We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Memphis hostels

Reviews of AAE Vista Inn and Hostel

Hostel | 265 Union Ave, Memphis, Tennessee, USA 38103

72.7% Overall Rating

38 out of 54 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/01/2013)

Laura Adams thinks…

"2 minute walk from Beale Street. 20 min walk to sun studios. Free wifi in the rooms."

Read all AAE Vista Inn and Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note, as stated on our description, taxes are not included in these rates. After your deposit is reduced from the total amount, taxes will be added to the remainder due at checkin. Please do not hadsle front-desk clerk regarding this as it is clearly stated. Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Memphis?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.7%

Overall Rating

38 out of 54 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Vista Inn and Hostel'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
64.8%
Value
74.4%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 48 of 53 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Adams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: 2 minute walk from Beale Street. 20 min walk to sun studios. Free wifi in the rooms.

Disliked: The breakfast area is within the reception which was ok for us but woukld be a problem during the busy season. We made the booking believing it to be a private room (as stated in the itinerary). When we arrived it was infact not a private room and we paid a $10 per night charge to have a private room, which was misleading. The heater was poor, you were either freezing or sweating. Cigarette burns on the duvet cover.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location in the city centre. Clean rooms

Disliked: Hotel staff accidentally booked s in a room that smelled like a smoker's room even though I had specifically asked for non-smoking. She did it was not supposed to be a smoker's, I believe her but it reeked. Anyway she rebooked us to another room right away which I though to be a very good service. She made me feel weird though cause she told me I had accused her of giving us the room on purpose. Which I hadn't. Maybe we just had a bad start. But I found her a but unprofessional. On another note, the wireless was barely working at all. May be temporarily but kind of inconvenient. Breakfast was a joke too I'm afraid. I prefer to pay for breakfast and get a proper one instead of this.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2012

Liked: The property is located close to downtown Memphis. Cleaning is done every day (bathroom and clean towels).

Disliked: What they call a dorm is in fact a motel room with 2 bunk beds in it (for a 4-bed dorm). Consequently, there is not enough space for 4 people, especially if you're not familiar with the others. The old cathode-ray tube TV and its dedicated furniture take up a lot of space in the room. The beds are deeply marked under you butt and are very noisy... This would have been acceptable in an hostel with an old-fasnioned character but this is not the case here... The staff is here to collect your monney, the smile is in option.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

James Majewski

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

18 October 2012

Liked: Location relative to Beale Street is good, but the area is not good - walking back to the motel at 11:00 pm is a challenge!

Disliked: Long walk from room to office - property was secured, but I was constantly looking over my shoulder

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: AAE Vista was in a perfectly convenient location- easily walkable to downtown and easy to get to. It was just an average motel-style stay, but well-kept. The person who was at the desk when we arrived was fantastically friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I have no complaints, other than a rather surly front desk person who was there on the second day of our stay.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: not too far from station

Disliked: expecting single room and finding 4 beds

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Tuson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Not really a hostel - really a motel with a few rooms converted to dorms. So no common area, hard to meet people.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: within walking distance from the centre

Disliked: small room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central

Disliked: bit of a security issue because very central

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and okay rooms

Disliked: Not really a hostel, it's a motel

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 July 2012

Liked: It was very centrally located.

Disliked: We booked 2 beds in the hostel and received 2 keys to our room..however when we arrived at the room there were 4 beds total..and 3 people already staying there! We returned to the front desk to tell them they overbooked the room and the front desk person gave us attitude and acted as if it was our fault the room was overbooked. Finally he gave us another room in the attached hotel.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica O'Mahoney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Beale Street, easy walking distance to most attractions in Memphis

Disliked: The fact that it was not a hostel. It was a hotel room converted into a dorm for 4 people. Therefore, less opportunities to meet other travellers, not as many facilities (e.g. a hostel would have internet access, laundry facilities, a kitchen, and a common area/lounge area - this hotel did not), staff weren't as friendly and helpful as your typical hostel staff, and it didn't have the same warm feeling as a hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Samantha Pistilli

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Very clean. Amazing bed, so comfortable!! Good bathroom and close to city centre and all the sites. Highly recommend!

Disliked: Internet wasn't working, but not end of the world.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2012

Liked: The location was good and the private room I stayed in, while not worth the money I paid, was OK.

Disliked: The property is much more like a motel than a hostel and the prices and rooms available on offer were disappointing for someone trying to get to Memphis on strict budget. The staff weren't very helpful or friendly and the breakfast services were very thin on the ground. There were no organised activities/events or much in the way of instructions on what to do in the city.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2012

Liked: I will not recommend this place to anybody. It's worthless.

Disliked: Everything.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location.

Disliked: Actually nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

tanya beacom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2011 tanya would recommend this property

Liked: good location, close to the centre of memphis and beale street

Disliked: it wasn't a backpackers hostel. it was a hotel where 1 room had 2 sets of bunk beds in it

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very good, right next to Beale Street and just a few blocks to Mississipi river. Bed was huge and very comfortable, and rooms were clean.

Disliked: The free breakfast was just a few small muffins and coffee out of a styrofoam cup, so not the very best- but as it is 6-9 a.m., I mostly missed it anyway. Coffeeshops are in walking distance.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Morgan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2011 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right next door to the greyhound station and 3 blocks away from beale street. Short walk to sun studios aswell! The bed was really comfortable and room was really clean.

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Beale Street.

Disliked: Reception woman has very abrupt manner.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ulrich Fandl

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Ulrich would recommend this property

Liked: It is perfectly located in the city-center of memphise - close to the greyhound station. the have a pool

Disliked: it's not really a hostel - more a motel with also some dorm rooms. breakfast included, but hardly any available. there my be more in the early morning but 9 am is already too late

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

sarah hadfield

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2011

Liked: Friendly staff and good location as was very near to greyhound station

Disliked: The free breakfast was stale cereal and coffee and not a lot else

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renee Barca

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Renee would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing, not only is it close to everything, but it is a safe area. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Really enjoyed my stay here

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Beale street and downtown.

Disliked: More of a motel than hostel style. Only one dorm room. Beds were uncomfortable.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011

Liked: Location.

Disliked: It was pretty dirty.


See all Memphis hostels