We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel

Hostel | 2249 Carondelet St., New Orleans, Louisiana, USA 70130

59.7% Overall Rating

131 out of 207 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/05/2014)

Rachel Bartlett thinks…

"I liked the ease to come and go and have opportunity to socialize in the backyard patio. Also I enjoyed the separate male and female dorms."

Read all Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

**Only Visa and Mastercard credit or debit cards accepted for reservations. A first night deposit in addition to the 10% internet reservation deposit will be charged to your card on all private rooms, and on dorm beds during holiday and special event periods. A 5 day advance cancellation notice is required for a full refund of this first night deposit on all private rooms, and on dorm beds during holiday and special event periods.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Orleans?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New Orleans

Auberge Nouvelle Orleans
19.38 USD

Hostel 93.4% 28 reviews
Atlas House
15.80 USD

Hostel 93.7% 19 reviews
Garden District House
19.00 USD

Hostel 89.3% 4 reviews
IHSP French Quarter House
30.00 USD

Hostel 87.9% 4 reviews
India House Backpacker's Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 81.7% 264 reviews
Nola Jazz House
18.34 USD

Guesthouse 94.0% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.7%

Overall Rating

131 out of 207 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
48.8%
Staff
65.6%
Value
58.4%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 139 of 157 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Yves Bastarache

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012

Liked: Do not waste your time here. India House is sooo much better.

Disliked: Dirty. Sketchy people. Poker face receptionist. Don't do it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Markus Wimmer

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very cute hostel at the edge of the garden district, right around the corner from a trolley stop that drops you off at the French quarter after a 5 to 10 min ride. Rooms are comfy, spacious, and equipped with a refrigerator, microwave, and sink. Couch and dinner table add to the things you can do there. There is a nice green back yard to hang out and relax, where I met a whole bunch of fun and interesting people.

Disliked: The place is not as clean as a hotel, but not bad for a hostel, particularly at that price level

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Ana Sibrian

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2012 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: I write about the Marquette House on my last night, and words cannot express how sad I am to leave this wonderful place. The location is fantastic, just a 2 minute walk away from the streetcar which takes you to the French Quarter in about 15 minutes. The people are so friendly and helpful, the courtyard is a great hangout to meet new people. If you want to make friends, this is where it's at. I definitely will come back.

Disliked: The hygiene was a little bit on the iffy side...but then again, this is New Orleans, so everything is slightly grimy.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2012

Liked: You get what you pay for, cheap, that's about it.

Disliked: very dirty hostel, would only clean the rooms once every three or four days, the reception is closed from 12-5 during the day and closes all night, so if you have an early flight or bus, you can't get your deposit back. The receptionists don't really care, the atmosphere is very poor, wouldn't recommend for young travelers wanting to have a good time.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2012

Liked: The location was really good, just round the corner you could get the trolley cart into downtown new orleans and the actual property and grounds was really nice. My bed sheets were clean and I had hot water in the shower

Disliked: The room was freezing, there was no heating in the room at all and it got really cold on the night and the kitchen was disgusting, the fridge was dirty and there were cats allowed in the kitchen and they just sat on the worktops. I was there 3days and not once did anybody come in the room to clean the other guests rubbish that were there before me, thankfully I didn't have to stay there a lot as I was out most of the time. They also had no Internet connection

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

david mcguire

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012

Liked: good location friendly staff

Disliked: no wi fi

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

giuliano sambruna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2011 giuliano would recommend this property

Liked: Easy and helpful staff

Disliked: Not much atmosphere in the apartment: no tv, pretty isolated

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Jenkins

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: I was expecting a small single room and found myself in a large dormitory style accommodation with lots of room to rattle around in. The facilities were basic but so was the price, so I was very happy with it.

Disliked: For the price I was very satisfied.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: The people sharing the dorm were nice, considerate and safe. The location

Disliked: My key deposit wasn't returned until I chased it up with them. The dorm was dirty and the mattress was very dirty. Sub standard accommodation. The staff were clearly medicated or alcoholic in some way and could just about keep it together.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Daniel Zuluaga

Alone

Partying / nightlife

01 November 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The ambient it's very cool if go for party, there's a lot of young people

Disliked: The cleanest is not the best

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Looks better than pics suggest.

Disliked: Na

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was a great value. While the hostel itself isn't in a remarkable area, but being a block off the St. Charles street car made it a cheap and quick trip to much of the city, 24 hours a day, including the french quarter, the garden district, and the warehouse district (which actually is a hip happening place despite the name). There was a nice courtyard area, but wasn't really anyone there when we went (mid October). We got a three person suite, which was quite nice and spacious for the price: fridge, table and couches, and a private bathroom.

Disliked: There really wasn't much of a communal feel if you stay in the suites, which I suppose could be expexted. The dorms are in a different building, and the outdoor chairs (which was well set up and probably popular at busy/warmer times) are really the only shared space. We also had bed bugs in one of our beds... though to be fair, we really didn't complain about it or ask to be moved till the last day. We let them know when we left, and they seemed to take it seriously and write down the issue.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 October 2011

Liked: Near bars and restaurants at St. Charles, streetcar driving just around the block.

Disliked: Had a bad bedbug experience. Staff was helpful and willing to give me my money back, though.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a private room, and I think our experience was a little different because of this! It's a bit old and what have you, but perfectly serviceable, the room was really big, there were sofas, table and chairs and a little kitchenette with a microwave and fridge, very pleasant and comfortable. Lovely staff on reception.

Disliked: Well, firstly my card was charged with the first night's fee without my permission, which didn't impress me. But the staff on site were helpful and friendly (as opposed to the guy who I exchanged emails with about it) and it was all taken care of. Still, bit scary for them to be charging my card whenever they felt like it! Also, we turned up around lunch time, only to find that the reception is shut between 12 and 5!! This isn't brilliant for a hostel, which should expect people turning up at all hours. Luckily the door was unlocked when we arrived, or we would have been out on the pavement for four hours with all our luggage! A couple more members of staff might be in order. It wasn't brilliantly clean, I'm not very fussy about this sort of thing so I wasn't really bothered, but it could have been a bit better, esp the bathroom floor along the bath (hairyy!) And the air con is very loud but, on the plus side, it works!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Lee

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great location a block off the streetcar line to downtown & the French Quarter. My dorm was roomy & clean, with in-dorm toilet & shower. The staff were also friendly & helpful. Walking distance to cafes, 24 hour bars, local stores, and the New Orleans tourist bureau. I also stayed here with a volunteer group during Spring Break, and our group facilities were really nice. Much better than the volunteer camp I stayed in the previous year. I definitely recommend the Marquette House to individuals & groups wanting an awesome location and great facilities.

Disliked: Better WiFi would be helpful.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2011

Liked: The building was quaint.

Disliked: Three days later I was absolutely covered in bed bug bites. The mattresses are old, in need of replacement and obviously infested with bed bugs. This has severely hampered my travelling experience following my stay here. The bathroom facilities are not cleaned regularly and the bins remained unemptied.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Daniel Grice

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely old building with period features and very large rooms. Excellent value for money

Disliked: Nothing

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Dirty- Someone else's hair in bath and bathroom bin, clearly not been emptied. Room smelt awful and damp. Bed sheets were old and dirty! Bed bugs in bed, found bites later ( they appear 3 days later) my friend found some in her handbag that had been on the bed. Area is horrible and felt unsafe, lots of strange people around and some booked in hostel. Expensive for living in hell! As two girls we felt very unsafe. We checked in about 1pm and checked out few hours later and booked hotel on canal street, ended up paying a lot more but we didn't care. Hostelbookers needs to remove this hostel from their site. I wouldn't wish for anyone to have to put up with staying there for one night let alone any more! If your thinking about booking this hostel then DO NOT!!!!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Tumbridge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Private rooms were huge with own kitchen and lounge area. Saved loads of money on eating out

Disliked: A bit isolated

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 August 2011

Liked: staff was friendly; close to streetcar

Disliked: it was gross!!! the bathroom was very dirty, A/C was old and very loud, wifi did not work properly

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

sarah hadfield

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011

Liked: Staff were friendly and accommodating. Location is generally good, only short streetcar to town and cheap taxi to greyhound. Large room

Disliked: The climate is obviously one where you should expect cockroaches but seeing 2 large live and 2 large dead in our two night stay is just too much. Dirty plaster found in bedsheets No WiFi or computers. Whilst we were there there was no hostel activities, night life or socializing. Charged for storing bags but only $1

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are nice. The room is really big The location is next to the public transportation.

Disliked: a little bit dirty

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is situated on the street car line which was convenient. Rooms were nice and cool.

Disliked: -

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Andrew Borgia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

03 May 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: good location, lots of space in rooms

Disliked: wi -fi didnt work to good

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to public transportation, good neighborhood

Disliked: lack of cleanliness.