We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of USA Hostels Hollywood

Hostel | 1624 Schrader Boulevard, Los Angeles, California, USA CA 90028

90.5% Overall Rating

540 out of 575 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/09/2014)

"The location was excellent - just off hollywood boulevard. The place felt safe, and the facilites were great - we had a bathroom in our dorm, and the privacy screens are great too."

Read all USA Hostels Hollywood reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Taxes are not included in listed prices. A 14% city and hotel tax are added at check in. Check in starts at 2 pm. Check out is 10 am. We welcome guests from everywhere outside of Los Angeles county. At check in, international guests must present a valid passport. US residents must present valid government issued identification (ie: drivers license, state id card, passport). Guests may also be asked to present proof of onward travel. Anyone under 18 must be accompanied by a guardian. Guests under 16 permitted only in private rooms unless an entire dorm is rented. We discourage parents with young children from booking at this location as we are known for our late-night activities. Parents with children under 16 MUST contact the hostel prior to booking. Cancellations and/or changes must be made before 6:00 pm California time the day prior to arrival or the first night will be charged to the credit card. We do the best we can to keep you and your traveling companions together, but due to season and availability, there’s a small change of being put in separate rooms. Please note that if you book rooms for more than 10 people this will be consider as a group booking and if this is processed online it will be cancelled automatically and the deposit will not be refundable. Groups must contact the hostel directly before booking. PLEASE NOTE: Our hostel is known for its night time lounge activities and parties so this may not be the place for someone looking for a sedate atmosphere.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

PodShare
40.00 USD

Hostel 95.8% 21 reviews
Hollywood Youth Hostel
26.00 USD

Hostel 85.4% 386 reviews
Orange Drive Hostel
43.20 USD

Hostel 86.7% 166 reviews
Hollywood and Highland Hotel and Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 75.3% 117 reviews
Hollywood Palms Inn & Suites
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
28.41 USD

Hostel 86.1% 353 reviews
Saharan Motor Hotel
62.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 49 reviews
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.2% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

540 out of 575 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'USA Hostels Hollywood'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 417 of 454 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has an excellent location. It is in between Hollywood and Sunset Blvd. It is very clean and all the facilities are in order. It's very safe. You can leave your luggage at the hostel all day during check-out and you can still use all the facilities.

Disliked: This hostel had a really weird vibe. The staff are helpful but they seem to be a little fake with the way they carry themselves. It is a very secure place but having to show your room key every time you enter the hostel is a little much (I thought others were whinging when I read other reviews but it's a bit weird when you're actually doing it). They had a really weird policy of not allowing sleeping bags in the room. Make sure you have a large lock for the in-room lockers. If you have a small lock, you can't it in the locker and you have to go and buy a large one from reception.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bunk beds are cool, with pirate light and power supply, very nice feature. Lounge room upstairs is great

Disliked: pib crawl is the worst, what are you even paying for? "free" shuttle to Santa Monica only if u sign up in time which is hard!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nicole Evans

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location just off Hollywood Blvd. Loads of hostel organised activities. Fairly clean. Good security (have to show your key to get past reception).

Disliked: NOT ENOUGH BATHROOMS!!! All of the dorms have an ensuite and there is only one additional bathroom that I am aware of in the whole hostel which was in the lounge area upstairs. Try sharing an 8 bed female dorm and waiting hours for the bathroom/shower each morning. It was a nightmare. This place NEEDS more bathrooms. If you stay here try a 6 bed mixed dorm (Boys probably won't take as long in the bathroom) or get a private room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are friendly and helpful - great location - awesome facilities...

Disliked: Nil

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

cor kooyman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 January 2011 cor would recommend this property

Liked: sweet, just don't go there in January as the place is completely deserted

Disliked: see above. even the Mohave desert is more crowded :p

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Location is really good, right between Hollywood Blvd and Sunset Blvd. so everything is really close to the Hostel. Another good thing is, that there are alot of funny people in there. but be aware of this Hostel if you´re trying to have quiet nights. It´s a Party Hostel and there is something going on in there every night.

Disliked: nithing to dislike for me

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and affordable

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tait Harvey

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

06 January 2011 Tait would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best times had in USA was at this hostel. Loved every minute of it!

Disliked: had no problems at all....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful. Love the atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2010

Liked: It's extremely near to Hollywood Blvd

Disliked: The room that i stayed in was a joke (8 Bed Mixed)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lilian van Ooyen

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2010 Lilian would recommend this property

Liked: The people, the facilities and the extra's, like cleaners every day, the washingmachines, the free wifi, the big kitchen, the bar at the hostel, the lights at every bed and ability to charge your photocamera etc at every bed.

Disliked: The hostel never went to bed. For ones who make fun that isnt a problem, but the first nights a was too tired to go out, it was very noisy. For me it was not a problem but I can imagine it may be for others.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brett Morgan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2010 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great right in the heart of Hollywood. They run a free shuttle bus to Venice Beach which is great. Having 1 bathrrom to each dorm room is great. The lockers were great having power plugs in them for seure charging. Staff was friendly, breakie was ok.

Disliked: The club near by was very loud and this is also quite a party hostel so noise from within the hostel is quite loud too.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone is so friendly here. Staff and other guests. There is always something going on in regards to tours and pub crawls and it is just a wonderful atmosphere overall.

Disliked: The shower in our room was clogged. However staff were really helpful when it came time to fix it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Victoria Page

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

05 December 2010 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: This was my last stop on a 2 year long trip around the world and I have to say that this is one of the best, if not the best hostel I have stayed in. The staff were helpful and friendly at all times. It was clean with the bathrooms being cleaned daily (I did not use the kitchen but it looked clean and well equipped). It was also pretty secure with only hostel guests being let past reception and lockers with powerpoints provided in the rooms. I also liked the powerpoints and lights by each by each bed. The hostel was lively (but i was never kept awake when i wanted to sleep) and a great place for a single traveller like me to meet people. They provide several activities each day, all of which are very cheap. I thoroughly reccommend the limo tour, great fun and great value for money. They also have a great lounge with massive TVs, comfy sofas and Nintendo Wii etc all for use for free. The location is also pretty good, being just a stones throw from Hollywood Boulevard and a short walk from the Chinese and Kodak theatres. This is a good place to hop on a tour bus or to get to Universal Studios and the Hollywood sign however, some of the other good spots, like Santa Moinica, Venice Beach and Rodeo Drive are a bit of a mission to get to on public transport (it takes over an hour to the first two, and although its not difficult or expensive, its still frustrating). However, the hostel do run free shuttles to the beach twice weekly (I think) but they filled up pretty fast, so sign up early!All in all, i thoroughly recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A clean hostel with very friendly and helpful staff.. Good selection of tours and events. Canyons behind the hostel are good for running and walking. Close to Universal.

Disliked: Hollywood is a dodgy at night, and can be dangerous, although appears safe during the day. Hostel itself is quite secure behind razor wire.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lauren Rose

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2010 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, good location, lots of activities on offer at good rates, most of the staff were very friendly and helpful and pancakes for breakfast!

Disliked: on the pricey end of LA hostels but was worth paying a little more for all the extras like WIFI, activities, breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Friendly people, helpful staff and nice rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2010

Liked: just average one, not special, and overated.

Disliked: It's a well-organized hostel chain, but some staffs quite process-oriented and not so warming; and the facilities are not so user-friendly. Comparing with others I stayed in US, it must not rank in the top 3 actually. In addition, a relatively long way from subway to it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darleine Sturges

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

28 September 2010 Darleine would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location and the free PANCAKES for breakfast. Also the activities that they have every day that you can sign up for!!!

Disliked: Darleine left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

21 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free internet and breakfast, staff were heaps friendly, clean for the most part, good location, lots of events to meet people, and outlets EVERYWHERE!

Disliked: locks were kinda sucky to make you buy a new one.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

12 September 2010

Liked: nice place to meet people

Disliked: some tours are not totally honest

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great living area, lots of hostel run activities, really fun atmosphere

Disliked: very noisy at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, staff very helpful. Lots of activities to do and a small bar/lounge upstairs

Disliked: Breakfast was only pancake mix or muesli

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rachel Bowerman

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2010 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Really only the location that sets it apart, and though I did not go on any of their tours they seemed good value for money and fun... I pre arranged alot of my itinary and perhaps should have not been so organised!

Disliked: I disliked that there was not much room in the dorms, and that the cleaning staff will take anything you leave in the bathroom. they also came round very early which was unneccessary as check out time is at 10am. Also the all you can eat pancakes are actually all you can MAKE, and thats not many when there are 50 other residents vying for four pans in a sweaty kitchen... you wash your own dishes and there is no milk for coffee/tea you can use the creamer or buy your own items. plenty of stores nearby. Also should mention there are a lot of home less people about the area, the carpark next door seems to be the local hangout and you can often hear them coughing and weezing... some will ask for money and others will talk random nonsense in your direction!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Samuel Oxley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2010 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people here. Atmosphere is great and such a good location Limo tour was very fun and even though I'm only 19 I was still allowed to go and get trashed on the free champagne in the limo, and I could still go in the clubs just couldn't drink. The hostel offers many activities/tours which you can do if you so wish. I would reccommend this hostel to anyone staying in Hollywood.

Disliked: A bit more expensive than other hostels. However, for what you get, I would say it's still good value.