We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of SameSun Venice Beach

Hostel | 25 Windward Ave., Venice Beach, Los Angeles, California, USA 90291

82.6% Overall Rating

667 out of 746 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2015)

"Great central location at the Venice Beach and promenade,, excellent exterior, nice interior, private bathroom with all new facilities, spacy lockers, comfortable bunk beds, friendly and hepfull staff,, Stylish Danny's…"

Read all SameSun Venice Beach reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

All Guests Need Valid Passport Upon Check In and anyone without valid ID will be charged a nights stay and will not be allowed to remain on the premises. All Credit Cards will be charged for the first nights stay at 8:00am (PST), if it's not approved your bed will be set free. So please call if you have any Credit Card issues at least 24 hours in advance. All payments must be done CASH only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Venice Beach Hostel - Pacific Avenue
42.00 USD

Hostel 71.5% 416 reviews
Cadillac Hotel
90.00 USD

Hostel 84.2% 13 reviews
Venice Beach Hostel - Washington Bld
45.00 USD

Hostel 74.1% 244 reviews
Ocean Park Hotel
45.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.6% 46 reviews
Rodeway Inn
200.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Geneva Motel
32.90 USD

Hotel 66.5% 7 reviews
Los Angeles Surf City Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 81.3% 305 reviews
Super 8 Inglewood/LAX
45.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

667 out of 746 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'SameSun Venice Beach'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
73.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 530 of 583 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Michelle Walsh

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Very near the beach and Venice boardwalk, etc. Had a quiet night's sleep for the night we stayed there also.

Disliked: I may be wrong in saying this, but I didn't see it written anywhere about having to pay a cash deposit on arrival (for keys). Didn't affect us as we had the cash on us but is something others need to be aware of. Think it was $10 per key. Could've been cleaner in bathroom, sink areas.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the beach, very friendly staffs

Disliked: not much

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing ocean views from the room. Can't beat the location. The staff were really helpful and the rooms were nice and clean.

Disliked: Having to leave!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, stunning views

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alexandra Ede

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

22 July 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Good location by the beach and bars yet not too noisy. We had a private double room - very basic and not a great fan but did the job. .

Disliked: Need more bathrooms - only two per floor for c 10 rooms including dorms. Even separate loos and showers would help

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessie Whittaker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Jessie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really nice and helpful in regards to site seeing and partying. Good looking front desk guy! Best location under the sun, right near the Venice sign and loved the tranny cleaner!

Disliked: i wish the toilets wern't filled with water.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right on Venice Beach.

Disliked: No aircon so the room was extremely hot at night

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Danielle ONeill

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

19 June 2013 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, right next to the beach and really easy to get to from the Airport either by transfer shuttle or public bus was very quick and easy. I did the Friday night limo to the club activity and it was great fun!

Disliked: Danielle left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and friendly staff.

Disliked: Wifi was free, but had to pay to use tablets for internet, which is annoying if you don´t have a smart phone or laptop.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Lechner

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: I had window with a sea view! Ask for room 318! Everything was ok, the room and bathroom was big and they had everything you need. Great location next to the beach and the Venice boardwalk.

Disliked: The WiFi was very poor, didn't work at all in my room and didn't even work everywhere in the common room. The kitchen was a bit small and they didn't offer any breakfast.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lauren Hobbs

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The location couldn't get any better. We could see the beach out of our window.

Disliked: Upon arrive the gentleman at the from desk "claimed" that I had not booked the room for 2 people just one, even though I showed my email confirmation. We ended up having to pay for a more expensive room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is amazing, gorgeous view of the boardwalk and beach right from our room!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location

Disliked: Didn't find it to be as welcoming as other hostels I have stayed at in Los Angeles.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, great location. Very clean throughout. Comfy beds. Good atmosphere there.Good wifi.

Disliked: It would have been nice if towels were free. Better breakfast maybe? Only tea/coffee available. No parking which was difficult as had to find space in residential area & walk to hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel was just awesome! Loved the location and vibe! Staff were über friendly and helpful with all the questions I had. And I had ALOT!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay at Venice Beach Samesun. The Staff were great and friendly and helped me maximize my time while I was there. The rooms are big and spacious. Overall It's a very well run hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2013

Liked: Same sun was located in the heart of Venice beach and while it was central Venice beach itself is Not safe... We felt safe I side but as soon as u walked outside there were plenty of homeless men harassing you. Would not recommend if u are a girl alone, Staff were very friendly though :)

Disliked: The mattresses were hard and you could feel the springs As soon as u walked outside it felt very u safe, plenty of homeless people and bums Don't leave the hostel after 8pm it is unsafe Only 2 showers per floor, and they were dirty, mouldy with poor pressùe! Hot water ran out by 9am each day Rooms were dark and smelly, we asked for the Light to be fixed 3 times but was never fixed Had a Lounge area but not many people hung out here as it did not get wi fi Poor signal wifi

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! Super friendly staff, clean, well-located on Venice Beach boardwalk...highly recommended if you're in the area!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Patrik Ganther

Alone

City break

22 March 2013 Patrik would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, some rooms with sea view, pretty clean and only hostelcustomers are allowed to come in. Floors and rooms looking pretty fresh painted.

Disliked: You have to carry your luggages in the first floor, no lift inside. The Lounge and kitchen are really small and the Lounge was pretty dark in absence of a lamp on the ceiling. Staff was very unpolite and seemed pretty bugged when you don´t speak english very well and have to ask twice. Atmosphere was very cold, because nobody wants to sit in the Lounge or in the small and not so clean kitchen. WI-/FI signal collapsed a few times and was not steady. In the Lounge I couldn´t get Wifi, as I asked staff what´s wrong they told me that there is everything ok, she has already checked it a few minutes ago.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Drolet

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location if you want to stay near venice beach. The staff is really friendly and outgoing and there are ativities organised every night. I recommend this place to anyone!

Disliked: The mattress was really not comfortable, but for the price we paid for this private room it is OK.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Heistracher

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!!!

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, view, clienliness

Disliked: Staff were rude

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Fraser

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location

Disliked: impossible to get to 6 flags, disneyland and takes 2 hours to universal studios. Also cold room, we both got sick

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good if you just want a nice beach area to stay. Short walk to some nice bars and 2 mins from the beach. Something on every night organised by the hostel and a kitchen to cook your own food. free good WiFi which worked in all areas and clean rooms.

Disliked: The epic long bus rides into LA downtown, but think this can be the case in most places away from the centre. Although excellent WiFi, there is a charge to use the computers which is annoying if you want to upload photosor don't have your own device! Beds aren't the comfiest and lack of the window s made it a little claustrophobic in the larger dorm rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wendy Kear

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2013 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: Venice Beach Cotel is in a great location, very clean. Lots of places to eat within walking distance. 2 minutes to the beach.

Disliked: Some of the staff were not that friendly but then others were very friendly and helpful, I guess it depends on whos on the desk.