HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of India House Backpackers Hostel New Orleans

Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 78%

Location 81%

Safety 82%

Staff 83%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Orleans?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 78%

Location 81%

Safety 82%

Staff 83%

Value 87%

Showing 31-26 of 26 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good value for money. Proximity to streetcars and City Park. Friendly and helpful staff. Useful tourist information. Well-equipped kitchen. Self-control air-conditioner in guest room. Cosy atmosphere and character at sitting room and other public areas.

Disliked: Kitchen a bit small. Indoor public area looks dim and a little messy. Separate building for guest rooms: not very convenient for guests to go from bedroom to service counter or kitchen, especially on rainy days.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel was very friendly, there were lots of people milling around. The pool was very nice, and the house had lots of character. It was also easy to get to the French Quarter and the Garden district (a 10 minute and 30 minute streetcar/bus ride away respectively). There was a nice big kitchen and plenty of room to cook with if you like that kind of thing, and a breakfast service where you can get breakfast pretty cheaply.

Disliked: It seemed a little run down and grubby in places - nothing too bad, and definitely liveable in, but there were occasionally mockroaches in the kitchen.

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: (Small) pool. They cook breakfast as you watch, $6 and upwards. Wall sockets available in the common court area (outside). Kitchen with acceptable setup of pots and pans. Located close to street car heading for downtown.

Disliked: Old, worn, falling apart, dirty. They don't take card unless you're paying $100 or more, and their ATM charges an extra $5 fee for every withdrawal. TV is broken and displays everything in brown, airconditioning is too weak to keep rooms cool during day but manages to make them ice cold during night. Showers and toilets are kinda nasty. Wifi available only in main building, not in rooms.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Right next to the streetcar stop, and a short ride to the heart of the city. Has a lot of character, with all the art on the walls done by guests and bric-a-brac. Also has a really cool setup with a pool in the back and all of the buildings joined by one common backyard. There are a lot of people going in and out, but I like that kind of activity.

Disliked: I accidentally left my clothes in the bathroom after a shower and could never find them again, though the staff helped me look.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The McDonald's that was close by.

Disliked: The disgustingly dirty pool, was extremely warm, I think everyone pisses inside it.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The atmosphere was awesome. The diversity of the people staying there was also great. In my room, there were women from Australia, Switzerland, Asia, and the USA. The trolley is right by the hostel, which makes it an awesome location. A lot of reviews said the safety was questionable if you were walking, which I disagree with. We walked both ways down Canal St. during the day and night and had no issues. Check out the Chickie Wah Wah bar/restaurant. It's a few blocks away and has amazing food!

Disliked: The rooming/checking-in situation is a little bit disorganized, but the staff is willing to work with you. My friend came a day later than I did and had to stay in a different room the first night. We were able to switch her to my room the next night though. It wasn't that big of a deal since we only slept in our rooms, and were in the common areas/exploring New Orleans the rest of the time.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was fun staying there. Staff was friendly.

Disliked: The location is far of from everything. The first answer we got, when we asked where we could find a supermarket was: "Do you have a car". This answer describes the location of the hostel perfectly. Later on we found a supermarket about 20minutes by foot.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: great atmosphere, friendly staff, really nice property

Disliked: lack of showers/toilets

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The overall atmosphere, facilities , people, overall a great place, the only thing is : its not the best location takes about 20 minutes of streetcar ride to french quarters , and streetcar does not that run often.

Disliked: location

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The character of the place. Had a lot of extra facilities for eg laundry and dryer, great kitchen facilities and you can buy home cooked meals there some of the days. Staff were helpful and friendly but a bit cliquey. Anyhow met some cool people there.

Disliked: It is a little out location wise but the streetcar stops just across the road.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability