HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Miami hostels
See all Miami hotels

Reviews of Jazz on South Beach hostel

Hostel | 321 Collins Avenue, Miami, Florida, USA FL 33139

75.4% Overall Rating

539 out of 647 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/09/2014)

"You'll meet a great deal of different and fun people. Can't beat location and price."

Read all Jazz on South Beach hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 4.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Miami?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Miami

South Beach Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 80.8% 105 reviews
Metropole South Beach
65.50 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Whitelaw
28.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.0% 3 reviews
Posh South Beach
22.00 USD

Hostel 85.6% 22 reviews
Hotel Shelley
27.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Miami Beach International Travelers Hostel
27.00 USD

Hostel 87.7% 1051 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel, Suites & Day Spa
42.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 4 reviews
Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club
22.95 USD

Hostel 78.9% 155 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.4%

Overall Rating

539 out of 647 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on South Beach hostel'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
69.6%
Value
72.8%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 439 of 524 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graziano Siciliano

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

29 May 2012 Graziano would recommend this property

Liked: Great place clean and super neat, 5 min walk to the beach and all shops... Helpful and kind staff...... Value for money 100%, what to say, would love another stay :)

Disliked: Graziano left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, location

Disliked: The wifi didn't work a few days but at the end it worked

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

24 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, staff, environment

Disliked: internet service

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janine Eagle

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

24 May 2012 Janine would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming atmosphere, pancakes for breakfast & neat and clean floors.

Disliked: No bicycle racks

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Thomas Søbye Andersen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012 Thomas Søbye would recommend this property

Liked: Great building and location. Dorms have own bathrooms and there's a large common area in lobby. Staff is friendly and helpful and events happening every night to keep you busy. I had a blast!

Disliked: Patio closes at 10pm which sucks but guess it's a necessity to keep noise down.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vanessa Fleet

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

16 May 2012 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: The location wasnt bad, the staff were friendly and the bathroom was spacious

Disliked: the lockers in the room were completely useless as they were all broken and clearly not safe at all, so you were forced to pay for lockers outside your room. The atmosphere was disappointing - not fun, very boring, very quiet.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cléo Thomás Gabriel Vilela Menegaz Teixeira pires

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break

08 May 2012 Cléo Thomás Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location!

Disliked: Kitchen closed after 11 pm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Weeks

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

07 May 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: enjoyed the location and the easy walk to the beach

Disliked: that they close the patio so early and make the guest go across the st. to hang out.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sheema Brahmbhatt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012 Sheema would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, great facilities incl fully equiped kitchen, ensuite in dorm, nice common room, good wifi, large dorm with premade beds. Good location, not in the centre, but close enough. Definitely recommended if you want a quieter South beach option for backpackers!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was close to everything and walking distance to the beach

Disliked: the internet kept cutting off... and the bunks were too small (height size)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Deshyone Grant

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

04 May 2012 Deshyone would recommend this property

Liked: The property is located in a prime area.

Disliked: Patrons were allowed to walk barefoot and place their feet over almost every common area. There was a roach in my room.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012

Liked: it was quite close to the beach and the main street!

Disliked: staff wasn't very nice and helpful, seems like they were annoyed when you asked something! Internet wasnt working as good!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amy Lo Bianco

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2012 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Had a fantastic time at the Jazz, the rooms are your typical dorms, bunk beds, and very basic, exactly what you would expect from a hostel. But the place was always clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful and of course the atmosphere was what makes this hostel, in my opinion, the best in Miami. In regards to location - it's pretty ideal, you're a 10 minute walk from the beach and the popular night life destination (and pretty day time walk as well!) Ocean's Drive is the next street across. There's also a Walgreens just 5 minutes down the road, which sells all the typical "holiday gear" as well as pharmaceuticals, food and drink. Met lots of great people and I can't wait to go back!

Disliked: Not much really! The fact that you couldn't sit outside on the porch after 8pm or drink alcohol on the premises after midnight was sometimes a bit of a bummer but I think this is more down to licensing laws and complaining neighbours rather than the Jazz so it's certainly a very minor complaint. As a side note, the lockers provided in the room are fairly small (fit a medium handbag) so if you have any large (or lots of) valuables either rethink bringing them or bring a second padlock for your suitcase! I say this just for the more security conscious travellers - I had absolutely no problems with safety.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere in the hostel and people who are staying there...

Disliked: services of the staff were nothing special...no effort to make you feel welcome.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to beach n only a few blocks from main st, good directions and easy access from airport.

Disliked: Kitchen and lobby were small compared to the amount of guests, beds were small and uncomfortable, my boyfriend is average hieght n only just fit in the bed- ok for a few nights, not a long stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the beaches and good premises and furniture, privite bathrooms in the dormitories.

Disliked: I had got another reservation by phone and when I arrived at hotel they said me that it was sold out and my booking was not valid.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We needed a place to stay for 2 nights before our cruise and we didnt want to pay hundreds at the hotels around South Beach so we booked this the Jazz for 2 nights. The Location is great, Walgreens right next door, resturantes, nightlife The place was clean even tough there is adusty constrution right outside of it, inside was pretty clean for a hostel. The price is unbeatable for the location, I would stay there in the future, but not in 12 mixed bed, too many dudes too many people.

Disliked: Too many dudes in a mixed room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012

Liked: Close to Nikki Beach, always some kind of party organised however other hostel was cheaper for the same outings. This place was OK but if you really want a good time, be closer to the action, a place with more character as soon as you arrive then go to International Hostel on Washington and 9th. Only one thing that I liked is that the beds are made for you and allocated.

Disliked: during ULTRA & Spring Break the prices were a slap in the face. Costing me almost $120 for 1 night in a dorm room!!! There was no hot water and the water stank when leaving it on hot. I cant recommend the international hostel enough. That place is awesome and so are the people!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sean Wrigley

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

26 March 2012 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Great weekend for Miami Music Festival... Perfect for what we wanted.

Disliked: Wish breakfast could have been longer than 1 hour and a little later.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

22 March 2012

Liked: It was close to the beach and to all the party places in South Miami.

Disliked: The room I stayed in had no windows and was poorly ventilated. It smelled, really bad. The breakfast was scarce. The atmosphere was not that great.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ---

Disliked: ---

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012

Liked: nur 5 Minunten bis an den Strand

Disliked: sehr renovierungs-und sanierungsbedürfdiges Hostel. Vieles ist defekt(Locker) oder nur notdürftig repariert

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location!

Disliked: Too many dudes even though they claim to mixed

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maciej Witkowski

With a large group / tour

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2012 Maciej would recommend this property

Liked: The overall atmosphere of the place was really nice. We were here with a group of people for Spring Break 2012 and all of us really enjoyed the time here. The staff is extremely friendly, helpful and really international ( they speak not only English, but also Spanish, German, Dutch and probably a few other languages). In the evenings., the hostel was organizing nice parties at acceptable prices (as for Miami Beach). Overall, good value for money!

Disliked: In the end, it's just a bunch of dorms, with bunk beds. This means, people might disturb you in the night cause they will be coming back from parties etc. The beds are quite comfortable but relatively short (for tall people) and shaky (if there is a person sleeping on top). But - you should not expect much more from a cheap hostel ;)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

03 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -organized outings -cleanliness was above expected and well above any hostel I stayed at in South Beach (I have stayed at 4 hostels in South Beach), -good mix of people staying at the facility and everyone was friendly -breakfast was good

Disliked: I stayed at 4 hostels in Miami and this was by far my favorite. Thus, I do not have anything too negative to say. The mattresses were a little uncomfortable, but I find that to be a minor detail for a hostel. Also you had to pay to use the computers ($2 for 20 min), all the other places I stayed were free.


See all Miami hostels
See all Miami hotels