HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Orange Drive Hostel

Hostel | 1764 North Orange Drive, Los Angeles, California, USA CA 90028

80.5% Overall Rating

130 out of 155 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/01/2014)

Malin Emilie Hoff thinks…

"Loved the atmosphere, felt like a home, easy to get to know other travellers, great location."

Read all Orange Drive Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.00
  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Safety Cash Deposit upon arrival; $20/ Dorm and $50/ Private room. You will be charged 8% when using credit and/or debit cards.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Hollywood and Highland Hotel and Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 70.5% 112 reviews
Hollywood Youth Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 81.4% 342 reviews
Saharan Motor Hotel
62.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 49 reviews
USA Hostels Hollywood
36.00 USD

Hostel 90.6% 553 reviews
PodShare
50.00 USD

Hostel 95.4% 18 reviews
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
29.99 USD

Hostel 84.7% 188 reviews
Hollywood Palms Inn & Suites
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
30.00 USD

Hostel 84.5% 340 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.5%

Overall Rating

130 out of 155 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Orange Drive Hostel'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
74.4%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 111 of 118 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Boring atmosphere

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

TING YANG CHIANG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2014 TING YANG would recommend this property

Liked: Totally it is good!

Disliked: Little bit too expensive. Breakfast...only oatmeal...even not ate eat...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malin Emilie Hoff

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2014 Malin Emilie would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the atmosphere, felt like a home, easy to get to know other travellers, great location.

Disliked: Only pancakes and oatmeal for breakfast, other than that, nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean place, big rooms, nice with the patio in the garden. Very close to the subway and right in the center of Hollywood boulevard.

Disliked: The only thing I missed was the acces of computers with internet (they had two that were both out of order)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Crafar

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: There are three things that I look for when choosing an accommodation provider online; cleanliness, facilities and location. Orange Drive Hostel had all three as features of their property and they weren't wrong. Our rooms (we went back for a second stay on this holiday) were very clean, had all you'd want from a private double and comfortable beds. The hostel has a kitchen with free breakfast and coffee, showers with good pressure and a laundry. The free WiFi was the best on our holiday too, other accommodations we stayed at had free WiFi but it was slow in comparison.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michelle Walsh

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, near so much. Nice and quiet for a good night's sleep.

Disliked: Couple of funny characters stayed there but didn't bother us. Would be nice if the private rooms had televisions.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and excellent location in a quiet road just off Hollywood Blvd. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the double room we booked was very nice and the hostel itself was pleasant. The common area was really good and the kitchen was well equipped. They provide oatmeal for you to make yourself in the mornings (but you need to buy your own milk – many people didn’t realise this!).

Disliked: Bit noisy early in the morning with the dogs barking and people talking loudly but we had a great stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anton Pavlov

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 June 2013 Anton would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly located in Hollywood, but a little bit strange hostel. Personnel is very friendly and helpful, and in addition hostel has its private parking!

Disliked: We stayed in private room with shared bathroom, and it was very-very small. The kitchen is not very comfortable and the building at all is slightly crazy in planning :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location Helpful staff

Disliked: Shared showers were in pretty poor condition and the one on our floor was out of order and I had to go to another floor for a shower which was very inconvienient. Windows were very old too so rooms were hot in the day and noisy at night!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helen Jeffery

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location! Absolutely perfect place to stay - minutes from the Walk of Fame etc. but not so close that you can't get a good night's sleep. Staff super friendly and helpful, bathrooms kept clean at all times. We spent so much time out exploring LA that we didn't use the kitchen or common areas, so we can't comment on them. Will recommend to everyone we know going to LA and will definitely be back to stay again.

Disliked: This isn't really the fault of the hostel, but for two days during our stay, the hostel was taken over by people filming a pilot for a new show. As a result, we were constantly kept waiting around coming from or going to our room, while they finished filming. This was ok for the first day, but by the second day, we were pretty fed up with it. We only had 5 days in LA and were trying to cram as much in as possible, so being told to wait all the time, got very frustrating. It felt like they took priority over paying guests, and I don't think this was right. However, I really don't think this is the fault of the hostel staff - just the people filming who felt they had more of a right to be there than us!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Saunders

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: See above

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing old hollywood mansion in a great location. Comfy bed, really clean facilities.

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carrie Young

Alone

Business / conference

10 March 2013 Carrie would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very great deal if you are looking for a clean and quiet hostel. If you are expecting a 5 star hotel for 30$ a night forget about it. Must say, I stayed at the Hotel Roosevelt the night before and my bed in my private room was more comfortable at the Orange if you can believe it.

Disliked: Was a little miffed when I bumped my room from a dorm to private at one a.m. that the deposit was 30$ more and that I was directed to go to an ATM few blocks away in the middle of the night when I discovered I was a few dollars short.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 December 2012

Liked: The location.

Disliked: Extremely dull, the common areas were always deserted, most of the guest were Asian and kept to themselves which is not great especially compared to most hostels I have stayed out where it is much more diversified and international and people were actually interested in talking to others and meeting new people from other countries! I also did not appreciate getting charged to use the internet only to realize that it didn't really work. No lockers in the room, you need to go to the basement and pay everytime you want to take something out or add something in your locker!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I quite liked this hostel. The bathrooms were clean, and were cleaned every morning. The room was quite good. The mattress cover on the beds needed replacing, they were worn out and torn, but the sheets were clean, which go over the mattress cover (you make your own bed), the bed was comfortable, the location is quiet but just a 2 min walk to Hollywood Bvl, where all the tourists are and bus/sub way stops. Since the bus stop is very close, can easily go almost anywhere without a car, but there is a car park at the back of the hostel for a fee. The staff were quite friendly and helpful giving directions but once or twice I felt that one woman in particular wanted me to hurry up so she can help others waiting. The area was quite safe even at night, the odd homeless ranting but otherwise nothing to get scared about. Im a single woman travelling alone and had no problems, even walking down Hollywood bvl in the evening. Theres a small kitchen which was fine to prepare meals and a supermarket on Hollywood bvl, called Fresh n Easy, which was 5 mins walk to the hostel. Reasonably priced too. Wifi was $5 for the entire stay, one time fee, which was quite cheap and was quite good. This is NOT a party hostel, but social enough to meet other travellers. They booked my shutle bus to the LAX airport, $16 one way, the bus picked me up from the hostel at 6am was worth it. Overall I would stay here again as its clean, comfortable and reasonably priced.

Disliked: Some bathrooms didnt had hot water, was barely warm but there was a bathroom upstairs that had hot water and good pressure, overheard someone telling me this. The room didnt get cleaned or the trash bin emptied after a few days (I stayed there for 6 says and didnt see anything done until after 5 days! I told reception but they had already sorted it). I had milk in the fridge and by the morning someone drank it all and left the empty bottle in the fridge! I told reception and they couldnt do much but they have CCTV cameras which looks into the kitchen and said they will have a look. I noticed later theres one installed in the kitchen. They told me to leave food in the staff fridge at the back of the lounge, as hardly anyone uses it. I did and no one stole anything. Just be careful of your stuff. No lockers in the room but a key to access the room and hostel, no curfew but reception closes at 1 am and theres a $20 key deposit, which is refundable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Love this hostel Friendly and helpful staff.Clean Comfy beds.Close to all the main attractions in Hollywood.5 minutes walk to metro and busses.Not a mad party place but who needs it when you have all the action just around the corner.I highly recomend this hostel.I was here for 6 days at the start of my 6 months trip in the US then came back for 10 days at the end.Sorry to have to leave.Lone female senior traveler.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 200m away from Chinese Theatre, great location. Good kitchen facilities.

Disliked: I was a single paying for a double room , yet still had to pay extra for a towel. Bathrooms far apart and small, one eithout so much as a hook to hang clothes or toilet bag.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul McMahon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Very Good Location

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Terrill

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

24 April 2012 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely quaint atmosphere, very close to the action on Hollywood Boulevard, and close to the Metro rail system.

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near Hollywood Blvd and associated attractions convenient parking and internet access

Disliked: water in bathrooms did not heat up when i used them

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christopher schwarz

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2011 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel in hollywood. Clean, great location and friendly staff. Parking is available too on location.

Disliked: no complaints

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: Extremely noisy rooms 24/7

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpfull staff close to major attractions ideal for travelers who are not into partying would recomend this hostel

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. Right behind Chinese theatre minutes walk

Disliked: Charge you to pay via credit card, charge you 5 dollars to use the Internet that most places you get free, staff unfriendly, receipts are done out for EVERYTHING. tones of rules eg. You may loose ur deposit if you bang the front door, sitting area has a tv but the couch is underneath it and there are uncomfortable chairs infront of it. The shower was dirty with a huge lump of hair stuck to the shower curtain. Yuck!!!