We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hollywood and Highland Hotel and Hostel

Hostel | 7038 1/2 Hollywood blvd., Los Angeles, California, USA CA 90028

73.4% Overall Rating

65 out of 119 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/11/2014)

Andrej Turba thinks…

"- located on the walk of fame, not close to it. ON IT - 4 bus lines within 30 second walk, underground station within 1 minute - grocery store right across the street, good prices! - you dont even…"

Read all Hollywood and Highland Hotel and Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

$20. Key Deposit upon arrival, which is returned at time of Check-out

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Orange Drive Hostel
43.20 USD

Hostel 86.7% 166 reviews
Hollywood Youth Hostel
24.60 USD

Hostel 85.0% 387 reviews
Saharan Motor Hotel
62.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 49 reviews
USA Hostels Hollywood
34.00 USD

Hostel 90.5% 575 reviews
PodShare
40.00 USD

Hostel 96.0% 22 reviews
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
28.41 USD

Hostel 85.4% 196 reviews
Hollywood Palms Inn & Suites
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
28.41 USD

Hostel 86.1% 353 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.4%

Overall Rating

65 out of 119 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hollywood and Highland Hotel and Hostel'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
80.8%
Value
75.2%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 74 of 80 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrej Turba

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2014 Andrej would recommend this property

Liked: - located on the walk of fame, not close to it. ON IT - 4 bus lines within 30 second walk, underground station within 1 minute - grocery store right across the street, good prices! - you dont even need to go anywhere else in LA, everythings within 1 minute walk - fast food, posh restaurants, souvenirs, clothes, clubs... - first hostel where I didn't feel like using flip flops in the shower - lots of tools in kitchen - very helpful staff - great public areas - TV room and balcony - there are only 2 plugs in 6 bed dorm but extension cord is provided, great idea! - to get to the Venice/Santa Monica beach you need to change only once - bus leaves right by the hostel and drops you right on the beach (takes 70-90 minutes), no long waiting when transfering buses, it arrives in few mins. If I sound impressed, thats because I am. All this for 25 a night? U serious?

Disliked: - extremely squeaky beds, but I take it as a funny bonus :) - little too loud when having street window, but that stops after midnight.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marcus Krueppel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2014 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location

Disliked: Bunk beds are of the squeaky low-quality type

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2014

Liked: The location is right on the Hollywood blvd

Disliked: Very old furniture, average cleanliness, squeeky beds, noisy, no aircons...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Niklas Hammarström

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2014 Niklas would recommend this property

Liked: Right on hollywood boulevard, close to the supermarket and subway.

Disliked: We stayed in room 26 just by the street, it was very hot so you had to leave the window open which made you hear all the noise from the street, bring ear plugs!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location to explore LA, the metro is just down the road and the staff were honest and helpful.

Disliked: Limited office hours but no big deal. For a place right on the main street and within easy reach of everything, plus the low rate there is not much you can dislike about this hostel

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

heaju ham

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 heaju would recommend this property

Liked: the restrooms was inside the room. so i only share with my roomates, that was good.

Disliked: my room was in the near road so its noisy to get sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Andrew Deamer

With a large group / tour

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: I thought it was a great hostel. You get what you pay for. Best location I could ask for and great staff. Very family based hostel. Everyone friendly and helpful . I would say if you don't like family based plac

Disliked: Great price. Great location. The manager has a daughter and is a family based hostel if this this is an issue then avoid hostel. I think it added character. It was an amazing trip

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2014

Liked: Nothing in particular

Disliked: Dirty!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 February 2014

Liked: The location is extremely good

Disliked: There were no plug sockets in our room, the curtains let a lot of light in in the morning. There seemed to be an issue with one guest and the police were called during our stay.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, staff and fellow travellers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sisse Bertelsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Sisse would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean for hostel standards! Nice kitchen. I was generally happy with my stay.

Disliked: My dorm was very small for 6 people. Shower wasn't great, but at least usable. Nobody knew how to work the TV.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: The place smelt really bad. Some of the staff slept in our room and they snored loudly every night. No curtains meant constant light from the street.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013

Liked: The manager was friendly.

Disliked: Staff members slept in our room and both snored really loudly. Only got to sleep when they left for work at 6am. Other staff member told us off for leaving mess when it was actually a staff member. The rooms smelt terrible and there were no curtains so it was bright all night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were two girls and one of the owners moved 3 guys out of our dorm as he wanted to make sure we were safe!! (although we had booked a mixed dorm and weren't bothered!) They also checked that we got in safe one night when I lost my friend and we only had one key between us. The location is great, right on Hollywood Boulevard - near the metro and everything else that's going on! Not near the Greyhound Station though. Free breakfast was the hostel standard coffee and toast which was fine. This place was fine to stay at as a hostel, nothing fancy but it was only a place to sleep for us.

Disliked: Rooms are in need of some TLC. They looked a bit dirty compared to other hostels I'd stayed at, but I think a lick of paint and a deep clean would sort it out. The mattress above the bottom bunk that I had was all ripped up and hanging down which wasn't great. The room was a little hot without AC and it was pretty noisy being right on Hollywood Blvd.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yawen Liu

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

05 August 2012

Liked: it's ok, cause it's just hostel.

Disliked: Yawen left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to where I needed to be.

Disliked: Rooms were cramped.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sara Koch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2011 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: if you just look for a place to sleep and be out all day long,this hostel is perfectly yours. staff is helpful and nice lockers available don't expect GREAT service for the money,you pay, kitchen and bathrooms are simple,breakfast,too (toast,peanut-butter,jam,coffee)

Disliked: "real" cups would be nice,not only the ones made of styrofoam

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most friendly and relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: At first seamed to be a little dirty and unsafe but then it was all right

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2011

Liked: This hotel is in a fantastic location right on Hollywood blvd. The staff are lovely an helpful and it's really cheap! Good for one night and close to subway.

Disliked: We only stayed one night and didn't sleep a wink. It was so hot and so noisy, the traffic was like a motorway and music played to all hours (it was a Monday not a weekend)! The door is also left open until at least midnight an anyone could walk in!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eve Trueman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011 Eve would recommend this property

Liked: How friendly all the staff were!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Johncock

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 May 2011 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Very homey atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ss

Disliked: s

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

21 September 2010

Liked: great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2010

Liked: The location is good.

Disliked: Then environment and the cleanliness are not good.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

29 August 2010

Liked: Nothing, except the location!!!!!

Disliked: Everything!! Disgusting!!!