HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of SameSun Venice Beach

Hostel | 25 Windward Ave., Venice Beach, Los Angeles, California, USA 90291

80.5% Overall Rating

656 out of 734 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/05/2014)

Beth Dalgleish thinks…

"The location is amazing - right on the beach, you walk outside and you're basically smacked in the face with CALIFORNIA. In a great way. Our view had an awesome view looking out onto the beach, and…"

Read all SameSun Venice Beach reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

All Guests Need Valid Passport Upon Check In and anyone without valid ID will be charged a nights stay and will not be allowed to remain on the premises. All Credit Cards will be charged for the first nights stay at 8:00am (PST), if it's not approved your bed will be set free. So please call if you have any Credit Card issues at least 24 hours in advance. All payments must be done CASH only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Venice Beach Hostel - Pacific Avenue
39.00 USD

Hostel 72.6% 409 reviews
Cadillac Hotel
85.00 USD

Hostel 84.2% 13 reviews
Venice Beach Hostel - Washington Bld
35.00 USD

Hostel 71.0% 239 reviews
Marina 7 Motel
32.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Ocean Park Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.7% 42 reviews
Rodeway Inn
30.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Geneva Motel
28.51 USD

Hotel 69.1% 5 reviews
Howard's Hostel-Hotel
20.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.5%

Overall Rating

656 out of 734 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'SameSun Venice Beach'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
73.6%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 521 of 571 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central and affordable.

Disliked: Quite noisy at Night, but has nothing to do with the hostel itself.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location Location Location.The cleanliness.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachelle Werner

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012 Rachelle would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great as there was a lot of action around Venice beach when the weather was nice. Great place for people watching. The location of the hostel in venice is right in the action with a few nice bars around the place. You can walk to the canals as well as to Santa Monica. The big blue bus company can take you elsewhere for $1 per ride. The staff were really welcoming and helpful.

Disliked: Rachelle left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

alexander morris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Incredibly rude staff. Bad policies about bookings. Unhelpful and did not provide anything for the price you were paying that you could get elsewhere

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's located right next to the beach and that's a great plus if you are staying just one or two days in L.A. but nevertheless want to enjoy this lay over.

Disliked: The area is definitely not the safest. Getting breakfast early in the morning might be challenging. I was as little scared by some homeless people at the beachfront.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sho Tanaka

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 January 2012 Sho would recommend this property

Liked: Still same atomosphere as I know. Friendly staff and travellers. I stayed in dormitory room which was ocean side so every morning ocean breeze wake me up and ready to go. Nice bar area has a party every night so you don't need to look for some nice bars in the hood. But there is also a lot of night clubs and bars you already know where you are. Nearby beach and boardwalk. I love this hostel and Venice Beach that's why I stayed there again. I highly reccommend Venice Beach Cotel for everyone!!!

Disliked: I guess nothing at all.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Eliana Katz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2011 Eliana would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable rooms.

Disliked: Area a little dark at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Rennie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Suprised at the high standard of cleaning every day by the housekeeping. The manager and staff were more than accommodating all the time. Very easy to make friends! Would recommend to all passing travellers!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brett Magennis

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 December 2011 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: close to the beach, friendly, happy and helpful staff always looking at everyone getting to know other travelers in the hostel

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2011

Liked: *amazing staff *amazing location *rooms well maintained

Disliked: *Smoking - manager allows patrons to smoke in bar, which flows into your room if it's nearby. You will be tasting smoke all day, all night. Yum. *Internet - is not free. Yes they know that it is 2011. *No Laundry - catching a bus to a laundromat is ridiculous *Floors - Rooms are mostly clean, but floor has not been vacuumed in years.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, staff were so friendly and helpful (and that makes such a difference! Especially when you've had a bad experience at other places). Free luggage store was great. You're right on the beach with a taxi stand outside.

Disliked: There are only two unisex bathroom/toilets per floor for quite a number of rooms. I thought it would be a problem but I never actually ended up having to wait.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location for the beach was awesome, also a few god bars just a quick stumble away.

Disliked: not a friendly atomosphere, i wasnt shown around when i checked in or told about any activities they had on offer nor were they talked about by staff or other travelers which makes it a bit hard for a lone traveler also i could feel the springs in my bed

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: PEOPLE RUNNING IT WERE VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL

Disliked: THE KITCHEN HAD NO STOVE,2 VERY VERY BAD HOT PLATES. PARKING WAS QUITE EXPENSIVE,WE HAD TO KEEP RUNNING OUT WITH CHANGE OR KEEP MOVING THE VEHICLE

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice staff, no serious complaints, we were happy with what we got and what we paid given the availability/prices in LA.

Disliked: The whole place could do with a pretty basic facelift which would make a huge difference to the quality of the stay, rooms were clean but basic and a little rough around the edges, but not an unpleasant place to stay. Internet access was extra not included. 24hr luggage storage security was a little lax, but not terrible.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great. Really friendly and really helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tony Ross

Alone

Business / conference

02 September 2011 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: This place is awesum - Have travelled allot and this would be the best place. The staff talk to you which is rear nowdays. If your tavelling alone then put this on the list of places to stay.

Disliked: Only fault is the stairs but only 3 stories - have stayed worst lol

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2011

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: Smelly, scruffy, noisy, rude staff...not a positive experience.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2011

Liked: Great location!!

Disliked: No elevator! they also made us check out at 11am and check in again at 2pm because we had apparantly been booked in another room the second night. Not a positive experience as we had to get up early to pack our belongings, leave them in a storageroom and be without a room for 3hrs. We had to plan our day around this and it kind of ruined it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Honest, no frills accommodation right on Venice Beach. Staff very friendly - the receptionist helped me out by scanning in a document and emailing it to me without fuss and without charge. Free on-street parking is available a few blocks away.

Disliked: Nil

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Next to the beach - Lot of fun in the surrounding clubs and bars - Cooled beer in the evening

Disliked: - BIt too expensive - partly not very helpfull and kind stuff

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Expensive for what it is.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Roberto Hernandez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011 Roberto would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Price and No Wi-fi

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Natalia Schmidt

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

07 July 2011 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to the beach and the bus station is not far away either. Moreover it was pretty clean for a hostel.

Disliked: The describtion says that you have wifi - yes you do only if you pay every hour, daily or you can get wifi from downstairs in "danny's" a restaurant/bar.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

phyllis bouwstra

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 July 2011 phyllis would recommend this property

Liked: The location was so nice en te staff was verry helpful.

Disliked: if your are not 21 the most of te actifities not for you

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The wifi was too expensive and the double bed my partner and I used in a private room was too soft and sank in the middle too much, squashing us together. Also, although there was an overhead fan, the room was a bit hot and stuffy.