We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Samesun Hollywood

Hostel | 6820 Hollywood Blvd, Los Angeles, California, USA CA 90028

81.7% Overall Rating

319 out of 399 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2015)

Darcy connolly thinks…

"Samesun has such a lovely and welcoming atmosphere - from the moment we got there we felt comfortable and relaxed. The staff were approachable and happy help with absolutely anything we needed."

Read all Samesun Hollywood reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Onsite shop(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Our cancellation policy is 24 hours notice. Please note that all guests must have a valid passport, be 18+ and from outside the Greater Los Angeles area.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Orange Drive Hostel
45.46 USD

Hostel 85.8% 175 reviews
Hollywood and Highland Hotel and Hostel
35.00 USD

Hostel 72.8% 125 reviews
USA Hostels Hollywood
30.00 USD

Hostel 87.2% 600 reviews
Saharan Motor Hotel
62.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 49 reviews
PodShare
40.00 USD

Hostel 96.0% 22 reviews
Hollywood Palms Inn & Suites
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
39.88 USD

Hostel 86.3% 207 reviews
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
41.88 USD

Hostel 90.4% 371 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.7%

Overall Rating

319 out of 399 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Samesun Hollywood'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
80.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 319 of 385 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darcy connolly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2015 Darcy would recommend this property

Liked: Samesun has such a lovely and welcoming atmosphere - from the moment we got there we felt comfortable and relaxed. The staff were approachable and happy help with absolutely anything we needed.

Disliked: The only thing that could have made our experience better would be better fans in the bedrooms, common rooms and bathrooms. LA IS HOT!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Van Nguyen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2015 Van would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location. Friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable beds.

Disliked: Being on the Boulevard its very noisy but that's expected. Ear plugs and eye mask does the trick for me. Room wase pretty stuffy with just fans in room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved that it was right on Hollywood Boulevard

Disliked: Nothing I didn't like

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great wifi and location

Disliked: Hostel transfers for activities are highly priced and two shower drains were blocked.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the easy going vibe, the location right next to the Metro, Citysightseeing starting point and Hollywood Blvd

Disliked: Breakfast (DIY pancakes, toast and oranges) was a pretty unorganised, and the showers weren't great, but hey it was still good value compared to other LA options..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff. Great location.

Disliked: Nothing majorly wrong.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: The hostel team served oranges in the morning, but unfortunately it was more on a first-come-first-serve basis. Would have been great, if guests that prefer to have there breakfast at 8:30 AM would still get some of these juicy fruits as officially the breakfast runs from 7 to 9 AM.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location,safe

Disliked: No kitchen facilities,in the process of renovating but very messy at the moment

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Ferris

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2015 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: The location is central and close to the metro, staff very helpful and everything was clean!

Disliked: WiFi was only accessories in lounge and was very slow

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alisan BARCA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2015 Alisan would recommend this property

Liked: Location location location..is the best at LA

Disliked: staff wasnot helpfull..at breakfast just only 1 pan for all hostel...you wait for to cook you have to wait minimum 30 minutes

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

chelsea cartmel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2015 chelsea would recommend this property

Liked: It is in the perfect location on Hollywood Boulervard. Opposite the Metro so can get anywhere pretty quickly. They have a pool table which is free and so much fun when trying to interact with other travellers. The rooms are really big and comfy.

Disliked: It was really hard to find when I arrived on the Boulervard at 7 at night; no locals on the street really knew where it was I just had to try and find the number. They are currently renovating parts so it is a little messy but I am sure it will look awesome once it is finished.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: On Hollywood boulevard, great location. Little noisy, very comfy bed!

Disliked: Needs more outlets

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: At first, I saw many bad reviews among bloggers but it was totally opposite from what they are saying. The location is perfect as metro station is just across the street. Every morning at 10 o'clock, friendly staff came into the room and clean it with grooms and sanitizers. The staffs were really friendly and they are always smiling. To be honest, this hostel is the best ever I stayed thru 6 consecutive months of traveling.

Disliked: Wifi does not connect well in the room and you should go outside (common area) to use Internet. Moreover, the hot plate did not work well, had to wait more than 10mins to boil small amount of water for instant noodle. (I even used hot pot in advance but it did not boil at all)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ya-Chuan Tsao

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2015 Ya-Chuan would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: restroom convenience

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Simon Leonard

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014

Liked: the location

Disliked: I thought there was a bad smell as soon as I opened the front door. The decor is horrible. My mobile phone and iPod were stolen on my second day. Another guest staying there had his mobile phone stolen, and the staff were just like "we're really sorry." Personally I suspect the cleaning staff more than the two girls who stayed in the room the night before. The rooms are really warm and stuffy, even at night when it cools down a bit. If you're room is at the front of the hostel you will hear lots of noise from the street, making it difficult to sleep. The common are is really dark, so it's only good at night time. The kitchen is terrible, it's split into tow parts, which is really annoying. Also, there is no oven, just one hotplate. So if you wanna cook pasta or rice etc. just hope nobody else wants to! The location and the friendly guests are the only good things about this place. So if you can put up with all those bad points, go for it! Otherwise, just look for a different place. All in all, terrible.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gerald Verstraten

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Gerald would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome! Other than that a good hostel, clean and Definately value for your money as they are cheap considering the location. Overal great hostel, good vibe, location is spot on and close to everything (Hollywood standards that is).

Disliked: Only letdown I had was the staff sometimes. Not knowledgable, slow, not always willing to help (few exceptions there) and the weirdest thing was I was trying to extend my stay and had to pay 12 dollars a night more as of a "walking rate". Weird way to gratitude guests who want to stay so I ended up booking that night trough hostelbookers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location, price, staff

Disliked: could be cleaner! no aircon in the whole hostel! it's super hot in the rooms, espacially at night- sometimes hard to fall asleep. matresses are very thin. kitchen is not really a kitchen: no real cooking station or cooking utensil! for 1 or 2 nights it's good for the price

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2014

Liked: Great location and staff

Disliked: Very hot in summer; no air conditioning

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Zarko Petrovic

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Zarko would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: atmosphere

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is really great.

Disliked: Parking is either really expensive or you've to park very far away.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ARTUR DASSAYEV

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

12 August 2014 ARTUR would recommend this property

Liked: That is a great place to stay, the heart of the Hollywood. But the main, people you meet there are incredibly interesting

Disliked: I actually really like it

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place, and very knowledgeable staff. Aaron and Ari are your guys if you need help with any directions. Place is the clean for a hostel, and the party atmosphere is perfect.

Disliked: the common room closes when the bars do.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, awesome staffs, party, breakfast, There was my best hostel in my entire life.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caesar Tawfeeq

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Caesar would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, really nice staff and amazing friendly atmosphere inside! It is absolutely clean and seems to be very well managed and organized!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing