We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of MoonPad

Hostel | 125 S. Boyle Ave, Los Angeles, California, USA CA 90033

54.1% Overall Rating

33 out of 63 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/09/2014)

Miklos Lendvai thinks…

"It's a really nice place. The staff is so friendly and the MoonPad is the cheapest place in LA. Come to Moonpad and see LA like I did. From the Moonpad You can go everywhere You want. Hollywood,…"

Read all MoonPad reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

The Ritz Milner Hotel
55.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 102 reviews
City Center Hotel Los Angeles
32.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.3% 4 reviews
The Historic Mayfair Hotel
40.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 8 reviews
Lady Ruthelen
25.00 USD

Hostel 78.6% 10 reviews
Sir Ruthelen
25.00 USD

Hostel 69.8% 7 reviews
The Mansion Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 77.0% 31 reviews
Cimarron House
30.00 USD

Hostel 87.9% 8 reviews
Hollywood Stars Inn
30.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.2% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
54.1%

Overall Rating

33 out of 63 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'MoonPad'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
48.8%
Cleanliness
47.2%
Staff
56.8%
Value
52.0%
Safety
49.6%
Refine your results Showing 51 of 58 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Miklos Lendvai

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2014 Miklos would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really nice place. The staff is so friendly and the MoonPad is the cheapest place in LA. Come to Moonpad and see LA like I did. From the Moonpad You can go everywhere You want. Hollywood, Santa Monica, Long Beach. Thank You Moonpad, this trip was awesome to me. I will come back here. Come to Moonpad and get to know people from La to Japan.

Disliked: Miklos left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 September 2014

Liked: Location is ok, but honestly I didn't feel comfortable staying here.

Disliked: Beds are air-mattress in a bunk beds! So noisy sleep on them, feel bad for the person on the bed that was under me. Other thing is that they allow people to rent for month and you have a bunch of people that... well not make the place looks safe. I rent it for 2 nights, but I just stay one. Didn't come back for the other night, since I feel so insecure. I will never stay and/or recommend this place to anyone. Besides this is not a regular hostel, is a house and they not even have a sign that states that is a hostel there. And btw, they don't have parking available. Showers were kinda ok. One of the girls staying in the hostel was cooking on the room! How safe is that?. Yeah, please don't stay there!.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sarka tichavska

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 sarka would recommend this property

Liked: everything!

Disliked: bedbugs but except this it was awesome

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shakoor Jarwar

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Shakoor would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing was excillent

Disliked: The propert is excellent

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patrick Demir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent; less than a minute walk from the metro and only 3 stations away from union station, which makes it very connected to all the main spots in LA. The showers here are of good quality, powerful and hot and the place generally is very clean. The atmosphere here is good, and there's a kitchen which is pretty useful too. Highly reccommend this place if you are in LA

Disliked: Patrick left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014

Liked: It's close access to metro station which leads you directly to LA union station.

Disliked: Firstly, the area Moonpad is located in is a very poor, dirty and rough neighbourhood. Also, it looks nothing like a hostel, more of a broken down house. Secondly, the rooms are very small and the floors of the bedroom and bathrooms are absolutely disgusting! There are dead flies and insects everywhere and hardly any space to hang your clothes. The sinks are very small, there is never enough toilet paper and the showers are in very bad condition! This place is a very dirty hostel! Some guests are required to sleep on the floor with just a bed sheet, no mattress! There were atleast 6 people sleeping on the main common room floor. If you need a cheap night to stay just for one night, and you don't have to shower, and you like to stay with dirty, smelly people then this is the place for you! For those of you with standards of hygiene and appreciate some level of customer service, please pay a few dollars extra and look for another hostel!!!!! DO NOT STAY AT THE MOONPAD!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

harrison bevis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything do not go to this property!!!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014

Liked: Genuinely nothing

Disliked: Poor location. Staff turned up for about an hour on only two of the nights. People in the hostel were inconsiderate and rude, and some people were genuinely creepy. Bathrooms and bedrooms were dirty, I was given no mattress. Some people were forced to sleep on the floor. DO NOT STAY HERE.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is great!

Disliked: The bathrooms are not very clean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price is very good, 1 minute walk from Mariachi Plaza metro station which is 3 stops from Union station.

Disliked: Nothing

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Martin coultas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything lies lies lies. I got there at three like it said check in time was I rang them and rang them no answer. then I find out its not till 5pm come back then still no staff around I ask a person staying there and they said they just turn up the odd time for a couple of hours never no when. when I finally get to check in (9pm) they try charge me an extra $5 on top of my room price for linin, towel, wifi and breakfast which you don't even get a choice in. so the wifi is terrible dosent work, I got no towel ever even after asking 5 times and in the morning there was no breakfast at they said they don't have the staff. its not safe front door wide open all day with no locks on the rooms in not a safe area. Ive travelled for four years in a lot of hostels and ive never seen something so bad.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014

Liked: It is really well located, metro is close and you have a nice view on LA skyline. It's a very cute house, too. Though we had expected way more and been pretty surprised about these circumstances, we had lots of fun with the other guests there.

Disliked: Just any system and organization was missing, some guests there had to sleep on the floor because there were no more beds but they forgot to inform hostel bookers or what ever. The status of this hostel is incredible. If they just were honest in their description, everything would be easy. But the way it is actually is just... I don't find a perfect word that describes how disappointed I've been,

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reynaldo Torres

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2014 Reynaldo would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great and friendly, great location, and interesting layout.

Disliked: Vending machines were out of service and laundry service too.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: House is great good location

Disliked: They need to keep up the maintenance for toilets & linens, must enforce two week stay max to avoid homeless people to move in for long stays.....& keep it only for travelers of all kinds

The property's response is...

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 June 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Same. I had to pay extra money for cleaning fee. It's not on website. And they didn't provide enough breakfast to travellers. Check in time is 5:00pm but I couldn't go my room around 6:30pm because they couldn't prepare the room. There're no key each rooms. Breakfast is 9:00 to 11:00am, I went to kitchen after 9:00 but nobody prepare breakfast. I couldn't cook because gas table is broken, toaster is also broken. I can use only microwave. Really dirty.Noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nora Doty

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 June 2014 Nora would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

02 June 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: -dirty -almost no bathroom worked - from shower I've had impression that using it would make me even more dirty...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located. Right next to Gold Line metro rail. Low key.

Disliked: Not the cleanest hostel on earth. The staff is responsive to needs but not every traveler will find it friendly. The location could use better furniture and more of it. The site has tons of potential waiting to be used.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hao-Hsiang Hung

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

21 February 2014 Hao-Hsiang would recommend this property

Liked: (1) Most staff members were very friendly to me, but some of them might have problems with other customers (due to reasons such as cultural misunderstanding). (2) There are enough bathrooms for all tenants (4 in total), but some are cold unless you prepare your own hair-dryer for warming up after shower. (3) Some stranger broke in during daytime for borrowing a bathroom. (4) There are some mis-transitions between hostel policies. For example, some people were charged for pancakes but some were not; the wireless passwords provided in one bathroom (which seemed free for tenants) is different from the current system which charges via paypal. (5) Periodical little dramas happened (it depends on your schedule), but like what some previous tenant told me - it could be prevented. (6) Location is ok if you don't need a gym or tennis courts / running fields for exercising. There are coffee shops, grocery stores and restaurants near. Some coffee shops are close during Sundays. (7) Most stores in the neighborhood (e.g. the fast food restaurant near the gas station) do not provide coins exchange unless you are a customer, but few do. (8) Staff members are responsible but they usually come after 5 p.m., which means you might have to wait for awhile to check in. (9) The TV antenna is not very stable in receiving signals. (10) There are good Mariachi performances in the plaza near the train station. (11) They use airbed for sanitary reasons, but which might deflate and produce noise to your roommates. (12) There is one room where tenants always need a blanket during the night (I've seen 3 different tenants of the same room asked for one).

Disliked: Inconvenience of coins exchange (for quarter dollars) because the washers and dryers charge 2 and 1 dollar(s) in total and they only accept quarters..

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2013

Liked: The price

Disliked: Dirty and unsafe. It was cold

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2013

Liked: Seriously, nothing. Why? See disklikes

Disliked: Worst Hostel I have ever stayed in. First, street parking in a "gangster" area, one of the reasons I booked is to have a safe parking spot in L.A.. I was told it was not allowed to park in the front yard. Second, AIR MATRESSES in the beds, with not enough air. I was pretty much sleeping on metal rods. I would have said something, but in the morning and night there is NO ONE of the staff in the Hostel (and i was sightseeing during the day). Then, in the second night someone else was sleeping in my friends bed (we were travelling in a group of 2). the hostel had just given his "bed" to someone else. This guy ended up sleeping on the floor, because it was already 11pm and nobody was there. Another group of 4 guys was also in the hostel without any beds, they couldn't check in because nobody was there. SAFETY? They don't even give you a key for your room, every room is accessible for everyone. And same with the "lockers", i couldnt lock my wooden cupboard. Bathrooms were fairly clean to admit, if you don't consider the mold on the ceiling. The neighborhood is a little spooky, but it is fairly close to a metro. But, i wouldn't go without a car. There are very few shops and restaurants around. Guests were weird as well (and not typically aged for a hostel environment: 40+)

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 November 2013

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: We booked a 4 bedroom but had to sleep on air mattress in the hallway. This facility is criminal! It's just an old house used to make as much money as possible of. They have been lots of people who had no bed and payed full price. But the best: They only accepted credit cards. And after our stay they charged me TWICE! When I noticed they didn't answer the phone nor email. DO NOT GO TO THIS PLACE

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david edwards

Alone

Events / festivals

02 November 2013 david would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay with friendly staff. Hot pancake breakfast, big coffee machine, and close to Metro Subway. The location is amazing with Skyline views of Downtown LA

Disliked: david left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david edwards

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 November 2013 david would recommend this property

Liked: affordable easy access to train and good atmosphere.

Disliked: david left no negative feedback.