HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of India House Backpacker's Hostel

Hostel | 124 South Lopez Street, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA 70119

78.7% Overall Rating

221 out of 253 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/03/2014)

"It was a very nice atmosphere and the people who worked there were very helpful and nice"

Read all India House Backpacker's Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Orleans?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New Orleans

Casa Vecchia
30.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Auberge Nouvelle Orleans
28.60 USD

Hostel 92.0% 5 reviews
Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 62.3% 188 reviews
Days Inn New Orleans Airport
34.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
AAE Bourbon House New Orleans
18.70 USD

Hostel 75.5% 172 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

221 out of 253 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'India House Backpacker's Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
81.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 189 of 195 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014

Liked: Nothing particular

Disliked: Lost shoes and trousers, staff can t help at all, dirty , not so safe neighborhood and not even the hostel is seem to be safe , a lot of guests long term stay

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice atmosphere and the people who worked there were very helpful and nice

Disliked: Nothing everything was greay

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Diana David

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 March 2014 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: location, atmosphere

Disliked: roaches in kitchen, dirty rooms and bathrooms. too much writing on walls - rooms need to be repainted

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The big dorm I was in was more 3 interlocking rooms with a couple of toilets and showers and with a decent amount of space between beds. Trolley stop right outside the hostel (takes about 20mins to get to NO centre) a good few social areas to hang out

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013

Liked: Location: A minute to a street car stop, but not on a main noisy road. Good common areas to socialize. Affordable food for breakfast and dinner.

Disliked: Cocroaches in the kitchen. Paper plates and cups, plastic cuttlery. Rather the "what's convenient for us" than a customer oriented attitude - can't book at the front desk in advance, can't pay with credit card under 80 dollars, towels only available to buy. The house looks like not taken care of - nothing to put or hang your clothes on in a huge private room with lots of space, squeaky doors that compete with the noises of TV, music and people talking (very annoying after a while). The staff doesn't care to find an answer to many questions they don't know, or to help with whatever is not routine for them. Two bathrooms in the main building are always occupied which can be a real trouble when you need it urgently. Once I had to ask the ladies who were cleaning the bathroom to please let me pee, after standing in front of them for a while, waiting to be noticed (was amazed how they kept ignoring me). Another time I was given a burnt toast for breakfast, and when refusing to eat it, was just given the money back - no embarrassment, no apology, no offer to make a new one.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff helpfull, nice patio outside with a bar, TV, tables... Cosy place, perfect for backpackers!

Disliked: Into the dorm it was cold at night but it wasn't allowed to use the heater, the door was quiet old and with signs of break and the lock was rather simple to be burgled. Could be cleaned with much care, especially the showers and the couches in the lounge...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lyz Watkinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2013 Lyz would recommend this property

Liked: Really great social areas and nice friendly atmosphere! Close to town once you knew where you were going.

Disliked: Only one bathroom per floor caused queues, but not reason enough to stay elsewhere. Thoroughly enjoyed my experience.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Blair Matarlo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 Blair would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to the streetcar stop, and a short ride to the heart of the city. Has a lot of character, with all the art on the walls done by guests and bric-a-brac. Also has a really cool setup with a pool in the back and all of the buildings joined by one common backyard. There are a lot of people going in and out, but I like that kind of activity.

Disliked: I accidentally left my clothes in the bathroom after a shower and could never find them again, though the staff helped me look.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Johanna Castles

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like living in a giant boarding house! I loved the murals on the walls and the friendliness of it all. The cheap breakfasts and dinners were also great and they rent bikes out for really cheap.

Disliked: Bring some mozzie repellent, there are heaps outside

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marios Polyviou

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2013 Marios would recommend this property

Liked: lots of character, beautiful building, right next to tram line to take u to the centre, good party vibe and awesome swimming pool, great place to make friends

Disliked: Marios left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place to meet people and have fun. great pool, lots of fridge room, cheap dinners, location not perfect but its super easy to get into town and there are grocery stores in every direction. all staff were helpful and knew everything loved it!

Disliked: when i booked on hostelbookers, i got there and apparently 'hostelbookers doesnt show up on our list' they were casual about it and knew about it but hadnt disabled their account or anything so i had to be moved from an 8 bed all female to a 12 bed mixed dorm and that was it no choice. so be careful when booking on hostelbookers!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lucy Gaunt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Didn't stay long enough to enjoy!!

Disliked: Lucy left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere! Great blend of relaxed travelers. Several locations to socialise which people actually do. On contrary to some of the comments, I did find it clean. And to put things in perspective, I'm a 30+ traveller that went to US for business. Coming from a Marriott, I absolutely enjoyed staying here. It is 10 minutes away from the french quater, but that was not an issue. $1,25 dollar per tram and $10 at night by taxi will take you there.

Disliked: Walls, ceiling and flooring are torn down, though, this gives caracter to the place as well. And as they keep it clean, not an issue.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proper backpackers hostel, obviously well-used, good staff and friendly visitors. Good for a party

Disliked: Nothing springs to mind

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Sooooo cheap. Great cheap food. Friendly backpackers. Super friendly staff. 24 hour front desk. A 30-40 minute walk to Bourbon street, or a 10 minute trolley ride. I was worried about bedbugs, since I saw some previous posts on hostelbookers about this, but there were none. All mattresses have plastic sheets around them.

Disliked: Well, just remember it's a hostel, and that sleeping in a room with 7 other people is not always easy. There were some cockroaches in the kitchen, but they give bins to those who want to store food. It is far from from downtown, but c'mon, it's easy/cheap to get there.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building and great outdoor area. A really cool place to meet people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the atmosphere of this place. The art on the walls is wonderful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Proximity to streetcars and City Park. Friendly and helpful staff. Useful tourist information. Well-equipped kitchen. Self-control air-conditioner in guest room. Cosy atmosphere and character at sitting room and other public areas.

Disliked: Kitchen a bit small. Indoor public area looks dim and a little messy. Separate building for guest rooms: not very convenient for guests to go from bedroom to service counter or kitchen, especially on rainy days.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

maria tysyachnuk

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 November 2012 maria would recommend this property

Liked: The design of gthe hostel, it is very beautiful, nice that every morning there is a free coffee. Angel was great in explaining me the city, good tours was possible to book

Disliked: Poor recicling, steraphone cups

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very friendly, there were lots of people milling around. The pool was very nice, and the house had lots of character. It was also easy to get to the French Quarter and the Garden district (a 10 minute and 30 minute streetcar/bus ride away respectively). There was a nice big kitchen and plenty of room to cook with if you like that kind of thing, and a breakfast service where you can get breakfast pretty cheaply.

Disliked: It seemed a little run down and grubby in places - nothing too bad, and definitely liveable in, but there were occasionally mockroaches in the kitchen.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 July 2012

Liked: (Small) pool. They cook breakfast as you watch, $6 and upwards. Wall sockets available in the common court area (outside). Kitchen with acceptable setup of pots and pans. Located close to street car heading for downtown.

Disliked: Old, worn, falling apart, dirty. They don't take card unless you're paying $100 or more, and their ATM charges an extra $5 fee for every withdrawal. TV is broken and displays everything in brown, airconditioning is too weak to keep rooms cool during day but manages to make them ice cold during night. Showers and toilets are kinda nasty. Wifi available only in main building, not in rooms.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012

Liked: The McDonald's that was close by.

Disliked: The disgustingly dirty pool, was extremely warm, I think everyone pisses inside it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was fun staying there. Staff was friendly.

Disliked: The location is far of from everything. The first answer we got, when we asked where we could find a supermarket was: "Do you have a car". This answer describes the location of the hostel perfectly. Later on we found a supermarket about 20minutes by foot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cassandra Grey

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife

26 March 2012 Cassandra would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was awesome. The diversity of the people staying there was also great. In my room, there were women from Australia, Switzerland, Asia, and the USA. The trolley is right by the hostel, which makes it an awesome location. A lot of reviews said the safety was questionable if you were walking, which I disagree with. We walked both ways down Canal St. during the day and night and had no issues. Check out the Chickie Wah Wah bar/restaurant. It's a few blocks away and has amazing food!

Disliked: The rooming/checking-in situation is a little bit disorganized, but the staff is willing to work with you. My friend came a day later than I did and had to stay in a different room the first night. We were able to switch her to my room the next night though. It wasn't that big of a deal since we only slept in our rooms, and were in the common areas/exploring New Orleans the rest of the time.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

tanya beacom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2011 tanya would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, friendly staff, really nice property

Disliked: lack of showers/toilets