HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel

Hostel | 2249 Carondelet St., New Orleans, Louisiana, USA 70130

62.3% Overall Rating

120 out of 188 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/01/2014)

Hui Li thinks…

"Close to street cars and then you can move around almost everywhere in town. They also provide towels, good for travelers who like their light luggage travel. Nice garden areas even on this winter…"

Read all Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

**Only Visa and Mastercard credit or debit cards accepted for reservations. A first night deposit in addition to the 10% internet reservation deposit will be charged to your card on all private rooms, and on dorm beds during holiday and special event periods. A 5 day advance cancellation notice is required for a full refund of this first night deposit on all private rooms, and on dorm beds during holiday and special event periods.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Orleans?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New Orleans

Auberge Nouvelle Orleans
28.60 USD

Hostel 91.4% 4 reviews
AAE Bourbon House New Orleans
19.80 USD

Hostel 75.5% 172 reviews
Casa Vecchia
30.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
India House Backpacker's Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 78.7% 253 reviews
Days Inn New Orleans Airport
34.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.3%

Overall Rating

120 out of 188 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
52.0%
Staff
72.0%
Value
61.6%
Safety
60.8%
Refine your results Showing 126 of 139 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a private room, and I think our experience was a little different because of this! It's a bit old and what have you, but perfectly serviceable, the room was really big, there were sofas, table and chairs and a little kitchenette with a microwave and fridge, very pleasant and comfortable. Lovely staff on reception.

Disliked: Well, firstly my card was charged with the first night's fee without my permission, which didn't impress me. But the staff on site were helpful and friendly (as opposed to the guy who I exchanged emails with about it) and it was all taken care of. Still, bit scary for them to be charging my card whenever they felt like it! Also, we turned up around lunch time, only to find that the reception is shut between 12 and 5!! This isn't brilliant for a hostel, which should expect people turning up at all hours. Luckily the door was unlocked when we arrived, or we would have been out on the pavement for four hours with all our luggage! A couple more members of staff might be in order. It wasn't brilliantly clean, I'm not very fussy about this sort of thing so I wasn't really bothered, but it could have been a bit better, esp the bathroom floor along the bath (hairyy!) And the air con is very loud but, on the plus side, it works!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Lee

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great location a block off the streetcar line to downtown & the French Quarter. My dorm was roomy & clean, with in-dorm toilet & shower. The staff were also friendly & helpful. Walking distance to cafes, 24 hour bars, local stores, and the New Orleans tourist bureau. I also stayed here with a volunteer group during Spring Break, and our group facilities were really nice. Much better than the volunteer camp I stayed in the previous year. I definitely recommend the Marquette House to individuals & groups wanting an awesome location and great facilities.

Disliked: Better WiFi would be helpful.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2011

Liked: The building was quaint.

Disliked: Three days later I was absolutely covered in bed bug bites. The mattresses are old, in need of replacement and obviously infested with bed bugs. This has severely hampered my travelling experience following my stay here. The bathroom facilities are not cleaned regularly and the bins remained unemptied.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Daniel Grice

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely old building with period features and very large rooms. Excellent value for money

Disliked: Nothing

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Dirty- Someone else's hair in bath and bathroom bin, clearly not been emptied. Room smelt awful and damp. Bed sheets were old and dirty! Bed bugs in bed, found bites later ( they appear 3 days later) my friend found some in her handbag that had been on the bed. Area is horrible and felt unsafe, lots of strange people around and some booked in hostel. Expensive for living in hell! As two girls we felt very unsafe. We checked in about 1pm and checked out few hours later and booked hotel on canal street, ended up paying a lot more but we didn't care. Hostelbookers needs to remove this hostel from their site. I wouldn't wish for anyone to have to put up with staying there for one night let alone any more! If your thinking about booking this hostel then DO NOT!!!!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Tumbridge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Private rooms were huge with own kitchen and lounge area. Saved loads of money on eating out

Disliked: A bit isolated

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 August 2011

Liked: staff was friendly; close to streetcar

Disliked: it was gross!!! the bathroom was very dirty, A/C was old and very loud, wifi did not work properly

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

sarah hadfield

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011

Liked: Staff were friendly and accommodating. Location is generally good, only short streetcar to town and cheap taxi to greyhound. Large room

Disliked: The climate is obviously one where you should expect cockroaches but seeing 2 large live and 2 large dead in our two night stay is just too much. Dirty plaster found in bedsheets No WiFi or computers. Whilst we were there there was no hostel activities, night life or socializing. Charged for storing bags but only $1

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are nice. The room is really big The location is next to the public transportation.

Disliked: a little bit dirty

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is situated on the street car line which was convenient. Rooms were nice and cool.

Disliked: -

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Andrew Borgia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

03 May 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: good location, lots of space in rooms

Disliked: wi -fi didnt work to good

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to public transportation, good neighborhood

Disliked: lack of cleanliness.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rodrigo Lopez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2011 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the Garden district and St. Charles av. Which is very convinient. it was ok.

Disliked: There was a cockroach next to the shower for 3 days.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was hit or miss with the staff, as well as with other people staying there, but i planned on mostly being off on my own anyways. it was very cheap, close to the streetcar line (altho, partly closed for mardis gras parades)

Disliked: nothing stands out as being bad. it was what you'd expect for low budget hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people i met there! The location is also excellent, just a short walk away from St Charles avenue and its streetcar. Pretty close to the city center (i've been walking from Frenchmen street to the hostel late at night several times, and it's just about a 20-30min walk through such a fantastic city)

Disliked: - the poor quality of the wi-fi signal - the pack of guys from argentina who invaded the dorm and invited a lot of girls in there one night... and didn't share !!! ;-)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and good for private rooms with a group of friends.

Disliked: Not the most meet and great friendly.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ritu Wadhwa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2010 Ritu would recommend this property

Liked: Location would the biggest plus point.

Disliked: Cleanliness. Crowd was not as good as in some other International hostels. The place itself is gawky.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2010

Liked: I was lucky to have a dorm all to myself and that's why I stayed

Disliked: Very dirty and run down. Deplorable kitchen facilities. No proper place to sit and read. No laundry or computer facilities.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2010

Liked: Free wifi

Disliked: not very clean, showers were not hot,

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

TANYA BEACOM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2010 TANYA would recommend this property

Liked: had a great laugh here, great for meeting people to go out, and very relaxed during the day. only downside, no telly for when your hungover

Disliked: TANYA left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

08 May 2010

Liked: Nothing, it was disgusting

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a busy spring break when I stayed and it was the only available hostel in town. I can't comment on any of the other rooms (everyone else seemed happy) but just do not book the male only dorms.Y'just know it's going to be crap when an obvious heroin addict, surrounded by caged budgies, checks you in. I found my room in the men's dorm and whoa daddy... A bald, shirtless moustached man lay in bed next to mine, hand down his pants, smiling maniacally at the kids TV show "Barney" and was smoking a giant cigar beneath the "No Smoking No Exucses" sign. The cigar smelt as tho it contained human faeces. Even inside the place looked as tho it had been hit by the floods, 'cept I was assured by locals this was high ground. The bathroom had and inch of black slippery filth on the floor and the waste paper basket was full off bloodied tissues and so much matted dirty, bloody dental floss hung out one side of the bin it looked like one of the dudes from zz top's beards. The lockers nor any of the doors locked... it didn't inspire a great deal of confidence.After one night and a whole bunch of weird bites appearing in my armpit, I decided to bite the bullet, get a real hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Miranda Whitehead

15 March 2010 Miranda would recommend this property

Liked: I love the location of Marquette House. This is my second stay with them. They have a property across the street from the main house that is all private rooms, and they are HUGE. I stayed alone in a room that could easily house 5. Small kitchenette, too. It's kept pretty clean, but I shared my room with a little mouse who lived under the fridge. Since I didn't keep food out on the counters, it didn't bother me...but I know it may be a turn off for some. Also, the courtyard is great. Save your money for the awesome food in New Orleans and stay here. Plus, Igors is around the corner in St Charles Ave, and that place is a local's hangout that ROCKS.

Disliked: Miranda left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The private rooms are excellent - the doorms are spacious I would reccomend booking a private room here before looking at other hostels in the area especially at Mardi Gras time. For Female travellers there is a tricky resident who I would be careful of which management should address , other that that it is a good place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michelle Fisher

23 February 2010 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Marquette house is close to Igor's and right off St. Charles, prime location. The staff are Awesome, I love love love staying there!

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.