We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of USA Hostels Hollywood

Hostel | 1624 Schrader Boulevard, Los Angeles, California, USA CA 90028

87.2% Overall Rating

550 out of 587 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/02/2015)

Marc Perrot thinks…

"Breakfast is great. Beds are comfortable. Wifi is good. Staff is really helpful and friendly."

Read all USA Hostels Hollywood reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Taxes are not included in listed prices. A 14% city and hotel tax are added at check in. Check in starts at 2 pm. Check out is 10 am. We welcome guests from everywhere outside of Los Angeles county. At check in, international guests must present a valid passport. US residents must present valid government issued identification (ie: drivers license, state id card, passport). Guests may also be asked to present proof of onward travel. Anyone under 18 must be accompanied by a guardian. Guests under 16 permitted only in private rooms unless an entire dorm is rented. We discourage parents with young children from booking at this location as we are known for our late-night activities. Parents with children under 16 MUST contact the hostel prior to booking. Cancellations and/or changes must be made before 6:00 pm California time the day prior to arrival or the first night will be charged to the credit card. We do the best we can to keep you and your traveling companions together, but due to season and availability, there’s a small change of being put in separate rooms. Please note that if you book rooms for more than 10 people this will be consider as a group booking and if this is processed online it will be cancelled automatically and the deposit will not be refundable. Groups must contact the hostel directly before booking. PLEASE NOTE: Our hostel is known for its night time lounge activities and parties so this may not be the place for someone looking for a sedate atmosphere.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

PodShare
40.00 USD

Hostel 96.0% 22 reviews
Hollywood Youth Hostel
22.00 USD

Hostel 73.9% 405 reviews
Orange Drive Hostel
43.20 USD

Hostel 86.6% 169 reviews
Hollywood and Highland Hotel and Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 73.0% 120 reviews
Hollywood Palms Inn & Suites
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
28.92 USD

Hostel 86.6% 358 reviews
Saharan Motor Hotel
62.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 49 reviews
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.2% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

550 out of 587 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'USA Hostels Hollywood'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
80.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 428 of 468 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Cahan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 March 2015 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The proximity to attractions, the atmosphere is fun, escpecially the outdoor area

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Mendoza

Alone

City break

02 March 2015 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Very high standards for a hostel

Disliked: Rules, but I think it's necessary to maintain the atmosphere

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2015

Liked: Close to the walk of fame and a nice outdoor sitting area.

Disliked: Staff were rude and unhelpful when were checked in. We were told the sheets, pillow cases and towels were being washed and would be ready soon. It wasn't until 11.30pm that we finally were able to get some. After a long day of traveling across the country we wanted to shower and sleep and it was close to midnight before we were able too. The vending machines take your money and staff can't do anything and the cleaners took a bag full of stuff and threw it in the bin. Probably the most I have ever paid for a 8 bed dorm and I expected more!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great location and friendly staff. The rooms are very well equipped.

Disliked: The breakfast food is a huge disappointment. Despite being free, the quality is very poor. Yet there is plent of space for personal food storage so that's a plus.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marc Perrot

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 February 2015 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is great. Beds are comfortable. Wifi is good. Staff is really helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Can't think of anything. Good spot

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 February 2015

Liked: The breakfast in the morning

Disliked: 1) The staff are super rude, barely answering questions. When asking for a lock the response I got was 4 dollars, the assistant barely made eye contact. 2) It may be a quick walk to the main street, but that quick walk is super intimidating and dangerous. During my stay my roommate walked passed a deceased body and a shooting happened the previous week - just on that 2/3 minute walk. 3) I arrived at 5:30 and had to wait an hour for clean sheets. 4) If I was to return....I would be staying out in Santa Monica where the food is better, it seems to be a lot cooler and safer. 5) If you are travelling by yourself then do not book this hostel - It was the most intimidating street I have ever stayed on. I also came across a lot of other lodgers who shared the same experience. Hope this review was helpful, Safe travels.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meisha Woolford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2015 Meisha would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were extremely clean and had all required facilities available. Free wifi was also included which was another factor which made my stay good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing, it was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jo lettin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2015 Jo would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful. Friendly. Louie particularly made an effort to get to know the guests The place was always kept clean Breakfast was always good Plenty of charging points for electronics. Reception was manned 24 hours Bbq's were also very good Tours were also very good It had a great patio for socialising. Good location to get around to see the many attractions la has to offer,

Disliked: The stand up entertainment was terrible. The jokes were just not funny. The first time I went, I stayed the entire slit. This was because there was now only 4 people left, and I would have been to obvious to walk out. The 2nd and last time, I stayed for 5 mi suites. The jokes one guy was making were really in appropete. The only one in the audience who laughed was a staff member from the hotel. Even the, I don't think it was genuine. This time I did not hesitate to leave. Some people followed after me as well. FYi: the host was ok, it was the other acts that were rubbish. Policeing smoking in the non smoking side of the patio would have been nice, becoz most nights the smokers crept on to the non smoking side, which annoyed me allot. Maybe have bigger signs.... Or maybe someone just needs to check every now and then.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Chambers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2015 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, free shuttle to Santa Monica, plus other things we didn't take up like a Hollywood sign tour and Beverly Hills tour.

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maher Chowdhury

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 January 2015 Maher would recommend this property

Liked: Location, the wonderful company of fellow travelers who stay there and the patio where everyone hangs.

Disliked: The outside guest policy. They should go a little easy on outside guests coming in with hostel guests.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of activities!

Disliked: Quite noisy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent - just off hollywood boulevard. The place felt safe, and the facilites were great - we had a bathroom in our dorm, and the privacy screens are great too.

Disliked: I would have preferred if the bunks were a bit more spaced out so I could sit on my bed without hitting my head on the top bunk (I'm only 5'6"). The staff weren't the friendliest, with the tour guides seemingly ignoring everyone they were leading (and the tour wasn't even free!). Come on guys, at least try to be nice.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014

Liked: Free coffee, personal plugs and light by bed, clean and generally nice hostel!

Disliked: Could offer more tours... Their suggested hollywood bus tour was way too expensive for what it actually was! And that was without the ridiculous tip the tour suggested!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kledkaew Ketsorn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Kledkaew would recommend this property

Liked: Near subway and walk street .

Disliked: Not separate boy and girl

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool place to stay right in the heart of Hollywood. Daily tours make it easy to get to some of the interesting places and meet people from the hostel and the shuttle to the beach saves you a lot of time on a bus. Brilliant beds which are closed off where your head is so you don't even mind too much when someone turns the light on, plus shelf, light and outlet at each bed. Staff is very friendly and some of them also don't mind getting in to a game of beer pong at night!

Disliked: The breakfast is fine in general (as long as you have the right expectations for breakfast in a hostel) but I don't get how you run out of all kinds of things so often. The only thing that really bugged me was how they want to make money from everything. Want milk for a coffee? Get it at the vending machine. Want us to call a shuttle bus to the airport? Sure, 2 bucks. Some of the tours seems more expensive than necessary as well.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, helpful staff (especially the girl at reception), good security and fairly good area.

Disliked: Noisy at night (there were people at the back / outside the hostel until all hours), sheets were 0% cotton - they became very hot and sweaty. Needed more free shuttles to the beaches - they are far away.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Security

Disliked: No place to leave a car during check in or out

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mario Paetow

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere nice and friendly, very clean, also evening events e.g. cocking and trips

Disliked: nothing serious, a bit more space for breakfast would be good

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jammi-Lee Scott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 August 2014 Jammi-Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of cool people and there is always something happening. Good location, and in a quiet area. Little bit of a party place, which I'm not upset by at all. The patio is an awesome chill zone to kill hangovers and the lounge is good to chill in air con. The rooms are decent size.

Disliked: Nothing really. It was cool.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel! Great location and interesting area to use as a base for exploring the city, plenty of great food nearby, great excursions and shuttles to get around LA, free breakfast and delicious pancakes, friendly staff, clean rooms (and they clean your bathroom everyday!), space for socializing and meeting plenty of nice people! :)

Disliked: Can be a bit noisy but so can all hostels, bring earplugs just in case!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of activities in offer every day and great social areas

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Gouwland

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff who were very helpful and always friendly. Better than I expected

Disliked: Gemma left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chilled vibe, very nice atmosphere and grrat location!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marilia Ravanello

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014 Marilia would recommend this property

Liked: - very clean! - very good location - helpful staff

Disliked: Marilia left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how clean the rooms were

Disliked: The shower took a while to drain in room 115