HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of India House Backpackers Hostel New Orleans Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 79%

Location 82%

Safety 82%

Staff 85%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

India House is set in a TRUE mansion. The main house was build in 1908 and housed a very rich oil executive . The high ceilings the beautiful staircases, the floor to ceiling windows and the 8 FT cypress doors are all original.

We accept Cash, Traveler’s Checks, and all Major Credit cards. Minimum payment on credit cards is $80.

We only accept foreign travelers or out of the state students (please bring your student id with you!).

No hostel membership is necessary.

A valid ID or passport is required in order to check in.Please bring a print-out copy of your reservation with you to speed up the check-in process.

Payment is due in full upon arrival.

A $5 deposit per person is required at check-in and is refundable upon return of your key on time.

We have a 48hr cancellation policy. Late cancellations, late changes and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night’s accommodation.

There is a maximum stay of 7 nights.

Beds and rooms are allocated on the arrival day. We will do our best to accommodate you, but there’s no guarantee that groups of two or more people will be in the same room.

Towels are not provided, but can be purchased separately.

Taxes are not included, 9% tax has to be paid on arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Orleans?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 79%

Location 82%

Safety 82%

Staff 85%

Value 87%

Showing 21-20 of 20 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location: A minute to a street car stop, but not on a main noisy road. Good common areas to socialize. Affordable food for breakfast and dinner.

Disliked: Cocroaches in the kitchen. Paper plates and cups, plastic cuttlery. Rather the "what's convenient for us" than a customer oriented attitude - can't book at the front desk in advance, can't pay with credit card under 80 dollars, towels only available to buy. The house looks like not taken care of - nothing to put or hang your clothes on in a huge private room with lots of space, squeaky doors that compete with the noises of TV, music and people talking (very annoying after a while). The staff doesn't care to find an answer to many questions they don't know, or to help with whatever is not routine for them. Two bathrooms in the main building are always occupied which can be a real trouble when you need it urgently. Once I had to ask the ladies who were cleaning the bathroom to please let me pee, after standing in front of them for a while, waiting to be noticed (was amazed how they kept ignoring me). Another time I was given a burnt toast for breakfast, and when refusing to eat it, was just given the money back - no embarrassment, no apology, no offer to make a new one.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff helpfull, nice patio outside with a bar, TV, tables... Cosy place, perfect for backpackers!

Disliked: Into the dorm it was cold at night but it wasn't allowed to use the heater, the door was quiet old and with signs of break and the lock was rather simple to be burgled. Could be cleaned with much care, especially the showers and the couches in the lounge...

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff was helpful and I loved being a short street-car ride away from all the action on Canal St. It's also a close drive to the French Quarter.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really great social areas and nice friendly atmosphere! Close to town once you knew where you were going.

Disliked: Only one bathroom per floor caused queues, but not reason enough to stay elsewhere. Thoroughly enjoyed my experience.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It felt like living in a giant boarding house! I loved the murals on the walls and the friendliness of it all. The cheap breakfasts and dinners were also great and they rent bikes out for really cheap.

Disliked: Bring some mozzie repellent, there are heaps outside

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: great place to meet people and have fun. great pool, lots of fridge room, cheap dinners, location not perfect but its super easy to get into town and there are grocery stores in every direction. all staff were helpful and knew everything loved it!

Disliked: when i booked on hostelbookers, i got there and apparently 'hostelbookers doesnt show up on our list' they were casual about it and knew about it but hadnt disabled their account or anything so i had to be moved from an 8 bed all female to a 12 bed mixed dorm and that was it no choice. so be careful when booking on hostelbookers!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating


17 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Didn't stay long enough to enjoy!!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Atmosphere! Great blend of relaxed travelers. Several locations to socialise which people actually do.On contrary to some of the comments, I did find it clean. And to put things in perspective, I'm a 30+ traveller that went to US for business. Coming from a Marriott, I absolutely enjoyed staying here.It is 10 minutes away from the french quater, but that was not an issue. $1,25 dollar per tram and $10 at night by taxi will take you there.

Disliked: Walls, ceiling and flooring are torn down, though, this gives caracter to the place as well. And as they keep it clean, not an issue.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Great hostel! Sooooo cheap. Great cheap food. Friendly backpackers. Super friendly staff. 24 hour front desk. A 30-40 minute walk to Bourbon street, or a 10 minute trolley ride. I was worried about bedbugs, since I saw some previous posts on hostelbookers about this, but there were none. All mattresses have plastic sheets around them.

Disliked: Well, just remember it's a hostel, and that sleeping in a room with 7 other people is not always easy. There were some cockroaches in the kitchen, but they give bins to those who want to store food. It is far from from downtown, but c'mon, it's easy/cheap to get there.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Proper backpackers hostel, obviously well-used, good staff and friendly visitors. Good for a party

Disliked: Nothing springs to mind

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability