.34 USD

Guesthouse 94.7% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.7%

Overall Rating

131 out of 207 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
48.8%
Staff
65.6%
Value
58.4%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 139 of 157 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rodrigo Lopez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2011 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the Garden district and St. Charles av. Which is very convinient. it was ok.

Disliked: There was a cockroach next to the shower for 3 days.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was hit or miss with the staff, as well as with other people staying there, but i planned on mostly being off on my own anyways. it was very cheap, close to the streetcar line (altho, partly closed for mardis gras parades)

Disliked: nothing stands out as being bad. it was what you'd expect for low budget hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people i met there! The location is also excellent, just a short walk away from St Charles avenue and its streetcar. Pretty close to the city center (i've been walking from Frenchmen street to the hostel late at night several times, and it's just about a 20-30min walk through such a fantastic city)

Disliked: - the poor quality of the wi-fi signal - the pack of guys from argentina who invaded the dorm and invited a lot of girls in there one night... and didn't share !!! ;-)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and good for private rooms with a group of friends.

Disliked: Not the most meet and great friendly.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ritu Wadhwa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2010 Ritu would recommend this property

Liked: Location would the biggest plus point.

Disliked: Cleanliness. Crowd was not as good as in some other International hostels. The place itself is gawky.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2010

Liked: I was lucky to have a dorm all to myself and that's why I stayed

Disliked: Very dirty and run down. Deplorable kitchen facilities. No proper place to sit and read. No laundry or computer facilities.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2010

Liked: Free wifi

Disliked: not very clean, showers were not hot,

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

TANYA BEACOM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2010 TANYA would recommend this property

Liked: had a great laugh here, great for meeting people to go out, and very relaxed during the day. only downside, no telly for when your hungover

Disliked: TANYA left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

08 May 2010

Liked: Nothing, it was disgusting

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a busy spring break when I stayed and it was the only available hostel in town. I can't comment on any of the other rooms (everyone else seemed happy) but just do not book the male only dorms.Y'just know it's going to be crap when an obvious heroin addict, surrounded by caged budgies, checks you in. I found my room in the men's dorm and whoa daddy... A bald, shirtless moustached man lay in bed next to mine, hand down his pants, smiling maniacally at the kids TV show "Barney" and was smoking a giant cigar beneath the "No Smoking No Exucses" sign. The cigar smelt as tho it contained human faeces. Even inside the place looked as tho it had been hit by the floods, 'cept I was assured by locals this was high ground. The bathroom had and inch of black slippery filth on the floor and the waste paper basket was full off bloodied tissues and so much matted dirty, bloody dental floss hung out one side of the bin it looked like one of the dudes from zz top's beards. The lockers nor any of the doors locked... it didn't inspire a great deal of confidence.After one night and a whole bunch of weird bites appearing in my armpit, I decided to bite the bullet, get a real hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Miranda Whitehead

15 March 2010 Miranda would recommend this property

Liked: I love the location of Marquette House. This is my second stay with them. They have a property across the street from the main house that is all private rooms, and they are HUGE. I stayed alone in a room that could easily house 5. Small kitchenette, too. It's kept pretty clean, but I shared my room with a little mouse who lived under the fridge. Since I didn't keep food out on the counters, it didn't bother me...but I know it may be a turn off for some. Also, the courtyard is great. Save your money for the awesome food in New Orleans and stay here. Plus, Igors is around the corner in St Charles Ave, and that place is a local's hangout that ROCKS.

Disliked: Miranda left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The private rooms are excellent - the doorms are spacious I would reccomend booking a private room here before looking at other hostels in the area especially at Mardi Gras time. For Female travellers there is a tricky resident who I would be careful of which management should address , other that that it is a good place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michelle Fisher

23 February 2010 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Marquette house is close to Igor's and right off St. Charles, prime location. The staff are Awesome, I love love love staying there!

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

22 February 2010

Liked: Avoid at any cost.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

13 February 2010

Liked: Very little to like. Scary place and not female-friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Is okay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 December 2009

Liked: I thought the people were sweet, despite their obvious problems

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 November 2009

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is pretty basic and wouldn't be to bad if you're travelling in a group. I was on my own and didn't meet anyone other than 2 members of staff the whole time i was there. Location is pretty good right near the street car but i would still be careful walking around the neighbourhoods on your own. Kitchen facilities are poor.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 July 2009

Liked: It was pretty boring staying here and the people around the hostel seem like very seedy characters. I felt constantly I had to watch out for myself/my belongings.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Warren Jones

23 February 2009 Warren would recommend this property

Liked: Great price

Disliked: Warren left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

David Schaefer

16 February 2009 David would recommend this property

Liked: I rented my own private apartment for $50/night. I did not stay in the dorm area. The apartment was an excellent value, with a full kitchen, couch, table, and chairs, and it was located just one block from the street car that could take me downtown or uptown to Tulane University--perfect for my needs. A supermarket is one block away. I was very comfortable and slept well each night.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

06 January 2009

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

barry stephenson

05 January 2009 barry would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location, affordable, and provided all that I needed for a great trip.

Disliked: barry left no negative feedback.