We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Miami hostels
See all Miami hotels

Reviews of Freehand Miami Hostel and Hotel

Hostel | 2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami, Florida, USA FL 33140

88.1% Overall Rating

72 out of 76 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/10/2014)

Tzung-Shiun Li thinks…

"is really comfortable and convience, especial in creating friendly and dynamic interactive for guest."

Read all Freehand Miami Hostel and Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Reservations must be cancelled via email prior to 3:00PM (15:00) Eastern Standard Time, 72 hours in advance of the arrival date to avoid a penalty of one night room and tax. December 4 –7 th, 2014 December 31st, 2014 March 18 -20th, 2015 March 25 -27th, 2015 May 22 -23, 2015 December 3–7 th, 2015 December 31, 2015 January 1 – 2, 2016

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Miami?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Miami

Circa 39 Hotel
97.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Riviera South Beach
95.50 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
58.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.4% 4 reviews
BEDS N DRINKS HOSTEL
20.00 USD

Hostel 83.3% 13 reviews
HI-Miami Beach
22.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Island House South Beach
48.00 USD

Hostel 81.3% 22 reviews
A&L Hostel
99.99 USD

Hostel 97.1% 3 reviews
The Miami Hostel
19.00 USD

Hostel 84.5% 279 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

72 out of 76 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Freehand Miami Hostel and Hotel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
90.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 75 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tzung-Shiun Li

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2014 Tzung-Shiun would recommend this property

Liked: is really comfortable and convience, especial in creating friendly and dynamic interactive for guest.

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christian reiter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2014 christian would recommend this property

Liked: good place to stay. 1min walk to the beach.

Disliked: christian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location with very easy access to beach and not far from main strip and shopping. Good WiFi. Clean rooms. Great vibe and options to socialize by the pool.

Disliked: Nothing. Great hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really like Freehand Miami. It's very clean and nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was quite big and the bunks were like fixed "booths" so they were big and stable (couldn't feel the person above me moving around) and there was plenty of space to keep things in there too. Breakfast was included, the hostel has a pool and bar, it's walking distance to the beach... overall, really good.

Disliked: The cleaners came at very random and different times each day and I don't think they actually did much apart from change the towels. The bathroom didn't really get cleaned very well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr schöne Außenanlage mit kleinem Pool. Die Bar war zwar teuer, aber alles in Miami ist teuer... Die Zimmer waren so schön wie auf den Fotos. Die Belegschaft war rund um die Uhr sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Ich kann dieses Hostel nur wärmstens weiter empfehlen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Martin Garcia

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

04 May 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Murilo de Melo Fernandes

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2014 Murilo would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere of the place is really good.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Arun Damchuay

Alone

Business / conference

28 February 2014 Arun would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Not thing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Kerstin Schäfer

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2014

Liked: The rooms are superficially pretty clean, the bar is nice but way too expensive for what you get, the location is convienient. The shower gets hot quickly and the beds are comfy.

Disliked: It is super loud. Dont stay there unless you dont usually go to bed before 2, thats when they start to turn off the music from the bar (and it gets loud at around 8 again). Its really super loud even with earplugs. Also the staff is very unfriendly and has no clue about anything if you ask them. Also the people who stay there are not very open, the atmosphere was rude and cold and its super expensive for what you get. Also we found disgusting stuff under our matresses (I lost something, thats why we lifted them) and I would really recommend them bed-bug-coversheets as every hostel I stayed in so far had, to prevent possible bedbugs from staying in the hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Comfortable beds.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Alright breakfast included, if you get up earlier than 10am. Nice pool and backyard. Rooms and beds are in very good condition. Housekeeping cleans and provides fresh towel every day. You get to meet locals who come in at night for the bar.

Disliked: Guest kitchen closes at 10pm. The bar is expensive (for travellers budget), but for Miami it´s quite alright.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neri Gomes

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

17 September 2013 Neri would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness and the upkeep of the employees.

Disliked: Neri left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Cox

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Work / volunteering

12 September 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Really central armosphere great

Disliked: Músic was a bit loud at night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Selami Bildirici

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2013 Selami would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere in freehand hostel, Friendly and helpfull staff. I love them too much, clean and large rooms; two barhrooms inside. I liked the pool and and the garden.

Disliked: One thing that I didn!t like such as: I didnt like the bar concept in hostel. It doesnt appeal to Travelers who are law budget. The atmosphere is amazing in the bar but this is an hostel and ıt is for travelers means people looking for a cheap place to stay not to pay an expensive bar. Bar entrance is common for all local people but sometimes hard to find a seat for people who stay in the hostel. It doesnt make any sense for settlers.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 August 2013

Liked: It was a convenient location, near the airport bus stop and near the beach. It was clean. There were 2 bathrooms in the room for 8 people. They did offer free bag storage and free wi-fi.

Disliked: It was the one of the more expensive hostels, but had the fewest amenities. I was shocked to find there was NO KITCHEN, which meant NO MICROWAVE for cooking food and NO FRIDGE for storing food purchased outside. The free breakfast was just bite-sized pastries and orange juice. I was surprised to learn there was NO TV. My pillar of bunks did not have hooks, while all the rest of the pillars were equipped. The elevator was not working.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Meagan Rymer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2013 Meagan would recommend this property

Liked: easy to organise shuttle from airport, close to the beach.

Disliked: Meagan left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super comfy bed, rooms good size. Friendly staff.

Disliked: As a backpacker I'm tight on money so it was annoying that there was no kitchen and particularly no fridge for me to put my perishables, and thus I had to throw food away.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kim Terfruechte

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

10 July 2013 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: The four bed dorm was great, comfy beds with reding light and a clean bathroom. The outdoor area with pool and bar is nice to hang out. The nice staff and great atmosphere made this the nicest hostel I´ve been to.

Disliked: Kim left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Roberton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel. The eight-bed dorm was not at all crowded, and the beds are big, sturdy and not creaky (so you're not woken up by someone drunkenly climbing onto the top bunk above you in the middle of the night), relatively private, and equipped with power and a reading light. The pool/patio area is a great place to hang out and relax/read/swim/sunbake/work/whatever. The wifi works pretty reasonably throughout -- in the rooms and in the pool area, too. We're back in Miami in a few days, and if it weren't for the fact that the hostel gets a lot more expensive for the 4th of July, we'd definitely be staying here again. As it is, I guess we'll have to make do with somewhere not as good for a cheaper price!

Disliked: There's not much interesting in the immediate area around the hostel -- but it's not a long walk down to the more bustling bits of Collins St, so that's not a big deal.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool area was nice, beds in the dorm were nice and were a bit more private than other hostels. Décor is done really well and the common room is good.

Disliked: It was noisy until about 3 every night. In the bed we were in, our head was right next to the wall with the speaker outside so couldn't sleep if you wanted to. Signs around property about no noise after 11 yet people were playing the piano until 2 in the morning. Bar was expensive - $8 for a beer, dearest I found in Miami! NO KITCHEN!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, relaxing outdoor patio and bar. There is also a pool. Comfortable beds, each bunk has power outlet and nite light. one block from bus stop, which will get you anywhere in Miami.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saphra Ross

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

23 May 2013 Saphra would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and decor is just beautiful and conpletely my style. The pictures do not do it justice. The staff go out of their way to help and are so friendly and the rooms icludig bathrooms are immaculate. The beds are spacious and having 2 bathrooms in the dorm was really helpful. The facilities such as games, ping pong, swimming pool, bar and bike rental are great too. Its the bet hostel Ive stayed in. And Ive stayed in a few!

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike. It is a little distance from restaurants and the main buzz but thats the point of freehand-to be away from the craziness. Bus and bikes are easily accessible and its 2 minutes fron the beach and seconds away from a cafe and supermarket.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philippa Robinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Philippa would recommend this property

Liked: nice beds, breakfast, lobby, shop, ATM

Disliked: Philippa left no negative feedback.


See all Miami hostels
See all Miami hotels