HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Miami hostels
See all Miami hotels

Reviews of Jazz on South Beach hostel

Hostel | 321 Collins Avenue, Miami, Florida, USA FL 33139

75.4% Overall Rating

539 out of 647 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/09/2014)

"You'll meet a great deal of different and fun people. Can't beat location and price."

Read all Jazz on South Beach hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 4.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Miami?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Miami

South Beach Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 79.9% 106 reviews
Metropole South Beach
65.50 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Whitelaw
28.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.0% 3 reviews
Posh South Beach
22.00 USD

Hostel 85.6% 22 reviews
Hotel Shelley
27.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Miami Beach International Travelers Hostel
27.00 USD

Hostel 87.7% 1051 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel, Suites & Day Spa
42.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 4 reviews
Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club
22.95 USD

Hostel 78.9% 155 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.4%

Overall Rating

539 out of 647 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jazz on South Beach hostel'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
69.6%
Value
72.8%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 439 of 524 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

13 January 2013

Liked: The other hotel guests that were there were pretty nice and calmed down, not the typical party-folk which I gladly enjoyed.

Disliked: The bathroom was almost breaking down, the tiles were broken and the toilet ruined.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: no parking, somewhat crancy staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Todor Popov

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Todor would recommend this property

Liked: It is in the middle of South Beach. Amazing place. Worth visiting.

Disliked: Nothing I can remember.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Timothy Groman

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2012 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: One staff member was extremely friendly(young man)and the other one(young lady) was inattentive and seemed disinterested. She never put her phone down and rarely took her eyes off the screen on her phone. Seemed irritated when asked any questions.

Disliked: Timothy left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

shaun francis

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 November 2012

Liked: it was cheapest hostile and most international travelers.

Disliked: ghetto minuim wage employees, charge for computer use,breafast bad. i called a black man african american got called racist by black midget erickle,then black fat ghetto sided w ericle. im 1/2 european i had more in common black european. the international travers were good but americans let us down, irish ausies best

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: you get to know people all over the world very easily the location is great

Disliked: not much privacy in shared bedrooms bathrooms were not very clean

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

melinda hush

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012 melinda would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, being a block from the beach. I also liked that it was in a more residential area, away from the craziness of the main strip of south beach. So you could decide if you wanted to go out and party or chill out. The lobby area was good to meet people, and the hostel organised pub/club crawls. This place was pretty cheap to stay though so can't complain for the price of it.

Disliked: It seemed that the floors of my dorm never got cleaned properly, there was always sand everywhere. The rooms are incredibly small as well, with bunks backing onto more bunks. The beds were small and uncomfortable.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Preis-Leistung ist super! Gute Lage - Supermarkt um die Ecke! 5 Min laufen zum Strand. Zimmer & Badezimmer waren sauber. Im Aufenthaltsraum lernt man viele Leute kennen.

Disliked: Man darf nicht in die Zimmer von anderen Gästen (selbst wenn alle in dem Hostel "wohnen") - sonst wird man rausgeworfen.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

paul cowan

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2012

Liked: Location to beach. Nothing else!!

Disliked: Way to busy, extremely small dorms and rest rooms. Only 3 computers and very expensive and little help from workers.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012

Liked: Room was clean. Had a tv inside. Nightly activities.

Disliked: Safe in my room did not work and staff would not fix it. Linen was stained, which was revolting. Location is not at all central in miami beach, it is way off to the side and quite a far walk from anywhere.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Rusiane Almeida

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

14 October 2012 Rusiane would recommend this property

Liked: Is friendly place that you can stop by for an adventure,

Disliked: I had my car tow in front of this hostel, the reception didn't ask if I had car or advice me about it , reception just acting like they don't care about their customers, The cheap became expensive.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap with free breakfast

Disliked: breakfast was always pancakes and nothing else...should have some variety....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julio Alcazar

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 September 2012 Julio would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing. I have no complaints about the property, the property if fine. But what really amazed me most was the quality of the staff. The people that work at Jazz on South Beach are an amazing team with a positive & friendly attitude. Not only that but The Jazz on South Beach, mostly only attracts cool young people "of all ages" & from all over the world. The lesson I learned: Everyone is welcome as long as you respect & value other people with a friendly attitude. I hope you enjoy the experience as much as I have.

Disliked: Dislike? Nothing, everything was better then good, it was perfect.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Joshua Mullenger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2012 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: The location is positioned well.

Disliked: That you have to pay for your bags to be stored. If you cant check into a certian period then it leaves you hanging around the hostel until you can check in and that goes for when you leave just to make your bags safe or you have to fork out money for each bag. If you are backpacker you can see how this can be a pain. This place is not to bad but if you have the coin it would be better to go on airbnb and get a cheap apartment.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rory Underhill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 September 2012 Rory would recommend this property

Liked: Price - $10 a night was amazing for this hostel. Location - This has the same kind of location as the very expensive hotels, right next to the beach and close to all the nightlife. Atmosphere - This wasn't a "party hostel" but it has the atmosphere of one, dependant on your room. Trips to clubs organised every night was good too.

Disliked: The inability to check in until 3pm was very annoying, but they let me keep my stuff safe in the store room until them which helped. The lockers in the rooms are about as useful as a chocolate teapot, more than half are broken, and they would be incredibly easy to get into if someone wanted to. Had a pair of swimming shorts stolen. Also I paid ten dollars a night, however I shared a room with a guy who had exactly the same booking conditions as me but was paying 22 a night and the hostel refused to do anything about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's so close to ocean. It stays almost in centre of main street, i mean clubs and shops.

Disliked: everything is perfect!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hannes Eggenschwiler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012 Hannes would recommend this property

Liked: Location: close to Ocian drive and bus stop of airport bus.

Disliked: Our room key was not working so the staff had to open the door every time, since it was a public holiday, they were not able to reprogram the key as the person in charge was out for two days.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Judith Scheffler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2012 Judith would recommend this property

Liked: I like this property because it is really close to the beach and they have good prices specially for foreing people who travel a lot, I also like that they give breakfast for free.

Disliked: I disliked that they have 8 dorms in small rooms, it is not confortable at all. And also somebody stole a passport of a girl!! That's terrible and unreliable for me!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

04 July 2012

Liked: even though lockers in room were broken, we got a safe deposit box for free at the fron desk, beds were made at check in

Disliked: proximity with neighbours, outside area already closed at 10 PM

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had an amazing time here. The hostel is basic, but the staff are excellent, they really go out of their way to help you, especially Yuri! Met some great people there and had a good few nights out too. Defo will go back next year. The location is great, 30 second walk from beach, two shops either side of the hostel. Decent kitchen, vending machines, washing facilities, films, average breakfast, bathrooms in the rooms, water filter, free towels, free wifi in lobby and rooms are clean.

Disliked: There's no age limit unlike most hostels so you get a few weirdos hanging around but there's not much you can do about it. We had one annoying idiot in our room for 4/5 nights that loved turning the air-con off which you just do not do when it's 90% humidity and 7 people sleeping in the same room with him. But thats not the hostels fault.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

SERGIO VIANA

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Shopping

27 June 2012

Liked: Café pobre e internet não funciona, fora os atendentes mal educados.

Disliked: Internet, café da manha e a falta de cortesia dos atendentes.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012

Liked: Location, location, location. Also Yuri was really helpful, without him at reception I would have likely checked out.

Disliked: Other staff were completely unhelpful and rude. Did not experience anything like it after 8 months of travel. Was terrified of asking questions. Didn't feel safe either being a girl, there was a bit of theft going on and no one seemed to care. Luggage Storage fee is also a JOKE!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pancake breakfast free wireless internet in the lobby very helpful staf

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kind of everything!

Disliked: Kimd of nothing!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

29 May 2012

Liked: Les prix ne sont pas élevés. L'auberge est située dans un endroit calme de south beach. Les parties communes sont propres.

Disliked: Le petit-dejeuner n'est pas assez conséquent (uniquement du café et des pancakes faits maison). Le personnel est désagréable. Les lockers dans les chambres sont inutilisables (cassés) ! Ils proposent d'en louer à la réception. Les chambres de 4 personnes sont aussi grandes que celles de 8.


See all Miami hostels
See all Miami hotels