HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of SameSun Venice Beach

Hostel | 25 Windward Ave., Venice Beach, Los Angeles, California, USA 90291

80.3% Overall Rating

648 out of 724 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/03/2014)

Stephanie Horak thinks…

"What a perfect location, right next to the beach! I had a great time, the staff were super friendly and it was easy to meet other travelers on the daily activities. I would definitely stay here again."

Read all SameSun Venice Beach reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

All Guests Need Valid Passport Upon Check In and anyone without valid ID will be charged a nights stay and will not be allowed to remain on the premises. All Credit Cards will be charged for the first nights stay at 8:00am (PST), if it's not approved your bed will be set free. So please call if you have any Credit Card issues at least 24 hours in advance. All payments must be done CASH only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Venice Beach Hostel - Pacific Avenue
39.95 USD

Hostel 75.4% 395 reviews
Cadillac Hotel
85.00 USD

Hostel 86.8% 11 reviews
Venice Beach Hostel - Washington Bld
35.00 USD

Hostel 71.3% 237 reviews
Marina 7 Motel
32.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Ocean Park Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.2% 32 reviews
Rodeway Inn
30.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Geneva Motel
28.51 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Howard's Hostel-Hotel
20.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.3%

Overall Rating

648 out of 724 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'SameSun Venice Beach'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
84.0%
Value
76.8%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 514 of 561 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, hostel has affiliation with bike rental downstairs so you get 10% off

Disliked: Staff ok, not overly helpful though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Horak

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: What a perfect location, right next to the beach! I had a great time, the staff were super friendly and it was easy to meet other travelers on the daily activities. I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Paul Woosnam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent for beach, bars. Discount on bike hire next door.

Disliked: A little scruffy. Could do with a makeover.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right on Venice beach boardwalk, met some really nice people here! Also a handy shuttle bus that went to hollywood boulevard.

Disliked: Only two bathrooms per floor which is no where near enough!! Also the wifi was pretty dodgy and only worked if you crowded around the ATM in the hallway. Also 'free breakfast' was a bit of a let down, no options just oats one day and toast with jam the other day I was there.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Thompson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: The Australian evening event coordinator, made people traveling alone feel welcome and took a large group for taco night. Easy going staff. Water pressure good temp hot, for $40 you get a view of the beach WOW! Will definitely stay again.

Disliked: The area has a large homeless population which means the front door is locked and uninviting. You don't meet the warmth of SameSun until the 2nd floor hike.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sonja Radujko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2014 Sonja would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, right in front od Venice Beach. Room was great, 4-dorm with own bathroom.

Disliked: No elevator. Quite cold during the night.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La ubicación está genial.

Disliked: El precio de la habitación doble y sin baño es bastante alto para lo que es.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We picked this accommodation for its closeness to the airport. It was also central to Venice Beach boardwalk so plenty to do in the area. Price was cheap, but expect cheap facilties.

Disliked: The bathrooms were not clean nor working in some. The property itself was secure, however our dorm room did not close properly so you could not always guarantee the dorm room was secure. In addition to this the lockers in the room were not practical in size and are only good for valuable items, all other luggage was pushed up against the beds...in a dorm of 8 it can get a bit crowded. Signage throughout hostel for directions of rooms would be good too, it was a bit of a maze to walk around.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, they have all the facilities you usually expect from a good hostel. Staff is doing a great job!

Disliked: Stay in Venice beach only if it's your primary destination in LA (It's a little bit far away from everything) Otherwise, consider Hollywood.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Michelle Walsh

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Very near the beach and Venice boardwalk, etc. Had a quiet night's sleep for the night we stayed there also.

Disliked: I may be wrong in saying this, but I didn't see it written anywhere about having to pay a cash deposit on arrival (for keys). Didn't affect us as we had the cash on us but is something others need to be aware of. Think it was $10 per key. Could've been cleaner in bathroom, sink areas.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the beach, very friendly staffs

Disliked: not much

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing ocean views from the room. Can't beat the location. The staff were really helpful and the rooms were nice and clean.

Disliked: Having to leave!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, stunning views

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alexandra Ede

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

22 July 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Good location by the beach and bars yet not too noisy. We had a private double room - very basic and not a great fan but did the job. .

Disliked: Need more bathrooms - only two per floor for c 10 rooms including dorms. Even separate loos and showers would help

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessie Whittaker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Jessie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really nice and helpful in regards to site seeing and partying. Good looking front desk guy! Best location under the sun, right near the Venice sign and loved the tranny cleaner!

Disliked: i wish the toilets wern't filled with water.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right on Venice Beach.

Disliked: No aircon so the room was extremely hot at night

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Danielle ONeill

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

19 June 2013 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, right next to the beach and really easy to get to from the Airport either by transfer shuttle or public bus was very quick and easy. I did the Friday night limo to the club activity and it was great fun!

Disliked: Danielle left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and friendly staff.

Disliked: Wifi was free, but had to pay to use tablets for internet, which is annoying if you don´t have a smart phone or laptop.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Lechner

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: I had window with a sea view! Ask for room 318! Everything was ok, the room and bathroom was big and they had everything you need. Great location next to the beach and the Venice boardwalk.

Disliked: The WiFi was very poor, didn't work at all in my room and didn't even work everywhere in the common room. The kitchen was a bit small and they didn't offer any breakfast.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lauren Hobbs

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The location couldn't get any better. We could see the beach out of our window.

Disliked: Upon arrive the gentleman at the from desk "claimed" that I had not booked the room for 2 people just one, even though I showed my email confirmation. We ended up having to pay for a more expensive room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is amazing, gorgeous view of the boardwalk and beach right from our room!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location

Disliked: Didn't find it to be as welcoming as other hostels I have stayed at in Los Angeles.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, great location. Very clean throughout. Comfy beds. Good atmosphere there.Good wifi.

Disliked: It would have been nice if towels were free. Better breakfast maybe? Only tea/coffee available. No parking which was difficult as had to find space in residential area & walk to hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel was just awesome! Loved the location and vibe! Staff were über friendly and helpful with all the questions I had. And I had ALOT!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay at Venice Beach Samesun. The Staff were great and friendly and helped me maximize my time while I was there. The rooms are big and spacious. Overall It's a very well run hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.