HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Samesun Venice Beach Los Angeles Hostel

25 Windward Ave, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, USA

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 74%

Location 96%

Safety 87%

Staff 91%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

All Guests Need Valid Passport Upon Check In and anyone without valid ID will be charged a nights stay and will not be allowed to remain on the premises. All Credit Cards will be charged for the first nights stay at 8:00am (PST), if it's not approved your bed will be set free. So please call if you have any Credit Card issues at least 24 hours in advance.
All payments must be done CASH only.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 74%

Location 96%

Safety 87%

Staff 91%

Value 74%

Showing 11-20 of 33 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is phenomenal! You only have to walk 50 meters so get to the beach. And there are also some hostel activities like "taco tuesday" which are really funny because you get to know so many other people there. It was really cool to stay there because I was travelling alone and didn't know anybody.

Disliked: The private bathroom wasn't really so clean and the water was really cold in the shower. It was also very loud in the rooms at night when the windows were open.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the hostel's activities. Taco Tuesday is a very popular one. Please don't hesitate to let the staff know if there is an area that needs our attention. There are some things that we cannot control, such as the noise outside, however, we do provide ear plugs to our guests, as we understand those noises can affect sleeping. Cheers and safe travels,
Sara General Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It might be a little pricy, but worth every penny. I stayed in a four-bed dorm with bathroom and could actually see the ocean from my dorm. The bathroom was cleaned on a daily basis. Additionally, there were little signs in the rooms that asked to inform the staff if it's not clean - someone really cares here!The staff was very nice and always ready to help. Once I had heaved my very heavy bag upstairs, they told me that they'd even assist with that. And they did when I checked out. They offer daily outings, in which I did not participate, but those who did seemed to enjoy them. The breakfast consisted of pancakes, toast, jams, and oranges, which were great.You can buy towels (2$) and locks at the hostel, I only bought towels and regretted having to leave them behind (luggage-wise). All in all, this might very well be the best hostel experience I have had so far. I'd check in again!

Disliked: The location right at the beach/ broadwalk means that it is noisy throughout the day and for most of the night. There's music and you can hear people, but it's really not that bad.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Our private room was clean and tidy, had nice sheets, and TV with too many channels to choose from. Provided towels as well. The staff were excellent, very friendly and informative. Very safe feeling and the location was perfect, you're right amongst the beautiful craziness of Venice Beach. The "shared" bathrooms are bathrooms with one toilet and a shower, so it didn't really feel like a regular shared public toilet.

Disliked: Bed in the private room was a bit caved in in the middle. Carpets near the check in needed a good shampooing, smelled a bit like someone had gotten sick.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location next to Venice Beach.

Disliked: No elevator, pretty old interior.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were helpful, great location.

Disliked: Smells like urine, bit dirty, very noisy late at night & in the mornings - partying in the common area, loud music outside and you can hear everyone having breakfast inside.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location! Nice to have free breakfast. Reasonably clean beside bizarre odour!!

Disliked: Really bad showers with no water pressure. Room smelt a little of stale sweat. Bathrooms often occupied by other guests!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Amazing location, my view out of my room was the legendary Venice Beach! the staff were very helpful to, the activities were cool to.

Disliked: Their could have been more activities lined up for guests I felt although I did miss weekend events so perhaps things were more lively then, still a great place to stay!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the feedback. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We offer daily and nightly activities from beach volley ball, promenade bike rides to sunset happy hour and taco Tuesday - not just on weekends. Hopefully next time you are in Venice you can participate in as many as possible!

Cheers and safe travels,
Sara
General Manager

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Close to the beach and shops the staff were friendly and happy to help.

Disliked: I would no recommend someone that is easily scared and travelling alone to check in this place after dark, the area at night is not the safest. The hostel is dirty and not really worth the amount we paid. If renting a car the parking is terrible and costs a lot.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Great staff, great location, great atmosphere.

Disliked: Third floor was a little hot, but nothing major.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was very clean and the staff was very helpful. Location perfect.

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms just 2 on one floor.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability