We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of USA Hostels Hollywood

Hostel | 1624 Schrader Boulevard, Los Angeles, California, USA CA 90028

90.5% Overall Rating

540 out of 575 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/09/2014)

"The location was excellent - just off hollywood boulevard. The place felt safe, and the facilites were great - we had a bathroom in our dorm, and the privacy screens are great too."

Read all USA Hostels Hollywood reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Taxes are not included in listed prices. A 14% city and hotel tax are added at check in. Check in starts at 2 pm. Check out is 10 am. We welcome guests from everywhere outside of Los Angeles county. At check in, international guests must present a valid passport. US residents must present valid government issued identification (ie: drivers license, state id card, passport). Guests may also be asked to present proof of onward travel. Anyone under 18 must be accompanied by a guardian. Guests under 16 permitted only in private rooms unless an entire dorm is rented. We discourage parents with young children from booking at this location as we are known for our late-night activities. Parents with children under 16 MUST contact the hostel prior to booking. Cancellations and/or changes must be made before 6:00 pm California time the day prior to arrival or the first night will be charged to the credit card. We do the best we can to keep you and your traveling companions together, but due to season and availability, there’s a small change of being put in separate rooms. Please note that if you book rooms for more than 10 people this will be consider as a group booking and if this is processed online it will be cancelled automatically and the deposit will not be refundable. Groups must contact the hostel directly before booking. PLEASE NOTE: Our hostel is known for its night time lounge activities and parties so this may not be the place for someone looking for a sedate atmosphere.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

PodShare
40.00 USD

Hostel 96.0% 22 reviews
Hollywood Youth Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 85.0% 387 reviews
Orange Drive Hostel
43.20 USD

Hostel 86.7% 166 reviews
Hollywood and Highland Hotel and Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 73.4% 119 reviews
Hollywood Palms Inn & Suites
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
27.28 USD

Hostel 86.1% 353 reviews
Saharan Motor Hotel
62.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 49 reviews
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.2% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

540 out of 575 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'USA Hostels Hollywood'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 417 of 454 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Friendly staff. Good location for all Hollywood attractions.

Disliked: Problems regarding restrooms and computers were slow to be dealt with.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, between Little Italy and Chinatown. You have egs that you can cook for breakfast and also fresh fruits The staff was always friendly

Disliked: Would've been nice to have a private bathroom

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent atmosphere! I really liked the bar and lounge, which are great for meeting new people. Despite having stayed in a 6 person dorm rooms, I thought they were really spacious and comfortable.

Disliked: I disliked the Fedex shipment facility, which is located next to the hostel. Loading and unloading of trucks starts at 5/6 a.m. and makes you think there's a construction site. This may only be a nuissance if you're staying in the back dorm rooms and between 5 and 6 am.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alison Subiantoro

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2011 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a mixed 8-bed room. The room and the bathroom are clean. They have some sort of compartments for the beds, so I felt like I had more privacy during sleeping. They also supply free breakfast.

Disliked: The location is a little bit far from the train station (around 10-15 minutes walk) and the area does not feel really safe after dark. There was a little bit of issues during my check-in, but everything was eventually resolved.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Damien Day

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 Damien would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alexandra hollins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic hostel - great location, great staff, great fun!

Disliked: air con in the rooms would be amazing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant place if ur travellin alone, always meet peopl. Comfortable beds nd clean bathrooms.

Disliked: Wifi is obviously very buget because it was awful and constantly cuttin out which make scommunication hard and u end up spendin money on computer time wen u have ur own laptop or pda. Also 'free' breakfast id the worst breakfast!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Liam McFadyen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great staff and lots of activities. The lounge is a great place to meet people at night.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staffs,and food location, have lots of fun tours have been prepared for the tourists, very nice and fun place to stay.

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allan Tuazon

Alone

Business / conference

21 June 2011 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: Very near to places where tourist go.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location Big kitchen

Disliked: Club nearby was noisy at night

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, lots of activities taking place, cheap bar to drink at. Good place to met other travellers. Decent size kitchen for cooking food.

Disliked: Nothing much

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Doleski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was within reach. friendly staff, great people and always something to do.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fairly compact, really friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: The lounge got was loud late into the night, so ear plugs are recommended

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Good Location - Low Price - The outside Patio - One bathroom for each room.

Disliked: - Too many rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jan Hiermann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2011 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: It is a nice place in Hollywood. You only have to walk for 5 minutes to get to the Kodak Theatre etc. Staff is very friendly. All you can eat Pancakes for breakfast (you have to cook them by youself but it is very easy!) They keep your luggage after checkout if you want it and it is very safe.

Disliked: The wi-fi is not working very well. Sometimes it does not work, sometimes only in the kitchen. The all-you-can-eat BBQ for $6 was not well oranized. They had no more gas for the grill after 15 minutes but we got the money back. I got my linen very late but that was not too bad.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Activities every night making it easier to meet people, located right off Hollywood Boulevard and helpful staff. Free shuttle buses to the beach on certain days too. Lockers in rooms too.

Disliked: Room was really hot - could do with a better fan or AC.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff.

Disliked: There's not much to dislike, really..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The amount of activities the hostel offers and the people who took you out on these things.

Disliked: Our toilet was broken, the women staff (I hate to say it) weren't overly friendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Antunovich

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: So close to the action & heaps of activities on offer.

Disliked: Always woke up with a hangover.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mathieu Bellail

Alone

Partying / nightlife

30 March 2011 Mathieu would recommend this property

Liked: location staff people

Disliked: quite expensive

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sandra Stueber

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2011 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly, the location is great and my bed was super comfy.

Disliked: The 8 dorm was pretty small and there are not enough bathrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Maywood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: THE BEST HOSTEL EVER! I got there too early to check in and they stored my bags and i waited in lounge room with plasma, guy brought me a blanket so i could nap...rooms are super clean and really nice, beds are comfy, have little lights and powerpoint and book shelf, rooms have lockers, staff are super helpful, pancake breakfast...other travlers were really friendly...could have stayed there my whole trip...and close to hollywood BLV. Amazing place!!!

Disliked: Nothing it was super!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central location

Disliked: the stairs?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

michelle schonken-ward

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 March 2011 michelle would recommend this property

Liked: very very helpfull staff....thank you for all there help,theyre great....

Disliked: nothing