HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Miami hostels
See all Miami hotels

Reviews of South Beach Hostel

Hostel | 235 Washington Avenue, Miami, Florida, USA FL 33139

82.7% Overall Rating

72 out of 92 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/04/2014)

"I liked that it had a bar on site, it was safe, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.:)"

Read all South Beach Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: *TAXES NOT INCLUDED IN QUOTED PRICES. *MAXIMUM NIGHT STAY 21 DAYS *GUEST MUST BE MINIMUM 18 YEARS OF AGE *WHEN BOOKING OTHER THAN PRIVATE FRIENDS SHARING SAME ROOM IS NOT GUARANTEED *48 HOURS CANCELLATION NOTICE VIA EMAIL ONLY TO AVOID CHARGES *IN CASE OF 'NO SHOW' THE TOTAL OF ONE NIGHT WILL BE CHARGED *NO CASH REFUND, CREDIT CARD REFUND ONLY *CREDIT CARD & OUT OF STATE ID REQUIRED **please note we will preauthorise cards for the first night of stay plust tax in order to guarantee you reservation**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Miami?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Miami

Jazz on South Beach hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 73.9% 630 reviews
Metropole South Beach
109.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Whitelaw
69.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Posh South Beach
25.00 USD

Hostel 86.3% 18 reviews
Hotel Shelley
73.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Miami Beach International Travelers Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 73.8% 999 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel, Suites & Day Spa
41.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 4 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
64.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

72 out of 92 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'South Beach Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 62 of 80 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it had a bar on site, it was safe, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.:)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Work / volunteering

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the convenience and location.

Disliked: I disliked that the beds weren't clearly marked and the communal bathroom was a bit of a turn off. The linens were dirty and so was the pillow (they brought up a brand new one when I told the front desk). You get what you pay for I guess.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to beach and parking was affordable. I felt safe there with the cards to open the doors.

Disliked: No hot water in showers. They would clean bathrooms in the morning when I woke up instead of at an off time. Refrigorators smelled bad.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Martin Carran

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

16 February 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice short walk to the beach

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

09 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything! i was travelling by myself and i met so many people in the hostel. they do nightly club crawls and had a Super Bowl party that was great! 2 blocks from the beach and 3 blocks away from a grocery/drugstore. one of the best experiences i had in a hostel

Disliked: nothing! everything was super!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 January 2014

Liked: Nice location and friendly staff

Disliked: Very very loud. Loud bar and hallways...not somewhere to stay unless you plan to party til 5 am even on a Tuesday.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Signe Posselt

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014 Signe would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, nice people and cool facilities! I loooooved "the hangout bar"!!

Disliked: My roomies were very loud but i guess that is a part of the hostel experience?.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

DES BANGUR

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2013 DES would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good vibe, easy to meet people.

Disliked: Thought it was a bit sily taking backpackers to VIP clubs that cost $30 to go inside and full of fake and pretentious people. Not the right vibe. They need to find free entry bars with cheap drinks full of travellers and locals. My guess was the hostel makes profit from selling these $30 tickets at the hostal. Night life because of this was extremly poor in Miami and im a hardcore party boy. Was better few years ago staying at the shore club miami. ($400 a night though).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

emin girgin

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 emin would recommend this property

Liked: There is a good bar in the entree area and doors only can open with the room card. Hostel is really close to beach and staff is really friendly. And breakfast is delicious. It's nothing special but it's good service for this price.

Disliked: Hostel is busy so you have to wait for communicate with the front desk staff or use the computer.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Work / volunteering

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was a very lively hostel and always had something going on. Great way to meet people. It was also in a great location just 10min walk to the beach and ocean drive! I was concerned it would be Loud at night but the doors block out the sound which was great....unless you get noisy people coming in late into your bunk. Great hostel for the price.

Disliked: The rooms were Very very small, could literally only have one person standing up between beds at a time. not good for suitcases as they won't fit in the lockers under the beds. So be prepared for that....but for what you're paying you can't really complain too much. The advantages definitely outweigh the disadvantages.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charlene Daubenfeld

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

17 September 2013 Charlene would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the beach, nice staff, free breakfast

Disliked: a bit noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jerard kelley

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 May 2013 jerard would recommend this property

Liked: I totally enjoyed my stay here and will be back!

Disliked: The room was a tad bit small but overall i really liked this place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GEORGE BURNHAM

Alone

Events / festivals

13 May 2013 GEORGE would recommend this property

Liked: every thing about the place is very good

Disliked: there was no dislikes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first time staying in a hostel and I would say it was a great first experience. The location is phenomenal, you are just a walk away from Ocean Drive, Lincoln Rd, Esanola Way, and of course the beach is right there at your feet. I have absolutely no complaints at all.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chiara Verardo

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

12 February 2013 Chiara would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect! 2 minutes walking from the beach and there are lots of nice stores and restaurants nearby. The staff is friendly and really helpful.

Disliked: There is internet wifi just in the lobby which is quite noisy and makes difficult to have a conversation on skype. It would be better if there was wifi in the rooms as well. What I really didn't like was breakfast! Really poor and not good. But there are so many places near the hostel where you can have a nice Breakfast!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Craig Squires

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful unlike other hostels in the area. Breakfast was nothing to write home about but its free so its prefectly fine, fruit, orange and a bagel. Room was tidy and had a safe in there although you need your own lock. Kitchen was far too small and doesn't have a stove only microwaves and a small oven so cooking is out of the question, you will need microwaveable food. Location is great, very close to beach and all bars and restaurants. Free airport Very cheap Everything they say you receive you get. WIFI is very sporadic and slow. If you are there to get an early night I wouldn't reccomend it as the music from the bar goes on until 5am. Would reccomend this to people wanting to party, only downside really is that there are not that many if any Europeans, its all Hispanics who just stick to themselves, but that seems to be the theme with hostels in the states.

Disliked: Slow WIFI

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheapest way for staying on south beach in florida and on a werry great location

Disliked: when I was there was pretty noisy because of some students and sportlers from denmark and sweden

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the proximity to shopping center and the warm attention of spanish speaking staff.

Disliked: Unlike what is reported on page HostelBookers, the place is unsafe stole a bag in the room I was staying. The rooms are musty smell and is extremely small and not to much clean on them. Lockers looks like a small box (n). Breakfast is very poor, and the kitchen has only two microwaves and a refrigerator for all the guests. For the price I paid on average u$s23 are better options to choose in South Beach. For my experience in South Beach Hostel, I would no stay at this hostel again.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

22 July 2012

Liked: location is great very close to beach and night life

Disliked: staff dont care about security. we had six beds but seven people- a random guy kept coming in and going through a bag. i dont know if it was his bag or not. we confrunted him when we realised that he wasnt in our room and he pretty much hurried out with alot of erm and errms! when we told reception they did nothing. i asked them o cancell eveyone in our rooms key cards and issue new ones however they didnt so we had to sleep not knowing if he was going to come back in the night and go through our bags next time. I'm in the reiception now and the guy (looks like a drug dealer) has befriended the staff and started a game of pool with them. staff are obvuosly clue less! Happy to be leaving to a safer place!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kim Veltkamp

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: clean, good beds, free shuttle airport, ok brackfast, free wifi, near beach, the 4-female room was very quit at night.

Disliked: the airco in het lobby and lounge room was very cold! "You cant get a shower once you checked out. More outside sitplaces needed. A nice terrace would be great.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is just perfect. You walk 5 minutes and you're at the beach which is really nice and clean. The hostel is really clean too and the dorms and bathrooms are alright. You'll find everything you need on Washington Avenue and there is a bus stop just in front of the hostel which takes you straight to the airport. At night, we always had a great time at the bar with all the other travellers from all over the world. I really enjoyed my stay because I met a lot of nice people in a great place. So I would definitively come back.

Disliked: The check-in took a really long time because there were a lot of new travellers and the lady at the front-desk was really really slow in everything she did. But this was the perfect occasion to meet the first new people there so it wasn't that bad. If you want to go to bed a bit earlier, it can be very loud. But I mean it's still a hostel so you have to expect that ;)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

19 March 2012

Liked: The location is great, just a couple of blocks away from the main clubs and Ocean Drive and the beach are just around the corner. The free breakfast is also a plus.

Disliked: The staff is unfriendly and incompetend. It was my 2nd stay there and the 2nd time troubles. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm with 2 friends and another guy and the other guy drank to much that night and puked all over the room. The staff was unable to switch us to another room or help us in our situation so we had to sleep in the lobby until the manager came in in at 9am and imediately refunded our money. 24 hour reception? Defenitely not!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Fredrik Bergström

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

30 November 2011

Liked: Nothing here is good, except the location which is nice, only 5-10 min walk from the beach walk and miami beach.

Disliked: To start, the staff there is awful. They lied to us about the parking permit that you could rent, saying that it was okey to park the car for a couple more hours after check out. AND then the next day totally change their mind about it. They are unfriendly and you only feel as a moneybag walking in there, a dirty moneybag even. At breakfast you have to stand in line and wait for a girl who serves everyone 1 bagel. The rooms had some of the lowest standard I've seen, but I think thats the case for every hostel in Miami which just sucks. The shared bathrooms are disgusting, full of pee and dirt all over. I would never go close to this place again, and I have seen some shitty places travelling on all continents of the world.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

30 November 2011

Liked: Location, Breakfast

Disliked: music is always too loud, too small kitchen, wifi connection is limited, rooms are small and uncomfortable.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel has a good bar- happy hour sold Bud and Bud light for $1.75. The lounge area to sit is fine and has a good tv room- more like a small cinema. Kitchen was alright. Location is okay.

Disliked: Rooms were pretty small (i used a 4 bed room). The staff i got upon check in was fine; but other times on other enquires i got idiots who didn't know what they were doing.. One thing that was odd was using ur room key to go to bathroom..?? The music was loud (as other reviews said) and went all day and night... which you could see it annoying people as most people were standing outside to talk.. The hostel is a fair way from the main mall- a good 15min walk..


See all Miami hostels
See all Miami hotels