HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of USA Hostels Hollywood

Hostel | 1624 Schrader Boulevard, Los Angeles, California, USA CA 90028

91.4% Overall Rating

535 out of 569 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2014)

Mario Paetow thinks…

"Atmosphere nice and friendly, very clean, also evening events e.g. cocking and trips"

Read all USA Hostels Hollywood reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Taxes are not included in listed prices. A 14% city and hotel tax are added at check in. Check in starts at 2 pm. Check out is 10 am. We welcome guests from everywhere outside of Los Angeles county. At check in, international guests must present a valid passport. US residents must present valid government issued identification (ie: drivers license, state id card, passport). Guests may also be asked to present proof of onward travel. Anyone under 18 must be accompanied by a guardian. Guests under 16 permitted only in private rooms unless an entire dorm is rented. We discourage parents with young children from booking at this location as we are known for our late-night activities. Parents with children under 16 MUST contact the hostel prior to booking. Cancellations and/or changes must be made before 6:00 pm California time the day prior to arrival or the first night will be charged to the credit card. We do the best we can to keep you and your traveling companions together, but due to season and availability, there’s a small change of being put in separate rooms. Please note that if you book rooms for more than 10 people this will be consider as a group booking and if this is processed online it will be cancelled automatically and the deposit will not be refundable. Groups must contact the hostel directly before booking. PLEASE NOTE: Our hostel is known for its night time lounge activities and parties so this may not be the place for someone looking for a sedate atmosphere.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

PodShare
50.00 USD

Hostel 95.8% 21 reviews
Hollywood Youth Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 87.5% 378 reviews
Orange Drive Hostel
43.20 USD

Hostel 86.6% 164 reviews
Hollywood and Highland Hotel and Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 75.3% 116 reviews
Hollywood Palms Inn & Suites
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
38.64 USD

Hostel 84.3% 349 reviews
Saharan Motor Hotel
62.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 49 reviews
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.2% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

535 out of 569 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'USA Hostels Hollywood'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 412 of 448 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gabriela Shimizu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are really clean and well organized. It has a good location and everybody are helpful.

Disliked: Breakfast could be better.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyday, they propose a different activity to discover L.A (more about Hollywood though). They also propose a meal every night, for 6$, so those who don't want to pay too much for supper can have it there for cheaper. The access to the hostel is very secure. We have to show our card everytime we want to get in the hostel so that way, they make sure the only people in there are those who have a room. The rooms and the kitchen were very clean. Every night, there is a little something organised at the lounge, where you can buy a drink a lot cheaper than in a bar (3$!!) and they put enough alcohol in it. ;) The 3$ totally worth it! You must do the hollywood sign tour, they really bring you in a good spot (the best any tour has brought us). But don't forget to put on some good shoes because you will walk a quit long distance in the mountain (but it's still streets...). Just make sure you're comfortable ;) I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Disliked: Even if I liked the fact that they propose a meal for every diner, the 6$ doesn't always worth it. Maybe they should charge a little less. But anyway, it was still cheaper than the restaurant (but also less tastefull...but not bad!) The location is very good, you're close to a lot of things (5 steps to the Hollywood boulevard) and buses to bring you wherever you want (Beverly Hills, Santa Monica beach (it takes around 1h20 to get there) etc...) If you really want to feel in the typical California, you must book in Santa Monica too. If I had to go back, I would book 2 nights here, and the rest of the time at Santa Monica for the Californian atmosphere. Around the hostel in Hollywood, it's a lot more touristic. But still have nothing to do specifically with the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Ireland

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place in the heart of Hollywood! Cheap dinner specials and 2 dollars beers in the bar.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christopher thom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 March 2012 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really great property located 2mins from Hollywood blvd or sunset blvd Stayed in 8 bed dorm and was very clean and comfy bunks were good size even for over 6ft people Great staff on arrival and throughout my stay , always someone close by to help out with any questions Daily activities laid on by hostel and good cheap meal deals I.e BBQ and pasta nights on every other night for $6 , also well equipped kitchen and massive fridge/freezer to bring you're own stuff Bar and common room upstairs with $3 beers til late but place never got noisy or rowdy and as for outside noise I didn't hear any apart from the odd siren in the distance Free breakfast in morning was good ( best time is before 8 as gets busy ) pancakes , toast , bagels and tea &coffee I could go on how good it was and am already planning return trip

Disliked: On couple of occasions had outsiders come into courtyard asking for money or cigarettes Apart from that nothing I disliked

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place close to the hollywood blvd and the hollywood walk of fame. Great rooms, beds, free breakfast and they have a bar in the lounge room.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Jacob Stepaschko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent. Felt also very safe and secure.

Disliked: Too expensive. Also, internet was not only not free, but quite expensive (2 USD/20 min or 5 USD/1 h) if you didnt bring your own laptop. Breakast (free I know) could have been better and more varied, and maybe they could have offered milk for the oatmeal?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rheanna Underwood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2012 Rheanna would recommend this property

Liked: great for meeting people if you're travelling alone

Disliked: a boy in my room had smelly feet

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James McGuinness

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: The place was great, nice kitchen area and lounge area upstairs, rooms were fairly spacious for a hostel. The staff were nice and helpful.

Disliked: It got really warm in the rooms which made for a slightly uncomfortable sleep and the fan didn't work which didn't help.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a great atmosphere and they organised good cheap and even free tours and pub crawls

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, a short walk to Kodak theatre, view of the Hollywood sign, shops etc, and close enough to metro stations and bus stops to get everywhere else relatively easily. Lots of helpful tips and activities organised, good kitchen facilities and breakfast.

Disliked: Rooms are small and pokey with barely any room for people's stuff. Some staff were pretty surly.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was ok, free pancakes are awesome!

Disliked: NOTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, close to hollywood blvd and main attractions e.g. universal studios, comfy beds and big lockers in the room.

Disliked: The rooms are located on one big corridor which is extremely loud and noisy at night people walking past the rooms etc (but not too late) and early in the morning.. there was a lot of construction happening right outside our dorm door. But nothing too major!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was right in the centre of Hollywood. Had a friendly atmosphere and staff were helpful. Easy to meet people.

Disliked: Hollywood is dirty & gross, But this isn't the hostels fault! If you want to stay in Hollywood, then you won't get any closer.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

glenn burling

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 glenn would recommend this property

Liked: location to hollywood.

Disliked: glenn left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pancakes in the morning is good, bar is good place to meet people.

Disliked: Sharing a bathroom with 8 people was a little annoying, but whatever

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mickey Lee

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2012 Mickey would recommend this property

Liked: Melly service is excellent and the location is good.

Disliked: The facilities is not new as expected.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was nice and central to everything in Hollywood and had plenty of public transport options to reach other parts of the city. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The enclosed bunk beds are a great idea.

Disliked: 1 member of staff could have been nicer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefan Goeppner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2012 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: Its centrally located in Hollywood with good access to subway/tube. Rooms are not too big with lockers for everyone. Breakfast and facilities are fine, too.

Disliked: It's a fun hostel with live music from 9:30 pm onwards. I think a hostel is first a place for a cheap accomodation and second a place to meet people. There are enough bars and clubs around where you can enjoy live music. However, it didn't disturb me in my room. Probably because I was tired every evening and did't stay too long.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kym Condon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2012 Kym would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Best hostel I have ever stayed in for cleanliness. Had a great room, lots of space. Big lockers. Free wifi.

Disliked: Location was a little scary for a single girl.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were immaculate and well set up for privacy despite being in a dorm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Robertson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: This place is full of travellers and backpackers willing and wanting to have a good time and be social, and the hostel really aids in creating this environment. The hostel is as clean as any I have stayed in and all the staff were really friendly and helpful. The hostel is located 200m from the walk of fame and about 1.5km from the famous part of the walk. overall I had a very good experience here.

Disliked: They only really offer pancakes for breakfast unlike some of the other USA hostels who also put on a continental breakfast too. Other than that this hostel was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hayley Moffat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 January 2012 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have stayed in! Location was perfect, rooms/bathrooms were super clean. Free Wi-fi all around hostel and free breakfast of pancakes was great! At night, the lounge/bar has $2-3 beers and it was a great way to meet people! They also organise tours from the hostel ( but I only stayed one night so didn't get to do any). I would definitely stay here again

Disliked: Hayley left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, fun, friendly

Disliked: Small kitchen. But still well equiped.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mohamed Abdelsamad

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

01 January 2012 Mohamed would recommend this property

Liked: The room design is really nice and comfort as the bathroom located inside the dorms .The bed is really comfortable and the light lit in the bed is really nice and allow you to read in the ;ate night while the others are sleeping .The electrical outlet inside the lockers is a great idea as well .The staff also is really welcoming and especially the Italian guy and the Jammie who provided me with lots of info about the city .The staff is really cool one !!

Disliked: The activities is not that good as they r expensive for example the walking tour to the Holloywood sign is for 6 $ !!Also, the breakfast is not that good and the kitchen closes at 10:30 am and I missed the breakfast coz of that .The Hostel is tiny and the Lounge is not that big .The checking out procedure which is in 10 AM is not suitable and I wonder why dont they make it at 11 as the other hostels !!