HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Samesun Venice Beach Los Angeles Hostel

25 Windward Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, USA

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 74%

Location 96%

Safety 87%

Staff 91%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

All Guests Need Valid Passport Upon Check In and anyone without valid ID will be charged a nights stay and will not be allowed to remain on the premises. All Credit Cards will be charged for the first nights stay at 8:00am (PST), if it's not approved your bed will be set free. So please call if you have any Credit Card issues at least 24 hours in advance.
All payments must be done CASH only.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 74%

Location 96%

Safety 87%

Staff 91%

Value 74%

Showing 31-36 of 36 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Perfect location, right in front od Venice Beach. Room was great, 4-dorm with own bathroom.

Disliked: No elevator. Quite cold during the night.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the feedback. During the winter months it does get a little cold. We do have extra blankets and heaters at the desk, upon request. Next time our 24-hour desk can help you out. Safe Travels.

Sara, General Manager

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: La ubicación está genial.

Disliked: El precio de la habitación doble y sin baño es bastante alto para lo que es.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We picked this accommodation for its closeness to the airport. It was also central to Venice Beach boardwalk so plenty to do in the area. Price was cheap, but expect cheap facilties.

Disliked: The bathrooms were not clean nor working in some. The property itself was secure, however our dorm room did not close properly so you could not always guarantee the dorm room was secure. In addition to this the lockers in the room were not practical in size and are only good for valuable items, all other luggage was pushed up against the beds...in a dorm of 8 it can get a bit crowded. Signage throughout hostel for directions of rooms would be good too, it was a bit of a maze to walk around.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the feedback. We are looking to install additional storage for luggage under the bunk beds, especially in the larger dorm rooms. We will also look into providing room direction within the hostel. Safe travels.

Sara, General Manager

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nice atmosphere, they have all the facilities you usually expect from a good hostel. Staff is doing a great job!

Disliked: Stay in Venice beach only if it's your primary destination in LA (It's a little bit far away from everything) Otherwise, consider Hollywood.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

thank you for the feedback! Great to hear that our staff were helpful. LA is quite a large city but we have some great suggestions on how to get around quickly and cheaply, such as Hostel Hopper. Safe travels!

Sara, General Manager

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very near the beach and Venice boardwalk, etc. Had a quiet night's sleep for the night we stayed there also.

Disliked: I may be wrong in saying this, but I didn't see it written anywhere about having to pay a cash deposit on arrival (for keys). Didn't affect us as we had the cash on us but is something others need to be aware of. Think it was $10 per key. Could've been cleaner in bathroom, sink areas.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the feedback. We do take a key deposit upon check in, and return it upon check out, however, we will follow up with this to make sure it is clearly stated on our website. safe travels

Sara, General Manager

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference

Liked: Close to the beach, very friendly staffs

Disliked: not much

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the feedback! We are glad to hear that the staff helped better your stay.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Amazing ocean views from the room. Can't beat the location. The staff were really helpful and the rooms were nice and clean.

Disliked: Having to leave!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, stunning views

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were really nice and helpful in regards to site seeing and partying. Good looking front desk guy! Best location under the sun, right near the Venice sign and loved the tranny cleaner!

Disliked: i wish the toilets wern't filled with water.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad our staff were able to help you while staying in Venice. We are staffed 24 hours a day so if there is an issue that needs to be addressed, such as a toilet, please don't hesitate to let a staff member know.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Good location by the beach and bars yet not too noisy. We had a private double room - very basic and not a great fan but did the job. .

Disliked: Need more bathrooms - only two per floor for c 10 rooms including dorms. Even separate loos and showers would help

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Our location cannot be beat! Sometimes in the summer it does get a little hot though, even with the ocean breeze, and we have additional fans that can be added to the room to create a better air flow.

Check Availability