We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel

Hostel | 2249 Carondelet St., New Orleans, Louisiana, USA 70130

61.9% Overall Rating

123 out of 195 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/05/2014)

Rachel Bartlett thinks…

"I liked the ease to come and go and have opportunity to socialize in the backyard patio. Also I enjoyed the separate male and female dorms."

Read all Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

**Only Visa and Mastercard credit or debit cards accepted for reservations. A first night deposit in addition to the 10% internet reservation deposit will be charged to your card on all private rooms, and on dorm beds during holiday and special event periods. A 5 day advance cancellation notice is required for a full refund of this first night deposit on all private rooms, and on dorm beds during holiday and special event periods.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Orleans?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New Orleans

Auberge Nouvelle Orleans
18.36 USD

Hostel 93.6% 17 reviews
Atlas House
19.80 USD

Hostel 98.0% 7 reviews
AAE Bourbon House New Orleans
27.50 USD

Hostel 72.9% 179 reviews
India House Backpacker's Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 82.1% 260 reviews
Nola Jazz House
29.71 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 9 reviews
Days Inn New Orleans Airport
34.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.9%

Overall Rating

123 out of 195 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
54.4%
Staff
71.2%
Value
59.2%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 131 of 146 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

miguel a. macias

Alone

Events / festivals

06 February 2013 miguel a. would recommend this property

Liked: its closed from everywhere

Disliked: a little bit dirty

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brian Eli

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 February 2013 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Love the location! Just 20 min walk from downtown!

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013

Liked: One thing a really liked about the place was that people were very nice! Both the travelers and some of the staff. and there was free coffee in the mornings It was close to the city with a bus that stopped 3 minutes away and that drove 24 hours a day

Disliked: However, I must admit that I have never been in a place less clean ( and I've been backpacking a lot around the world). My sheets had so many holes and marks and spots. The rooms were dirty and smelt bad. It wasn't possible to open any windows and there were people smoking inside the rooms, so after my days there I nearly felt like I had Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. It didn't seem to be a safe area, I would never walk alone there a night

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was only about a 15-20 min. walk to the French Quarter, which was a something we did not expect.

Disliked: The staff was not very helpful or friendly. There isn't any indoor social area, which given the chilly weather was something we could have used. The bunker beds were not very sturdy, and one of them actually broke. Overall, the experience was average: not the greatest value for your money but not horrible given what you pay.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013

Liked: The location is alright I suppose, though it's still a long walk to anywhere decent

Disliked: The people at the desk were completely wasted when I got there on a saturday night. Although they claim to have a kitchen it has no stove, the only cooking device is a portable grill which is slow and useless

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Falko E. Ritter

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Falko E. would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are huge and I liked the idea behind it...intergated kitchenette with fridge would make a longer stay possible. Well connected to the city by streetcar and to greyhound station/Amtrak by bus (route 91)

Disliked: interiour needs maintenance ! plugs are not fixed, air condition is connected with loose cables, toilet bowl moves while in use, bath tub isolation doesnt work, faucet doesnt worked well a.s.o. But in the end is was charming in a way...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Everything. It was so disgusting that we didn't even feel comfortable to stay the night we paid for. The staff didn't even apologise or care. BED BUGS!!!!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is nice, hanging out in the backyard is recommended. The locals you'll meet there may seem a bit sketchy, but are quite nice. Don't believe all of the housekeeper's stories! There's a cool pub (Igor's) around the corner where you can also do your laundry :)

Disliked: Bedbugs! Poor wi-fi service.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carlos Luna

Alone

Business / conference

19 October 2012 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay in the Marquette house, the staff is very friendly and they will always be there for you. I had a better time than if i had stayed at a Hotel, since i was traveling alone, i had the opportunity to make a few friends.

Disliked: The location and place might seem insecure, but honestly my Boss was staying at the Hyatt and she was paying 340 dollars per night, i payed 120 dollars for 5 days.......so seriously how can you complain?

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Not the usual hostel atmosphere but great if you want a cheep quite stay. Location is good about 15mins from downtown. The area is a little bad, but nothing that can't be overcome with a little bit of common sense. Always get a cab at night though particularly if your on your own. Apart from that the hostel is great

Disliked: Location, but not too big a deal

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ramakrishnan Sureshbabu

Alone

Business / conference

17 October 2012 Ramakrishnan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly environment and nice courtyard to chat around

Disliked: Presence of mosquitos

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Thomas Yee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location, not a bunch of partiers.

Disliked: The place it a bit older, therefore it could have been a bit cleaner.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

rob bloor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2012

Liked: the garden

Disliked: the bed bugs

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Clair Siva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012 Clair would recommend this property

Liked: There is a different group of people here than the usual internationals you find in most hostels, which was a nice change. More locals who were keen for a chat. Cheap as, also.

Disliked: No lockers. WI fi was pretty weak.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erika Varga

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2012 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: How it was build. For me it was surprise how it looks like.

Disliked: A bit far from the center but if you use trolly its mush easy!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012

Liked: Reasonably good location

Disliked: Where to begin...no wifi, dodgy area, run down, the window in my 'shack' was smashed, found a cockroach in the bathroom, staff are only around part of the day and not particularly friendly/helpful. I'd urge anyone not to stay here. As a yound girl travelling alone, I felt very unsafe there, and in the city in general.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The propery was clean and had a new renovated Kitchen. It offered free pancakes and coffee for breakfast

Disliked: There was a window above the door in the semi-private room where I stayed that allowed the hall light to shine in my room all night. The light was on a dimmer but it never completely shut off. This bothered me because I like a room dark to sleep.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Yves Bastarache

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012

Liked: Do not waste your time here. India House is sooo much better.

Disliked: Dirty. Sketchy people. Poker face receptionist. Don't do it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Markus Wimmer

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very cute hostel at the edge of the garden district, right around the corner from a trolley stop that drops you off at the French quarter after a 5 to 10 min ride. Rooms are comfy, spacious, and equipped with a refrigerator, microwave, and sink. Couch and dinner table add to the things you can do there. There is a nice green back yard to hang out and relax, where I met a whole bunch of fun and interesting people.

Disliked: The place is not as clean as a hotel, but not bad for a hostel, particularly at that price level

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Ana Sibrian

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2012 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: I write about the Marquette House on my last night, and words cannot express how sad I am to leave this wonderful place. The location is fantastic, just a 2 minute walk away from the streetcar which takes you to the French Quarter in about 15 minutes. The people are so friendly and helpful, the courtyard is a great hangout to meet new people. If you want to make friends, this is where it's at. I definitely will come back.

Disliked: The hygiene was a little bit on the iffy side...but then again, this is New Orleans, so everything is slightly grimy.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2012

Liked: You get what you pay for, cheap, that's about it.

Disliked: very dirty hostel, would only clean the rooms once every three or four days, the reception is closed from 12-5 during the day and closes all night, so if you have an early flight or bus, you can't get your deposit back. The receptionists don't really care, the atmosphere is very poor, wouldn't recommend for young travelers wanting to have a good time.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2012

Liked: The location was really good, just round the corner you could get the trolley cart into downtown new orleans and the actual property and grounds was really nice. My bed sheets were clean and I had hot water in the shower

Disliked: The room was freezing, there was no heating in the room at all and it got really cold on the night and the kitchen was disgusting, the fridge was dirty and there were cats allowed in the kitchen and they just sat on the worktops. I was there 3days and not once did anybody come in the room to clean the other guests rubbish that were there before me, thankfully I didn't have to stay there a lot as I was out most of the time. They also had no Internet connection

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

david mcguire

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012

Liked: good location friendly staff

Disliked: no wi fi

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

giuliano sambruna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2011 giuliano would recommend this property

Liked: Easy and helpful staff

Disliked: Not much atmosphere in the apartment: no tv, pretty isolated

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Jenkins

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: I was expecting a small single room and found myself in a large dormitory style accommodation with lots of room to rattle around in. The facilities were basic but so was the price, so I was very happy with it.

Disliked: For the price I was very satisfied.