HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Miami hostels
See all Miami hotels

Reviews of Bikini Hostel

Hostel | 1255 West Ave, Miami, Florida, USA 33139

78.7% Overall Rating

61 out of 75 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2014)

Michal Berski thinks…

"It's in South Beach within 15 min walk from the beach and opposite to the bus stop. The hostel offers inexpensive stay in Miami."

Read all Bikini Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note, that the taxes are NOT included in the payable upon arrival amount and need to be paid separately to us directly. Cancellations made within 72 hours of arrival time during special events and holidays below will be charged 100% of the total reservation -Halloween Oct 31-Nov 1 -Veteran's Day Nov 8-11 -Thanksgiving Nov 28-Dec 1 -Art Basel Dec 5-8 -Christmas Dec 24-25 -NYE Dec 31-Jan 1 -MLK Jan 16-20 -Boat Show/Pres Day/Valentine's Day Feb 13-17 -Wine and Food Feb 20-23 -the entire month of March (Spring Break, WMC, Ultra) -Easter April 17-21 -Cinco de Mayo May 2-5 -Mother's Day May 11 -Memorial Day Weekend May 22-26 -Independence Day July 1-7 -Swim Week July 17-23 -the entire month of August (European Vacation Month) -Labor Day Sept 1-2 -Columbus Day/Carib. Carnival Oct 10-14

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Miami?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Miami

The Miami Hostel
17.00 USD

Hostel 83.8% 259 reviews
A&L Hostel
99.99 USD

Hostel 97.1% 3 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
64.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Miami Beach International Travelers Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 73.8% 999 reviews
Posh South Beach
25.00 USD

Hostel 86.3% 18 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel, Suites & Day Spa
41.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 4 reviews
Hotel Shelley
73.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Whitelaw
69.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

61 out of 75 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bikini Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
72.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 59 of 73 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Michal Berski

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014

Liked: It's in South Beach within 15 min walk from the beach and opposite to the bus stop. The hostel offers inexpensive stay in Miami.

Disliked: The STAFF! I have booked 3 day stay but had to change the room after one night and had to leave my room for 4 hours with cheking out and in again. Upon my retur to the hostel on the 2nd day all my stuff and belongings were thrown out at the floor by Bikini Hostel staff (thank you skinny girl) because "she did not know who it belonged to so that someone else could take that bed..) come on - do you do that you pack everyones benongings including digital camera, backpack and clothes on the floor?? - offering me a beer for compensation is not enough! This was BS! In addition, the breakfast so pionted as an adventage to other hostels - Bikini offers one boiled egg, one bagel, some butter, a bit of jam, and cottage cheese. Please decide yourself if having that everyday is a good breakfast.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a spa and a pool and bagels for breakfast

Disliked: We stayed at bikini hostel for one night and just wanted to charge our devices, take a warm shower and check the internet but there was no energy for hours until the mornimg we left. We normally don't judge someone for having a power blackout but the way they handled it was not good. So all the great facilities they have we're useless for us and we still had to pay the same amount of money.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Kanable

Alone

Partying / nightlife

05 April 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly environment

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

12 March 2014

Liked: Good location, good facilities, fairly clean rooms.

Disliked: Other customers were very sketchy and made me feel unsafe during my entire stay. The staff was inconsistent and inefficient, though doing their best. They are understaffed and probably need a better system.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Natasha Anderson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2014

Liked: The other guests were cool.

Disliked: One of the owners broke my little sisters phone, promised that the next day he would be here to pay for the repair and guess what?? nowhere to be found. he's a f-ing scumbag and now that the phone is broken, we can't take pictures of the cruise we're about to go on. Thanks James.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Susanne Karlsson

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: This wonderful place is just awesome, you meet friends from all over the world. The staff is wonderful and all the events they arrange are great. The absolute best thing, however, is the cozy atmosphere all day and night. Want to make new friends? Meet new, exciting people from all around the world? This place is the place for you. Big plus that all ages are welcome.

Disliked: I don't know why they advertise a pool and jacuzzi when they have neither. Also, some small thefts even from the "secure" padlocked lockers, hidden in areas where thieves can operate unseen. We had to switch rooms 3 times in 8 nights, a little bit tiresome. Big variation of rooms, but if you're looking for pure luxury, you probably don't even read this review.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free trolley and local bus for 25 cents, a gift from the City of Miami. Take them to get around South Beach, it's great. The hostel has a Jacuzzi, a pool table, a table top tennis, and a good atmosphere.

Disliked: Laundry should be made more available. Please do not suggest that a backpacker go and buy his/her own laundry when we know it is heavy and cumbersome and unpractical to carry when we travel. Have it readily available - and charge for it - but make it easy on us and offer it with the washer and dryer.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amanda clarke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014 amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and modern place with no grimey-ness and plenty of space in both the dorm rooms and the shared areas. I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm and always prefer places with bathrooms separate down a corridor like this place because you don't get woken up by people so much and aren't waiting for people to come out like if you only have one bathroom in the room. The TV room area was comfy and the outside area with hot tub and pool table was spacious and sociable. Rooms were secure with lockers (bring a big padlock, mine was too small to fit properly) and pin-numbers for entry to the rooms. The breakfast was decent enough (boiled egg, bagle with cream cheese and jam, coffee). It is 10 mins walk to the beach.ocean drive or to Lincoln Road Mall area. People looked at me like I was cray when I said at the airport I was getting the 150 bus to Lincoln Road and then walking (it's like 6 blocks or something) but it only took 10-15 mins to walk with my backpack. Can only assume Americans are pretty lazy haha! Also had a great ngiths sleep here, not noisy at all.

Disliked: the grumpy woman that serves breakfast who assumes you are psychic and will know where everything is

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clayton Kimball

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Clayton would recommend this property

Liked: Really fun atmosphere. Enjoyed the hot tub, free barbecue, ping pong table. Electronic door codes convenient. Very convenient bus access (S to downtown or beach, SBL around the peninsula, Airport Flyer not too far). Easy access to Lincoln Road mall.

Disliked: Beds a bit squeaky. AC wasn't awesome in our room. Low water pressure one morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the Value, Safety, Breakfast, People, Location, etc.

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cynthia Jean-Pierre

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

16 January 2014 Cynthia would recommend this property

Liked: It is a great place to meet cool travelers who are friendly and open. Most of staff is pretty helpful but I get the most love from Jose who always has open arms and makes you feel very welcomed. Erika at the front desk is always a real sweat heart as well and always pleasant with smile which is the key to wanting to spend time someplace.

Disliked: A water fountain or cooler would be extra nice.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

07 January 2014

Liked: Nice atmosphere, good for bonding with other travellers. We wouldn't recommend the hostel-organized clubbing. It's too expensive and you don't get any real value for your money. The specials only aim to get the club crowded.

Disliked: Staff war friendly but not helpful at all. Shower in our room didnt work. No equipment in kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Graham

Alone

Partying / nightlife

04 January 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Affordable

Disliked: N/A

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

linas Matiukas

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

24 December 2013

Liked: I liked the layout of the small common TV room/check-in room leading into a nicely surrounded exterior hang out place. Great spacing of Jacuzzi, billiards, some couches, chairs, and the connection to the kitchen and TV room. Jacuzzi and billiards really brought the right type of people together in the outside patio space - I met some cool people, and we hung out together - far away from the hostel, on the actual beach.

Disliked: How old and deteriorated it is, as nothing seemed to have been updated since the opening. The couches, sofas, chairs, table, beds, mattresses have probably been the same for many years and it is evident by tears, scrapes, and gross discoloration. It's tough to even sit down on any of this stuff with clean clothing. It was over a mile from the beach, but close to food stores, and a park, so location wasn't all that bad for me personally, however, for others I don't think it would be the best. The cleaner never entered my room in 3 nights. I heard of two different thefts during my stay. There are no cameras in the public areas - except for lobby, and outside by the billiards table. Finally, while some front desk staff were really nice, the management seemed to really distance and not care about the thefts or anything that's lacking, and it felt like the focus of the hostel was to be a profitable watering hole, rather than anything more (especially when handling the theft situations, leaving the hostelers stranded). Police officer said it was a common thing for all hostels in Miami, thought - so it's just the culture.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was really nice and the staff was friendly. i enjoyed my time there

Disliked: N/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annie Cawi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2013 Annie would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff. Good atmosphere.Clean room , convenient for bus stop.

Disliked: the mattress was uncomfortable, TV in the room was not working although I have reported it several times. No lift.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming very warm with Jose, the guide who make your trip perfect =D The atmosphere is AMAZING and I had a lot of fun !!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Federico Calitri

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

22 November 2013 Federico would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything, people, location, free bbq and pizza, pool, ping pong, clean room

Disliked: Federico left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SABRINA GALVAN

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013 SABRINA would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is comfortable. The location is great. Wonderful people. It's a really nice place to enjoy your stay in Miami Beach.

Disliked: SABRINA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Nie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

17 November 2013 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: It has great amenities like Pool table, Ping Pong, a big swimming pool and a hot tub. All free for the guests. In addition, it offers free breakfast, a lounge room where you can watch your favorite TV show or just relax at the couch. They have free BBQ every Saturday night, offer you free popcorns on movie night. Every room has its own bathroom and a kitchen. You can also cook your own meal at the main kitchen as well. They also arrange parties at some of the best clubs in South Beach every night with clubs like LIV and Mansion etc...

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alida Zecca

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Alida would recommend this property

Liked: The place is awesome! It s home away from home! The people is simply amazing ..the atmosphere is incredible! Probably i've spent there one of the best weeks of my life!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleaniness and mostly it's safety!

Disliked: Not so much to dislike. It isn't the party rock but it is a very nice hostel!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Timon Schinke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

27 October 2013 Timon would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay in Miami Beach.

Disliked: Timon left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jacob van Duijn

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

25 October 2013

Liked: Breakfast is good.

Disliked: Strange place. Facilities are available, but commitment isn't. General cloud of indifference hanging over the property. Terrible dorm beds. Too easy for unregistered guests to crash the dorms - we had two of them in a 6-bed dorm.


See all Miami hostels
See all Miami hotels