HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of USA Hostels Hollywood

Hostel | 1624 Schrader Boulevard, Los Angeles, California, USA CA 90028

90.4% Overall Rating

539 out of 574 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/09/2014)

"The location was excellent - just off hollywood boulevard. The place felt safe, and the facilites were great - we had a bathroom in our dorm, and the privacy screens are great too."

Read all USA Hostels Hollywood reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Taxes are not included in listed prices. A 14% city and hotel tax are added at check in. Check in starts at 2 pm. Check out is 10 am. We welcome guests from everywhere outside of Los Angeles county. At check in, international guests must present a valid passport. US residents must present valid government issued identification (ie: drivers license, state id card, passport). Guests may also be asked to present proof of onward travel. Anyone under 18 must be accompanied by a guardian. Guests under 16 permitted only in private rooms unless an entire dorm is rented. We discourage parents with young children from booking at this location as we are known for our late-night activities. Parents with children under 16 MUST contact the hostel prior to booking. Cancellations and/or changes must be made before 6:00 pm California time the day prior to arrival or the first night will be charged to the credit card. We do the best we can to keep you and your traveling companions together, but due to season and availability, there’s a small change of being put in separate rooms. Please note that if you book rooms for more than 10 people this will be consider as a group booking and if this is processed online it will be cancelled automatically and the deposit will not be refundable. Groups must contact the hostel directly before booking. PLEASE NOTE: Our hostel is known for its night time lounge activities and parties so this may not be the place for someone looking for a sedate atmosphere.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

PodShare
40.00 USD

Hostel 95.8% 21 reviews
Hollywood Youth Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 85.8% 385 reviews
Orange Drive Hostel
43.20 USD

Hostel 86.7% 166 reviews
Hollywood and Highland Hotel and Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 75.3% 117 reviews
Hollywood Palms Inn & Suites
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
28.41 USD

Hostel 86.1% 353 reviews
Saharan Motor Hotel
62.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 49 reviews
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.2% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

539 out of 574 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'USA Hostels Hollywood'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 417 of 453 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location and general overall cleanliness and neatness.

Disliked: ~ The staff we'rent that helpful with directions, they felt as if they gave you a map that was enough. ~ They were conducting renovations whilst we were there which was unpleasant and noisy. ~ The pub crawl organised by the hostel was a joke and a waste of the 10usd we paid for it. It was so bad we took our names off all the other activies they had.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Graham Levere

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2010 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: generally pretty good.

Disliked: Graham left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly!

Disliked: Noise in the room, very loud!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

TRISTAN BRUNETTI

16 June 2010 TRISTAN would recommend this property

Liked: I'd come and stay just so I can look at one of the managers, Kat. She's a babe. Every one's really nice and helpful too

Disliked: TRISTAN left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Wade

10 June 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay and meet people. The whole place was in a state of renovation so very soon it will be even better. Met a lot of great people.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

09 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bartender was cool and great location but not much else

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

03 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very goog location, atmosphere and staff.Poor wifi

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel and as good a location as possible due to myself finding LA itself to be quite scary! I'd definately recommened and would stay here again if i needed to return.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hollywood is not the nicest area and public transport is restricted but hostel has alot to offer for the area. It is great that they offer so much to see and do with tours. A great place to meet other travellers but if your not up for partying it is probably not your thing. Of all the hostels I have stayed I would recommend it to others if they are wanting to head to the hollywood area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, safe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robert Gregory

18 May 2010 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NATALIA GOMEZ GONZALEZ

16 May 2010 NATALIA would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is great, there is a very good atmosphere and people is very kindly.

Disliked: NATALIA left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really organized and provided lots of tours etc. Free breakfast was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 April 2010

Liked: location probably.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing facilities.... all day free coffee and tea and free pancakes for breakfast ! cheap beer at the bar too

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Austin

21 April 2010 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: This place is excellent! I didn't really like Hollywood that much but the hostel is probably the best I've stayed in for a long time. The beds are super comfy and the lockers are secure. The whole hostel is spotless and even though there is a lot of nightlife at the hostel there isn't really that much noise. The activities are good and cheap but be quick to sign up! The only teeny tiny criticism I can make is that the kitchen is a little small, but, is very well equipped. I don't plan to come back to LA but if I did I'd definitely stay here! Cheers guys.

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lesley thomson

17 April 2010 lesley would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: lesley left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Killisperger

15 April 2010 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: very good, can recommend the hostel, only disadvantage is that it is a bit loud at night

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a great little hostel with superb staff who are always willing to help with anything and excellent facilities. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Markus Muellner

07 April 2010 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: the daily offers

Disliked: Markus left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a fantastic experience at this hostel. It was the first hostel in the states where I was given a guided tour and introduced to almost everyone on arrival. The atmosphere was really its strong point, I made some really good friends amongst the staff and other travelers. They had plenty of activities planned for the days and every night of the week there was something new going on in their bar. Live Comedy, Open Mic, Black and White Parties etc. It was too much fun. I ended up staying a couple of nights longer than I should have.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good place to stay. Lots of activities on offer. Excelent location just off Hollywood Blvd.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: they had at least one event a day such as going clubs and downtown LA tour which deserve to pay for. these events are also good opportunities to meet new friends out of our rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Eve Paraskevi Livaditis

19 March 2010 Eve Paraskevi would recommend this property

Liked: the pancakes

Disliked: Eve Paraskevi left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast providedsuggest providing milk as well: guests like me just stay over for 2 days, it's no way to buy milk for breakfasts

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.