HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Samesun Venice Beach Los Angeles Hostel

25 Windward Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, USA

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 74%

Location 96%

Safety 87%

Staff 91%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

All Guests Need Valid Passport Upon Check In and anyone without valid ID will be charged a nights stay and will not be allowed to remain on the premises. All Credit Cards will be charged for the first nights stay at 8:00am (PST), if it's not approved your bed will be set free. So please call if you have any Credit Card issues at least 24 hours in advance.
All payments must be done CASH only.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 74%

Location 96%

Safety 87%

Staff 91%

Value 74%

Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: X

Disliked: C

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: its on the beach

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Friendly people

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Great location, great people and friendly staff

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating


25 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Good location, clean and organised hostel. Seemed lacking in atmosphere but this could well be because we stayed only on a Monday night in January. I think this hostel would be ideal in summer. Our room had an incredible view of the beach and location was 10/10. Kitchen and free breakfast was so good! I would definitely stay again.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Lots of cool events on offer, can't get a better location!

Disliked: More fruit at breakfast would be nice

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff, safe, cable TV, clean and bed made daily, good location right on the beach

Disliked: Expensive for a hostel but I guess it is cheap for Venice beach?Price was exclusive of tax online when we paid so had the wrong price expectation when we arrived and paid

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I actually only stayed there one night instead of two as I decided to extend my stay in San Francisco by an extra day. The hostel were more than happy to amend my booking and didn't give me a hard time or any penalty that I can see for doing so. The location is absolutely excellent and a 24 hour reception is ace, especially as I ended up arriving after midnight. Comfy beds, nice shower, and loads of individual powerpoints by your bed to ensure that you're never fighting for one.

Disliked: It is pricey for a hostel but this could be largely due to the location, and also the USA seems to be expensive for a bed in a dorm in general. There aren't really enough bathrooms in my opinion - on my floor only one shower/toilet to serve the whole floor, so you are often waiting. The toilet is also in with the shower (it's like a regular bathroom), so if someone is in the shower and you need to use the toilet you're in a bit of trouble. The free luggage storage is great but it's an unlocked room without a door so not secure.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Steps away from the beach, nice coffee shop just in front, nice people from all over the world, farely close to LAX (get à shuttle if you're not gonna rent a car). When checking in, people were sleeping in all but 2 beds but they all seemed to be taken. I went to the desk and they told me it wasn't supposed to be so. It looked like he and the girl who was finishing off her shift genuinely cared. The guy took on him to wake people up to see which bed was free (it was passed midnight and I didn't really want to do it myself). In a party place such as Venice, you can't really expect the staff to care but it's a nice touch when they do. It turns out they had just spread out their stuff.

Disliked: It's pretty hot in the rooms. The room I was in had a window but it was not on the street side, rather a small space between the hostel and the next building. There's not much air flowing in so it gets much hotter inside the room than in the corridor or on the street. They did put up two ventilators but it's not quite enough to make it confortable. If you have a hard time sleeping in a hot, almost stale environnment, you might wanna look for a place with AC. Also the kitchen is closed at night but that's really not a deal breaker.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the feedback! Glad that the staff were able to help you out with the bed allocation. The heat - you are right, it gets hot! We are doing everything we can to make sure we get AC in the building!

Cheers and safe travels,
Sara
GM

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great central location at the Venice Beach and promenade,, excellent exterior, nice interior, private bathroom with all new facilities, spacy lockers, comfortable bunk beds, friendly and hepfull staff,, Stylish Danny's right down. Close to all the bus stops. Cleanliness is ok, a free towel.. Overall impression is positive. Definitely, the best place to stay in Venice (LA)

Disliked: Kitchen and lobby somewhat too small, breakfast ok, however there were problems with bread and coffee availability during the breakfast time.Lack of liqid soap in a container

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry to hear that some of the items were unavailable at times. Please don't hesitate to let one of our 24 hour staff know of an area that needs our attention - such as replenishing supplies. We will make sure we do so immediately.

Cheers and safe travels,
Sara
General Manager

Check Availability