HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of New Orleans Hostel - Marquette House New Orleans Hostel

2249 Carondelet Street, LA 70130, New Orleans, USA

Atmosphere 57%

Cleanliness 51%

Facilities 53%

Location 70%

Safety 63%

Staff 63%

Value 62%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 1.00USD

Important Information

**Only Visa and Mastercard credit or debit cards accepted for reservations. A first night deposit in addition to the 10% internet reservation deposit will be charged to your card on all private rooms, and on dorm beds during holiday and special event periods. A 5 day advance cancellation notice is required for a full refund of this first night deposit on all private rooms, and on dorm beds during holiday and special event periods.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Orleans?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 57%

Cleanliness 51%

Facilities 53%

Location 70%

Safety 63%

Staff 63%

Value 62%

Showing 21-22 of 22 reviews

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Close to street cars and then you can move around almost everywhere in town. They also provide towels, good for travelers who like their light luggage travel. Nice garden areas even on this winter time.

Disliked: Bed is kind of soft and once you lie on you are almost wrapped up. Also it makes squeezing noises with each move.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: In a good area, not far from town, streetcar, bars and food close by. Two courtyards to meet people.

Disliked: No lockers, or shelves to put your clothes.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cheap and walking distance to Bourbon street.

Disliked: Too many creepy guys living there and they were all long term residents. Weird guys drinking everyday at 10am.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Everything! We needed a place that was affordable to stay at and in a good location. This is one block from the St. Charles streetcar and is very affordable. We were surprised our room came with a kitchenette too!

Disliked: The bathroom had a slight odor. I think from age. But it wasn't terrible.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Don´t expect luxury, but apart from that everything was clean. Be aware, that there are not only travellers, but also long-term residences, but also, they were nice.

Disliked: The staff in the girl´s dorm was very nice, helpful and it was always clean.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: staff Clay and Claudia is very helpful. and it's close to the garden district, very short walk to the Streetcar.

Disliked: Wifi doesn't work good!! Not clean, cockroach is crazy. rug looks nasty.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Spacious Rooms

Disliked: Uneasiness in regards to security

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: For a hostel this was nice and clean and the reception were very helpful! It's close to downtown, very easy to take a street car to Bourbon Street.

Disliked: A few of the older men around the place liked giving compliments to young women, which at times made me slightly uncomfortable. It may not be the perfect spot for women travelling alone. That being said, nothing actually happened and in general my stay was quite pleasant.

Customer would recommend this property

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The highlight of my stay was leaving as soon as I could.

Disliked: It's a complete dump, the rooms are not clean, the staff who work there are drunk middle aged men who live on the premises. The showers and bathroom were unhygienic and hadn't clearly not been cleaned in a good while. The desk staff were unfriendly and unwelcoming and the beds were crawling with bed bugs. A complete shock and disgrace.The place needs to be thoroughly looked at and inspected, I'd prefer to see it shut down as it is not fit for staying in. Though the nightly rate was cheap, I still felt it was far too expensive for what it was offering. The staff were unenthusiastic and didn't give a care about anything in that hostel.The rooms felt unsafe and I was very apprehensive about leaving any of my belongings in the room as the door didn't lock properly. The room we stayed in was also freezing with air con we couldn't turn off. The linen we were given were filthy and any sheets on the bed looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a while. After our first night we were ready to leave. It was a hell hole.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to the st. charles trolley. Trolley runs through the night. So easy access after a late night out. Had a microwave, refrigerator, towels, toiletries etc.Has free parking, which is great for New Orleans, where parking can be upto 40$ overnight.

Disliked: Although its close to St. Charles, walk the opposite direction and you'll be right in the middle of a ghetto. Unfortunately I drove in that way and already had a preemptive dislike toward the place. But once I entered the place its not too bad. Its old but is good enough if you are used to staying in hostels.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability