We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of India House Backpacker's Hostel

Hostel | 124 South Lopez Street, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA 70119

82.1% Overall Rating

227 out of 260 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

"Awesome atmosphere. They cook food each night which you can purchase very cheaply and it's delicious! The beds are comfy enough, they have a pool, lots of cooking and food storage areas and fridges for beer and drinks.…"

Read all India House Backpacker's Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Orleans?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New Orleans

Nola Jazz House
29.71 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 9 reviews
Auberge Nouvelle Orleans
18.36 USD

Hostel 93.2% 16 reviews
Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel
16.00 USD

Hostel 61.9% 195 reviews
Atlas House
15.99 USD

Hostel 99.4% 5 reviews
Days Inn New Orleans Airport
34.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
AAE Bourbon House New Orleans
16.50 USD

Hostel 72.9% 179 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.1%

Overall Rating

227 out of 260 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'India House Backpacker's Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
83.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 196 of 202 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome atmosphere. They cook food each night which you can purchase very cheaply and it's delicious! The beds are comfy enough, they have a pool, lots of cooking and food storage areas and fridges for beer and drinks. Honestly lots of fun

Disliked: The bathrooms and showers are pretty crappy but oh well and some of the rooms are not air conditioned very well so are quite warm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amelia Schoenfeld

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 July 2014 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed! Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, great people. There are lovely places to just sit and chill around the hostel. $5 Louisiana style dinners on offer at the hostel as well as a variety of breakfast options. Close to the tram service which goes up and down Canal St to the french quarter!

Disliked: Nothing. One of the showers wasnt working one morning but i think thats because they were doing renovations on the pool and they had about 3 other shower rooms to compensate for it!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe at this place, friendly, good common areas, has a pool out the back, beds were comfy, place was clean, decent showers, right next to the streetcar into French quarter. Helpful staff, big place so you didn't feel cramped all the time.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristina Rattliff

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 June 2014 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was helpful and I loved being a short street-car ride away from all the action on Canal St. It's also a close drive to the French Quarter.

Disliked: Kristina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Newman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 June 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: So I rock up at 9PM, tired and worn. 'Welcome Home' says a friendly voice. We chat for a few words, and I'm offered to come drink once I've booked in. This didn't take too long, and after a short walk to the Walgreens, I was on the porch with Ismel (member of staff) and Catherine (former staff), with a few others throughtout the night. I stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed it all. Met so many travellers from all works of life, and truly felt at home in this gem of New Orleans. Free coffee throughtout the day, beers on hand with a share and share a like attitude. You want to go out but your travelling by yourself? No worries, go out back and chill with a drink from 9PM and you'll be out with a great group, chatting like you've known each other for years. I have already, and will carry on recommending it to everyone, I will be coming back for a second stay. Thank you so much India House for being a highlight of my trip.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe, great prices, huge amount of space so usually good availability, and lots of amenitites! Pool!!

Disliked: Nothing.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Nicole Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

08 May 2014

Liked: free wifi, it is literally the only good thing postive about this hostel

Disliked: Worst hostel i have ever seen it is filthy, old and very unorganized. Location is not ideal, at least a 20 minute tram car to the french quarter or any shops for food ect and it is in a very shady neighbourhood. i did not feel safe walking the street at night. Bathrooms were the worst, mouldy and dirty. Only 2 inside the whole house to cater for 40+ people. Only reason i didnt leave immediatly was it was Wrestlemania 30 weekend and i literally couldnt find any other accommodation available. Do yourself a favour and avoid this place at all costs, there are much nicer areas and places for not much more $. I felt like needing a tetnus shot upon leaving it was that disgusting

40.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014

Liked: Nothing particular

Disliked: Lost shoes and trousers, staff can t help at all, dirty , not so safe neighborhood and not even the hostel is seem to be safe , a lot of guests long term stay

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice atmosphere and the people who worked there were very helpful and nice

Disliked: Nothing everything was greay

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Diana David

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 March 2014 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: location, atmosphere

Disliked: roaches in kitchen, dirty rooms and bathrooms. too much writing on walls - rooms need to be repainted

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The big dorm I was in was more 3 interlocking rooms with a couple of toilets and showers and with a decent amount of space between beds. Trolley stop right outside the hostel (takes about 20mins to get to NO centre) a good few social areas to hang out

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013

Liked: Location: A minute to a street car stop, but not on a main noisy road. Good common areas to socialize. Affordable food for breakfast and dinner.

Disliked: Cocroaches in the kitchen. Paper plates and cups, plastic cuttlery. Rather the "what's convenient for us" than a customer oriented attitude - can't book at the front desk in advance, can't pay with credit card under 80 dollars, towels only available to buy. The house looks like not taken care of - nothing to put or hang your clothes on in a huge private room with lots of space, squeaky doors that compete with the noises of TV, music and people talking (very annoying after a while). The staff doesn't care to find an answer to many questions they don't know, or to help with whatever is not routine for them. Two bathrooms in the main building are always occupied which can be a real trouble when you need it urgently. Once I had to ask the ladies who were cleaning the bathroom to please let me pee, after standing in front of them for a while, waiting to be noticed (was amazed how they kept ignoring me). Another time I was given a burnt toast for breakfast, and when refusing to eat it, was just given the money back - no embarrassment, no apology, no offer to make a new one.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff helpfull, nice patio outside with a bar, TV, tables... Cosy place, perfect for backpackers!

Disliked: Into the dorm it was cold at night but it wasn't allowed to use the heater, the door was quiet old and with signs of break and the lock was rather simple to be burgled. Could be cleaned with much care, especially the showers and the couches in the lounge...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lyz Watkinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2013 Lyz would recommend this property

Liked: Really great social areas and nice friendly atmosphere! Close to town once you knew where you were going.

Disliked: Only one bathroom per floor caused queues, but not reason enough to stay elsewhere. Thoroughly enjoyed my experience.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Blair Matarlo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 Blair would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to the streetcar stop, and a short ride to the heart of the city. Has a lot of character, with all the art on the walls done by guests and bric-a-brac. Also has a really cool setup with a pool in the back and all of the buildings joined by one common backyard. There are a lot of people going in and out, but I like that kind of activity.

Disliked: I accidentally left my clothes in the bathroom after a shower and could never find them again, though the staff helped me look.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Johanna Castles

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like living in a giant boarding house! I loved the murals on the walls and the friendliness of it all. The cheap breakfasts and dinners were also great and they rent bikes out for really cheap.

Disliked: Bring some mozzie repellent, there are heaps outside

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marios Polyviou

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2013 Marios would recommend this property

Liked: lots of character, beautiful building, right next to tram line to take u to the centre, good party vibe and awesome swimming pool, great place to make friends

Disliked: Marios left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place to meet people and have fun. great pool, lots of fridge room, cheap dinners, location not perfect but its super easy to get into town and there are grocery stores in every direction. all staff were helpful and knew everything loved it!

Disliked: when i booked on hostelbookers, i got there and apparently 'hostelbookers doesnt show up on our list' they were casual about it and knew about it but hadnt disabled their account or anything so i had to be moved from an 8 bed all female to a 12 bed mixed dorm and that was it no choice. so be careful when booking on hostelbookers!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lucy Gaunt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Didn't stay long enough to enjoy!!

Disliked: Lucy left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere! Great blend of relaxed travelers. Several locations to socialise which people actually do. On contrary to some of the comments, I did find it clean. And to put things in perspective, I'm a 30+ traveller that went to US for business. Coming from a Marriott, I absolutely enjoyed staying here. It is 10 minutes away from the french quater, but that was not an issue. $1,25 dollar per tram and $10 at night by taxi will take you there.

Disliked: Walls, ceiling and flooring are torn down, though, this gives caracter to the place as well. And as they keep it clean, not an issue.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proper backpackers hostel, obviously well-used, good staff and friendly visitors. Good for a party

Disliked: Nothing springs to mind

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Sooooo cheap. Great cheap food. Friendly backpackers. Super friendly staff. 24 hour front desk. A 30-40 minute walk to Bourbon street, or a 10 minute trolley ride. I was worried about bedbugs, since I saw some previous posts on hostelbookers about this, but there were none. All mattresses have plastic sheets around them.

Disliked: Well, just remember it's a hostel, and that sleeping in a room with 7 other people is not always easy. There were some cockroaches in the kitchen, but they give bins to those who want to store food. It is far from from downtown, but c'mon, it's easy/cheap to get there.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building and great outdoor area. A really cool place to meet people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the atmosphere of this place. The art on the walls is wonderful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Proximity to streetcars and City Park. Friendly and helpful staff. Useful tourist information. Well-equipped kitchen. Self-control air-conditioner in guest room. Cosy atmosphere and character at sitting room and other public areas.

Disliked: Kitchen a bit small. Indoor public area looks dim and a little messy. Separate building for guest rooms: not very convenient for guests to go from bedroom to service counter or kitchen, especially on rainy days.