HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Samesun Venice Beach Los Angeles Hostel

25 Windward Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, USA

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 74%

Location 96%

Safety 87%

Staff 91%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

All Guests Need Valid Passport Upon Check In and anyone without valid ID will be charged a nights stay and will not be allowed to remain on the premises. All Credit Cards will be charged for the first nights stay at 8:00am (PST), if it's not approved your bed will be set free. So please call if you have any Credit Card issues at least 24 hours in advance.
All payments must be done CASH only.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 74%

Location 96%

Safety 87%

Staff 91%

Value 74%

Showing 51-36 of 36 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I loved my stay at Venice Beach Samesun. The Staff were great and friendly and helped me maximize my time while I was there. The rooms are big and spacious. Overall It's a very well run hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nice location, some rooms with sea view, pretty clean and only hostelcustomers are allowed to come in. Floors and rooms looking pretty fresh painted.

Disliked: You have to carry your luggages in the first floor, no lift inside. The Lounge and kitchen are really small and the Lounge was pretty dark in absence of a lamp on the ceiling. Staff was very unpolite and seemed pretty bugged when you don´t speak english very well and have to ask twice. Atmosphere was very cold, because nobody wants to sit in the Lounge or in the small and not so clean kitchen. WI-/FI signal collapsed a few times and was not steady. In the Lounge I couldn´t get Wifi, as I asked staff what´s wrong they told me that there is everything ok, she has already checked it a few minutes ago.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great place! Super friendly staff, clean, well-located on Venice Beach boardwalk...highly recommended if you're in the area!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Perfect location if you want to stay near venice beach. The staff is really friendly and outgoing and there are ativities organised every night. I recommend this place to anyone!

Disliked: The mattress was really not comfortable, but for the price we paid for this private room it is OK.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

we are glad that you enjoyed the newly added nightly activities!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location!!!

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location, view, clienliness

Disliked: Staff were rude

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff, location

Disliked: impossible to get to 6 flags, disneyland and takes 2 hours to universal studios.Also cold room, we both got sick

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was good if you just want a nice beach area to stay. Short walk to some nice bars and 2 mins from the beach. Something on every night organised by the hostel and a kitchen to cook your own food. free good WiFi which worked in all areas and clean rooms.

Disliked: The epic long bus rides into LA downtown, but think this can be the case in most places away from the centre. Although excellent WiFi, there is a charge to use the computers which is annoying if you want to upload photosor don't have your own device! Beds aren't the comfiest and lack of the window s made it a little claustrophobic in the larger dorm rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's pretty clean

Disliked: Lack of locker

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway

Liked: To be honest, this hostel is the best one and safest one among all the hostel I have stayed in both Los Angeles and San Francisco. It is very clean and tidy inside the building and the rooms. The showers are awesome and kitchen is well equipted. They clean everywhere almost everyday.If you are waiting for the plane, I recommend this hostel. Their shuttle bus is very flexible and cheap ($14 on the day I booked it).

Disliked: This hostel do not have a laundry room. You have to take your clothes across the street to do laundry. You also need to make sure the room key is with you all the time. The door of your room will close behind you.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability