HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of USA Hostels Hollywood Los Angeles Hostel

1624 Schrader Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, USA

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 94%

Safety 91%

Staff 89%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Foosball
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi
  • Wii

Important Information

Taxes are not included in listed prices. A 14% city and hotel tax are added at check in. Check in starts at 2 pm. Check out is 10 am.

We welcome guests from everywhere outside of Los Angeles county. At check in, international guests must present a valid passport. US residents must present valid government issued identification (ie: drivers license, state id card, passport). Guests may also be asked to present proof of onward travel. Anyone under 18 must be accompanied by a guardian. Guests under 16 permitted only in private rooms unless an entire dorm is rented.

We discourage parents with young children from booking at this location as we are known for our late-night activities. Parents with children under 16 MUST contact the hostel prior to booking.

Cancellations and/or changes must be made before 6:00 pm California time the day prior to arrival or the first night will be charged to the credit card. We do the best we can to keep you and your traveling companions together, but due to season and availability, there’s a small change of being put in separate rooms.

Please note that if you book rooms for more than 10 people this will be consider as a group booking and if this is processed online it will be cancelled automatically and the deposit will not be refundable. Groups must contact the hostel directly before booking.

PLEASE NOTE: Our hostel is known for its night time lounge activities and parties so this may not be the place for someone looking for a sedate atmosphere.

USA Hostels has a 14 day stay limit.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 94%

Safety 91%

Staff 89%

Value 82%

Showing 51-60 of 74 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, and efficient. Good rooms, free breakfast that was good for a hostel, lounge areas inside and outside. Staff were helpful. Good activities available.

Disliked: Always noisy. Non stop music, house keeping is active all day. Dorms are never quiet except in the dead of night. I know that's part of the youth/party atmosphere but gets tiring after awhile. Internet is slow, but I can't compare it to LA bandwidth so that maybe normal here. Alot of group activities fill very fast because there's many people here, have to sign up quickly.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything. One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in.

Disliked: Hollywood itself is not the most interesting area of L.A. However, the Hostel is great and has lots to offer including shuttles to interesting areas, etc. Not as active socially - e.g. people going out, etc. as I had expected, though this was fine as I was catching up on sleep!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great security and locker storage, extremely happy and friendly staff at check-in. Awesome facilities, good lighting for girls putting on makeup, soap, towels and linen provided. Excellent stay. Best I've ever been in also because of the perfect location :) A+

Disliked: Being forced to have a top bed bunk

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved everything about it! The staff are fantastic, it is extremely secure, the location is fabulous, the patio and lounge are great places to meet other travellers, and the Metro is not far away, so getting around LA is made a lot easier.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much for the awesome review! We're glad you really enjoyed your stay.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Helfullness of the guys working there

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good kitchen; Good Bunks but thin mattresses; Good Lockers w/Power; Good location in Hollywood.

Disliked: Nothing major but I had to put my own sheets on the bed......a first!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

thanks for your feedback. We're not sure about the mattress experience you had because our minimum mattress thickness is 8 inches and they go to 12 inches. Perhaps we had a mattress wear out and we'll look up your room to see about replacement. As for the sheets, we want to be sure our guests know they are getting fresh sheets and we've been handing them to guests for the 20 years we've been in business, but we're happy to help out a guest who is uncomfortable with making the bed him or herself.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff, lots of activities to do in the hostel: comedy night, barbecue, free tours and shuttles to the beach. Breakfast included.

Disliked: Not far from the main attractions in LA (as much as it can possibly be in this city since los angeles is so spread out...) located just between 2 metro stations and many buses stopping around. Though the area is a bit strange at night... I felt a bit unsafe walking by the neighbourhood.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It had all you would expect in a good hostel

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Best hostel I have stayed in during my tour of the world. The staff are extremely helpful and the facilities available are endless. Powered lockers were extremely useful as well as a very nice outside seating area. The breakfast the hostel out in was perfect with a wide range of things to eat.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Wow! that's high praise. We're blushing! Happy Travels.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel was in a great location, near a lot of sites and close to public transport. For most things harder to get by bus or train, the hostel offers a number of shuttles (some free, some paid, but reasonably priced) to certain locations which was fantastic. The common area outside was spacious and great in the LA weather, and travelling on my I own it had a great social atmosphere to meet other travellers.

Disliked: My only criticism is that when I checked in, I didn't get properly told about where the facilities were; I stayed on the ground floor, and was not aware until later in my stay that there was a bar upstairs with events throughout the week.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability