HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of SameSun Venice Beach

Hostel | 25 Windward Ave., Venice Beach, Los Angeles, California, USA 90291

77.9% Overall Rating

652 out of 729 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/05/2014)

Beth Dalgleish thinks…

"The location is amazing - right on the beach, you walk outside and you're basically smacked in the face with CALIFORNIA. In a great way. Our view had an awesome view looking out onto the beach, and…"

Read all SameSun Venice Beach reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

All Guests Need Valid Passport Upon Check In and anyone without valid ID will be charged a nights stay and will not be allowed to remain on the premises. All Credit Cards will be charged for the first nights stay at 8:00am (PST), if it's not approved your bed will be set free. So please call if you have any Credit Card issues at least 24 hours in advance. All payments must be done CASH only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Venice Beach Hostel - Pacific Avenue
42.50 USD

Hostel 76.7% 402 reviews
Cadillac Hotel
102.00 USD

Hostel 83.1% 12 reviews
Venice Beach Hostel - Washington Bld
40.00 USD

Hostel 71.0% 239 reviews
Marina 7 Motel
32.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Ocean Park Hotel
55.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.8% 40 reviews
Rodeway Inn
60.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Geneva Motel
28.51 USD

Hotel 69.1% 5 reviews
Howard's Hostel-Hotel
20.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.9%

Overall Rating

652 out of 729 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'SameSun Venice Beach'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
82.4%
Value
72.0%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 518 of 566 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location

Disliked: Didn't find it to be as welcoming as other hostels I have stayed at in Los Angeles.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, great location. Very clean throughout. Comfy beds. Good atmosphere there.Good wifi.

Disliked: It would have been nice if towels were free. Better breakfast maybe? Only tea/coffee available. No parking which was difficult as had to find space in residential area & walk to hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel was just awesome! Loved the location and vibe! Staff were über friendly and helpful with all the questions I had. And I had ALOT!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay at Venice Beach Samesun. The Staff were great and friendly and helped me maximize my time while I was there. The rooms are big and spacious. Overall It's a very well run hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2013

Liked: Same sun was located in the heart of Venice beach and while it was central Venice beach itself is Not safe... We felt safe I side but as soon as u walked outside there were plenty of homeless men harassing you. Would not recommend if u are a girl alone, Staff were very friendly though :)

Disliked: The mattresses were hard and you could feel the springs As soon as u walked outside it felt very u safe, plenty of homeless people and bums Don't leave the hostel after 8pm it is unsafe Only 2 showers per floor, and they were dirty, mouldy with poor pressùe! Hot water ran out by 9am each day Rooms were dark and smelly, we asked for the Light to be fixed 3 times but was never fixed Had a Lounge area but not many people hung out here as it did not get wi fi Poor signal wifi

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! Super friendly staff, clean, well-located on Venice Beach boardwalk...highly recommended if you're in the area!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Patrik Ganther

Alone

City break

22 March 2013 Patrik would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, some rooms with sea view, pretty clean and only hostelcustomers are allowed to come in. Floors and rooms looking pretty fresh painted.

Disliked: You have to carry your luggages in the first floor, no lift inside. The Lounge and kitchen are really small and the Lounge was pretty dark in absence of a lamp on the ceiling. Staff was very unpolite and seemed pretty bugged when you don´t speak english very well and have to ask twice. Atmosphere was very cold, because nobody wants to sit in the Lounge or in the small and not so clean kitchen. WI-/FI signal collapsed a few times and was not steady. In the Lounge I couldn´t get Wifi, as I asked staff what´s wrong they told me that there is everything ok, she has already checked it a few minutes ago.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Drolet

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location if you want to stay near venice beach. The staff is really friendly and outgoing and there are ativities organised every night. I recommend this place to anyone!

Disliked: The mattress was really not comfortable, but for the price we paid for this private room it is OK.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Heistracher

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!!!

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, view, clienliness

Disliked: Staff were rude

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Fraser

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location

Disliked: impossible to get to 6 flags, disneyland and takes 2 hours to universal studios. Also cold room, we both got sick

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good if you just want a nice beach area to stay. Short walk to some nice bars and 2 mins from the beach. Something on every night organised by the hostel and a kitchen to cook your own food. free good WiFi which worked in all areas and clean rooms.

Disliked: The epic long bus rides into LA downtown, but think this can be the case in most places away from the centre. Although excellent WiFi, there is a charge to use the computers which is annoying if you want to upload photosor don't have your own device! Beds aren't the comfiest and lack of the window s made it a little claustrophobic in the larger dorm rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wendy Kear

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2013 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: Venice Beach Cotel is in a great location, very clean. Lots of places to eat within walking distance. 2 minutes to the beach.

Disliked: Some of the staff were not that friendly but then others were very friendly and helpful, I guess it depends on whos on the desk.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's pretty clean

Disliked: Lack of locker

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: To be honest, this hostel is the best one and safest one among all the hostel I have stayed in both Los Angeles and San Francisco. It is very clean and tidy inside the building and the rooms. The showers are awesome and kitchen is well equipted. They clean everywhere almost everyday. If you are waiting for the plane, I recommend this hostel. Their shuttle bus is very flexible and cheap ($14 on the day I booked it).

Disliked: This hostel do not have a laundry room. You have to take your clothes across the street to do laundry. You also need to make sure the room key is with you all the time. The door of your room will close behind you.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013

Liked: Staff extremely friendly and very helpful

Disliked: Venice beach is far far far - it takes over an hour and a half on public transport to get to downtown LA. if you like the beach (or skating or smoking) it's probably alright to stay here. However the amount of homeless people around VB is astounding, all along the boardwalk and especially just outside the hostel. We stayed in double ensuite room which was ok, had clean towels and sheets, although mattress and blanket had seen better days possibly 15 years ago. Santa Monica would be a better area to stay in.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is conveniently located near the beach.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was excellent and staff very helpful. was clean and safe, accurate online description, it was everything i had expected it to be.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Judith de Geus

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2012 Judith would recommend this property

Liked: The location!

Disliked: Judith left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, right on the beach.

Disliked: Reception a bit unhelpful and confused my check out day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antoniette Santoro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2012 Antoniette would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location!!! Super clean! Great staff.

Disliked: Antoniette left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Beetham Beetham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Daniel Beetham would recommend this property

Liked: Location is amazing. Right on Venice beach, my room had an ocean view. The staff were really friendly and happy to help, and I met some awesome people at the hostel.

Disliked: Daniel Beetham left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

malcolm ladd

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2012 malcolm would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean, secure, friendly helpful people, had an enjoyable stay

Disliked: malcolm left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Schöne saubere Zimmer, bequeme Betten, tolle Badezimmer, alles super sauber! sehr angenehme Atmosphäre und super Lage!!

Disliked: In der Küche war nur ein Topf zum Nudeln kochen und es gab nur zwei Herdplatten. Da musste man Früh kommen um sein Abendbrot zuzubereiten! (sonst lange Wartezeiten)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, good rooms that get cleaned everyday.

Disliked: Only two showers/toilets on our level