We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel

Hostel | 2249 Carondelet St., New Orleans, Louisiana, USA 70130

59.7% Overall Rating

131 out of 207 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/05/2014)

Rachel Bartlett thinks…

"I liked the ease to come and go and have opportunity to socialize in the backyard patio. Also I enjoyed the separate male and female dorms."

Read all Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

**Only Visa and Mastercard credit or debit cards accepted for reservations. A first night deposit in addition to the 10% internet reservation deposit will be charged to your card on all private rooms, and on dorm beds during holiday and special event periods. A 5 day advance cancellation notice is required for a full refund of this first night deposit on all private rooms, and on dorm beds during holiday and special event periods.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Orleans?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New Orleans

Auberge Nouvelle Orleans
19.38 USD

Hostel 94.1% 27 reviews
Atlas House
17.80 USD

Hostel 95.0% 15 reviews
Garden District House
18.00 USD

Hostel 89.5% 3 reviews
IHSP French Quarter House
28.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
India House Backpacker's Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 82.2% 262 reviews
Nola Jazz House
18.34 USD

Guesthouse 94.7% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.7%

Overall Rating

131 out of 207 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
48.8%
Staff
65.6%
Value
58.4%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 139 of 157 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the st. charles trolley. Trolley runs through the night. So easy access after a late night out. Had a microwave, refrigerator, towels, toiletries etc. Has free parking, which is great for New Orleans, where parking can be upto 40$ overnight.

Disliked: Although its close to St. Charles, walk the opposite direction and you'll be right in the middle of a ghetto. Unfortunately I drove in that way and already had a preemptive dislike toward the place. But once I entered the place its not too bad. Its old but is good enough if you are used to staying in hostels.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2013

Liked: It was the cheapest place to stay that still had beds available for Jazzfest. Pretty much the only reason my friend and I stayed there, although the location is alright.

Disliked: It's a poorly laid out compound and none of the staff showed us where anything was, not even our rooms. It took us until right before our stay ended to find out there even was a kitchen. The bathroom in the women's dorm room leaves absolutely no privacy, and while I'm not a princess, if you have to go at 3 in the morning, you will be waking everyone up. And no one enjoys that. Everything else was pretty lackluster and underwhelming.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 April 2013

Liked: Convenient location

Disliked: Room was not clean, there were bedbugs, stains on sheets, wifi didn't work in room

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, location not too bad

Disliked: Not really clean

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

22 March 2013

Liked: District 9-esqe chic. 1 minute walk to a busy street and about 20 minutes up that road to the start of the French Quarter.

Disliked: I think its important to first note that you do get what you pay for. If you're hostelling it, then you likely just want a place to sleep and will not be spending much time there. The dorms have a laughably B-Movie horror film feel to them. Rickety sliding doors between dorm rooms. Hot water was sketchy and the toilets seemed to always be blocked. 'Characters' we shared in the dorm (20 bed not 14 as described) were a man crusading across the US dubbing himself 'Super Jesus' and another who liked to sit around in his Breaking Bad style white y-fronts. Its literally a place to crash, something which served its purpose. Didn't feel unsafe, though women may feel different. I couldn't recommend this place but it did make a story. Would have been monumentally hot in the dorm if it wasn't February weather.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Gustavo Battaglia

Alone

Partying / nightlife

05 March 2013 Gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very near from the downtown and this is a very important thing when you go to New Orlean's night.

Disliked: It's a very stranger place when you arrive. It's not so clean. I've been stayed in a 14 bed room but there was only 3 guys. This room was very very dirty and looks like the Saw's film. The reception is not 24 hours.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's not that bad, so I can recommend to stay here, there not many options in New Orleans anyway. First, location is good. It's not far from French Quarter, you can even walk there or get there by street car which is one block away from the hostel. The neighborhood looked safe, not sketchy at all. 12-bed dorm did not look small or overcrowded, because it was actually 3 rooms with 2 bunk beds in each of them. Hostel's outside area is fine, I think it is nice to hang out there when the weather is good. It's possible to leave luggage in the storage room, and it's free.

Disliked: However there are a lot of things that need improvement. The most important is cleanliness: it is really dirty. Rooms and common areas don't look dirty. But bathrooms are horrible. Dirty toilets, and since there are no trash bins inside people through toilet paper on the floor. It seems that nobody took out trash from underneath the beds for months. Receptionists should tell at least basic information about hostel facilities and rules when they check in guests, not just give room keys! The shower in my dorm had only cold water. The one in the main building was OK though, but still... It would be much better if they had lockers.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

miguel a. macias

Alone

Events / festivals

06 February 2013 miguel a. would recommend this property

Liked: its closed from everywhere

Disliked: a little bit dirty

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brian Eli

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 February 2013 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Love the location! Just 20 min walk from downtown!

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013

Liked: One thing a really liked about the place was that people were very nice! Both the travelers and some of the staff. and there was free coffee in the mornings It was close to the city with a bus that stopped 3 minutes away and that drove 24 hours a day

Disliked: However, I must admit that I have never been in a place less clean ( and I've been backpacking a lot around the world). My sheets had so many holes and marks and spots. The rooms were dirty and smelt bad. It wasn't possible to open any windows and there were people smoking inside the rooms, so after my days there I nearly felt like I had Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. It didn't seem to be a safe area, I would never walk alone there a night

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was only about a 15-20 min. walk to the French Quarter, which was a something we did not expect.

Disliked: The staff was not very helpful or friendly. There isn't any indoor social area, which given the chilly weather was something we could have used. The bunker beds were not very sturdy, and one of them actually broke. Overall, the experience was average: not the greatest value for your money but not horrible given what you pay.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013

Liked: The location is alright I suppose, though it's still a long walk to anywhere decent

Disliked: The people at the desk were completely wasted when I got there on a saturday night. Although they claim to have a kitchen it has no stove, the only cooking device is a portable grill which is slow and useless

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Falko E. Ritter

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Falko E. would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are huge and I liked the idea behind it...intergated kitchenette with fridge would make a longer stay possible. Well connected to the city by streetcar and to greyhound station/Amtrak by bus (route 91)

Disliked: interiour needs maintenance ! plugs are not fixed, air condition is connected with loose cables, toilet bowl moves while in use, bath tub isolation doesnt work, faucet doesnt worked well a.s.o. But in the end is was charming in a way...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Everything. It was so disgusting that we didn't even feel comfortable to stay the night we paid for. The staff didn't even apologise or care. BED BUGS!!!!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is nice, hanging out in the backyard is recommended. The locals you'll meet there may seem a bit sketchy, but are quite nice. Don't believe all of the housekeeper's stories! There's a cool pub (Igor's) around the corner where you can also do your laundry :)

Disliked: Bedbugs! Poor wi-fi service.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carlos Luna

Alone

Business / conference

19 October 2012 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay in the Marquette house, the staff is very friendly and they will always be there for you. I had a better time than if i had stayed at a Hotel, since i was traveling alone, i had the opportunity to make a few friends.

Disliked: The location and place might seem insecure, but honestly my Boss was staying at the Hyatt and she was paying 340 dollars per night, i payed 120 dollars for 5 days.......so seriously how can you complain?

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Not the usual hostel atmosphere but great if you want a cheep quite stay. Location is good about 15mins from downtown. The area is a little bad, but nothing that can't be overcome with a little bit of common sense. Always get a cab at night though particularly if your on your own. Apart from that the hostel is great

Disliked: Location, but not too big a deal

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ramakrishnan Sureshbabu

Alone

Business / conference

17 October 2012 Ramakrishnan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly environment and nice courtyard to chat around

Disliked: Presence of mosquitos

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Thomas Yee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location, not a bunch of partiers.

Disliked: The place it a bit older, therefore it could have been a bit cleaner.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

rob bloor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2012

Liked: the garden

Disliked: the bed bugs

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Clair Siva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012 Clair would recommend this property

Liked: There is a different group of people here than the usual internationals you find in most hostels, which was a nice change. More locals who were keen for a chat. Cheap as, also.

Disliked: No lockers. WI fi was pretty weak.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erika Varga

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2012 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: How it was build. For me it was surprise how it looks like.

Disliked: A bit far from the center but if you use trolly its mush easy!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012

Liked: Reasonably good location

Disliked: Where to begin...no wifi, dodgy area, run down, the window in my 'shack' was smashed, found a cockroach in the bathroom, staff are only around part of the day and not particularly friendly/helpful. I'd urge anyone not to stay here. As a yound girl travelling alone, I felt very unsafe there, and in the city in general.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The propery was clean and had a new renovated Kitchen. It offered free pancakes and coffee for breakfast

Disliked: There was a window above the door in the semi-private room where I stayed that allowed the hall light to shine in my room all night. The light was on a dimmer but it never completely shut off. This bothered me because I like a room dark to sleep.