HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Samesun Venice Beach Los Angeles Hostel

25 Windward Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, USA

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 79%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 96%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

All Guests Need Valid Passport Upon Check In and anyone without valid ID will be charged a nights stay and will not be allowed to remain on the premises. All Credit Cards will be charged for the first nights stay at 8:00am (PST), if it's not approved your bed will be set free. So please call if you have any Credit Card issues at least 24 hours in advance.
All payments must be done CASH only.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 79%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 96%

Value 78%

Showing 31-40 of 40 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very near the beach and Venice boardwalk, etc. Had a quiet night's sleep for the night we stayed there also.

Disliked: I may be wrong in saying this, but I didn't see it written anywhere about having to pay a cash deposit on arrival (for keys). Didn't affect us as we had the cash on us but is something others need to be aware of. Think it was $10 per key. Could've been cleaner in bathroom, sink areas.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the feedback. We do take a key deposit upon check in, and return it upon check out, however, we will follow up with this to make sure it is clearly stated on our website. safe travels

Sara, General Manager

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference

Liked: Close to the beach, very friendly staffs

Disliked: not much

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the feedback! We are glad to hear that the staff helped better your stay.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Amazing ocean views from the room. Can't beat the location. The staff were really helpful and the rooms were nice and clean.

Disliked: Having to leave!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, stunning views

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were really nice and helpful in regards to site seeing and partying. Good looking front desk guy! Best location under the sun, right near the Venice sign and loved the tranny cleaner!

Disliked: i wish the toilets wern't filled with water.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad our staff were able to help you while staying in Venice. We are staffed 24 hours a day so if there is an issue that needs to be addressed, such as a toilet, please don't hesitate to let a staff member know.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Good location by the beach and bars yet not too noisy. We had a private double room - very basic and not a great fan but did the job. .

Disliked: Need more bathrooms - only two per floor for c 10 rooms including dorms. Even separate loos and showers would help

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Our location cannot be beat! Sometimes in the summer it does get a little hot though, even with the ocean breeze, and we have additional fans that can be added to the room to create a better air flow.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Right on Venice Beach.

Disliked: No aircon so the room was extremely hot at night

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We have staff available 24 hours a day to help with anything you might need, including an additional fan for circulation. Southern California is beautiful, but hot. We understand!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Location was great, right next to the beach and really easy to get to from the Airport either by transfer shuttle or public bus was very quick and easy.I did the Friday night limo to the club activity and it was great fun!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the activities we are now offering!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location and friendly staff.

Disliked: Wifi was free, but had to pay to use tablets for internet, which is annoying if you don´t have a smart phone or laptop.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I had window with a sea view! Ask for room 318!Everything was ok, the room and bathroom was big and they had everything you need. Great location next to the beach and the Venice boardwalk.

Disliked: The WiFi was very poor, didn't work at all in my room and didn't even work everywhere in the common room.The kitchen was a bit small and they didn't offer any breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability