We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of USA Hostels Hollywood

Hostel | 1624 Schrader Boulevard, Los Angeles, California, USA CA 90028

90.4% Overall Rating

539 out of 574 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/09/2014)

"The location was excellent - just off hollywood boulevard. The place felt safe, and the facilites were great - we had a bathroom in our dorm, and the privacy screens are great too."

Read all USA Hostels Hollywood reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Taxes are not included in listed prices. A 14% city and hotel tax are added at check in. Check in starts at 2 pm. Check out is 10 am. We welcome guests from everywhere outside of Los Angeles county. At check in, international guests must present a valid passport. US residents must present valid government issued identification (ie: drivers license, state id card, passport). Guests may also be asked to present proof of onward travel. Anyone under 18 must be accompanied by a guardian. Guests under 16 permitted only in private rooms unless an entire dorm is rented. We discourage parents with young children from booking at this location as we are known for our late-night activities. Parents with children under 16 MUST contact the hostel prior to booking. Cancellations and/or changes must be made before 6:00 pm California time the day prior to arrival or the first night will be charged to the credit card. We do the best we can to keep you and your traveling companions together, but due to season and availability, there’s a small change of being put in separate rooms. Please note that if you book rooms for more than 10 people this will be consider as a group booking and if this is processed online it will be cancelled automatically and the deposit will not be refundable. Groups must contact the hostel directly before booking. PLEASE NOTE: Our hostel is known for its night time lounge activities and parties so this may not be the place for someone looking for a sedate atmosphere.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

PodShare
50.00 USD

Hostel 95.8% 21 reviews
Hollywood Youth Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 85.8% 385 reviews
Orange Drive Hostel
43.20 USD

Hostel 86.7% 166 reviews
Hollywood and Highland Hotel and Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 75.3% 116 reviews
Hollywood Palms Inn & Suites
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
28.41 USD

Hostel 84.9% 352 reviews
Saharan Motor Hotel
62.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 49 reviews
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.2% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

539 out of 574 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'USA Hostels Hollywood'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 417 of 453 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were immaculate and well set up for privacy despite being in a dorm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Robertson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: This place is full of travellers and backpackers willing and wanting to have a good time and be social, and the hostel really aids in creating this environment. The hostel is as clean as any I have stayed in and all the staff were really friendly and helpful. The hostel is located 200m from the walk of fame and about 1.5km from the famous part of the walk. overall I had a very good experience here.

Disliked: They only really offer pancakes for breakfast unlike some of the other USA hostels who also put on a continental breakfast too. Other than that this hostel was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hayley Moffat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 January 2012 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have stayed in! Location was perfect, rooms/bathrooms were super clean. Free Wi-fi all around hostel and free breakfast of pancakes was great! At night, the lounge/bar has $2-3 beers and it was a great way to meet people! They also organise tours from the hostel ( but I only stayed one night so didn't get to do any). I would definitely stay here again

Disliked: Hayley left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, fun, friendly

Disliked: Small kitchen. But still well equiped.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mohamed Abdelsamad

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

01 January 2012 Mohamed would recommend this property

Liked: The room design is really nice and comfort as the bathroom located inside the dorms .The bed is really comfortable and the light lit in the bed is really nice and allow you to read in the ;ate night while the others are sleeping .The electrical outlet inside the lockers is a great idea as well .The staff also is really welcoming and especially the Italian guy and the Jammie who provided me with lots of info about the city .The staff is really cool one !!

Disliked: The activities is not that good as they r expensive for example the walking tour to the Holloywood sign is for 6 $ !!Also, the breakfast is not that good and the kitchen closes at 10:30 am and I missed the breakfast coz of that .The Hostel is tiny and the Lounge is not that big .The checking out procedure which is in 10 AM is not suitable and I wonder why dont they make it at 11 as the other hostels !!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Bergthaler

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: great location, clean (even bathroom!), and of course the all you can eat spaghetti night

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Bryant

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is super super clean and the staff are so friendly and helpful even if you have a million and one questions. There is always something to do and the lounge upstairs offers great drink specials and a good place to meet other travellers. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: one of the best hostels i've stayed in. good atmosphere, good people and a bar up stairs in the lounge which you can relax in. The tours are worth doing as well, you can see the hollywood sign, Beverley Hills etc with the hostel.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Courtney Thompson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location, environment, and staff! Excellent stay!

Disliked: n/a

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Pancakes

Disliked: 11am Checkin

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is good.

Disliked: Some towels is not clear.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tom mason

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: $30 bit expensive for me

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I travelled around America for 2.5 months and this is one of the best hostels I've stayed at. It's right off Hollywood Boulevard so the location is fantastic. Being a female travelling by myself I felt pretty safe walking to/from the hostel at night. Even though there is a parking lot right next to the hostel where you do see some homeless/shady people, there's a security guard in the other parking lot across the road so I just walked on that side of the road at night. There are two metro stops and a bus stop stop within a 5 minutes walking distance so it's really easy to get around. The hostel actually provides you with a list of all the main attractions around L.A and exact directions how to get there by public transport which really came in handy!! Most other hostels don't do that. It's also really clean, and also a really good place to meet people. I spent 3 days both at the begining and at the end of my trip, and both times I met amazing people whom i actually ended up sight seeing with.

Disliked: Like i mentioned, the parking lot next to the hostel is a bit dodgey. But there's a security guard across the the road so i never really felt unsafe, even by myself late at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great security, very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hélène HUYGHE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 October 2011 Hélène would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location in Hollywwod, bathroom in the dorm and a lot of activities and a kinda nice formula for breakfast (all you can eat pancakes you do yourself).

Disliked: If the bathroom is busy, there are no other in the communal areas you can use. It is pretty noisy until 1 AM and if you open the windows in the dorm it get really noisy because there's a club and a parking lot just next door. The cleaning is not top notch to say the least.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andy newton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 andy would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, comfy beds and power points for each bed!

Disliked: Maybe it was too good, lacked a bit of atmosphere!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonas De Beukelaer

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: This is the ideal hostel as far as I know, everyone is nice, it's clean and it's tidy. They also have events every day of the week, whether it's all you can eat barbecues, free beach shuttle buses, comedy night (some of the comedians were hilarious) or pub crawls. the free wifi also extends well into the bedrooms, which also had great beds with covers so when the light is turned on it doesn't wake you.

Disliked: nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Michelle Stevens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2011 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and fun, lots of activities!

Disliked: Expensive for a hostel but is one of the best I've stayed in.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, nice lounge to chill out in upstairs as well as a front courtyard to sit and meet people in. They had a bbq one night and offer lots of trips/ tours for a low price.

Disliked: It could be a little loud at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff

Disliked: A litlle expensive

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing really

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alex Willis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: the staffs friendliness.

Disliked: anyone can walk into the patio and sit out the front.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Good atmosphere, staff friendly always helpfull. Clean and everything worked, very well maintained.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

evan ford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 August 2011 evan would recommend this property

Liked: one of the best hostels ive stayed in in the last 10 years of travelling and managing backpacker hostels my self.

Disliked: na

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The tour of Beverley Hills was good and the meals in the evening too! Free Breakfast was great ... but I had to be up at 5.30am, but wasnt allowed the breakfast until 6.30, althought everything was laid out ready, so went without breakfast! And then the staff came and helped themselves!! Great that they put on all the tours and activities! Great stuff! Adam was a great tour guide!

Disliked: The noise in the evening/night!! No one bothered to make sure people keep quiet after 10pm, even though signs in the room say be quiet during unsociable hours! Reception could have more information about what to do, where to go, things to see, how to get around. Asked for a Map and got this rubbish print out of Hollywood with a few things marked on it ... how about a nice colourful, informative map of Hollywood on the front desk for people to see and take. Even an LA map would be better!