We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Miami hostels
See all Miami hotels

Reviews of The Miami Hostel

Hostel | 810 Alton Road, Miami, Florida, USA FL 33139

82.4% Overall Rating

270 out of 304 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/03/2015)

"Very good value for money. I still don't understand how it could be that cheap. It is simple, but feelt safe and it was clean. I was happy, could easily have stayed longer and saved money compared to other hostels."

Read all The Miami Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We will charge the first night for all bookings that do not Show up without exceptions and the limit of age is between 18 years and 50 years old max Please note, as of March 1st 2014 we will no longer be offering Lunch. If you do not arrive on the day of check-in, your booking will be cancelled and charged the first night of stay. If you arrive on the subsequent day you may only be accommodated subject to availability. NO LOCAL RESIDENTS OF MIAMI TRAVELERS ONLY WITH PASSPORTS.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Miami?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Miami

Miami Beach Bikini Hostel, Cafe & Beer Garden
25.00 USD

Hostel 80.6% 112 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
66.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.9% 4 reviews
Miami Beach International Travelers Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 79.5% 1071 reviews
Island House South Beach
64.50 USD

Hostel 81.3% 22 reviews
HI-Miami Beach
35.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Chesterfield Hotel, Suites & Day Spa
84.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.9% 5 reviews
Posh South Beach
45.00 USD

Hostel 85.6% 25 reviews
Hotel Shelley
74.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.4%

Overall Rating

270 out of 304 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Miami Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
78.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 237 of 293 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money. I still don't understand how it could be that cheap. It is simple, but feelt safe and it was clean. I was happy, could easily have stayed longer and saved money compared to other hostels.

Disliked: The breakfast was not much to brag about, but with this price I was happy we even got breakfast. It is also a little walk to the beach, but it's not too bad. It is totaly doable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lorenzo Maida

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

06 March 2015 Lorenzo would recommend this property

Liked: quiet hostel , beautiful kitchen, free breakfast and wifi

Disliked: not great vibes but okey

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Cancelled movie night and free barbecue

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Acevedo

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 February 2015 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: staff and kitchen

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kelly wienckowski

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

14 February 2015 kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: jucuzze

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

12 February 2015

Liked: The hostel is very cheap and it is a 15 minute walk from the beach. You get free breakfast (a bagel and cream cheese). The hostel is right next to 2 grocery stores so you can keep costs down by cooking. The staff is very kind and want to do what they can to help you.

Disliked: The front door does not lock, so anybody can walk in. This is not the place to party; there is no age limit, so there are people in their 60s staying as guests. There are some creepy guests that seem to live there/are not travelers and bother young girls. There are no free beach towels, so you have to use the one towel you get upon check-in.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

07 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's rather close and walking distance to the beach. Its a few blocks but if you're used to walking it's not bad at all. Has a lot of restaurants nearby but lacks an actual grocery store. I found it hard to find potatoes and vegetables in order to use the kitchen properly.

Disliked: Our first impression was the staff. When we tried to check in, he asked for my credit card, swiped it and gave it back and said declined. He didn't say anything but that and I was confused as hell. He was rude and not helpful. Didn't even bother trying to swipe it twice. He did not give us a tour around the hostel and not friend ly in our eyes. Though the other part of the staff was great. Very helpful and he gave tour around and he was the one we dealt with in the future. Showers and toilets are great, just the first impression was very bad. We did not have outlets available near the bed which is sad.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good value, friendly atmosphere, easy access to south beach

Disliked: needs some updating, painting, new mattress

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay simply felt relaxing. We felt no stress whatsoever.

Disliked: The provided breakfast was a tiny bagel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a great atmosphere and for meeting people to go out its perfect. Also, the location is good, the beach is within walking distance and the same applies to a big grocery store.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good party atmosphere, easy to meet other travellers at the bar and lots of people go to the clubs together. The location is fine, and it's handy that the hostel is next door to a bottleshop.

Disliked: Facilities are average and the rooms are nothing special. Not enough toilets and showers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalia Giarola

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

04 January 2015 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: Good people and they sometimes provide food (burgers) for the guests.

Disliked: People could smoke in common areas and it is close to the bedrooms.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ASHLEE OSWALD

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

03 January 2015 ASHLEE would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location, not too far from the beach/good restaurants and shops, free breakfast and free bbq offered during my stay, Good atmosphere to mingle with others

Disliked: Could be more secure, doors leading outside the hostel were always open, but the location is pretty safe

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful. The kitchen is comfortable, breakfast is simple but good. The beach and the main streets are about seven blocks from the hostel, which is nice to walk.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Carmem freitas

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 December 2014 Carmem would recommend this property

Liked: Environment

Disliked: Location, breakfast and ac

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere ...

Disliked: Nothing special ...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the desk staff a lot. They are helpful and courteous with one exception. I also enjoyed myself at the grill-out on Friday.

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Monaghan

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 November 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT LOCATION, CLEAN AND HELPFUL AT THE DESK ---QUIET RULES IN AFFECT AFTER MIDNIGHT.

Disliked: NONE ...THEY ARE GREAT !

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

18 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool staff and great feeling on the hostel in general

Disliked: That shoes are needed outside on the boards. A little weather torn perhaps? :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, billiard, bar, saturday bbq 4free, pretty big rooms,

Disliked: no AC - just 2 fans so it was way to hot, bathroom a little dirty, weak wifi in the rooms,

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleksandar Mihaylov

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

13 September 2014 Aleksandar would recommend this property

Liked: Calm atmosphere. Great people. Good facilities. This was not my first stay in this hostel and ffor sure not the last.

Disliked: Only the road work in Alton Rd which has been conducted for more than one year.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An awsome place to stay in miami. Staff was awsome! The helped whenever help was needed. They organise going to parties and have beachtowels. It has an unique character. We loved hanging out there as much as in the City itself. Would definitly recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the facilities and the atmosphere, always easy to connect with travelers in the "main area". There's a kitchen available, free pool and also a yacuzzi (although it's probably seen it's best days, didn't see anyone use it). They arrange good nights out, 25 usd for guys and 20 for the girls (you might also get free drinks out on the clubs as a girl.....)

Disliked: The security could be better, although we had key cards to the rooms. There's a main door to the upstair rooms, which only hostel guests are supposed to have access to, but it's never locked. There are lockers in the rooms, but they are small and won't fit a normal sized backpack. There were only 2 available sockets in our room (8 people), so charging your stuff in the room might be a problem.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Andrea Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

27 August 2014

Liked: The staff is awesome, super friendly and helpful. Lots of places to hang out and relax, although when I was here (August) it was too hot to hang out outside for too long.

Disliked: The property is older and something about the lack of insulation meant that even though the A/C was on, the 12-bed room was almost unbearably hot. We almost ended up switching hostels. It was pretty miserable. They did tell us that they are doing some construction, so hopefully this won't be this way forever.


See all Miami hostels
See all Miami hotels