HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of SameSun Venice Beach

Hostel | 25 Windward Ave., Venice Beach, Los Angeles, California, USA 90291

80.3% Overall Rating

648 out of 724 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/03/2014)

Stephanie Horak thinks…

"What a perfect location, right next to the beach! I had a great time, the staff were super friendly and it was easy to meet other travelers on the daily activities. I would definitely stay here again."

Read all SameSun Venice Beach reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

All Guests Need Valid Passport Upon Check In and anyone without valid ID will be charged a nights stay and will not be allowed to remain on the premises. All Credit Cards will be charged for the first nights stay at 8:00am (PST), if it's not approved your bed will be set free. So please call if you have any Credit Card issues at least 24 hours in advance. All payments must be done CASH only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Venice Beach Hostel - Pacific Avenue
39.95 USD

Hostel 75.4% 395 reviews
Cadillac Hotel
85.00 USD

Hostel 86.8% 11 reviews
Venice Beach Hostel - Washington Bld
35.00 USD

Hostel 71.3% 237 reviews
Marina 7 Motel
32.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Ocean Park Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.2% 32 reviews
Rodeway Inn
30.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Geneva Motel
28.51 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Howard's Hostel-Hotel
20.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.3%

Overall Rating

648 out of 724 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'SameSun Venice Beach'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
84.0%
Value
76.8%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 514 of 561 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Anthony Nuttall

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2010

Liked: .

Disliked: Smoking in the communal area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Imre Sebestyen

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break

15 November 2010 Imre would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: no comment

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay, people friendly, parties organized all the time, nice to meet people

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the beach felt safe and bathroom was clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free coffee, location, very clean, friendly staff, safe

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and kind. The Venice Beach is in front of the hostel, so if you like beach it is good to stay.

Disliked: It will be better to bring own towel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Shopping

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean, free use of towels

Disliked: Kitchen a bit poor

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: We have been travelling for 3 months staying in hostels and this was the worst. Our bed was broken and sagged badly in the middle, the door to our room jammed and could only be shut but slamming it and our level only had 2 bathrooms to share between 12 dorms which were constantly filthy. Plus the hostel itself was located in a seedy area which was full of drug users and drunks after dark. We did not feel safe.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: no free wifi

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is awesome - although with that comes a bit of noice given the close proximity to venice beach

Disliked: They wouldn't let me check-in right away which was a pain because I was absolutely exhausted after flying from Aus. Also they claimed that they had cancelled my booking because my credit card had expired, despite the fact my credit card had been debited the deposit. Not sure what else you're supposed to do if your credit card expires between the time you make your booking and the time of your stay. I had a new valid one by the time I got there, and they already had received my deposit!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location, by the beach. Also the safety of parking the car for free on the streets nearby.

Disliked: I didn't like the room on the same floor as the reception and internetroom. The other guests was talking loud just outside our door. We did change our room and then there was not any problems.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

alex fitzpatrick

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 September 2010 alex would recommend this property

Liked: cool people, great location on vence beach

Disliked: bit rundown

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gereon Schaller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

29 August 2010 Gereon would recommend this property

Liked: awesome stay!

Disliked: Gereon left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds, very safe. Little atmosphere andnot much happening.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2010

Liked: meeting nice people in the lounge

Disliked: it was dirty, the rooms were very small

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

16 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to the Venice Beach boardwalk. Good location. Staff very friendly.

Disliked: Place needs a bit of an overhaul. Was nice enough but needs a lick of paint

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Eveline Keg

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

15 August 2010 Eveline would recommend this property

Liked: nothing in particular

Disliked: mixed dormrooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and cheap

Disliked: A bit noisy at night.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

06 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fantastic, it's just a 2min walk to the beach. Basketball courts and "Muscle Beach" is 5-10min walk. Lots of pubs, restaurants and shows going on very nearby. Staff are pretty friendly and helpful.

Disliked: For those who aren't so well travelled and enjoy the safeness of surbubia, Venice Beach and the area the hostel is in may come across as a complete culture shock. At night, it is NOT safe for the faint-hearted and heading anywhere into the residential areas is a definite No-No. In saying that, most people go for the beach and the sights along the boardwalk. Rooms and bathrooms aren't terribly clean and would be depressing if it weren't for the beach views. Place has a lot of potential because of the location and how Venice Beach accommodation is so expensive. It needs some more investment to improve rooms, facilities and safety. The info on pricing is way off. It costs around $80 inc tax/tips to get from/to Union Station. The laundrette is a 20min walk away, despite it being listed as 2min away. I'd research the area a little to know how much things will cost you before booking.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mario Anthony Iacobucci

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

04 August 2010 Mario Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean, safe & secure, and the staff was very friendly. I enjoyed my experience very much & would definitely return to The Cotel again for another stay.Mario Anthony

Disliked: Mario Anthony left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

20 July 2010

Liked: Excellent location right next to Venice Beach.

Disliked: Stayed in a private room in an extremely uncomfortable bed-it almost had springs sticking out of it. The combination of this and the lack of air conditioning made for a very poor nights sleep. There was also only two bathrooms on our floor which always seemed to be occupied.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

13 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice atmosphere and friendly staff. Clean rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very friendly and helpful. i liked being able to have our own room (so you got some privicy) but still stay in a hostel and get to meet new people. The directions to and from the airport, stations and local attractions were really useful.

Disliked: Some of the locks on the doors were rather loose, but you could always ask to put small essential valuables in the safe behind the desk. The common room was rather smoky too, which was a shame as it was a really nice room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Thanks for having a great time at VBC!

Disliked: -