We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sir Ruthelen

Hostel | '3777 Ruthelen Street, Los Angeles, California, USA 90018

69.8% Overall Rating

4 out of 7 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/08/2013)

"It's conveniently located minutes walking from the metro station and buses, the staff is really helpful, nice and always smiling, we booked more nights once over there and they left us in the same room, but they had…"

Read all Sir Ruthelen reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 40.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Office hours are from 9AM to 5PM, but we can accommodate check-ins until 7PM. CHECK-INS AFTER 7PM MUST PAY A $25 CASH LATE FEE and you also MUST EMAIL your arrival time to us in advance. We accept credit/debit cards ONLY for payment and WE DO NOT OFFER REFUNDS

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

The Mansion Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 77.0% 31 reviews
Cimarron House
30.00 USD

Hostel 87.9% 8 reviews
Lady Ruthelen
25.00 USD

Hostel 78.6% 10 reviews
The Historic Mayfair Hotel
38.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 8 reviews
City Center Hotel Los Angeles
32.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.3% 4 reviews
The Ritz Milner Hotel
55.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 102 reviews
Geneva Motel
28.51 USD

Hotel 69.1% 5 reviews
Hollywood Palms Inn & Suites
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.8%

Overall Rating

4 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sir Ruthelen'

Atmosphere
77.1%
Location
62.9%
Facilities
62.9%
Cleanliness
74.3%
Staff
68.6%
Value
74.3%
Safety
68.6%
Refine your results Showing 6 of 7 reviews
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lauren Hendry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013

Liked: If you have a car there is good parking but if you don't its not a nice location

Disliked: Moved us twice in a week, more the way they went about things rather than the actual inconvenience. Felt like once you had paid your money they didn't really care. Room had ants everywhere which wasn't pleasant.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's conveniently located minutes walking from the metro station and buses, the staff is really helpful, nice and always smiling, we booked more nights once over there and they left us in the same room, but they had already booked it for some other people, so they were really efficient and find a quick solution to put us in the exact same room, next to that one. I loved the cleanliness also, a very clean hostel.

Disliked: Very poor breakfast consists of some croissants (frozen) and orange juice

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Hentrich

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great place to stay. I liked being close to the Metro, cheap Mexican food stores. The facilities were good, the beds were clean, staff were friendly. The neighbourhood is residential but you can go to Crenshaw Blvd in a 20 min walk for larger shops. I recommend this place over Duo Housing which charges the same rate. I had an asthma attack in Duo Housing due to the dust mites in the mattress and they didn't care or provide assistance. The staff here would attempt to assist where possible. They loaned me an ethernet cable for my laptop.

Disliked: As usual with hostels, some guests didn't clean up after themselves.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

damani scott

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 May 2013 damani would recommend this property

Liked: I like that its like staying at your own home, not like just another hotel. It was very clean, people friendly and the home was a newer large home that felt like home, not just a hotel stay. Nice kitchen,cable, washer dryer, so I can't complain.

Disliked: The maids could have clean the bathtubs a little better,and maybe couldv'e had more of a breakfast selection. But overall great place.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

RENEE CUSWORTH

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Worst hostel we've ever stayed in and I've stayed in hundreds. The woman at reception lied to us told us it was very safe and could walk around at night. DO NOT do this, a girl from the next room got mugged just one street away at 6.30pm and a grandma near her got bashed. No cutlery crockery or cups to have with breakfast. Everyone shared one 'cup' which turns out is used by cleaners and has bleach in it. Woman also stuffed ours and a lot of people's bookings up, giving out wrong keys, telling us wrong things and we had to walk streets away to move hostels. We then left our laptop cord at hostel by accident and when we called up to see if she could check, she refused to, so we lost it. She also does not answer emails or returns phone calls if u leave a message, and rarely answers phone. We know this because she did this to us and also when we were standing in the reception, she refused to answer any calls where she didn't recognise the number!!! They also let big aggressive dogs run around the hostel and up the stairs. Do not stay here!!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Illya Shkapo

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

02 September 2012 Illya would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen and apartments

Disliked: Illya left no negative feedback.