HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of SameSun Venice Beach

Hostel | 25 Windward Ave., Venice Beach, Los Angeles, California, USA 90291

80.5% Overall Rating

656 out of 734 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/05/2014)

Beth Dalgleish thinks…

"The location is amazing - right on the beach, you walk outside and you're basically smacked in the face with CALIFORNIA. In a great way. Our view had an awesome view looking out onto the beach, and…"

Read all SameSun Venice Beach reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

All Guests Need Valid Passport Upon Check In and anyone without valid ID will be charged a nights stay and will not be allowed to remain on the premises. All Credit Cards will be charged for the first nights stay at 8:00am (PST), if it's not approved your bed will be set free. So please call if you have any Credit Card issues at least 24 hours in advance. All payments must be done CASH only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Venice Beach Hostel - Pacific Avenue
39.00 USD

Hostel 72.6% 409 reviews
Cadillac Hotel
85.00 USD

Hostel 84.2% 13 reviews
Venice Beach Hostel - Washington Bld
35.00 USD

Hostel 71.0% 239 reviews
Marina 7 Motel
32.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Ocean Park Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.7% 42 reviews
Rodeway Inn
30.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Geneva Motel
28.51 USD

Hotel 69.1% 5 reviews
Howard's Hostel-Hotel
20.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.5%

Overall Rating

656 out of 734 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'SameSun Venice Beach'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
73.6%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 521 of 571 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

malcolm ladd

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2012 malcolm would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean, secure, friendly helpful people, had an enjoyable stay

Disliked: malcolm left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Schöne saubere Zimmer, bequeme Betten, tolle Badezimmer, alles super sauber! sehr angenehme Atmosphäre und super Lage!!

Disliked: In der Küche war nur ein Topf zum Nudeln kochen und es gab nur zwei Herdplatten. Da musste man Früh kommen um sein Abendbrot zuzubereiten! (sonst lange Wartezeiten)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, good rooms that get cleaned everyday.

Disliked: Only two showers/toilets on our level

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

marco carboni

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012

Liked: bem localizada

Disliked: atendentes não foram atenciosos, quarto nao limpo diariamente.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel run bar crawls, the excellent location

Disliked: Our room had an inward facing window to an ajascent wall, some sort of view woulda been nice, but then again it was nice n quiet at night.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Chelsea Hartshorn

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 October 2012

Liked: the travelers

Disliked: rude tall blonde guy on staff- if he doesnt like to be friendly then maybe he should work else where near no human life

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location by Venice Beach

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was really social and easy to talk to. Each night there was a different activity and the bar staff Christie took us out to clubs/bars around the area. Reception staff were also great

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a great spot - with easy access to the beach and waterfront. The staff are amazingly helpful and friendly - they accommodated all our needs and answered any questions we had about the area. The building is secure with a permanantly locked front door and security cameras. The pillows are the most comfortable we have had all year. The sheets and bathrooms are very clean.

Disliked: No laundry facilities and the closest one is a taxi ride away.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rory Underhill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 October 2012 Rory would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, I arrived and was tired and there was a problem with my booking, so instead of making me wait, I was upgraded into a 4 person dorm instantly so I could put my stuff down and have a shower. Very friendly atmosphere with a nice group feel, events are organised every night for anyone that wants to join. The location is perfect, right on the beach, could not be better if they tried.

Disliked: Nothing and it is rare for me to write a review as 100%, make sure you visit here!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Robert Bloor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Location and clean

Disliked: Common room sucked!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good value, they have socials every evening which makes it really easy to meet people etc.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Te location its awesome , they have a lot´s of restrictions but it´ls worth it for the security of the travellers.

Disliked: The Staff wasn`t so much friendly, but it depends of each person.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Pricey as fifty dollars for a dorm bed is really expensive

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Jane Freeman

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 September 2012 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent. Pretty much on the beach. Surrounding area was lively and safe.

Disliked: The room we stayed in was a private triple with no bathroom (room 304) and was one of the worst rooms I have stayed in in my life. (I have stayed in lots of hostels whilst travelling in Europe) The room was very small and smelt bad. The window was tiny and faced into another bedroom. The room was clean but because it was so rank and old fashioned it felt like we were constantly dirty. The shared bathrooms were ok though. We happened to see the private triple room with ensuite (room 305) which was really nice, large and clean with a massive window which had great views of Venice Beach. If we had stayed in this room I am sure our trip would have been more enjoyable. Value for money was quite bad considering we then went to Vegas and stayed in a 5* room for the same price! Also the receptionist did not warn us about parking on a red curb so we got a parking fine. Overall an excellent location and depending on the room either a BAD or alright stay.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Bowden

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

09 September 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for visiting Venice Beach and handy for delicious fish tacos below at Danny's. Rooms nothing flash but comfortable beds and ours was a cool room with a sea breeze and a lovely view of the beach.

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Wareing

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

20 August 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: All of the staff were very helpul during our stay, knowledgable about the area i.e shopping centres/ bus routes.

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a parking place next to the building (15$ for 1 night) The beach was really close (for sure @ venice beach :D) - right next to the building.

Disliked: It didn't look that safe, strangers out on the street in the night etc.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is so close to the beach and the staff were awesome!

Disliked: I think the common area/lounge is a bit small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Magdalen Purcell

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

14 July 2012 Magdalen would recommend this property

Liked: Close to beach

Disliked: Very noisy all day and into the night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristyn Simpson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2012 Kristyn would recommend this property

Liked: nice fun clean and helpfull and close to everything

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good vibe and very good location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Amanda Van Hesteren

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

20 June 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: the location was very nice and it has a good vibe. also some of the staff was really enthousiastic

Disliked: and some of the staff were not friendly at all

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a limpeza

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Natalie Shorter

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all really friendly and would give you advice on whatever you needed. The room was a decent size with a wash hand basin and we never had to queue to use the bathrooms.

Disliked: The location is interesting but as a female I would have felt a bit unsafe without my boyfriend. We also felt that without a car public transport wasn't the greatest, we tended to go to Santa Monica which wasn't far and got the bus from there instead.