We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Orange Drive Hostel

Hostel | 1764 North Orange Drive, Los Angeles, California, USA CA 90028

85.8% Overall Rating

147 out of 175 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/06/2015)

Rita Pinto thinks…

"I loved to stay at this Hostel. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, where it was possible to make our own pancakes, delicious!"

Read all Orange Drive Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.00
  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Safety Cash Deposit upon arrival; $20/ Dorm and $50/ Private room. You will be charged 8% when using credit and/or debit cards.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Hollywood and Highland Hotel and Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 72.8% 125 reviews
Samesun Hollywood
35.00 USD

Hostel 81.5% 397 reviews
Saharan Motor Hotel
62.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 49 reviews
USA Hostels Hollywood
30.00 USD

Hostel 87.2% 600 reviews
PodShare
40.00 USD

Hostel 96.0% 22 reviews
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
39.88 USD

Hostel 86.3% 207 reviews
Hollywood Palms Inn & Suites
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
41.88 USD

Hostel 87.0% 368 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.8%

Overall Rating

147 out of 175 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Orange Drive Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 122 of 136 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rita Pinto

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2015 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: I loved to stay at this Hostel. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, where it was possible to make our own pancakes, delicious!

Disliked: Rita left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a four bed dorm which was big enough to never feel crowded. Also liked the location, close to Broadway blv and public transportation.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, comfortable bed, bathrooms clean! Friendly staff.

Disliked: Door locks are very tricky to open. Could offer milk for breakfast.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Property has great atmosphere and charm. Location is great for the cost.

Disliked: The kitchen is small and there are not enough tables to eat at.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

debbie Hollis

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2015

Liked: Great location, on Hollywood blv

Disliked: The rooms were small and the bed was so uncomfortable! Also only offered waffles and maple syrup for breakfast, which you had to make yourself. Instant coffee too.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tobias Huber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2015 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: I came as a guest and left as a friend - what more is there to say?

Disliked: Tobias left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yanan Liu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014

Liked: It is a very cheap hostel there are very useful information handout available for customers: bus information, attractions...

Disliked: Bed light should be provided, when I came back at 10pm, other room mates were asleep, so hard to see anything.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alina Kalinchenko

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Alina would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly cozy and quiet island just few meters away from Hollywood. I would say, everything is nice and sweet about it: personnel, furnishing & breakfast...

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Addie Walsh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014 Addie would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean and quiet. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Breakfast isn't really provided... there is a waffle machine and oatmeal, but no milk for the oats and you don't feel very welcome when you try to use any of it.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maeve Murphy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Maeve would recommend this property

Liked: It was brilliant. Great location, the staff were friendly and helpful (we arrived early and they shuffled things around so that we could check in then) and it was clean and comfortable.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annette Brennan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2014 Annette would recommend this property

Liked: Most of the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, lots of information available on how to get to places of interest by public transport . Clean and comfortable, cleaners do excellent job, rooms and bathroom always clean and tidy.

Disliked: Annette left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Boring atmosphere

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

TING YANG CHIANG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2014 TING YANG would recommend this property

Liked: Totally it is good!

Disliked: Little bit too expensive. Breakfast...only oatmeal...even not ate eat...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malin Emilie Hoff

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2014 Malin Emilie would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the atmosphere, felt like a home, easy to get to know other travellers, great location.

Disliked: Only pancakes and oatmeal for breakfast, other than that, nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean place, big rooms, nice with the patio in the garden. Very close to the subway and right in the center of Hollywood boulevard.

Disliked: The only thing I missed was the acces of computers with internet (they had two that were both out of order)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Crafar

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: There are three things that I look for when choosing an accommodation provider online; cleanliness, facilities and location. Orange Drive Hostel had all three as features of their property and they weren't wrong. Our rooms (we went back for a second stay on this holiday) were very clean, had all you'd want from a private double and comfortable beds. The hostel has a kitchen with free breakfast and coffee, showers with good pressure and a laundry. The free WiFi was the best on our holiday too, other accommodations we stayed at had free WiFi but it was slow in comparison.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michelle Walsh

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, near so much. Nice and quiet for a good night's sleep.

Disliked: Couple of funny characters stayed there but didn't bother us. Would be nice if the private rooms had televisions.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and excellent location in a quiet road just off Hollywood Blvd. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the double room we booked was very nice and the hostel itself was pleasant. The common area was really good and the kitchen was well equipped. They provide oatmeal for you to make yourself in the mornings (but you need to buy your own milk – many people didn’t realise this!).

Disliked: Bit noisy early in the morning with the dogs barking and people talking loudly but we had a great stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anton Pavlov

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 June 2013 Anton would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly located in Hollywood, but a little bit strange hostel. Personnel is very friendly and helpful, and in addition hostel has its private parking!

Disliked: We stayed in private room with shared bathroom, and it was very-very small. The kitchen is not very comfortable and the building at all is slightly crazy in planning :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location Helpful staff

Disliked: Shared showers were in pretty poor condition and the one on our floor was out of order and I had to go to another floor for a shower which was very inconvienient. Windows were very old too so rooms were hot in the day and noisy at night!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helen Jeffery

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location! Absolutely perfect place to stay - minutes from the Walk of Fame etc. but not so close that you can't get a good night's sleep. Staff super friendly and helpful, bathrooms kept clean at all times. We spent so much time out exploring LA that we didn't use the kitchen or common areas, so we can't comment on them. Will recommend to everyone we know going to LA and will definitely be back to stay again.

Disliked: This isn't really the fault of the hostel, but for two days during our stay, the hostel was taken over by people filming a pilot for a new show. As a result, we were constantly kept waiting around coming from or going to our room, while they finished filming. This was ok for the first day, but by the second day, we were pretty fed up with it. We only had 5 days in LA and were trying to cram as much in as possible, so being told to wait all the time, got very frustrating. It felt like they took priority over paying guests, and I don't think this was right. However, I really don't think this is the fault of the hostel staff - just the people filming who felt they had more of a right to be there than us!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Saunders

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: See above

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing old hollywood mansion in a great location. Comfy bed, really clean facilities.

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carrie Young

Alone

Business / conference

10 March 2013 Carrie would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very great deal if you are looking for a clean and quiet hostel. If you are expecting a 5 star hotel for 30$ a night forget about it. Must say, I stayed at the Hotel Roosevelt the night before and my bed in my private room was more comfortable at the Orange if you can believe it.

Disliked: Was a little miffed when I bumped my room from a dorm to private at one a.m. that the deposit was 30$ more and that I was directed to go to an ATM few blocks away in the middle of the night when I discovered I was a few dollars short.