HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Samesun Venice Beach Los Angeles Hostel

25 Windward Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, USA

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 76%

Location 96%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 75%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

All Guests Need Valid Passport Upon Check In and anyone without valid ID will be charged a nights stay and will not be allowed to remain on the premises. All Credit Cards will be charged for the first nights stay at 8:00am (PST), if it's not approved your bed will be set free. So please call if you have any Credit Card issues at least 24 hours in advance.
All payments must be done CASH only.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 76%

Location 96%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 75%

Showing 41-36 of 36 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location and friendly staff.

Disliked: Wifi was free, but had to pay to use tablets for internet, which is annoying if you don´t have a smart phone or laptop.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I had window with a sea view! Ask for room 318!Everything was ok, the room and bathroom was big and they had everything you need. Great location next to the beach and the Venice boardwalk.

Disliked: The WiFi was very poor, didn't work at all in my room and didn't even work everywhere in the common room.The kitchen was a bit small and they didn't offer any breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Location is amazing, gorgeous view of the boardwalk and beach right from our room!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Really great location

Disliked: Didn't find it to be as welcoming as other hostels I have stayed at in Los Angeles.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location couldn't get any better. We could see the beach out of our window.

Disliked: Upon arrive the gentleman at the from desk "claimed" that I had not booked the room for 2 people just one, even though I showed my email confirmation. We ended up having to pay for a more expensive room.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice staff, great location. Very clean throughout. Comfy beds. Good atmosphere there.Good wifi.

Disliked: It would have been nice if towels were free. Better breakfast maybe? Only tea/coffee available. No parking which was difficult as had to find space in residential area & walk to hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Same sun was located in the heart of Venice beach and while it was central Venice beach itself isNot safe... We felt safe I side but as soon as u walked outside there were plenty of homeless men harassing you. Would not recommend if u are a girl alone,Staff were very friendly though :)

Disliked: The mattresses were hard and you could feel the springsAs soon as u walked outside it felt very u safe, plenty of homeless people and bumsDon't leave the hostel after 8pm it is unsafeOnly 2 showers per floor, and they were dirty, mouldy with poor pressùe!Hot water ran out by 9am each dayRooms were dark and smelly, we asked for the Light to be fixed 3 times but was never fixedHad a Lounge area but not many people hung out here as it did not get wi fiPoor signal wifi


The property's response is

Glad our staff were helpful! We are currently in the middle of making some changes and upgrades to the facilities, which will allow us to maximize hot water as well as make sure everything is running smoothly, and attended to, in a quick manner.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Hostel was just awesome! Loved the location and vibe! Staff were über friendly and helpful with all the questions I had. And I had ALOT!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I loved my stay at Venice Beach Samesun. The Staff were great and friendly and helped me maximize my time while I was there. The rooms are big and spacious. Overall It's a very well run hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nice location, some rooms with sea view, pretty clean and only hostelcustomers are allowed to come in. Floors and rooms looking pretty fresh painted.

Disliked: You have to carry your luggages in the first floor, no lift inside. The Lounge and kitchen are really small and the Lounge was pretty dark in absence of a lamp on the ceiling. Staff was very unpolite and seemed pretty bugged when you don´t speak english very well and have to ask twice. Atmosphere was very cold, because nobody wants to sit in the Lounge or in the small and not so clean kitchen. WI-/FI signal collapsed a few times and was not steady. In the Lounge I couldn´t get Wifi, as I asked staff what´s wrong they told me that there is everything ok, she has already checked it a few minutes ago.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability