HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of MoonPad

Hostel | 125 S. Boyle Ave, Los Angeles, California, USA CA 90033

56.2% Overall Rating

22 out of 38 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/02/2014)

Hao-Hsiang Hung thinks…

"(1) Most staff members were very friendly to me, but some of them might have problems with other customers (due to reasons such as cultural misunderstanding). (2) There are enough bathrooms for all…"

Read all MoonPad reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

The Ritz Milner Hotel
45.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.6% 97 reviews
HI-Los Angeles - Santa Monica
37.00 USD

Hostel 89.1% 576 reviews
City Center Hotel Los Angeles
32.90 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
The Historic Mayfair Hotel
37.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 4 reviews
Rodeway Inn - Los Angeles Convention Center
90.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Normandie LA
60.00 USD

Hotel 65.2% 12 reviews
Lady Ruthelen
25.00 USD

Hostel 71.4% 7 reviews
Sir Ruthelen
25.00 USD

Hostel 69.8% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
56.2%

Overall Rating

22 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'MoonPad'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
65.6%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
56.0%
Staff
50.4%
Value
60.0%
Safety
50.4%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 36 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located. Right next to Gold Line metro rail. Low key.

Disliked: Not the cleanest hostel on earth. The staff is responsive to needs but not every traveler will find it friendly. The location could use better furniture and more of it. The site has tons of potential waiting to be used.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hao-Hsiang Hung

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

21 February 2014 Hao-Hsiang would recommend this property

Liked: (1) Most staff members were very friendly to me, but some of them might have problems with other customers (due to reasons such as cultural misunderstanding). (2) There are enough bathrooms for all tenants (4 in total), but some are cold unless you prepare your own hair-dryer for warming up after shower. (3) Some stranger broke in during daytime for borrowing a bathroom. (4) There are some mis-transitions between hostel policies. For example, some people were charged for pancakes but some were not; the wireless passwords provided in one bathroom (which seemed free for tenants) is different from the current system which charges via paypal. (5) Periodical little dramas happened (it depends on your schedule), but like what some previous tenant told me - it could be prevented. (6) Location is ok if you don't need a gym or tennis courts / running fields for exercising. There are coffee shops, grocery stores and restaurants near. Some coffee shops are close during Sundays. (7) Most stores in the neighborhood (e.g. the fast food restaurant near the gas station) do not provide coins exchange unless you are a customer, but few do. (8) Staff members are responsible but they usually come after 5 p.m., which means you might have to wait for awhile to check in. (9) The TV antenna is not very stable in receiving signals. (10) There are good Mariachi performances in the plaza near the train station. (11) They use airbed for sanitary reasons, but which might deflate and produce noise to your roommates. (12) There is one room where tenants always need a blanket during the night (I've seen 3 different tenants of the same room asked for one).

Disliked: Inconvenience of coins exchange (for quarter dollars) because the washers and dryers charge 2 and 1 dollar(s) in total and they only accept quarters..

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2013

Liked: The price

Disliked: Dirty and unsafe. It was cold

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2013

Liked: Seriously, nothing. Why? See disklikes

Disliked: Worst Hostel I have ever stayed in. First, street parking in a "gangster" area, one of the reasons I booked is to have a safe parking spot in L.A.. I was told it was not allowed to park in the front yard. Second, AIR MATRESSES in the beds, with not enough air. I was pretty much sleeping on metal rods. I would have said something, but in the morning and night there is NO ONE of the staff in the Hostel (and i was sightseeing during the day). Then, in the second night someone else was sleeping in my friends bed (we were travelling in a group of 2). the hostel had just given his "bed" to someone else. This guy ended up sleeping on the floor, because it was already 11pm and nobody was there. Another group of 4 guys was also in the hostel without any beds, they couldn't check in because nobody was there. SAFETY? They don't even give you a key for your room, every room is accessible for everyone. And same with the "lockers", i couldnt lock my wooden cupboard. Bathrooms were fairly clean to admit, if you don't consider the mold on the ceiling. The neighborhood is a little spooky, but it is fairly close to a metro. But, i wouldn't go without a car. There are very few shops and restaurants around. Guests were weird as well (and not typically aged for a hostel environment: 40+)

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 November 2013

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: We booked a 4 bedroom but had to sleep on air mattress in the hallway. This facility is criminal! It's just an old house used to make as much money as possible of. They have been lots of people who had no bed and payed full price. But the best: They only accepted credit cards. And after our stay they charged me TWICE! When I noticed they didn't answer the phone nor email. DO NOT GO TO THIS PLACE

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david edwards

Alone

Events / festivals

02 November 2013 david would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay with friendly staff. Hot pancake breakfast, big coffee machine, and close to Metro Subway. The location is amazing with Skyline views of Downtown LA

Disliked: david left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david edwards

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 November 2013 david would recommend this property

Liked: affordable easy access to train and good atmosphere.

Disliked: david left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Harold Otieno

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

30 October 2013 Harold would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, the price is great, free wifi

Disliked: Wifi a little slow at times but nothing unexpected.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

31 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a good location, close to subway. Is friendly although a bit disorganized. There is wifi.

Disliked: I'm a little disorganized with reservations, but despite this initial discomfort I found myself well.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

caitlin isbister

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 August 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: the front door was not locked at night and the dorm rooms were not able to be locked either, I did not feel safe in this hostel they also overbooked our room, sounded as if it happened a lot. They expected us to stay on a mattress on the floor of the kitchen and we refused. They were able to find a room with two beds and a blow up mattress on the floor all were blow up mattresses

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vitalii Babura

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2013 Vitalii would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy place with metro stop just across the street. Free parking available as well. Bunker street buildings seen from the backyard. Cheap but safe.

Disliked: N/A

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Matthias Badewitz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 August 2013

Liked: Ahh... the City!

Disliked: Breakfast/Beds/Showers/Cleaning

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very bright and colourful, nice atmosphere

Disliked: Very thin matrasses, so the beds are not very comfortable, dirty bathrooms and no toilett paper

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I first arrived to get greeted by two friendly people hanging out on the front porch swinging in chairs. We ended up chatting and I got a tour of the house. There is multiple bedrooms and most of us hang out in the backyard at the end of the day. I've been here for a few days now, and I've met people from around the world. I love the sense of community here. There is a few bathrooms with showers, so there is never a line up to get ready in the morning. The price is very fair, and I definitely recommend the MoonPad to anyone passing through LA. It's close the the MetroLine and there is a great view of downtown LA at night time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Hu

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa

17 July 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Relatively quiet, close to unique bars/lounge, and transportation. Check out the East Luv lounge on Saturdays.

Disliked: The kitchen is disorganized but it looks like it was in the process of being cleaned up.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Well, where do I start? Don't waste your time and money. Don't stay here. But if you're still considering it then read below. When we arrived we were shown to our room that we had booked, but soon after we were told that somebody had already allocated these beds to someone else and that they would find us beds. It got late into the evening and nobody had told us so we asked and they put two bits of foam on the floor for us to sleep on. The next day they said they had beds for us - they didn't. We were moved around on each of the four days - on the fourth I slept on a deflated lilo stuck in corner of the room. The place was massively overbooked. People slept on the floors in the rooms, in the hallways, in the lounge area etc. There was no system of booking beds, they just shoved you wherever there was a space. There is no breakfast included. Some of the things listed on hostelworld are outrageous lies. There is no gym, no swimming pool, no tour/travel desk and you have to pay for the lockers. On hostelbookers they claim there is a laundry service, on site shop, games room etc - all lies, and there were no 'cocoons' anywhere to be seen. Look at photo 10 of 10 - Sunday brunch? Whatever. We were charged far too much to sleep on the floor (and they charge extra tax when you get there) and they have so far refused fo give us any money or our deposit back. The location is poor. The only things around are Mexican restaurants. There is nothing 'hip' about the Boyle Heights neighbourhood. The owners are incompetent and clearly wrote the earliest, positive reviews which duped us into staying there. Do not stay here unless you have literally nowhere else to go, and if you do have to stay here then book the cheapest option because the chances are that they haven't got a bed allocated for you. If there were no other hostels available in LA I still wouldn't stay here.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013

Liked: Location was pretty good. A block from mariachi square and a train stop. Not too far from downtown by LA standards. Two train stops from Little Tokyo.

Disliked: They did not return my deposit. They do not have cocoons. I was very excited about the picture of the cocoons. I don't know where the picture was taken, but certainly not there! I also had to call many times to get my deposit back and no one there seemed to think that was a big deal. If I wanted to pay 50% extra I could have stayed at a hotel.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Roman Shapovalov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2013

Liked: The atmosphere invites to socializing; I stayed for a night when they did barbecue and rock concert in the back yard.

Disliked: It is difficult to find staff sometimes; had to wait a long time to check in. No private lockers. The worst is my bed was also given to another guest; luckily he travelled with his girlfriend and agreed to share a bed with her.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Andrew Whiers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013

Liked: It made me appreciate everywhere else I've stayed even more.

Disliked: Went travelling with some friends for 3 weeks and this was by far the worst place we stayed. The staff were rude and unhelpful from the start. We were late arriving due to my friend being ill and had given Moonpad prior notification of this, but we arrived to find our room had been given away, without any prior notification to us. They only seemed concerned about getting money out of us. Plus the location was a very rough/unsafe area - nothing to do or see nearby. Stick to hostels in Hollywood. AVOID THIS LIKE THE PLAGUE!

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Michele Starnini

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

23 June 2013

Liked: The price is low.

Disliked: Rooms were too crowded, foam mattress extremely unconfortable, the place in general is dirty, dirty bathrooms (only 4 bathrooms), no toilet paper, no reception 24h (none was there during the night, neither the day till 2pm!!), they charged us also the reservation fee payed when we booked. NO BREAKFAST.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like there are location and the atmosphere in this hostel.

Disliked: The kitchen is mess sometimes.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Lets just say our first two days in LA were less than impressive. For a start our hostel threw us on blow up beds in a hall with a see through sheet for privacy rather than the 3 bed dorm we booked. This was after of course they tried to put us on the back foot by saying they almost cancelled our booked because we arrived after 10pm (which makes me think they did just give our beds away). We went out for dinner and returned to find the hostel had taken the liberty of collecting our things and throwing them in the hall. They apparently thought our stuff was some friends of theirs. After much yelling we managed to get two uncomfortable futons in a closet (honestly I didn't think you could fit even one person in there), but also got them to agree to refund half what we paid, but they would only do it on check-out (suspicious). But we weren't the only ones, a group of four Germans turned up to find they only had 3 beds, and a group of girls turned up to find no beds for them (all these people had pre-booked) and the guy threatened to call the police when they got upset and wanted their deposit back. The morning after this we tried to get our money but no one was there! Eventually a guy turned up but said there was no cash on the premises. An hour or two of furious deliberation later he refunded it to our credit card (the machine also had no receipt paper).

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Kenny Mechelmans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013

Liked: Good location, the reception try to do the best they can.

Disliked: Not safe, no breakfast. They are making overbookings everyday & the reception is chaos. Its just a madhouse, if you like it you should stay here

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Weiss

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

13 May 2013 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: First, it is decorated by a very skilled decorator. The staff is so real and fun. The mattresses are comfortable. I enjoy the visitors. Breakfast is offered. The subway from Downtown is across the street; so convenient.

Disliked: Melissa left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pui Ying Chan

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

10 May 2013 Pui Ying would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, the staff are nice, the place is clean.

Disliked: The water for shower is slow. Except that, everything is good in this hostel.