We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Miami hostels
See all Miami hotels

Reviews of SoBe Hostel & Bar

Hostel | 235 Washington Avenue, Miami, Florida, USA FL 33139

82.9% Overall Rating

94 out of 121 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2015)

Jamal Baig thinks…

"Fantastic location close to South Beach, the size of the Hostel was perfect too making it very easy to meet fellow travellers, the organised events were awesome! clubbing events, bar crawls all well…"

Read all SoBe Hostel & Bar reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: *TAXES NOT INCLUDED IN QUOTED PRICES. *MAXIMUM NIGHT STAY 21 DAYS *GUEST MUST BE MINIMUM 18 YEARS OF AGE *WHEN BOOKING OTHER THAN PRIVATE FRIENDS SHARING SAME ROOM IS NOT GUARANTEED *48 HOURS CANCELLATION NOTICE VIA EMAIL ONLY TO AVOID CHARGES *IN CASE OF 'NO SHOW' THE TOTAL OF ONE NIGHT WILL BE CHARGED *NO CASH REFUND, CREDIT CARD REFUND ONLY *CREDIT CARD & OUT OF STATE ID REQUIRED **please note we will preauthorise cards for the first night of stay plust tax in order to guarantee you reservation** Hostelbookers Sale Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Miami?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Miami

Jazz on South Beach Youth Hotel
14.00 USD

Hostel 68.9% 671 reviews
Metropole South Beach
59.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Whitelaw
29.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Posh South Beach
27.00 USD

Hostel 85.6% 25 reviews
Hotel Shelley
29.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Miami Beach International Travelers Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 90.1% 1109 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel, Suites & Day Spa
54.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.9% 5 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
33.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.0% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.9%

Overall Rating

94 out of 121 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'SoBe Hostel & Bar'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 82 of 109 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorraine Simpson

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Lorraine would recommend this property

Liked: the accomodation is in an excellent location the beach, bars and restaurants around south beach. The bar, complete with pool table, is excellent places to hang out and meet other guests before heading out for the evening. The hostel has an excellent atmosphere an feels friendly and safe.

Disliked: The only one minor thing I could say is that the rooms are not very large but as I was with a group of friends it wasn't really a problem

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, air conditioned dorms and hot showers. The bar can have loud music but the dorms are soundproofed so you cannot hear anything. Great location near South Beach!

Disliked: It would have been nice to be able to talk a little more with other travellers in the bar area but the music was often too loud during the day. Music was also a little much at breakfast time!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Laurence Kimmel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011

Liked: Liked the location possibility to rent a bike

Disliked: Too loud, music on 1st floor

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, music

Disliked: inefficiency of some ppl at the reception

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Breakfast Included, Cleanliness

Disliked: Attitude of staff was the worst I have come across in 10 months of travelling and staying in hostels. Jesus checked me in at reception desk, and I felt that I was causing him a great inconvenience to simply do the job he is paid for. The man serving breakfast in the mornings was extremely rude, never smiled, and again made you feel v uncomfortable. This opinion was shared amongst all the people in my dorm. Would put me off staying here again.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jemma Thurston

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011 Jemma would recommend this property

Liked: Close to beach - many things in walking distance. Party hostel.

Disliked: Party hostel not travelers hostel. Not much room to sit down for breakfast. WIFI only available in reception which always had loud music so you cant use skype.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access, clean, breakfast included

Disliked: Improvement needed in the AC

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011

Liked: It is ok, but nothing special

Disliked: It is overpriced and you have to pay for internet which is already unacceptable but then it also was really expansive (I think it was 4$ for 15 minutes). They have AC everywhere and the room was far too cold.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, kitchen and facilities clean and well equiped. Staff were nice and helpful, always people wanting to have fun.

Disliked: Breakfast was okay but needed more varitey

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the third time I've stayed in a hostel, and it was a great experience unlike the ones in Amsterdam or Budapest. This is comparable to ones in Zurich for cleanliness. Clean and simple rooms (4 female dorm), bathrooms, and hallways. Not too noisy, can get to sleep fine. Good value for money, especially in off-peak season, where we only had 2 people in a 4 people dorm. Breakfast (bagle and banana/orange) included. They have a clean and equipped kitchen and a little tv watching room joined onto the kitchen. Wifi in the reception lounge. All in all, very clean, comfortable, and a great place to stay if you're out and about all day. Small lockers in room and hooks for towels, and card key for the rooms, bathrooms, and entrance to hostel. They give you sheets, pillowcase, a small towel, and a blanket when you arrive, pillow already on bed. Air conditioning in room, but a little loud, not a problem if switched off at night. They let you leave your bag there after checkout for free to collect later. The most important criterias for me were safety, cleanliness, and ability to sleep. All three were offered by South Beach Hostel, and I would stay here again. This is for a 4 female dorm in off-peak season, so I can't speak for the other bigger dorms, or in peak season. But it was a pleasant stay, and my roommate and I got on well and it was just the two of us for the 5 nights.

Disliked: No ladders to get to top bunk (although I stayed on bottom bunk). But that's about the only thing I can think of. Checkout is at noon, could be a couple of hours later, but they let you leave your bag there for free after checkout. Toilets could be a little more spacious - hard to enter and exit without tiptoeing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love that place, you will meet a lot of nice and friendly people, the location is awesome, just a 5 minutes walk to ocean drive and beach. Also free breakfast and wifi.

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

linda uzule

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011 linda would recommend this property

Liked: location, people, breakfast

Disliked: small rooms, cleanness of washrooms and really tired receptionist

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the lobby / kitchen / bar are reaaly good

Disliked: everything was fine

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leah Campbell

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

02 March 2011 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful and well maintained, clean, helpful and resourceful staff. Amazing location, cheap drinks at bar. I wish I'd stayed longer!

Disliked: No ladders for top bunks - have to climb up by perching on window ledge (unsafe!)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2011

Liked: The staff here were very informative and friendly-they answered my numerous stupid questions with a lot of patience, which is more than I couldve done. The bar and pool table area were awesome, and a great place to meet other travelers. The location of the hostel is awesome-close to lots of stuff, but not in a noisy/cluby/cracked out area.

Disliked: Although the door that separated the bar area from the hallways of dormrooms did a great job of keeping the loud drunk people/music out, I heard a dorm room door slam every 2 minutes or so. And LOUD. Like, loud enough to wake me up several times. And I am not a light sleeper. It just went on all night. At about 5 I heard what I assume was the manager (i heard the jingly keys they walk around with) walk up and down the hall slamming a few doors-(checking bathrooms, maybe?) Also, the rooms were really really small. That usually doesn't bother me, but it was awkward trying to navigate through everyone's stuff. Oh and the website doesn't mention that the shuttle buses only run at 9 am and 3 pm. And the internet is expensive even though the computers lag like crazy, which I thought was a little unfair. But its still a great place!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the movie room and the bar

Disliked: there was only one toilet working in the upstairs womens toilet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

21 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: small rooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

07 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: That hostel is a very nice place to meet people

Disliked: The refrigerator was very full, it was difficult to make a room to keep my food.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location near the beach, the kitchen, the clean showers

Disliked: WiFi only in the lobby, which was noisy at night.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 May 2010

Liked: Most phlegmatic and overstrained crew I've ever seen. Nothing really works in this hostel: no money in the ATM, computers don't work, obscure fees for the differnent rooms. Never again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people were really nice there but our 6 mixed dorm was way too small. I´m not sure if i was just unlucky and there are bigger rooms but it was almost unbearable to be in the room with 5 other people. You couldn´t move at all without stepping on belongings of your roommates.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: low price, great location. using the bathrooms felt miserable though

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: On the Plus side: Definitely an active place. Can't help but meet people and socialize. Excellent location close to the action and the beach, yet just a few blocks out from the noisy all night bustle.On the Down side: Rooms are tiny, the metal bunks squeak endlessly, the doors bang, the halls echo, and the single bathroom per floor can be crowded. But what do you expect for so little money at a hot location.It is a good spot if you are a traveler and want a controlled friendly late night spot.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mirka Reifova

19 September 2009

Liked: free welcome drink, eventhough i wanted a coctail and they only offered beer or a shot

Disliked: Mirka left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was great..the only down sides was the shuttle bus only travels twice a day the airport. once at 9am and then again at 3pm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Miami hostels
See all Miami hotels