HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of USA Hostels Hollywood

Hostel | 1624 Schrader Boulevard, Los Angeles, California, USA CA 90028

94.1% Overall Rating

528 out of 562 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/06/2014)

"This was an awesome place to stay, met a lot of great people here! They clean the rooms every day, which is nice, and no one is let into the hostel without a key car which made me feel safe. They arrange things for you…"

Read all USA Hostels Hollywood reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Taxes are not included in listed prices. A 14% city and hotel tax are added at check in. Check in starts at 2 pm. Check out is 10 am. We welcome guests from everywhere outside of Los Angeles county. At check in, international guests must present a valid passport. US residents must present valid government issued identification (ie: drivers license, state id card, passport). Guests may also be asked to present proof of onward travel. Anyone under 18 must be accompanied by a guardian. Guests under 16 permitted only in private rooms unless an entire dorm is rented. We discourage parents with young children from booking at this location as we are known for our late-night activities. Parents with children under 16 MUST contact the hostel prior to booking. Cancellations and/or changes must be made before 6:00 pm California time the day prior to arrival or the first night will be charged to the credit card. We do the best we can to keep you and your traveling companions together, but due to season and availability, there’s a small change of being put in separate rooms. Please note that if you book rooms for more than 10 people this will be consider as a group booking and if this is processed online it will be cancelled automatically and the deposit will not be refundable. Groups must contact the hostel directly before booking. PLEASE NOTE: Our hostel is known for its night time lounge activities and parties so this may not be the place for someone looking for a sedate atmosphere.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

PodShare
50.00 USD

Hostel 95.8% 21 reviews
Hollywood Youth Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 84.6% 373 reviews
Orange Drive Hostel
40.94 USD

Hostel 86.9% 163 reviews
Hollywood and Highland Hotel and Hostel
35.00 USD

Hostel 75.7% 115 reviews
Hollywood Palms Inn & Suites
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
38.64 USD

Hostel 82.4% 346 reviews
Saharan Motor Hotel
62.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 49 reviews
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.2% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.1%

Overall Rating

528 out of 562 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'USA Hostels Hollywood'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 407 of 442 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chantelle Riseborough

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Chantelle would recommend this property

Liked: Great services, comfy beds, clean, rooms aren't too small

Disliked: After accidentally leaving a shopping bag on the Hostel Hopper Bus, the front desk girl was less than helpful in retrieving it. Whilst I understand the bus company is independent of the hostel this was a very easily fixed mishap however we never got the bag back. It was a real disappointment as it contained gifts an we flew out of the country 2 days later. Staff made us come back and check several times iver the two days and each time we did there was a different person on the desk who just said nothing is here without even checking!! Then they kept our room deposits for signing up for a limo ride, we could no longer go but weren't allowed to remove our names from the list! So although the hostel itself is nice the staff had us leaving with a very sour taste in our mouths.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price is great for this area, good location, normal "continental breakfast".

Disliked: I was given directions to a parking lot across the way and it was $20 for 24 hours. When I got there they told me a different place on cherokee for $12....park on cherokee! Felt MUCH safer leaving my car there. Rooms were really hot although the halls were freezing. I do not recommend the hollywood hills tour unless you are fit. We were told it was round trip with bus, but its just the city bus for a few stops then straight uphill. I felt bad for the girls in heels. Our guide (from the hostel) did not wait for anyone...some of the girls got sick and even heard some of the guys upset about the pace.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

steven hofland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013 steven would recommend this property

Liked: its a great hostel. looks amazing, perfect location, clean and helpfull staff

Disliked: its a bit expensive.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free tea and coffee all day, good breakfast, with the option od a cheap all-you-can-eat dinner.

Disliked: It's expensive for what you get!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good and plenty of activities on offer

Disliked: Getting there instructions from LAX should state catch a flyaway direct to the hostel rather than going to union station via flyawsy and then a train.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, many events and guided tours. The hostel hopper was also a great way to get around.

Disliked: When we got our room they hadn't cleaned it yet and it looked like a mess after the previous inhabitants.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luisa Grasshoff

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Luisa would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff member, events... Everything was just awesome!

Disliked: Only one bathroom per 8-persons-room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was perfect for my needs. It was very close to the metro, which meant i was easily able to get to the LA Convention Center. It is close to some of the most popular areas of LA (Hollywood boulevard, Runyon Canyon, Griffith Observatory) and the staff are always ready to help. There's always an event every day, which is a great way to meet new people.

Disliked: NA

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sam Roberton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel, with excellent common areas. Great location for Hollywood (although not necessarily for much of the rest of LA).

Disliked: Expensive! But probably still the best option. I'd stay here again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -Great atmosphere- easyt to find other like-minded people -Lots of free social activities and events -Incredible location, walking distance to everything hollywood has to offer -Friendly staff at the front desk- nothing was too much trouble

Disliked: -A few unsavoury characters on the same street in parking lots closeby- however, I never felt threatened.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Phelan

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming (help you with luggage and see you to your room). Hostel was safe and secure (had to present room key when entering building). Large lockers in dorms which had power sources inside, so you can charge you mobile phone or laptop in locker without fear of theft! Private bathrooms. Large comfortable lounge (which is great for socialising with other travellers), with a bar that sells cheap drinks (only $3 for a beer!) The hostel also organises group activities every day and night for reasonable prices (trips to Six Flags Magic Mountain, Venice Beach, Hollywood walk tours, pub crawls etc.) There is free breakfast every morning, and dinner every night for only $6.

Disliked: Nothing really. This is a great hostel!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jingrong Zhang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 Jingrong would recommend this property

Liked: Very helping staff. Secure place that people has to show key card for entering as well as reasonable tour provided.

Disliked: No table in the room that you can not find a place to put your cup or mug even.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel!!! This hostel has a great atmosphere. The patio area is a great space to socialise and meet people. Kitchen facilities are also good, though didn't utilise them much. Bar upstairs is great also, with added beer long table. Staff are fantastic too!

Disliked: The location of our room. It backed onto the carpark next door, where a lot of ppl hang out to smoke grass. Also there is a gay club next door which is pretty loud too. Other downfall is the homeless ppl walking into the patio area

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

TONG LI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 TONG would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very helpful and friendly. It's very clean.

Disliked: It's too crowded. The room is good, but it's not so convenient to share room with 8 people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Lechner

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel offers everything that a hostel can offer, best hostel I've stayed in. Great athomosphere, met so many nice people there. Especially the patio outside is a great place.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stuart Page

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Excellent free services such as some tours, breakfast, tea/coffee, fast Internet and lockers. Great atmosphere everywhere. Comfy beds. Power outlets in lockers

Disliked: Nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities, helpful staff, great atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities - free breakfast, $5 pasta night, reading rooms etc. were great. Excellent location very close to Santa Monica Pier and convenient for catching public transport.

Disliked: The Hostel is so big that some atmosphere is lost. I didn't like that the showers only have one tap and that you can't control the temperature of your shower.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel. Helpfull staff.

Disliked: A little bit dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Foster

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing stay! Staff are wonderful... Especially helpful if you're drunk ;) Great breakfast, location is perfect. The thing I loved most is that nobody is allowed in without showing their key... No matter who you are! Very clean & activities were great. Go on the Beverly Hills trip with Adam! Perfect!

Disliked: Nothing at all

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Koketso Moeng

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Koketso would recommend this property

Liked: Located in convenient location.

Disliked: Koketso left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location just off hollywood blvd, offer great daily activities and dinners, friendly staff, immaculately clean, privacy screen on beds, free lockers with power outlets, free comedy night is awesome!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taryn Johnston

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2013 Taryn would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast, the shuttles to the beach, six flags, daily events, dinners.

Disliked: The noise that comes from the night club in the car park, the beds have annoying plastic on them so your sheets move everywhere

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location if you want to stay in Hollywood, though it's not the best neighbourhood. Free make-your-own pancakes in the morning - who can object. All you can eat dinners & good offerings of tours.

Disliked: Room was located at rear of building next to parking lot where there was a lot of noise going on at 4 am. Some of the staff were really friendly & helpful, but some others had clearly been there for way too long. Lockers are not big enough to put your suitcase in (everyone in the room had them under the beds). Next time I would stay in Santa Monica & not Hollywood.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff

Disliked: -