HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of India House Backpackers Hostel New Orleans Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 79%

Location 82%

Safety 82%

Staff 85%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

India House is set in a TRUE mansion. The main house was build in 1908 and housed a very rich oil executive . The high ceilings the beautiful staircases, the floor to ceiling windows and the 8 FT cypress doors are all original.

We accept Cash, Traveler’s Checks, and all Major Credit cards. Minimum payment on credit cards is $80.

We only accept foreign travelers or out of the state students (please bring your student id with you!).

No hostel membership is necessary.

A valid ID or passport is required in order to check in.Please bring a print-out copy of your reservation with you to speed up the check-in process.

Payment is due in full upon arrival.

A $5 deposit per person is required at check-in and is refundable upon return of your key on time.

We have a 48hr cancellation policy. Late cancellations, late changes and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night’s accommodation.

There is a maximum stay of 7 nights.

Beds and rooms are allocated on the arrival day. We will do our best to accommodate you, but there’s no guarantee that groups of two or more people will be in the same room.

Towels are not provided, but can be purchased separately.

Taxes are not included, 9% tax has to be paid on arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Orleans?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 79%

Location 82%

Safety 82%

Staff 85%

Value 87%

Showing 11-19 of 19 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Awesome atmosphere. They cook food each night which you can purchase very cheaply and it's delicious! The beds are comfy enough, they have a pool, lots of cooking and food storage areas and fridges for beer and drinks. Honestly lots of fun

Disliked: The bathrooms and showers are pretty crappy but oh well and some of the rooms are not air conditioned very well so are quite warm.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very relaxed! Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, great people. There are lovely places to just sit and chill around the hostel. $5 Louisiana style dinners on offer at the hostel as well as a variety of breakfast options. Close to the tram service which goes up and down Canal St to the french quarter!

Disliked: Nothing. One of the showers wasnt working one morning but i think thats because they were doing renovations on the pool and they had about 3 other shower rooms to compensate for it!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great vibe at this place, friendly, good common areas, has a pool out the back, beds were comfy, place was clean, decent showers, right next to the streetcar into French quarter. Helpful staff, big place so you didn't feel cramped all the time.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: So I rock up at 9PM, tired and worn. 'Welcome Home' says a friendly voice. We chat for a few words, and I'm offered to come drink once I've booked in. This didn't take too long, and after a short walk to the Walgreens, I was on the porch with Ismel (member of staff) and Catherine (former staff), with a few others throughtout the night.I stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed it all. Met so many travellers from all works of life, and truly felt at home in this gem of New Orleans. Free coffee throughtout the day, beers on hand with a share and share a like attitude. You want to go out but your travelling by yourself? No worries, go out back and chill with a drink from 9PM and you'll be out with a great group, chatting like you've known each other for years.I have already, and will carry on recommending it to everyone, I will be coming back for a second stay.Thank you so much India House for being a highlight of my trip.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Great vibe, great prices, huge amount of space so usually good availability, and lots of amenitites! Pool!!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: free wifi, it is literally the only good thing postive about this hostel

Disliked: Worst hostel i have ever seen it is filthy, old and very unorganized. Location is not ideal, at least a 20 minute tram car to the french quarter or any shops for food ect and it is in a very shady neighbourhood. i did not feel safe walking the street at night. Bathrooms were the worst, mouldy and dirty. Only 2 inside the whole house to cater for 40+ people. Only reason i didnt leave immediatly was it was Wrestlemania 30 weekend and i literally couldnt find any other accommodation available. Do yourself a favour and avoid this place at all costs, there are much nicer areas and places for not much more $. I felt like needing a tetnus shot upon leaving it was that disgusting

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing particular

Disliked: Lost shoes and trousers, staff can t help at all, dirty , not so safe neighborhood and not even the hostel is seem to be safe , a lot of guests long term stay

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: It was a very nice atmosphere and the people who worked there were very helpful and nice

Disliked: Nothing everything was greay

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: location, atmosphere

Disliked: roaches in kitchen, dirty rooms and bathrooms. too much writing on walls - rooms need to be repainted

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The big dorm I was in was more 3 interlocking rooms with a couple of toilets and showers and with a decent amount of space between beds. Trolley stop right outside the hostel (takes about 20mins to get to NO centre) a good few social areas to hang out

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability