We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of SameSun Venice Beach

Hostel | 25 Windward Ave., Venice Beach, Los Angeles, California, USA 90291

81.1% Overall Rating

663 out of 742 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2015)

Jamal Baig thinks…

"Amazing location, my view out of my room was the legendary Venice Beach! the staff were very helpful to, the activities were cool to."

Read all SameSun Venice Beach reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

All Guests Need Valid Passport Upon Check In and anyone without valid ID will be charged a nights stay and will not be allowed to remain on the premises. All Credit Cards will be charged for the first nights stay at 8:00am (PST), if it's not approved your bed will be set free. So please call if you have any Credit Card issues at least 24 hours in advance. All payments must be done CASH only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Venice Beach Hostel - Pacific Avenue
45.00 USD

Hostel 73.8% 413 reviews
Cadillac Hotel
105.00 USD

Hostel 84.2% 13 reviews
Venice Beach Hostel - Washington Bld
50.00 USD

Hostel 74.1% 244 reviews
Ocean Park Hotel
60.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.6% 46 reviews
Rodeway Inn
200.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Geneva Motel
32.90 USD

Hotel 66.5% 7 reviews
Los Angeles Surf City Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 81.7% 303 reviews
Super 8 Inglewood/LAX
45.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

663 out of 742 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'SameSun Venice Beach'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
72.8%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 528 of 579 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamal Baig

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2015 Jamal would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, my view out of my room was the legendary Venice Beach! the staff were very helpful to, the activities were cool to.

Disliked: Their could have been more activities lined up for guests I felt although I did miss weekend events so perhaps things were more lively then, still a great place to stay!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It might be a little pricy, but worth every penny. I stayed in a four-bed dorm with bathroom and could actually see the ocean from my dorm. The bathroom was cleaned on a daily basis. Additionally, there were little signs in the rooms that asked to inform the staff if it's not clean - someone really cares here! The staff was very nice and always ready to help. Once I had heaved my very heavy bag upstairs, they told me that they'd even assist with that. And they did when I checked out. They offer daily outings, in which I did not participate, but those who did seemed to enjoy them. The breakfast consisted of pancakes, toast, jams, and oranges, which were great. You can buy towels (2$) and locks at the hostel, I only bought towels and regretted having to leave them behind (luggage-wise). All in all, this might very well be the best hostel experience I have had so far. I'd check in again!

Disliked: The location right at the beach/ broadwalk means that it is noisy throughout the day and for most of the night. There's music and you can hear people, but it's really not that bad.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nicole Pysyk

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 June 2015 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Our private room was clean and tidy, had nice sheets, and TV with too many channels to choose from. Provided towels as well. The staff were excellent, very friendly and informative. Very safe feeling and the location was perfect, you're right amongst the beautiful craziness of Venice Beach. The "shared" bathrooms are bathrooms with one toilet and a shower, so it didn't really feel like a regular shared public toilet.

Disliked: Bed in the private room was a bit caved in in the middle. Carpets near the check in needed a good shampooing, smelled a bit like someone had gotten sick.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lyrae (Lily) Freriechs

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2015 Lyrae (Lily) would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful, great location.

Disliked: Smells like urine, bit dirty, very noisy late at night & in the mornings - partying in the common area, loud music outside and you can hear everyone having breakfast inside.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location next to Venice Beach.

Disliked: No elevator, pretty old interior.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location! Nice to have free breakfast. Reasonably clean beside bizarre odour!!

Disliked: Really bad showers with no water pressure. Room smelt a little of stale sweat. Bathrooms often occupied by other guests!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

13 November 2014

Liked: Close to the beach and shops the staff were friendly and happy to help.

Disliked: I would no recommend someone that is easily scared and travelling alone to check in this place after dark, the area at night is not the safest. The hostel is dirty and not really worth the amount we paid. If renting a car the parking is terrible and costs a lot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great location, great atmosphere.

Disliked: Third floor was a little hot, but nothing major.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and the staff was very helpful. Location perfect.

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms just 2 on one floor.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Madeline Cooper

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2014 Madeline would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good - close to airport. Easy to get around.

Disliked: 8 person dorm was hot and not enough airflow - there was only a tiny window. Not enough showers and toilets for the amount of people staying on our level. Ok for a night or two but I wouldn't want to stay any longer.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Holly Masson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2014 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: Atmoshpehere, staff and location

Disliked: Rooms can be so hot and stuffy!

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Megan Calcaterra

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. friendly staff. clean bathrooms.

Disliked: The room had a window but it was completely blocked over. made for a really stuffy room with 8 people....

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Beth Dalgleish

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

04 May 2014 Beth would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing - right on the beach, you walk outside and you're basically smacked in the face with CALIFORNIA. In a great way. Our view had an awesome view looking out onto the beach, and you can hire bikes just outside the hostel and ride up to Santa Monica pier. Awesome stay.

Disliked: Beth left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in the middle of the Venice Beach.

Disliked: It's a bit overpriced.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, hostel has affiliation with bike rental downstairs so you get 10% off

Disliked: Staff ok, not overly helpful though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Horak

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: What a perfect location, right next to the beach! I had a great time, the staff were super friendly and it was easy to meet other travelers on the daily activities. I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Paul Woosnam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent for beach, bars. Discount on bike hire next door.

Disliked: A little scruffy. Could do with a makeover.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right on Venice beach boardwalk, met some really nice people here! Also a handy shuttle bus that went to hollywood boulevard.

Disliked: Only two bathrooms per floor which is no where near enough!! Also the wifi was pretty dodgy and only worked if you crowded around the ATM in the hallway. Also 'free breakfast' was a bit of a let down, no options just oats one day and toast with jam the other day I was there.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Thompson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: The Australian evening event coordinator, made people traveling alone feel welcome and took a large group for taco night. Easy going staff. Water pressure good temp hot, for $40 you get a view of the beach WOW! Will definitely stay again.

Disliked: The area has a large homeless population which means the front door is locked and uninviting. You don't meet the warmth of SameSun until the 2nd floor hike.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sonja Radujko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2014 Sonja would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, right in front od Venice Beach. Room was great, 4-dorm with own bathroom.

Disliked: No elevator. Quite cold during the night.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La ubicación está genial.

Disliked: El precio de la habitación doble y sin baño es bastante alto para lo que es.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We picked this accommodation for its closeness to the airport. It was also central to Venice Beach boardwalk so plenty to do in the area. Price was cheap, but expect cheap facilties.

Disliked: The bathrooms were not clean nor working in some. The property itself was secure, however our dorm room did not close properly so you could not always guarantee the dorm room was secure. In addition to this the lockers in the room were not practical in size and are only good for valuable items, all other luggage was pushed up against the beds...in a dorm of 8 it can get a bit crowded. Signage throughout hostel for directions of rooms would be good too, it was a bit of a maze to walk around.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, they have all the facilities you usually expect from a good hostel. Staff is doing a great job!

Disliked: Stay in Venice beach only if it's your primary destination in LA (It's a little bit far away from everything) Otherwise, consider Hollywood.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Michelle Walsh

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Very near the beach and Venice boardwalk, etc. Had a quiet night's sleep for the night we stayed there also.

Disliked: I may be wrong in saying this, but I didn't see it written anywhere about having to pay a cash deposit on arrival (for keys). Didn't affect us as we had the cash on us but is something others need to be aware of. Think it was $10 per key. Could've been cleaner in bathroom, sink areas.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the beach, very friendly staffs

Disliked: not much

The property's response is...