HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Samesun Venice Beach Los Angeles Hostel

25 Windward Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, USA

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 76%

Location 96%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 75%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

All Guests Need Valid Passport Upon Check In and anyone without valid ID will be charged a nights stay and will not be allowed to remain on the premises. All Credit Cards will be charged for the first nights stay at 8:00am (PST), if it's not approved your bed will be set free. So please call if you have any Credit Card issues at least 24 hours in advance.
All payments must be done CASH only.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 76%

Location 96%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 75%

Showing 21-30 of 36 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location. friendly staff. clean bathrooms.

Disliked: The room had a window but it was completely blocked over. made for a really stuffy room with 8 people....

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. As the eight bed dorms are not ocean view (and more budget friendly) they don't get the ocean breeze but we have recently installed more fans in the rooms, and are looking at additional options to help with air flow.

Cheers and safe travels.

Sara

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's in the middle of the Venice Beach.

Disliked: It's a bit overpriced.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals

Liked: The location is amazing - right on the beach, you walk outside and you're basically smacked in the face with CALIFORNIA. In a great way. Our view had an awesome view looking out onto the beach, and you can hire bikes just outside the hostel and ride up to Santa Monica pier. Awesome stay.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the feedback! Glad you were able to enjoy Venice and the hostel's location to the beach.

Cheers and safe travels.

Sara

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, hostel has affiliation with bike rental downstairs so you get 10% off

Disliked: Staff ok, not overly helpful though.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: What a perfect location, right next to the beach! I had a great time, the staff were super friendly and it was easy to meet other travelers on the daily activities. I would definitely stay here again.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location was excellent for beach, bars.Discount on bike hire next door.

Disliked: A little scruffy.Could do with a makeover.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Right on Venice beach boardwalk, met some really nice people here! Also a handy shuttle bus that went to hollywood boulevard.

Disliked: Only two bathrooms per floor which is no where near enough!! Also the wifi was pretty dodgy and only worked if you crowded around the ATM in the hallway. Also 'free breakfast' was a bit of a let down, no options just oats one day and toast with jam the other day I was there.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the feedback. We had our technician to come and fix the wifi, which is now available throughout the hostel. Cheers and Safe travels

-Sara, General Manager

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The Australian evening event coordinator, made people traveling alone feel welcome and took a large group for taco night. Easy going staff. Water pressure good temp hot, for $40 you get a view of the beach WOW! Will definitely stay again.

Disliked: The area has a large homeless population which means the front door is locked and uninviting. You don't meet the warmth of SameSun until the 2nd floor hike.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the feedback. We like to make sure that all our guests feel safe, which is why we have our security measures in place (locked door and proof of stay for entry). Our Activity leader is great at promoting the nightly activities and making our guests feel welcome! cheers and safe travels
Sara
General Manager

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Perfect location, right in front od Venice Beach. Room was great, 4-dorm with own bathroom.

Disliked: No elevator. Quite cold during the night.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the feedback. During the winter months it does get a little cold. We do have extra blankets and heaters at the desk, upon request. Next time our 24-hour desk can help you out. Safe Travels.

Sara, General Manager

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: La ubicación está genial.

Disliked: El precio de la habitación doble y sin baño es bastante alto para lo que es.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability