We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of USA Hostels Hollywood

Hostel | 1624 Schrader Boulevard, Los Angeles, California, USA CA 90028

87.4% Overall Rating

564 out of 603 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/08/2015)

"Everything fantastic hostel, only a short walk to the boulevard - clean and comfortable beds!"

Read all USA Hostels Hollywood reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Taxes are not included in listed prices. A 14% city and hotel tax are added at check in. Check in starts at 2 pm. Check out is 10 am. We welcome guests from everywhere outside of Los Angeles county. At check in, international guests must present a valid passport. US residents must present valid government issued identification (ie: drivers license, state id card, passport). Guests may also be asked to present proof of onward travel. Anyone under 18 must be accompanied by a guardian. Guests under 16 permitted only in private rooms unless an entire dorm is rented. We discourage parents with young children from booking at this location as we are known for our late-night activities. Parents with children under 16 MUST contact the hostel prior to booking. Cancellations and/or changes must be made before 6:00 pm California time the day prior to arrival or the first night will be charged to the credit card. We do the best we can to keep you and your traveling companions together, but due to season and availability, there’s a small change of being put in separate rooms. Please note that if you book rooms for more than 10 people this will be consider as a group booking and if this is processed online it will be cancelled automatically and the deposit will not be refundable. Groups must contact the hostel directly before booking. PLEASE NOTE: Our hostel is known for its night time lounge activities and parties so this may not be the place for someone looking for a sedate atmosphere. USA Hostels has a 14 day stay limit.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

PodShare
40.00 USD

Hostel 96.0% 22 reviews
Samesun Hollywood
40.00 USD

Hostel 81.1% 406 reviews
Orange Drive Hostel
45.46 USD

Hostel 85.8% 175 reviews
Hollywood and Highland Hotel and Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 71.5% 127 reviews
Hollywood Palms Inn & Suites
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
41.88 USD

Hostel 90.2% 372 reviews
Saharan Motor Hotel
57.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 49 reviews
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.2% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

564 out of 603 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'USA Hostels Hollywood'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
84.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 442 of 482 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Com amigos / outros viajantes

Passeios turísticos & cultura

27 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere. Free breakfast and shuttle to Santa Monica beach.

Disliked: No air con.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Sozinho(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático, Trabalho / voluntariado

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great and it was super clean!

Disliked: the location wasn't great: Hollywood boulevard is sketchy at night time which wasn't really highlighted when booking. The hostel itself is super safe though but I wouldn't want to step out after 7...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Com amigos / outros viajantes

Mochilão / ano sabático
Passeios turísticos & cultura

10 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything fantastic hostel, only a short walk to the boulevard - clean and comfortable beds!

Disliked: N/A

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Com amigos / outros viajantes

City Break
Festas & baladas noturnas, Compras
Passeios turísticos & cultura

29 June 2015

Liked: The location was very good

Disliked: Even in the heat there was no air conditioning and the fan was very useless. Staff were also a bit confused at times.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Com amigos / outros viajantes

Mochilão / ano sabático

22 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and location were the highlights for me. The various activities were also good.

Disliked: I didn't feel like the bedding was very clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danovan Correa

Sozinho(a)

Passeios turísticos & cultura

17 June 2015

Liked: Fantastic stay! Great location, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable bed/room, great shower, good wifi, good food, totallyrecommend it!

Disliked: Danovan left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonathan Collier

Sozinho(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático

14 June 2015 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Secure and great location

Disliked: The room I was in looked out onto 5th avenue which was very noisy, 10am checkout which is too early.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Paul Moustrides

Sozinho(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático
Passeios turísticos & cultura

11 June 2015 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Love the free breakfast. I love the free wifi. The rooms are clean. They are en suite which is great. Love the different activities they put on for you. I love the fact that every bed has a couple of power outlets & a light next to it. I like the idea of the shield (for want of a better description!) next to each bed, keeps it dark if someone turns on the light.

Disliked: The lack of air con in the rooms, they can get quite stuffy with 6 people in them.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dylan Price

Com cônjuge / companheiro(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático
Passeios turísticos & cultura

12 May 2015 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: Both location and facilties for the hostel are great. Minutes to both subway and b uses and right in the heart of Hollywood. Staff were great and there are good events on for you to do including walks to the Hollywood sign, pub crawls and all you can eat taco and burger evenings. The dorms are a good size and have their own bathroom which is shared between 8. I certainly never had to wait for a shower. Security is good and although sometimes an inconvenience better to have it than not.

Disliked: Dylan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HYEJIN YOON

Sozinho(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático
Passeios turísticos & cultura

17 April 2015 HYEJIN would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Universal studio and Griffith Observatory. Best atmosphere Best staff What a wonderful hostel Exactly I wanted it

Disliked: HYEJIN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Villa

Sozinho(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático

12 April 2015 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice, i like that they have activities during the week so it would be easier to be around LA, the location is so convienent and all the amenities as well.

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom sharp

Com cônjuge / companheiro(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático
Passeios turísticos & cultura, Visitar amigos ou família

06 April 2015 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Activities, group meals

Disliked: Breakfast finishes too early and check out is too early

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Sozinho(a)

City Break

02 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Sozinho(a)

City Break

15 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It nice and quite tidy.

Disliked: Just location. The hostel itself is secure, just didn't enjoy the unlit walk to it at night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Cahan

Com amigos / outros viajantes

Passeios turísticos & cultura, Visitar amigos ou família

02 March 2015 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The proximity to attractions, the atmosphere is fun, escpecially the outdoor area

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Mendoza

Sozinho(a)

City Break

02 March 2015 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Very high standards for a hostel

Disliked: Rules, but I think it's necessary to maintain the atmosphere

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Sozinho(a)

City Break
Passeios turísticos & cultura

27 February 2015

Liked: Close to the walk of fame and a nice outdoor sitting area.

Disliked: Staff were rude and unhelpful when were checked in. We were told the sheets, pillow cases and towels were being washed and would be ready soon. It wasn't until 11.30pm that we finally were able to get some. After a long day of traveling across the country we wanted to shower and sleep and it was close to midnight before we were able too. The vending machines take your money and staff can't do anything and the cleaners took a bag full of stuff and threw it in the bin. Probably the most I have ever paid for a 8 bed dorm and I expected more!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Sozinho(a)

City Break
Relaxamento/spa
Passeios turísticos & cultura
Atividades esportivas/aventura/ar livre, Visitar amigos ou família

25 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great location and friendly staff. The rooms are very well equipped.

Disliked: The breakfast food is a huge disappointment. Despite being free, the quality is very poor. Yet there is plent of space for personal food storage so that's a plus.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marc Perrot

Sozinho(a)

City Break
Passeios turísticos & cultura, Visitar amigos ou família

23 February 2015 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is great. Beds are comfortable. Wifi is good. Staff is really helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Can't think of anything. Good spot

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Sozinho(a)

City Break
Passeios turísticos & cultura, Trabalho / voluntariado

19 February 2015

Liked: The breakfast in the morning

Disliked: 1) The staff are super rude, barely answering questions. When asking for a lock the response I got was 4 dollars, the assistant barely made eye contact. 2) It may be a quick walk to the main street, but that quick walk is super intimidating and dangerous. During my stay my roommate walked passed a deceased body and a shooting happened the previous week - just on that 2/3 minute walk. 3) I arrived at 5:30 and had to wait an hour for clean sheets. 4) If I was to return....I would be staying out in Santa Monica where the food is better, it seems to be a lot cooler and safer. 5) If you are travelling by yourself then do not book this hostel - It was the most intimidating street I have ever stayed on. I also came across a lot of other lodgers who shared the same experience. Hope this review was helpful, Safe travels.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meisha Woolford

Sozinho(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático

11 February 2015 Meisha would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were extremely clean and had all required facilities available. Free wifi was also included which was another factor which made my stay good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing, it was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jo lettin

Sozinho(a)

Mochilão / ano sabático

28 January 2015 Jo would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful. Friendly. Louie particularly made an effort to get to know the guests The place was always kept clean Breakfast was always good Plenty of charging points for electronics. Reception was manned 24 hours Bbq's were also very good Tours were also very good It had a great patio for socialising. Good location to get around to see the many attractions la has to offer,

Disliked: The stand up entertainment was terrible. The jokes were just not funny. The first time I went, I stayed the entire slit. This was because there was now only 4 people left, and I would have been to obvious to walk out. The 2nd and last time, I stayed for 5 mi suites. The jokes one guy was making were really in appropete. The only one in the audience who laughed was a staff member from the hotel. Even the, I don't think it was genuine. This time I did not hesitate to leave. Some people followed after me as well. FYi: the host was ok, it was the other acts that were rubbish. Policeing smoking in the non smoking side of the patio would have been nice, becoz most nights the smokers crept on to the non smoking side, which annoyed me allot. Maybe have bigger signs.... Or maybe someone just needs to check every now and then.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Chambers

Com amigos / outros viajantes

Mochilão / ano sabático

25 January 2015 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, free shuttle to Santa Monica, plus other things we didn't take up like a Hollywood sign tour and Beverly Hills tour.

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maher Chowdhury

Sozinho(a)

City Break
Festas & baladas noturnas
Passeio romântico
Passeios turísticos & cultura, Visitar amigos ou família

24 January 2015 Maher would recommend this property

Liked: Location, the wonderful company of fellow travelers who stay there and the patio where everyone hangs.

Disliked: The outside guest policy. They should go a little easy on outside guests coming in with hostel guests.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Sozinho(a)

Passeios turísticos & cultura

20 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of activities!

Disliked: Quite noisy