HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Miami hostels
See all Miami hotels

Reviews of Island House South Beach

Hostel | 1428 Collins Avenue, Miami, Florida, USA FL 33139

81.5% Overall Rating

17 out of 21 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/04/2013)

Marcos Racilan Andrade thinks…

"Great location and price. I especially liked the room with a semi-private bathroom where I stayed."

Read all Island House South Beach reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Room rate is not inclusive of state and local taxes, currently 13%. Check-in time is 2:00pm and checkout time is 11:00am Deposit: 100 percent of the first night will be charged on the day of booking. In order for us to apply your deposit to your room rental, you will need to present the same credit card at check-in, so that we can imprint your card. We will also need to make a copy of your identification, such as Driver’s License, State or Military ID, Passport, or Visa. Cancellation: If cancelled up to 3 days before date of arrival, no fee will be charged. If cancelled later or in case of No-Show, 100 percent of the first night will be charged. The rates are based according to the number of persons reserved. You’re welcome to have additional guest(s) however, there is an additional charge for extra guest(s) at the rate of $25.00 per person, per night plus tax.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Miami?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Miami

HI-Miami Beach
25.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club
22.95 USD

Hostel 78.9% 155 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
44.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.9% 4 reviews
BEDS N DRINKS HOSTEL
22.00 USD

Hostel 87.5% 11 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel, Suites & Day Spa
44.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 4 reviews
Miami Beach International Travelers Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 86.7% 1038 reviews
Hotel Shelley
38.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Posh South Beach
27.00 USD

Hostel 84.9% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.5%

Overall Rating

17 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Island House South Beach'

Atmosphere
70.5%
Location
96.2%
Facilities
77.1%
Cleanliness
78.1%
Staff
88.6%
Value
80.0%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Aviad Hasidof

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2014 Aviad would recommend this property

Liked: nice hotel, good location.

Disliked: Aviad left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcos Racilan Andrade

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Marcos would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and price. I especially liked the room with a semi-private bathroom where I stayed.

Disliked: Nothing.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 March 2013

Liked: Cleaning staff each day. A humble breakfast offered.

Disliked: Rooms dingy and delapidated. Didn't look clean. Lock on door didn't work. Old building.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaime Cornivelli

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

19 December 2012 Jaime would recommend this property

Liked: Double door to enter the room improves safety. Many and quite clean towels as well as amenities for the bath.

Disliked: Carpet on the hall was not so clean after all...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

warren benakou

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

28 August 2012 warren would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff Breakfast Cleaning of the room

Disliked: The window could not be opened

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ben Rawlings

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

02 August 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Did what is says on the tin: a basic, clean, cheap hotel in a good location (minutes from South Beach)

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff and the breakfast

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Moore

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2012

Liked: The location is amazing for the price.

Disliked: The air-conditioning unit in my room sounded like it was going to take off all the time which resulted in sleepless nights through the noise or the heat. This was nothing compared to the noise from the trucks alley every morning which sometimes went on for HOURS! At one point I had a truck turning over driectly outside my room for over an hour doing nothing at 5am which ruined the next day of my holiday. Not the Hostels fault directly but must be mentioned.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 March 2012

Liked: It was available during the days I needed.

Disliked: The website said no booking fee but took 10%. At the location site, they charged back the 10% based on "taxes." Therefore what looked like the remaining balance was not. When I asked to. See the manager about it, he was "busy" showering. He never came out or made an attempt to talk or rectify the situation. ?Poor customer situation? Apparently someone else had complained about the same thing but I would have appreciated face to face convo with someone other than the clerk. (Note he was very nice just not helpful). The bathroom I shared was supposedly supposed to be with one other room but found more than that room used it. It was also in the same place as the kitchen so had to pass eager breakfast eaters on my way to/from taking a shower. Place is clean and adequate place to sleep but had I not been tired from driving in I would have found another. No question!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff Extremily Elpfull ( RIKIE the best) and funny..always Smiling... Also The lady that Clean the Room.... a day was her birthday and she offered us Fruits from her present. Excellent Location!!! BIG ROOM. 1 minuts from the Beach.. south Beach... Otttimo Ostello

Disliked: NO WI-FI in The Room (only downstairs) NO Printer service for Guests no nice experince whit the Taxi that the Staff from the Hostel call for us.. he told us a price..but the price was different.. 12 Dollars More..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, location, helpfulness of staff. v.happy I found this place

Disliked: room on back alleyway so a bit noisy but would still stay here again

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool set up for the rooms! Like a self contained appartment. Great value for money!

Disliked: Noisy if you get a room facing the back alleyway.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: n/a

Disliked: Wasn't clear on the website, that the room i booked had a shared bathroom (it said; private single room)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matt Pace

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

30 March 2011 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is great, very friendly and accommodating. Bed was really comfy. Couldn't ask for a better location

Disliked: can't think of anything

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

rikke barfod

Alone

26 October 2010 rikke would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was clean. I liked the breakfast. I liked it was so close to the beach and in walking distance from a lot of things.

Disliked: The single room was small and a bit pricy compared to the large double rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, easy going.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Teresa Rinaldi

22 March 2008 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Teresa left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

William Rexach

26 July 2007 William would recommend this property

Liked: inexpensive, friendly atmosphere

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.


See all Miami hostels
See all Miami hotels