HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of USA Hostels Hollywood Los Angeles Hostel

1624 Schrader Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, USA

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 88%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Foosball
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi
  • Wii

Important Information

Taxes are not included in listed prices. A 14% city and hotel tax are added at check in. Check in starts at 2 pm. Check out is 10 am.

We welcome guests from everywhere outside of Los Angeles county. At check in, international guests must present a valid passport. US residents must present valid government issued identification (ie: drivers license, state id card, passport). Guests may also be asked to present proof of onward travel. Anyone under 18 must be accompanied by a guardian. Guests under 16 permitted only in private rooms unless an entire dorm is rented.

We discourage parents with young children from booking at this location as we are known for our late-night activities. Parents with children under 16 MUST contact the hostel prior to booking.

Cancellations and/or changes must be made before 6:00 pm California time the day prior to arrival or the first night will be charged to the credit card. We do the best we can to keep you and your traveling companions together, but due to season and availability, there’s a small change of being put in separate rooms.

Please note that if you book rooms for more than 10 people this will be consider as a group booking and if this is processed online it will be cancelled automatically and the deposit will not be refundable. Groups must contact the hostel directly before booking.

PLEASE NOTE: Our hostel is known for its night time lounge activities and parties so this may not be the place for someone looking for a sedate atmosphere.

USA Hostels has a 14 day stay limit.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 88%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 82%

Showing 21-30 of 66 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very high standards for a hostel

Disliked: Rules, but I think it's necessary to maintain the atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The proximity to attractions, the atmosphere is fun, escpecially the outdoor area

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to the walk of fame and a nice outdoor sitting area.

Disliked: Staff were rude and unhelpful when were checked in. We were told the sheets, pillow cases and towels were being washed and would be ready soon. It wasn't until 11.30pm that we finally were able to get some. After a long day of traveling across the country we wanted to shower and sleep and it was close to midnight before we were able too. The vending machines take your money and staff can't do anything and the cleaners took a bag full of stuff and threw it in the bin. Probably the most I have ever paid for a 8 bed dorm and I expected more!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very clean, great location and friendly staff. The rooms are very well equipped.

Disliked: The breakfast food is a huge disappointment. Despite being free, the quality is very poor. Yet there is plent of space for personal food storage so that's a plus.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Breakfast is great. Beds are comfortable. Wifi is good. Staff is really helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Can't think of anything. Good spot

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The breakfast in the morning

Disliked: 1) The staff are super rude, barely answering questions. When asking for a lock the response I got was 4 dollars, the assistant barely made eye contact. 2) It may be a quick walk to the main street, but that quick walk is super intimidating and dangerous. During my stay my roommate walked passed a deceased body and a shooting happened the previous week - just on that 2/3 minute walk. 3) I arrived at 5:30 and had to wait an hour for clean sheets.4) If I was to return....I would be staying out in Santa Monica where the food is better, it seems to be a lot cooler and safer. 5) If you are travelling by yourself then do not book this hostel - It was the most intimidating street I have ever stayed on. I also came across a lot of other lodgers who shared the same experience. Hope this review was helpful, Safe travels.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is an excellent hostel in almost every way.

Disliked: The mattress on my bunk sagged a lot in the middle. As a result, I had a sore back in the mornings.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The rooms were extremely clean and had all required facilities available. Free wifi was also included which was another factor which made my stay good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing, it was great!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free breakfast, free shuttle to Santa Monica, plus other things we didn't take up like a Hollywood sign tour and Beverly Hills tour.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lots of activities!

Disliked: Quite noisy

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability