We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of MoonPad

Hostel | 125 S. Boyle Ave, Los Angeles, California, USA CA 90033

55.1% Overall Rating

35 out of 70 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/01/2015)

keith fox thinks…

"The atmosphere is great and peaceful. The back balcony view of dtLA is superlative, and the location near Mariachi Plaza and MetroGoldLine is a huge plus!."

Read all MoonPad reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

The Ritz Milner Hotel
55.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 102 reviews
HI - Los Angeles - Santa Monica Hostel
34.00 USD

Hostel 90.4% 597 reviews
City Center Hotel Los Angeles
35.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.3% 4 reviews
The Historic Mayfair Hotel
38.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 8 reviews
Lady Ruthelen
25.00 USD

Hostel 78.6% 10 reviews
Sir Ruthelen
25.00 USD

Hostel 69.8% 7 reviews
The Mansion Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 76.8% 35 reviews
Cimarron House
30.00 USD

Hostel 84.0% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
55.1%

Overall Rating

35 out of 70 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'MoonPad'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
69.6%
Facilities
47.2%
Cleanliness
49.6%
Staff
58.4%
Value
53.6%
Safety
51.2%
Refine your results Showing 58 of 65 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

keith fox

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 January 2015 keith would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is great and peaceful. The back balcony view of dtLA is superlative, and the location near Mariachi Plaza and MetroGoldLine is a huge plus!.

Disliked: There's really no breakfast, but the staff makes good on keeping coffee and snacks for everyone at the front. Shower drains should be monitored more closely/ more often.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2015

Liked: close to metro station

Disliked: no breakfast, kitchen long-term out of order, housekeeping fee 5 USD, demanded tax about 20%, really unfriendly receptionist

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

renata diniz

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 January 2015

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: We didnt stay there because it is a terrible place. The bathroom was durty. Nobody was there when we come. The location is terrible and dangerous.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: Environment

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Tarik Arabi

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 January 2015

Liked: The staff was friendly.

Disliked: It was very dirty and not organized.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

30 December 2014

Liked: I didn't like nothing

Disliked: The hostel is a mess, I rented a non mixed room and they put some guys in my bedroom, the bathroom was very very very dirty, impossible to use, completely horrible

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Miklos Lendvai

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2014 Miklos would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really nice place. The staff is so friendly and the MoonPad is the cheapest place in LA. Come to Moonpad and see LA like I did. From the Moonpad You can go everywhere You want. Hollywood, Santa Monica, Long Beach. Thank You Moonpad, this trip was awesome to me. I will come back here. Come to Moonpad and get to know people from La to Japan.

Disliked: Miklos left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 September 2014

Liked: Location is ok, but honestly I didn't feel comfortable staying here.

Disliked: Beds are air-mattress in a bunk beds! So noisy sleep on them, feel bad for the person on the bed that was under me. Other thing is that they allow people to rent for month and you have a bunch of people that... well not make the place looks safe. I rent it for 2 nights, but I just stay one. Didn't come back for the other night, since I feel so insecure. I will never stay and/or recommend this place to anyone. Besides this is not a regular hostel, is a house and they not even have a sign that states that is a hostel there. And btw, they don't have parking available. Showers were kinda ok. One of the girls staying in the hostel was cooking on the room! How safe is that?. Yeah, please don't stay there!.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sarka tichavska

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 sarka would recommend this property

Liked: everything!

Disliked: bedbugs but except this it was awesome

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shakoor Jarwar

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Shakoor would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing was excillent

Disliked: The propert is excellent

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patrick Demir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent; less than a minute walk from the metro and only 3 stations away from union station, which makes it very connected to all the main spots in LA. The showers here are of good quality, powerful and hot and the place generally is very clean. The atmosphere here is good, and there's a kitchen which is pretty useful too. Highly reccommend this place if you are in LA

Disliked: Patrick left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014

Liked: It's close access to metro station which leads you directly to LA union station.

Disliked: Firstly, the area Moonpad is located in is a very poor, dirty and rough neighbourhood. Also, it looks nothing like a hostel, more of a broken down house. Secondly, the rooms are very small and the floors of the bedroom and bathrooms are absolutely disgusting! There are dead flies and insects everywhere and hardly any space to hang your clothes. The sinks are very small, there is never enough toilet paper and the showers are in very bad condition! This place is a very dirty hostel! Some guests are required to sleep on the floor with just a bed sheet, no mattress! There were atleast 6 people sleeping on the main common room floor. If you need a cheap night to stay just for one night, and you don't have to shower, and you like to stay with dirty, smelly people then this is the place for you! For those of you with standards of hygiene and appreciate some level of customer service, please pay a few dollars extra and look for another hostel!!!!! DO NOT STAY AT THE MOONPAD!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

harrison bevis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything do not go to this property!!!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014

Liked: Genuinely nothing

Disliked: Poor location. Staff turned up for about an hour on only two of the nights. People in the hostel were inconsiderate and rude, and some people were genuinely creepy. Bathrooms and bedrooms were dirty, I was given no mattress. Some people were forced to sleep on the floor. DO NOT STAY HERE.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is great!

Disliked: The bathrooms are not very clean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price is very good, 1 minute walk from Mariachi Plaza metro station which is 3 stops from Union station.

Disliked: Nothing

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Martin coultas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything lies lies lies. I got there at three like it said check in time was I rang them and rang them no answer. then I find out its not till 5pm come back then still no staff around I ask a person staying there and they said they just turn up the odd time for a couple of hours never no when. when I finally get to check in (9pm) they try charge me an extra $5 on top of my room price for linin, towel, wifi and breakfast which you don't even get a choice in. so the wifi is terrible dosent work, I got no towel ever even after asking 5 times and in the morning there was no breakfast at they said they don't have the staff. its not safe front door wide open all day with no locks on the rooms in not a safe area. Ive travelled for four years in a lot of hostels and ive never seen something so bad.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014

Liked: It is really well located, metro is close and you have a nice view on LA skyline. It's a very cute house, too. Though we had expected way more and been pretty surprised about these circumstances, we had lots of fun with the other guests there.

Disliked: Just any system and organization was missing, some guests there had to sleep on the floor because there were no more beds but they forgot to inform hostel bookers or what ever. The status of this hostel is incredible. If they just were honest in their description, everything would be easy. But the way it is actually is just... I don't find a perfect word that describes how disappointed I've been,

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reynaldo Torres

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2014 Reynaldo would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great and friendly, great location, and interesting layout.

Disliked: Vending machines were out of service and laundry service too.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: House is great good location

Disliked: They need to keep up the maintenance for toilets & linens, must enforce two week stay max to avoid homeless people to move in for long stays.....& keep it only for travelers of all kinds

The property's response is...

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 June 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Same. I had to pay extra money for cleaning fee. It's not on website. And they didn't provide enough breakfast to travellers. Check in time is 5:00pm but I couldn't go my room around 6:30pm because they couldn't prepare the room. There're no key each rooms. Breakfast is 9:00 to 11:00am, I went to kitchen after 9:00 but nobody prepare breakfast. I couldn't cook because gas table is broken, toaster is also broken. I can use only microwave. Really dirty.Noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nora Doty

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 June 2014 Nora would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

02 June 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: -dirty -almost no bathroom worked - from shower I've had impression that using it would make me even more dirty...