We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of SameSun Venice Beach

Hostel | 25 Windward Ave., Venice Beach, Los Angeles, California, USA 90291

82.6% Overall Rating

667 out of 746 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2015)

"Great central location at the Venice Beach and promenade,, excellent exterior, nice interior, private bathroom with all new facilities, spacy lockers, comfortable bunk beds, friendly and hepfull staff,, Stylish Danny's…"

Read all SameSun Venice Beach reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

All Guests Need Valid Passport Upon Check In and anyone without valid ID will be charged a nights stay and will not be allowed to remain on the premises. All Credit Cards will be charged for the first nights stay at 8:00am (PST), if it's not approved your bed will be set free. So please call if you have any Credit Card issues at least 24 hours in advance. All payments must be done CASH only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Venice Beach Hostel - Pacific Avenue
40.00 USD

Hostel 71.5% 416 reviews
Cadillac Hotel
90.00 USD

Hostel 84.2% 13 reviews
Venice Beach Hostel - Washington Bld
35.00 USD

Hostel 74.1% 244 reviews
Ocean Park Hotel
40.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.6% 46 reviews
Rodeway Inn
200.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Geneva Motel
32.90 USD

Hotel 66.5% 7 reviews
Los Angeles Surf City Hostel
40.00 USD

Hostel 81.3% 305 reviews
Super 8 Inglewood/LAX
45.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

667 out of 746 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'SameSun Venice Beach'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
73.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 530 of 583 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2011

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: Smelly, scruffy, noisy, rude staff...not a positive experience.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2011

Liked: Great location!!

Disliked: No elevator! they also made us check out at 11am and check in again at 2pm because we had apparantly been booked in another room the second night. Not a positive experience as we had to get up early to pack our belongings, leave them in a storageroom and be without a room for 3hrs. We had to plan our day around this and it kind of ruined it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Honest, no frills accommodation right on Venice Beach. Staff very friendly - the receptionist helped me out by scanning in a document and emailing it to me without fuss and without charge. Free on-street parking is available a few blocks away.

Disliked: Nil

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Next to the beach - Lot of fun in the surrounding clubs and bars - Cooled beer in the evening

Disliked: - BIt too expensive - partly not very helpfull and kind stuff

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Expensive for what it is.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Roberto Hernandez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011 Roberto would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Price and No Wi-fi

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Natalia Schmidt

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

07 July 2011 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to the beach and the bus station is not far away either. Moreover it was pretty clean for a hostel.

Disliked: The describtion says that you have wifi - yes you do only if you pay every hour, daily or you can get wifi from downstairs in "danny's" a restaurant/bar.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

phyllis bouwstra

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 July 2011 phyllis would recommend this property

Liked: The location was so nice en te staff was verry helpful.

Disliked: if your are not 21 the most of te actifities not for you

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The wifi was too expensive and the double bed my partner and I used in a private room was too soft and sank in the middle too much, squashing us together. Also, although there was an overhead fan, the room was a bit hot and stuffy.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Marcus Stenbeck

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: It's right on the Venice Boardwalk and there are many activities for the people staying at the hostel.

Disliked: It slightly smells like piss, the rooms have no air-conditioning except a fan in the ceiling that doesn't make a difference, the lighting gave me a headache, and our view was straight into a dorm across a hallway.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Vassiliadis

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: great location, right at the beach!

Disliked: i only stayed for a night, so didn't spend that much time at the hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: position, staff assistance

Disliked: Many stairs with no lift. Not suitable for older folks

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

HAIGUANG Chu

As a family with children

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 June 2011 HAIGUANG would recommend this property

Liked: The reasonable price.

Disliked: There is only one chair in the private room. The shower water cannot go through fast enough so that your feet are in the water.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kim Martin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap. best location. spacious rooms - i stayed in the mixed 6x with attached bathroom - friendly staff. smallish kitchen was never an issue. will definitely stay there again.

Disliked: having to pay for wifi that was fairly shotty at times.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the Cotel (at the beach) is very nice. It is a bit long but very easy to come from the train station with just one bus. The property is clean and secure. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The bed in our double room was ridiculously small. The kitchen was very small and not well equipped (no real stove).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great - right on the beach and easy to get buses all over LA. Staff were very helpful and there is a planned event every night which is great way to meet people.

Disliked: Too few bathrooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Robert John

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: As stated clean, good staff and helpful

Disliked: You should state if you have windows or not, other than that everything was fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Gilbert

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Family Holiday

21 May 2011 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: The great location, price and friendly welcome from the staff.atmosphere was cosy and safe.

Disliked: Not enough tea cups and mugs provided in the kitchen...could not make a much needed cuppa!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and the rooms were really good!

Disliked: The kitchen is quite small and does not have a cooker.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great locatiin if you want to be in the centreof the promenade, staff were friendly and helpful, clean sheets and bathrooms.

Disliked: grubby carpets, hit room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chris Hisgrove

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 May 2011 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Nice view over the beach and sea, very nice and friendly staff had a great time.

Disliked: Venice beach isnt the best place at night

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dominik Baumer

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Dominik would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutly worth the Money!! The Location is great and the staff is very nice and helpful! The rooms and the restrooms are clean and tidy and it's a real good place to meet people as the hostel provides a lots of evening activities and bar/pub crawls.

Disliked: Unfortunatly, you have to pay for the Internet and there is no breakfast included. (At least you get free Coffee and Tea in the mornings) We went there in April and althought there was a fan on the ceiling it got really hot in our room and i don't want to imagine how hot it gets in the high summer.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Daniela Sbrisny

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break

24 April 2011 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location and the guys from the hostel. They organized nights out and were super friendly. Venice Beach is really quite after 9 pm but there are a few places to have dinner and have a few drinks just around the corner. I stayed there 4 days and was not bored.

Disliked: Free Internet would be great for all.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Ratcliffe

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Right on the beach!

Disliked: Only window in our room faced a brick wall, but this really doesn't matter while you're sleeping.