We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of SameSun Venice Beach

Hostel | 25 Windward Ave., Venice Beach, Los Angeles, California, USA 90291

79.7% Overall Rating

656 out of 735 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/05/2014)

Beth Dalgleish thinks…

"The location is amazing - right on the beach, you walk outside and you're basically smacked in the face with CALIFORNIA. In a great way. Our view had an awesome view looking out onto the beach, and…"

Read all SameSun Venice Beach reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

All Guests Need Valid Passport Upon Check In and anyone without valid ID will be charged a nights stay and will not be allowed to remain on the premises. All Credit Cards will be charged for the first nights stay at 8:00am (PST), if it's not approved your bed will be set free. So please call if you have any Credit Card issues at least 24 hours in advance. All payments must be done CASH only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Venice Beach Hostel - Pacific Avenue
39.00 USD

Hostel 72.6% 409 reviews
Cadillac Hotel
70.00 USD

Hostel 84.2% 13 reviews
Venice Beach Hostel - Washington Bld
35.00 USD

Hostel 70.3% 240 reviews
Marina 7 Motel
32.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Ocean Park Hotel
40.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.7% 42 reviews
Rodeway Inn
30.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Geneva Motel
28.51 USD

Hotel 69.1% 5 reviews
Los Angeles Surf City Hostel
27.00 USD

Hostel 81.5% 301 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.7%

Overall Rating

656 out of 735 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'SameSun Venice Beach'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
72.8%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 522 of 572 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and friendly staff.

Disliked: Wifi was free, but had to pay to use tablets for internet, which is annoying if you don´t have a smart phone or laptop.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Lechner

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: I had window with a sea view! Ask for room 318! Everything was ok, the room and bathroom was big and they had everything you need. Great location next to the beach and the Venice boardwalk.

Disliked: The WiFi was very poor, didn't work at all in my room and didn't even work everywhere in the common room. The kitchen was a bit small and they didn't offer any breakfast.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lauren Hobbs

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The location couldn't get any better. We could see the beach out of our window.

Disliked: Upon arrive the gentleman at the from desk "claimed" that I had not booked the room for 2 people just one, even though I showed my email confirmation. We ended up having to pay for a more expensive room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is amazing, gorgeous view of the boardwalk and beach right from our room!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location

Disliked: Didn't find it to be as welcoming as other hostels I have stayed at in Los Angeles.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, great location. Very clean throughout. Comfy beds. Good atmosphere there.Good wifi.

Disliked: It would have been nice if towels were free. Better breakfast maybe? Only tea/coffee available. No parking which was difficult as had to find space in residential area & walk to hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel was just awesome! Loved the location and vibe! Staff were über friendly and helpful with all the questions I had. And I had ALOT!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay at Venice Beach Samesun. The Staff were great and friendly and helped me maximize my time while I was there. The rooms are big and spacious. Overall It's a very well run hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2013

Liked: Same sun was located in the heart of Venice beach and while it was central Venice beach itself is Not safe... We felt safe I side but as soon as u walked outside there were plenty of homeless men harassing you. Would not recommend if u are a girl alone, Staff were very friendly though :)

Disliked: The mattresses were hard and you could feel the springs As soon as u walked outside it felt very u safe, plenty of homeless people and bums Don't leave the hostel after 8pm it is unsafe Only 2 showers per floor, and they were dirty, mouldy with poor pressùe! Hot water ran out by 9am each day Rooms were dark and smelly, we asked for the Light to be fixed 3 times but was never fixed Had a Lounge area but not many people hung out here as it did not get wi fi Poor signal wifi

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! Super friendly staff, clean, well-located on Venice Beach boardwalk...highly recommended if you're in the area!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Patrik Ganther

Alone

City break

22 March 2013 Patrik would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, some rooms with sea view, pretty clean and only hostelcustomers are allowed to come in. Floors and rooms looking pretty fresh painted.

Disliked: You have to carry your luggages in the first floor, no lift inside. The Lounge and kitchen are really small and the Lounge was pretty dark in absence of a lamp on the ceiling. Staff was very unpolite and seemed pretty bugged when you don´t speak english very well and have to ask twice. Atmosphere was very cold, because nobody wants to sit in the Lounge or in the small and not so clean kitchen. WI-/FI signal collapsed a few times and was not steady. In the Lounge I couldn´t get Wifi, as I asked staff what´s wrong they told me that there is everything ok, she has already checked it a few minutes ago.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Drolet

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location if you want to stay near venice beach. The staff is really friendly and outgoing and there are ativities organised every night. I recommend this place to anyone!

Disliked: The mattress was really not comfortable, but for the price we paid for this private room it is OK.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Heistracher

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!!!

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, view, clienliness

Disliked: Staff were rude

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Fraser

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location

Disliked: impossible to get to 6 flags, disneyland and takes 2 hours to universal studios. Also cold room, we both got sick

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good if you just want a nice beach area to stay. Short walk to some nice bars and 2 mins from the beach. Something on every night organised by the hostel and a kitchen to cook your own food. free good WiFi which worked in all areas and clean rooms.

Disliked: The epic long bus rides into LA downtown, but think this can be the case in most places away from the centre. Although excellent WiFi, there is a charge to use the computers which is annoying if you want to upload photosor don't have your own device! Beds aren't the comfiest and lack of the window s made it a little claustrophobic in the larger dorm rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wendy Kear

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2013 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: Venice Beach Cotel is in a great location, very clean. Lots of places to eat within walking distance. 2 minutes to the beach.

Disliked: Some of the staff were not that friendly but then others were very friendly and helpful, I guess it depends on whos on the desk.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's pretty clean

Disliked: Lack of locker

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: To be honest, this hostel is the best one and safest one among all the hostel I have stayed in both Los Angeles and San Francisco. It is very clean and tidy inside the building and the rooms. The showers are awesome and kitchen is well equipted. They clean everywhere almost everyday. If you are waiting for the plane, I recommend this hostel. Their shuttle bus is very flexible and cheap ($14 on the day I booked it).

Disliked: This hostel do not have a laundry room. You have to take your clothes across the street to do laundry. You also need to make sure the room key is with you all the time. The door of your room will close behind you.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013

Liked: Staff extremely friendly and very helpful

Disliked: Venice beach is far far far - it takes over an hour and a half on public transport to get to downtown LA. if you like the beach (or skating or smoking) it's probably alright to stay here. However the amount of homeless people around VB is astounding, all along the boardwalk and especially just outside the hostel. We stayed in double ensuite room which was ok, had clean towels and sheets, although mattress and blanket had seen better days possibly 15 years ago. Santa Monica would be a better area to stay in.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is conveniently located near the beach.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was excellent and staff very helpful. was clean and safe, accurate online description, it was everything i had expected it to be.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Judith de Geus

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2012 Judith would recommend this property

Liked: The location!

Disliked: Judith left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, right on the beach.

Disliked: Reception a bit unhelpful and confused my check out day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antoniette Santoro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2012 Antoniette would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location!!! Super clean! Great staff.

Disliked: Antoniette left no negative feedback.