HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of India House Backpackers Hostel New Orleans

Hostel

124 South Lopez St, New Orleans, USA

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 78%

Location 81%

Safety 82%

Staff 83%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Orleans?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 78%

Location 81%

Safety 82%

Staff 83%

Value 87%

Showing 11-20 of 26 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: So I rock up at 9PM, tired and worn. 'Welcome Home' says a friendly voice. We chat for a few words, and I'm offered to come drink once I've booked in. This didn't take too long, and after a short walk to the Walgreens, I was on the porch with Ismel (member of staff) and Catherine (former staff), with a few others throughtout the night.I stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed it all. Met so many travellers from all works of life, and truly felt at home in this gem of New Orleans. Free coffee throughtout the day, beers on hand with a share and share a like attitude. You want to go out but your travelling by yourself? No worries, go out back and chill with a drink from 9PM and you'll be out with a great group, chatting like you've known each other for years.I have already, and will carry on recommending it to everyone, I will be coming back for a second stay.Thank you so much India House for being a highlight of my trip.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Great vibe, great prices, huge amount of space so usually good availability, and lots of amenitites! Pool!!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: free wifi, it is literally the only good thing postive about this hostel

Disliked: Worst hostel i have ever seen it is filthy, old and very unorganized. Location is not ideal, at least a 20 minute tram car to the french quarter or any shops for food ect and it is in a very shady neighbourhood. i did not feel safe walking the street at night. Bathrooms were the worst, mouldy and dirty. Only 2 inside the whole house to cater for 40+ people. Only reason i didnt leave immediatly was it was Wrestlemania 30 weekend and i literally couldnt find any other accommodation available. Do yourself a favour and avoid this place at all costs, there are much nicer areas and places for not much more $. I felt like needing a tetnus shot upon leaving it was that disgusting

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing particular

Disliked: Lost shoes and trousers, staff can t help at all, dirty , not so safe neighborhood and not even the hostel is seem to be safe , a lot of guests long term stay

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: It was a very nice atmosphere and the people who worked there were very helpful and nice

Disliked: Nothing everything was greay

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: location, atmosphere

Disliked: roaches in kitchen, dirty rooms and bathrooms. too much writing on walls - rooms need to be repainted

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The big dorm I was in was more 3 interlocking rooms with a couple of toilets and showers and with a decent amount of space between beds. Trolley stop right outside the hostel (takes about 20mins to get to NO centre) a good few social areas to hang out

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location: A minute to a street car stop, but not on a main noisy road. Good common areas to socialize. Affordable food for breakfast and dinner.

Disliked: Cocroaches in the kitchen. Paper plates and cups, plastic cuttlery. Rather the "what's convenient for us" than a customer oriented attitude - can't book at the front desk in advance, can't pay with credit card under 80 dollars, towels only available to buy. The house looks like not taken care of - nothing to put or hang your clothes on in a huge private room with lots of space, squeaky doors that compete with the noises of TV, music and people talking (very annoying after a while). The staff doesn't care to find an answer to many questions they don't know, or to help with whatever is not routine for them. Two bathrooms in the main building are always occupied which can be a real trouble when you need it urgently. Once I had to ask the ladies who were cleaning the bathroom to please let me pee, after standing in front of them for a while, waiting to be noticed (was amazed how they kept ignoring me). Another time I was given a burnt toast for breakfast, and when refusing to eat it, was just given the money back - no embarrassment, no apology, no offer to make a new one.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff helpfull, nice patio outside with a bar, TV, tables... Cosy place, perfect for backpackers!

Disliked: Into the dorm it was cold at night but it wasn't allowed to use the heater, the door was quiet old and with signs of break and the lock was rather simple to be burgled. Could be cleaned with much care, especially the showers and the couches in the lounge...

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff was helpful and I loved being a short street-car ride away from all the action on Canal St. It's also a close drive to the French Quarter.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability