HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of USA Hostels Hollywood

Hostel | 1624 Schrader Boulevard, Los Angeles, California, USA CA 90028

94.1% Overall Rating

528 out of 562 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/06/2014)

"This was an awesome place to stay, met a lot of great people here! They clean the rooms every day, which is nice, and no one is let into the hostel without a key car which made me feel safe. They arrange things for you…"

Read all USA Hostels Hollywood reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Taxes are not included in listed prices. A 14% city and hotel tax are added at check in. Check in starts at 2 pm. Check out is 10 am. We welcome guests from everywhere outside of Los Angeles county. At check in, international guests must present a valid passport. US residents must present valid government issued identification (ie: drivers license, state id card, passport). Guests may also be asked to present proof of onward travel. Anyone under 18 must be accompanied by a guardian. Guests under 16 permitted only in private rooms unless an entire dorm is rented. We discourage parents with young children from booking at this location as we are known for our late-night activities. Parents with children under 16 MUST contact the hostel prior to booking. Cancellations and/or changes must be made before 6:00 pm California time the day prior to arrival or the first night will be charged to the credit card. We do the best we can to keep you and your traveling companions together, but due to season and availability, there’s a small change of being put in separate rooms. Please note that if you book rooms for more than 10 people this will be consider as a group booking and if this is processed online it will be cancelled automatically and the deposit will not be refundable. Groups must contact the hostel directly before booking. PLEASE NOTE: Our hostel is known for its night time lounge activities and parties so this may not be the place for someone looking for a sedate atmosphere.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

PodShare
50.00 USD

Hostel 95.8% 21 reviews
Hollywood Youth Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 84.5% 372 reviews
Orange Drive Hostel
40.94 USD

Hostel 86.9% 163 reviews
Hollywood and Highland Hotel and Hostel
35.00 USD

Hostel 75.7% 115 reviews
Hollywood Palms Inn & Suites
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
38.64 USD

Hostel 83.0% 345 reviews
Saharan Motor Hotel
62.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 49 reviews
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.2% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.1%

Overall Rating

528 out of 562 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'USA Hostels Hollywood'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 406 of 441 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chilled vibe, very nice atmosphere and grrat location!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marilia Ravanello

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014 Marilia would recommend this property

Liked: - very clean! - very good location - helpful staff

Disliked: Marilia left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how clean the rooms were

Disliked: The shower took a while to drain in room 115

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was an awesome place to stay, met a lot of great people here! They clean the rooms every day, which is nice, and no one is let into the hostel without a key car which made me feel safe. They arrange things for you to do every day, and there's all you can eat dinner every evening.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very open atmosphere, even easier to get to know other people than in other hostels.

Disliked: Checkout policy of 10am.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Secure and staff are helpful

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

daniel ley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2014 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, and efficient. Good rooms, free breakfast that was good for a hostel, lounge areas inside and outside. Staff were helpful. Good activities available.

Disliked: Always noisy. Non stop music, house keeping is active all day. Dorms are never quiet except in the dead of night. I know that's part of the youth/party atmosphere but gets tiring after awhile. Internet is slow, but I can't compare it to LA bandwidth so that maybe normal here. Alot of group activities fill very fast because there's many people here, have to sign up quickly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in.

Disliked: Hollywood itself is not the most interesting area of L.A. However, the Hostel is great and has lots to offer including shuttles to interesting areas, etc. Not as active socially - e.g. people going out, etc. as I had expected, though this was fine as I was catching up on sleep!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Westell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Great security and locker storage, extremely happy and friendly staff at check-in. Awesome facilities, good lighting for girls putting on makeup, soap, towels and linen provided. Excellent stay. Best I've ever been in also because of the perfect location :) A+

Disliked: Being forced to have a top bed bunk

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Hyland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about it! The staff are fantastic, it is extremely secure, the location is fabulous, the patio and lounge are great places to meet other travellers, and the Metro is not far away, so getting around LA is made a lot easier.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helfullness of the guys working there

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Edward McClelland

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen; Good Bunks but thin mattresses; Good Lockers w/Power; Good location in Hollywood.

Disliked: Nothing major but I had to put my own sheets on the bed......a first!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Celine Chen

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2014 Celine would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, lots of activities to do in the hostel: comedy night, barbecue, free tours and shuttles to the beach. Breakfast included.

Disliked: Not far from the main attractions in LA (as much as it can possibly be in this city since los angeles is so spread out...) located just between 2 metro stations and many buses stopping around. Though the area is a bit strange at night... I felt a bit unsafe walking by the neighbourhood.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominick Painter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2014 Dominick would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I have stayed in during my tour of the world. The staff are extremely helpful and the facilities available are endless. Powered lockers were extremely useful as well as a very nice outside seating area. The breakfast the hostel out in was perfect with a wide range of things to eat.

Disliked: Dominick left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had all you would expect in a good hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Ward

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was in a great location, near a lot of sites and close to public transport. For most things harder to get by bus or train, the hostel offers a number of shuttles (some free, some paid, but reasonably priced) to certain locations which was fantastic. The common area outside was spacious and great in the LA weather, and travelling on my I own it had a great social atmosphere to meet other travellers.

Disliked: My only criticism is that when I checked in, I didn't get properly told about where the facilities were; I stayed on the ground floor, and was not aware until later in my stay that there was a bar upstairs with events throughout the week.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome property. Nice rooms with ensuite. I loved the pods. Lots of plugs and secure lockers with plugs in them. Big rooms. Highly recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So very clean. So very safe and well organized. Worth every penny. Free coffee/tea all day, free food sometimes, quiet but laidback. Surprisingly good breakfast! Not the average toast and jam combo. Loved it.

Disliked: So very clean meant also relatively early cleaning hours. House keeping came in and started cleaning before ten, which was sometimes a little inconvenient. I didn't wanna wake up to the sound of someone cleaning and then having to wait for the bathroom to be free. I think the cleaning session should start after check out time, which is at 10.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lloyd Shaw

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 Lloyd would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff and the outside seating area

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2013

Liked: The little pods are great. Having our own charging points in the lockers and by our bed. Good breakfast.

Disliked: The area that the hostel is in is not really safe. The rooms were so hot at night by the third night I had to ask for a fan which helped. Lots of rules. Some of the staff were not that helpful.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The little pods were good. Good breakfast, and most of the staff were pretty friendly. Despite my negative comments, it was a good hostel, just not, in my opinion, worth the amount of money they charged per night.

Disliked: The heat. When I asked for a fan I was told that it's not normally this warm and basiclly I needed to just get on with it. I understand that it's probably not always as warm as it was but I think that they should have something in place for if it does get that warm, people were getting ill in the room because of the heat. The noise. Being next to a nightclub and car park, it meant that you were kept awake the whole night by thuming bass and people screaming coming home drunk. I think in fairness I just had it worse because I was right next to the window and we couldn't shut it because of the heat. Some of the staff. Myself and a couple of other guests were watching t.v in the lounge/bar area and a member of staff came and turned the sound off the t.v and turned teh music up to a ridiculous level so you couldn't even stay and watch with the subtitles. I never experienced such blatant rudeness from a hostel staff member before. If they want to turn the bar into a dark, thumping music area then I recommend that they seperate it from the lounge as it's not fair to those who've paid the same amount as the partygoers if they don't want to endure that,

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Especially the location and every day program makes this place the optimal location to stay for a Hollywood trip.

Disliked: To many rules!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location and theres a great collective of people here. Good powerful showers - the weather is awesome. nothing to worry about :D

Disliked: could have more outside space.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and large. Every bed had its own night stand and electricity sockets and privacy. Outdoor area was a great place to sit and enjoy the sun and kitchen facilities were ample, breakfast was great. Location was also fantastic in regards to being so close to Hollywood Boulevard however it is down a side street and the area itself isn't the safest place, especially at night.

Disliked: The area its in is not very safe. Anyone can gain access to the front courtyard and often homeless people will wander in. People can't get into the dorm area however without presenting an access card upon entry.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chantelle Riseborough

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Chantelle would recommend this property

Liked: Great services, comfy beds, clean, rooms aren't too small

Disliked: After accidentally leaving a shopping bag on the Hostel Hopper Bus, the front desk girl was less than helpful in retrieving it. Whilst I understand the bus company is independent of the hostel this was a very easily fixed mishap however we never got the bag back. It was a real disappointment as it contained gifts an we flew out of the country 2 days later. Staff made us come back and check several times iver the two days and each time we did there was a different person on the desk who just said nothing is here without even checking!! Then they kept our room deposits for signing up for a limo ride, we could no longer go but weren't allowed to remove our names from the list! So although the hostel itself is nice the staff had us leaving with a very sour taste in our mouths.