We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of USA Hostels Hollywood

Hostel | 1624 Schrader Boulevard, Los Angeles, California, USA CA 90028

90.5% Overall Rating

540 out of 575 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/09/2014)

"The location was excellent - just off hollywood boulevard. The place felt safe, and the facilites were great - we had a bathroom in our dorm, and the privacy screens are great too."

Read all USA Hostels Hollywood reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Taxes are not included in listed prices. A 14% city and hotel tax are added at check in. Check in starts at 2 pm. Check out is 10 am. We welcome guests from everywhere outside of Los Angeles county. At check in, international guests must present a valid passport. US residents must present valid government issued identification (ie: drivers license, state id card, passport). Guests may also be asked to present proof of onward travel. Anyone under 18 must be accompanied by a guardian. Guests under 16 permitted only in private rooms unless an entire dorm is rented. We discourage parents with young children from booking at this location as we are known for our late-night activities. Parents with children under 16 MUST contact the hostel prior to booking. Cancellations and/or changes must be made before 6:00 pm California time the day prior to arrival or the first night will be charged to the credit card. We do the best we can to keep you and your traveling companions together, but due to season and availability, there’s a small change of being put in separate rooms. Please note that if you book rooms for more than 10 people this will be consider as a group booking and if this is processed online it will be cancelled automatically and the deposit will not be refundable. Groups must contact the hostel directly before booking. PLEASE NOTE: Our hostel is known for its night time lounge activities and parties so this may not be the place for someone looking for a sedate atmosphere.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

PodShare
40.00 USD

Hostel 96.0% 22 reviews
Hollywood Youth Hostel
24.60 USD

Hostel 85.0% 387 reviews
Orange Drive Hostel
43.20 USD

Hostel 86.7% 166 reviews
Hollywood and Highland Hotel and Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 73.4% 119 reviews
Hollywood Palms Inn & Suites
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
27.28 USD

Hostel 86.1% 353 reviews
Saharan Motor Hotel
62.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 49 reviews
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.2% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

540 out of 575 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'USA Hostels Hollywood'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 417 of 454 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent - just off hollywood boulevard. The place felt safe, and the facilites were great - we had a bathroom in our dorm, and the privacy screens are great too.

Disliked: I would have preferred if the bunks were a bit more spaced out so I could sit on my bed without hitting my head on the top bunk (I'm only 5'6"). The staff weren't the friendliest, with the tour guides seemingly ignoring everyone they were leading (and the tour wasn't even free!). Come on guys, at least try to be nice.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014

Liked: Free coffee, personal plugs and light by bed, clean and generally nice hostel!

Disliked: Could offer more tours... Their suggested hollywood bus tour was way too expensive for what it actually was! And that was without the ridiculous tip the tour suggested!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kledkaew Ketsorn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Kledkaew would recommend this property

Liked: Near subway and walk street .

Disliked: Not separate boy and girl

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool place to stay right in the heart of Hollywood. Daily tours make it easy to get to some of the interesting places and meet people from the hostel and the shuttle to the beach saves you a lot of time on a bus. Brilliant beds which are closed off where your head is so you don't even mind too much when someone turns the light on, plus shelf, light and outlet at each bed. Staff is very friendly and some of them also don't mind getting in to a game of beer pong at night!

Disliked: The breakfast is fine in general (as long as you have the right expectations for breakfast in a hostel) but I don't get how you run out of all kinds of things so often. The only thing that really bugged me was how they want to make money from everything. Want milk for a coffee? Get it at the vending machine. Want us to call a shuttle bus to the airport? Sure, 2 bucks. Some of the tours seems more expensive than necessary as well.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, helpful staff (especially the girl at reception), good security and fairly good area.

Disliked: Noisy at night (there were people at the back / outside the hostel until all hours), sheets were 0% cotton - they became very hot and sweaty. Needed more free shuttles to the beaches - they are far away.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Security

Disliked: No place to leave a car during check in or out

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mario Paetow

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere nice and friendly, very clean, also evening events e.g. cocking and trips

Disliked: nothing serious, a bit more space for breakfast would be good

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jammi-Lee Scott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 August 2014 Jammi-Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of cool people and there is always something happening. Good location, and in a quiet area. Little bit of a party place, which I'm not upset by at all. The patio is an awesome chill zone to kill hangovers and the lounge is good to chill in air con. The rooms are decent size.

Disliked: Nothing really. It was cool.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel! Great location and interesting area to use as a base for exploring the city, plenty of great food nearby, great excursions and shuttles to get around LA, free breakfast and delicious pancakes, friendly staff, clean rooms (and they clean your bathroom everyday!), space for socializing and meeting plenty of nice people! :)

Disliked: Can be a bit noisy but so can all hostels, bring earplugs just in case!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of activities in offer every day and great social areas

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Gouwland

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff who were very helpful and always friendly. Better than I expected

Disliked: Gemma left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chilled vibe, very nice atmosphere and grrat location!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marilia Ravanello

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014 Marilia would recommend this property

Liked: - very clean! - very good location - helpful staff

Disliked: Marilia left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how clean the rooms were

Disliked: The shower took a while to drain in room 115

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was an awesome place to stay, met a lot of great people here! They clean the rooms every day, which is nice, and no one is let into the hostel without a key car which made me feel safe. They arrange things for you to do every day, and there's all you can eat dinner every evening.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very open atmosphere, even easier to get to know other people than in other hostels.

Disliked: Checkout policy of 10am.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Secure and staff are helpful

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

daniel ley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2014 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, and efficient. Good rooms, free breakfast that was good for a hostel, lounge areas inside and outside. Staff were helpful. Good activities available.

Disliked: Always noisy. Non stop music, house keeping is active all day. Dorms are never quiet except in the dead of night. I know that's part of the youth/party atmosphere but gets tiring after awhile. Internet is slow, but I can't compare it to LA bandwidth so that maybe normal here. Alot of group activities fill very fast because there's many people here, have to sign up quickly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in.

Disliked: Hollywood itself is not the most interesting area of L.A. However, the Hostel is great and has lots to offer including shuttles to interesting areas, etc. Not as active socially - e.g. people going out, etc. as I had expected, though this was fine as I was catching up on sleep!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Westell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Great security and locker storage, extremely happy and friendly staff at check-in. Awesome facilities, good lighting for girls putting on makeup, soap, towels and linen provided. Excellent stay. Best I've ever been in also because of the perfect location :) A+

Disliked: Being forced to have a top bed bunk

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Hyland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about it! The staff are fantastic, it is extremely secure, the location is fabulous, the patio and lounge are great places to meet other travellers, and the Metro is not far away, so getting around LA is made a lot easier.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helfullness of the guys working there

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Edward McClelland

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen; Good Bunks but thin mattresses; Good Lockers w/Power; Good location in Hollywood.

Disliked: Nothing major but I had to put my own sheets on the bed......a first!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Celine Chen

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2014 Celine would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, lots of activities to do in the hostel: comedy night, barbecue, free tours and shuttles to the beach. Breakfast included.

Disliked: Not far from the main attractions in LA (as much as it can possibly be in this city since los angeles is so spread out...) located just between 2 metro stations and many buses stopping around. Though the area is a bit strange at night... I felt a bit unsafe walking by the neighbourhood.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominick Painter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2014 Dominick would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I have stayed in during my tour of the world. The staff are extremely helpful and the facilities available are endless. Powered lockers were extremely useful as well as a very nice outside seating area. The breakfast the hostel out in was perfect with a wide range of things to eat.

Disliked: Dominick left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...