HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica Los Angeles Hostel

1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles, USA

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 82%

Location 97%

Safety 90%

Staff 87%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • ATM
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Important Information

**Non Members will pay an additional $3.00 per night. Occupancy Taxes are not included
**Maximum stay is 14 nights during each calendar year. No extensions will be granted and guests may not make back-to-back reservations
**Please be Advised: If you are making a reservation for more than 1 guest we will try our best to keep you in the same room however it will depend on our availability at check in time.

Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

**Accommodations are only available to travelers outside the Los Angeles County Area**

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 82%

Location 97%

Safety 90%

Staff 87%

Value 81%

Showing 1-10 of 140 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The location and the unique design

Disliked: I wished there were locks on the lockers in the dorm rooms

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Great location, friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Bathrooms were often quite dirty, showers had only a curtain, no door or cubicle

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, thanks so much for your review! We so appreciate your feedback, as we are always trying to improve. We will pass your comments on to our housekeeping team! We hope you have a great rest of your trip!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: the location

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Come visit us again soon! Bon Voyage!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating


20 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: This place is all about location. Two blocks from the beach, a block from the main shopping strip and a ten minute walk to the pier.

Disliked: Atmosphere was slightly dull. Rooms were very very warm on a hot day. No A/C and some rooms without even a fan. Makes for an uncomfortable sleep on a warm night.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The location is perfect and the staff is very helpfull. The rooms are fairly big and clean. Breakfast included which is always a plus.

Disliked: The bathroom facilities could need some work.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Good location, near many restaurants, pubs, and stores to shop at. Not too noisy, free breakfast, good wifi.

Disliked: Too expensive for what you receive (below average breakfast), no pool, showers were either cold or boiling hot.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Clean, safe, good location

Disliked: Cold showers!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: The location was fantastic and the lounge was lovely. Staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: The bathrooms were clean but other than that, quite awful. Hot water was very limited and there was little privacy in terms of getting changed as and putting personal items while showering.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We apologize for the issues you had with your stay. We will notify your comments about how to make our shared bathrooms more private for guests. We hope that you give us another chance to stay with us soon.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: like

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location. Spacious rooms. Good vibes.

Disliked: nil

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability