HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Miami hostels
See all Miami hotels

Reviews of South Beach Hostel

Hostel | 235 Washington Avenue, Miami, Florida, USA FL 33139

80.3% Overall Rating

81 out of 104 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

Harriet Morris thinks…

"I had a great stay at South Beach Miami - I would definitely reccommend this place to solo travellers. I met lots of people and was made to feel right at home from the very beginning. They organise…"

Read all South Beach Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: *TAXES NOT INCLUDED IN QUOTED PRICES. *MAXIMUM NIGHT STAY 21 DAYS *GUEST MUST BE MINIMUM 18 YEARS OF AGE *WHEN BOOKING OTHER THAN PRIVATE FRIENDS SHARING SAME ROOM IS NOT GUARANTEED *48 HOURS CANCELLATION NOTICE VIA EMAIL ONLY TO AVOID CHARGES *IN CASE OF 'NO SHOW' THE TOTAL OF ONE NIGHT WILL BE CHARGED *NO CASH REFUND, CREDIT CARD REFUND ONLY *CREDIT CARD & OUT OF STATE ID REQUIRED **please note we will preauthorise cards for the first night of stay plust tax in order to guarantee you reservation**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Miami?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Miami

Jazz on South Beach hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 76.6% 643 reviews
Metropole South Beach
79.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Whitelaw
30.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Posh South Beach
27.00 USD

Hostel 85.6% 22 reviews
Hotel Shelley
28.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Miami Beach International Travelers Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 85.1% 1040 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel, Suites & Day Spa
44.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 4 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
38.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.9% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.3%

Overall Rating

81 out of 104 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'South Beach Hostel'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
76.8%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 70 of 92 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fresh and clean. Good location.

Disliked: Locks didn't work in dorm restroom. Small rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Harriet Morris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014 Harriet would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great stay at South Beach Miami - I would definitely reccommend this place to solo travellers. I met lots of people and was made to feel right at home from the very beginning. They organise nights out pretty much every day which is a great way of meeting people too, and experiencing Miami's night life. I would especially like to thank Mariano who helped me out when my phone got stolen (not from the hostel!!) - if it wasn't for him I don't know how I would have sorted it!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Solanyi Orjuela

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2014 Solanyi would recommend this property

Liked: Young people!! Party party!! I love the bar area, people super friendly!! Activities all day!! I'll be bacj

Disliked: Too small de room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Per Johan Jakob Kristofers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Per Johan Jakob would recommend this property

Liked: It was great to be able to lock my stuff up before check in and after check out. I had two backpacks that fit in the lockers without problem. Really helpful people that work there. The people I was sharing rooms with were great.

Disliked: There are a lot of resturants close by, even next door, I still would have loved it if there would have been at least a small snack menu in the bar.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is supportive and fast. Whenever I requested something they were eager to have it done.

Disliked: Narrow bathrooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap beer, good atmosphere, friendly staff.

Disliked: Bathrooms were a bit dirty and there was not enough

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Gaston Alejandro Isola

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2014

Liked: People of the hostel are always friendly to assist the guests

Disliked: There placw is very very limitated with the services. In first floor we have tree showers for more than 20 guys and we have to wait in a line....no way! There are not pool tables or additionals for guests....limited 100%

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar in the lobby Friendly staff

Disliked: Room very small.. Even in the room for 4 people Only 4 girls showers for all the floor

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it had a bar on site, it was safe, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.:)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Work / volunteering

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the convenience and location.

Disliked: I disliked that the beds weren't clearly marked and the communal bathroom was a bit of a turn off. The linens were dirty and so was the pillow (they brought up a brand new one when I told the front desk). You get what you pay for I guess.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to beach and parking was affordable. I felt safe there with the cards to open the doors.

Disliked: No hot water in showers. They would clean bathrooms in the morning when I woke up instead of at an off time. Refrigorators smelled bad.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Martin Carran

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

16 February 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice short walk to the beach

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

09 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything! i was travelling by myself and i met so many people in the hostel. they do nightly club crawls and had a Super Bowl party that was great! 2 blocks from the beach and 3 blocks away from a grocery/drugstore. one of the best experiences i had in a hostel

Disliked: nothing! everything was super!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 January 2014

Liked: Nice location and friendly staff

Disliked: Very very loud. Loud bar and hallways...not somewhere to stay unless you plan to party til 5 am even on a Tuesday.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Signe Posselt

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014 Signe would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, nice people and cool facilities! I loooooved "the hangout bar"!!

Disliked: My roomies were very loud but i guess that is a part of the hostel experience?.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

DES BANGUR

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2013 DES would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good vibe, easy to meet people.

Disliked: Thought it was a bit sily taking backpackers to VIP clubs that cost $30 to go inside and full of fake and pretentious people. Not the right vibe. They need to find free entry bars with cheap drinks full of travellers and locals. My guess was the hostel makes profit from selling these $30 tickets at the hostal. Night life because of this was extremly poor in Miami and im a hardcore party boy. Was better few years ago staying at the shore club miami. ($400 a night though).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

emin girgin

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 emin would recommend this property

Liked: There is a good bar in the entree area and doors only can open with the room card. Hostel is really close to beach and staff is really friendly. And breakfast is delicious. It's nothing special but it's good service for this price.

Disliked: Hostel is busy so you have to wait for communicate with the front desk staff or use the computer.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Work / volunteering

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was a very lively hostel and always had something going on. Great way to meet people. It was also in a great location just 10min walk to the beach and ocean drive! I was concerned it would be Loud at night but the doors block out the sound which was great....unless you get noisy people coming in late into your bunk. Great hostel for the price.

Disliked: The rooms were Very very small, could literally only have one person standing up between beds at a time. not good for suitcases as they won't fit in the lockers under the beds. So be prepared for that....but for what you're paying you can't really complain too much. The advantages definitely outweigh the disadvantages.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charlene Daubenfeld

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

17 September 2013 Charlene would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the beach, nice staff, free breakfast

Disliked: a bit noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jerard kelley

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 May 2013 jerard would recommend this property

Liked: I totally enjoyed my stay here and will be back!

Disliked: The room was a tad bit small but overall i really liked this place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GEORGE BURNHAM

Alone

Events / festivals

13 May 2013 GEORGE would recommend this property

Liked: every thing about the place is very good

Disliked: there was no dislikes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first time staying in a hostel and I would say it was a great first experience. The location is phenomenal, you are just a walk away from Ocean Drive, Lincoln Rd, Esanola Way, and of course the beach is right there at your feet. I have absolutely no complaints at all.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chiara Verardo

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

12 February 2013 Chiara would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect! 2 minutes walking from the beach and there are lots of nice stores and restaurants nearby. The staff is friendly and really helpful.

Disliked: There is internet wifi just in the lobby which is quite noisy and makes difficult to have a conversation on skype. It would be better if there was wifi in the rooms as well. What I really didn't like was breakfast! Really poor and not good. But there are so many places near the hostel where you can have a nice Breakfast!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Craig Squires

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful unlike other hostels in the area. Breakfast was nothing to write home about but its free so its prefectly fine, fruit, orange and a bagel. Room was tidy and had a safe in there although you need your own lock. Kitchen was far too small and doesn't have a stove only microwaves and a small oven so cooking is out of the question, you will need microwaveable food. Location is great, very close to beach and all bars and restaurants. Free airport Very cheap Everything they say you receive you get. WIFI is very sporadic and slow. If you are there to get an early night I wouldn't reccomend it as the music from the bar goes on until 5am. Would reccomend this to people wanting to party, only downside really is that there are not that many if any Europeans, its all Hispanics who just stick to themselves, but that seems to be the theme with hostels in the states.

Disliked: Slow WIFI

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheapest way for staying on south beach in florida and on a werry great location

Disliked: when I was there was pretty noisy because of some students and sportlers from denmark and sweden


See all Miami hostels
See all Miami hotels