HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of USA Hostels Hollywood Los Angeles Hostel

1624 Schrader Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, USA

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 88%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Foosball
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Important Information

Taxes are not included in listed prices. A 14% city and hotel tax are added at check in. Check in starts at 2 pm. Check out is 10 am.

We welcome guests from everywhere outside of Los Angeles county. At check in, international guests must present a valid passport. US residents must present valid government issued identification (ie: drivers license, state id card, passport). Guests may also be asked to present proof of onward travel. Anyone under 18 must be accompanied by a guardian. Guests under 18 permitted only in private rooms unless an entire dorm is rented.

We discourage parents with young children from booking at this location as we are known for our late-night activities. Parents with children under 18 MUST contact the hostel prior to booking.

Cancellations and/or changes must be made before 6:00 pm California time the day prior to arrival or the first night will be charged to the credit card. We do the best we can to keep you and your traveling companions together, but due to season and availability, there’s a small change of being put in separate rooms.

Please note that if you book rooms for more than 10 people this will be consider as a group booking and if this is processed online it will be cancelled automatically and the deposit will not be refundable. Groups must contact the hostel directly before booking.

PLEASE NOTE: Our hostel is known for its night time lounge activities and parties so this may not be the place for someone looking for a sedate atmosphere.

USA Hostels has a 14 day stay limit.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 88%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 82%

Showing 61-57 of 57 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: So very clean. So very safe and well organized. Worth every penny. Free coffee/tea all day, free food sometimes, quiet but laidback. Surprisingly good breakfast! Not the average toast and jam combo. Loved it.

Disliked: So very clean meant also relatively early cleaning hours. House keeping came in and started cleaning before ten, which was sometimes a little inconvenient. I didn't wanna wake up to the sound of someone cleaning and then having to wait for the bathroom to be free. I think the cleaning session should start after check out time, which is at 10.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, friendly staff and the outside seating area

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The little pods were good. Good breakfast, and most of the staff were pretty friendly. Despite my negative comments, it was a good hostel, just not, in my opinion, worth the amount of money they charged per night.

Disliked: The heat. When I asked for a fan I was told that it's not normally this warm and basiclly I needed to just get on with it. I understand that it's probably not always as warm as it was but I think that they should have something in place for if it does get that warm, people were getting ill in the room because of the heat. The noise. Being next to a nightclub and car park, it meant that you were kept awake the whole night by thuming bass and people screaming coming home drunk. I think in fairness I just had it worse because I was right next to the window and we couldn't shut it because of the heat. Some of the staff. Myself and a couple of other guests were watching t.v in the lounge/bar area and a member of staff came and turned the sound off the t.v and turned teh music up to a ridiculous level so you couldn't even stay and watch with the subtitles. I never experienced such blatant rudeness from a hostel staff member before. If they want to turn the bar into a dark, thumping music area then I recommend that they seperate it from the lounge as it's not fair to those who've paid the same amount as the partygoers if they don't want to endure that,

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The little pods are great. Having our own charging points in the lockers and by our bed. Good breakfast.

Disliked: The area that the hostel is in is not really safe. The rooms were so hot at night by the third night I had to ask for a fan which helped. Lots of rules. Some of the staff were not that helpful.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Especially the location and every day program makes this place the optimal location to stay for a Hollywood trip.

Disliked: To many rules!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really great location and theres a great collective of people here. Good powerful showers - the weather is awesome. nothing to worry about :D

Disliked: could have more outside space.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Price is great for this area, good location, normal "continental breakfast".

Disliked: I was given directions to a parking lot across the way and it was $20 for 24 hours. When I got there they told me a different place on cherokee for $12....park on cherokee! Felt MUCH safer leaving my car there. Rooms were really hot although the halls were freezing. I do not recommend the hollywood hills tour unless you are fit. We were told it was round trip with bus, but its just the city bus for a few stops then straight uphill. I felt bad for the girls in heels. Our guide (from the hostel) did not wait for anyone...some of the girls got sick and even heard some of the guys upset about the pace.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great services, comfy beds, clean, rooms aren't too small

Disliked: After accidentally leaving a shopping bag on the Hostel Hopper Bus, the front desk girl was less than helpful in retrieving it. Whilst I understand the bus company is independent of the hostel this was a very easily fixed mishap however we never got the bag back. It was a real disappointment as it contained gifts an we flew out of the country 2 days later. Staff made us come back and check several times iver the two days and each time we did there was a different person on the desk who just said nothing is here without even checking!! Then they kept our room deposits for signing up for a limo ride, we could no longer go but weren't allowed to remove our names from the list! So although the hostel itself is nice the staff had us leaving with a very sour taste in our mouths.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Free tea and coffee all day, good breakfast, with the option od a cheap all-you-can-eat dinner.

Disliked: It's expensive for what you get!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Awesome property. Nice rooms with ensuite. I loved the pods. Lots of plugs and secure lockers with plugs in them. Big rooms. Highly recommend.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability