HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica Los Angeles Hostel

1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles, USA

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 97%

Safety 92%

Staff 84%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • ATM
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Important Information

**Non Members will pay an additional $3.00 per night. Occupancy Taxes are not included
**Guests under 18 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian
**Maximum stay is 14 nights during each calendar year. No extensions will be granted and guests may not make back-to-back reservations
**Please be Advised: If you are making a reservation for more than 1 guest we will try our best to keep you in the same room however it will depend on our availability at check in time.

Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

**Accommodations are only available to travelers outside the Los Angeles County Area**

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 97%

Safety 92%

Staff 84%

Value 78%

Showing 1-10 of 55 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Clean, safe, good location

Disliked: Cold showers!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: The location was fantastic and the lounge was lovely. Staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: The bathrooms were clean but other than that, quite awful. Hot water was very limited and there was little privacy in terms of getting changed as and putting personal items while showering.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We apologize for the issues you had with your stay. We will notify your comments about how to make our shared bathrooms more private for guests. We hope that you give us another chance to stay with us soon.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: like

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location. Spacious rooms. Good vibes.

Disliked: nil

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: I've stayed here in three different occasions, and honestly returned solely for the location. With this price you won't find anything else in Santa Monica (at least when travelling alone). The hostel is right by the beach and a great shopping area - perfect especially if you're in LA for the first time. The hostel itself is just ok. The hostel is safe and clean and they offer activities if you're after that kind of a thing. There is a free breakfast which is nice, but the two item limit feels a bit awkward. If you're gonna offer breakfast, let your guests eat!

Disliked: The most annoying thing about this hostel is the fact that you can't control the water temperature of the shower. The water is luke warm at best - I feel like if I pay more than 40 dollars a night for a 10-bed dorm then the least you can expect is to have a hot shower. This has been the case every time I've stayed here, and each time when I've mentioned it to a staff member the response has been really surprised "oh never heard that before". On the day that you leave you can only store your luggage until 1pm, after that you have to pay for the lockers. This is the only hostel (or any type of accommodation) where I've ever had to pay for luggage storage. The hostel lacks character and atmosphere - don't expect this to be the kind of place where staff members are going the extra mile and and making you feel at home. It's not that they're unfriendly, but after travelling for a long time and staying at some seriously awesome small & independent hostels this place is bound to feel cold and impersonal.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The location

Disliked: I don't think it lived upto the description.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fantastic location, 1 block away from shopping areas and 1 block away from the beach. Felt very safe

Disliked: No aircon in rooms, got extremely hot overnight

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Atmosphere and surroundings are so good. If you want to read something, you can find a quiet area to read ; if you want to make friends you can find an area to talk; if you would like to enjoy yourself, there are many facilities to satisfy you. Even there is a big kitchen where you can make a good meal you like to have. In one word, I like the hostel very much. I think it is better than a hotel.

Disliked: Some facilities are not very good,especially, electric fan. At night we had to turn on the fan because it was too hot to sleep. while it made too noisy and gave me a lot of trouble to go to sleep. I hope to have central air conditioning instead.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Airconditioning is missing

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Amazing location. Right by the pier and the promenade. Great facilities too - decent wifi, comfy beds, lockers, room security, great breakfast and couches.

Disliked: Absolutely no atmosphere and completely extortionate. I have traveled for nearly 2 years in total and can safely say this is the most 'sterile' hostel i have stayed at. Nothing is done to encourage guests to interact (beyond a couple of night activities - i attended one but it was so sparsely attended I left early). Despite this, you are paying top dollar (with taxes not included in the hostel bookers price). Yes the facilities are nice and the location amazing but it is not worth what you pay.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We are very sorry to hear you found our hostel to be sterile. We try our best to promote our everyday activities so that other guests can join and interact. We will talk to our supervisors to see what other steps we can take to encourage guests to interact more around the hostel. We hope you can give us another chance for a better stay.

Check Availability