We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Miami hostels
See all Miami hotels

Reviews of South Beach Hostel

Hostel | 235 Washington Avenue, Miami, Florida, USA FL 33139

79.9% Overall Rating

83 out of 106 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/09/2014)

Andre van Wijngaarden thinks…

"Thanks to SoBe hostel I had a great say in Miami. To start the staff is fantastic... All good for a chat, very attentive and you can see they like what they do. They gave me good advice in tours,…"

Read all South Beach Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: *TAXES NOT INCLUDED IN QUOTED PRICES. *MAXIMUM NIGHT STAY 21 DAYS *GUEST MUST BE MINIMUM 18 YEARS OF AGE *WHEN BOOKING OTHER THAN PRIVATE FRIENDS SHARING SAME ROOM IS NOT GUARANTEED *48 HOURS CANCELLATION NOTICE VIA EMAIL ONLY TO AVOID CHARGES *IN CASE OF 'NO SHOW' THE TOTAL OF ONE NIGHT WILL BE CHARGED *NO CASH REFUND, CREDIT CARD REFUND ONLY *CREDIT CARD & OUT OF STATE ID REQUIRED **please note we will preauthorise cards for the first night of stay plust tax in order to guarantee you reservation**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Miami?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Miami

Jazz on South Beach hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 75.4% 647 reviews
Metropole South Beach
41.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Whitelaw
28.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.0% 3 reviews
Posh South Beach
27.00 USD

Hostel 85.6% 22 reviews
Hotel Shelley
27.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Miami Beach International Travelers Hostel
27.00 USD

Hostel 87.7% 1051 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel, Suites & Day Spa
24.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.9% 5 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
37.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.9% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.9%

Overall Rating

83 out of 106 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'South Beach Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 71 of 94 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheapest way for staying on south beach in florida and on a werry great location

Disliked: when I was there was pretty noisy because of some students and sportlers from denmark and sweden

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the proximity to shopping center and the warm attention of spanish speaking staff.

Disliked: Unlike what is reported on page HostelBookers, the place is unsafe stole a bag in the room I was staying. The rooms are musty smell and is extremely small and not to much clean on them. Lockers looks like a small box (n). Breakfast is very poor, and the kitchen has only two microwaves and a refrigerator for all the guests. For the price I paid on average u$s23 are better options to choose in South Beach. For my experience in South Beach Hostel, I would no stay at this hostel again.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

22 July 2012

Liked: location is great very close to beach and night life

Disliked: staff dont care about security. we had six beds but seven people- a random guy kept coming in and going through a bag. i dont know if it was his bag or not. we confrunted him when we realised that he wasnt in our room and he pretty much hurried out with alot of erm and errms! when we told reception they did nothing. i asked them o cancell eveyone in our rooms key cards and issue new ones however they didnt so we had to sleep not knowing if he was going to come back in the night and go through our bags next time. I'm in the reiception now and the guy (looks like a drug dealer) has befriended the staff and started a game of pool with them. staff are obvuosly clue less! Happy to be leaving to a safer place!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kim Veltkamp

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: clean, good beds, free shuttle airport, ok brackfast, free wifi, near beach, the 4-female room was very quit at night.

Disliked: the airco in het lobby and lounge room was very cold! "You cant get a shower once you checked out. More outside sitplaces needed. A nice terrace would be great.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is just perfect. You walk 5 minutes and you're at the beach which is really nice and clean. The hostel is really clean too and the dorms and bathrooms are alright. You'll find everything you need on Washington Avenue and there is a bus stop just in front of the hostel which takes you straight to the airport. At night, we always had a great time at the bar with all the other travellers from all over the world. I really enjoyed my stay because I met a lot of nice people in a great place. So I would definitively come back.

Disliked: The check-in took a really long time because there were a lot of new travellers and the lady at the front-desk was really really slow in everything she did. But this was the perfect occasion to meet the first new people there so it wasn't that bad. If you want to go to bed a bit earlier, it can be very loud. But I mean it's still a hostel so you have to expect that ;)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

19 March 2012

Liked: The location is great, just a couple of blocks away from the main clubs and Ocean Drive and the beach are just around the corner. The free breakfast is also a plus.

Disliked: The staff is unfriendly and incompetend. It was my 2nd stay there and the 2nd time troubles. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm with 2 friends and another guy and the other guy drank to much that night and puked all over the room. The staff was unable to switch us to another room or help us in our situation so we had to sleep in the lobby until the manager came in in at 9am and imediately refunded our money. 24 hour reception? Defenitely not!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Fredrik Bergström

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

30 November 2011

Liked: Nothing here is good, except the location which is nice, only 5-10 min walk from the beach walk and miami beach.

Disliked: To start, the staff there is awful. They lied to us about the parking permit that you could rent, saying that it was okey to park the car for a couple more hours after check out. AND then the next day totally change their mind about it. They are unfriendly and you only feel as a moneybag walking in there, a dirty moneybag even. At breakfast you have to stand in line and wait for a girl who serves everyone 1 bagel. The rooms had some of the lowest standard I've seen, but I think thats the case for every hostel in Miami which just sucks. The shared bathrooms are disgusting, full of pee and dirt all over. I would never go close to this place again, and I have seen some shitty places travelling on all continents of the world.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

30 November 2011

Liked: Location, Breakfast

Disliked: music is always too loud, too small kitchen, wifi connection is limited, rooms are small and uncomfortable.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel has a good bar- happy hour sold Bud and Bud light for $1.75. The lounge area to sit is fine and has a good tv room- more like a small cinema. Kitchen was alright. Location is okay.

Disliked: Rooms were pretty small (i used a 4 bed room). The staff i got upon check in was fine; but other times on other enquires i got idiots who didn't know what they were doing.. One thing that was odd was using ur room key to go to bathroom..?? The music was loud (as other reviews said) and went all day and night... which you could see it annoying people as most people were standing outside to talk.. The hostel is a fair way from the main mall- a good 15min walk..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Piotr Mechocki

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2011 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: Location, breakfast and free internet access (wi-fi)

Disliked: Small rooms and windows can't be opened

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, pool tables

Disliked: lost our booking, but worked around it to secure the room we initially wanted

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was very nice and the bar area was a good place to hang out and meet other people.

Disliked: There are many staff working in this hostel and with the exception of two, the rest are extremely rude and unhelpful and even appear to go out of their way to be awkward as if it is a game to them. This factor really lets the hostel down. The air conditioning unit in our room was broken and the window could not be opened and so the room was hot, stuffy and smelly at times. Also, the hostel is quite dated and could do with a refurb.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

25 October 2011

Liked: Somewhat reasonably priced - definitely go for the 4-bed as the 6-bed looked cramped

Disliked: Way too few bathrooms (and stalls are tiny). Music is much too loud in lobby/lounge all day long (even at breakfast) Lockers are small (wallet or ladies' purse size - not even a day knapsack)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast. Jelena from the frontdesk, really nice and helpful!

Disliked: Some people from the staff were really arrogant.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorraine Simpson

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Lorraine would recommend this property

Liked: the accomodation is in an excellent location the beach, bars and restaurants around south beach. The bar, complete with pool table, is excellent places to hang out and meet other guests before heading out for the evening. The hostel has an excellent atmosphere an feels friendly and safe.

Disliked: The only one minor thing I could say is that the rooms are not very large but as I was with a group of friends it wasn't really a problem

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, air conditioned dorms and hot showers. The bar can have loud music but the dorms are soundproofed so you cannot hear anything. Great location near South Beach!

Disliked: It would have been nice to be able to talk a little more with other travellers in the bar area but the music was often too loud during the day. Music was also a little much at breakfast time!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Laurence Kimmel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011

Liked: Liked the location possibility to rent a bike

Disliked: Too loud, music on 1st floor

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, music

Disliked: inefficiency of some ppl at the reception

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Breakfast Included, Cleanliness

Disliked: Attitude of staff was the worst I have come across in 10 months of travelling and staying in hostels. Jesus checked me in at reception desk, and I felt that I was causing him a great inconvenience to simply do the job he is paid for. The man serving breakfast in the mornings was extremely rude, never smiled, and again made you feel v uncomfortable. This opinion was shared amongst all the people in my dorm. Would put me off staying here again.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jemma Thurston

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011 Jemma would recommend this property

Liked: Close to beach - many things in walking distance. Party hostel.

Disliked: Party hostel not travelers hostel. Not much room to sit down for breakfast. WIFI only available in reception which always had loud music so you cant use skype.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access, clean, breakfast included

Disliked: Improvement needed in the AC

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011

Liked: It is ok, but nothing special

Disliked: It is overpriced and you have to pay for internet which is already unacceptable but then it also was really expansive (I think it was 4$ for 15 minutes). They have AC everywhere and the room was far too cold.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, kitchen and facilities clean and well equiped. Staff were nice and helpful, always people wanting to have fun.

Disliked: Breakfast was okay but needed more varitey

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the third time I've stayed in a hostel, and it was a great experience unlike the ones in Amsterdam or Budapest. This is comparable to ones in Zurich for cleanliness. Clean and simple rooms (4 female dorm), bathrooms, and hallways. Not too noisy, can get to sleep fine. Good value for money, especially in off-peak season, where we only had 2 people in a 4 people dorm. Breakfast (bagle and banana/orange) included. They have a clean and equipped kitchen and a little tv watching room joined onto the kitchen. Wifi in the reception lounge. All in all, very clean, comfortable, and a great place to stay if you're out and about all day. Small lockers in room and hooks for towels, and card key for the rooms, bathrooms, and entrance to hostel. They give you sheets, pillowcase, a small towel, and a blanket when you arrive, pillow already on bed. Air conditioning in room, but a little loud, not a problem if switched off at night. They let you leave your bag there after checkout for free to collect later. The most important criterias for me were safety, cleanliness, and ability to sleep. All three were offered by South Beach Hostel, and I would stay here again. This is for a 4 female dorm in off-peak season, so I can't speak for the other bigger dorms, or in peak season. But it was a pleasant stay, and my roommate and I got on well and it was just the two of us for the 5 nights.

Disliked: No ladders to get to top bunk (although I stayed on bottom bunk). But that's about the only thing I can think of. Checkout is at noon, could be a couple of hours later, but they let you leave your bag there for free after checkout. Toilets could be a little more spacious - hard to enter and exit without tiptoeing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love that place, you will meet a lot of nice and friendly people, the location is awesome, just a 5 minutes walk to ocean drive and beach. Also free breakfast and wifi.

Disliked: -


See all Miami hostels
See all Miami hotels