We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hollywood Youth Hostel

Hostel | 6820 Hollywood Blvd, Los Angeles, California, USA CA 90028

73.9% Overall Rating

319 out of 405 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/02/2015)

Vaibhav Maheshwari thinks…

"Location. Location. Location. If one is backpacking in LA then one has to stay in hollywood and not downtown to have all the fun! Staff is friendly and loads of poeple to meet and make friends even…"

Read all Hollywood Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

***Cancellations or changes must be notified to the hostel at least 72 hours in advance via phone or email. In case of a 'NO SHOW,' a total of one night will be charged. You must be 18 years of age to check in and no older than 38 (WE WILL REFUSE SERVICE TO THOSE OVER THE AGE OF 38 THIS IS A "YOUTH" HOSTEL.)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Orange Drive Hostel
43.20 USD

Hostel 86.6% 169 reviews
Hollywood and Highland Hotel and Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 73.0% 120 reviews
USA Hostels Hollywood
30.00 USD

Hostel 87.0% 589 reviews
Saharan Motor Hotel
62.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 49 reviews
PodShare
40.00 USD

Hostel 96.0% 22 reviews
Hollywood Palms Inn & Suites
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
28.92 USD

Hostel 86.9% 202 reviews
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
28.92 USD

Hostel 86.6% 358 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.9%

Overall Rating

319 out of 405 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hollywood Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
66.4%
Value
75.2%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 323 of 392 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Machek

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2015 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: price place

Disliked: x

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Abbie Swan

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2015

Liked: Absolutely nothing, waste of our money!

Disliked: Everything - It was more like a crack den then ever. The beds were not beds, they were thin layers of foam. All other areas stank like someone's toilet. It's where you would go to die. We left after the first night!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ya-Chuan Tsao

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2015 Ya-Chuan would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: restroom convenience

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

keith fox

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 February 2015 keith would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!!

Disliked: SOME staff, unfriendly

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

STAVROS MOSCHIDIS

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2015 STAVROS would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Facilities. Lockers in the rooms. You should pay extra to lock and no ability to use your own lock.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Vaibhav Maheshwari

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2015 Vaibhav would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Location. Location. If one is backpacking in LA then one has to stay in hollywood and not downtown to have all the fun! Staff is friendly and loads of poeple to meet and make friends even in off season.

Disliked: People > 40 years staying sometimes. Toilets are common ones with no doors but just a shower curtain. Rooms do not have multiple plugpoints

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really love this location ! There's Metro Line across the stree, Hard Rock Cafe, Wax museum, Ripleys, CVS store, Chinese Theatre, and other interesting attractions. This is definitely a great place for people who love the hustle bustle.

Disliked: Wifi doesn't reach the rooms very well so I had to go to the common room everytime.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William nolan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2015 William would recommend this property

Liked: Good people and staff

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent for a first time commuter, it's all there. Kind of place where you can relax a bit about leaving your stuff

Disliked: Any of the dislikes I had, such as kitchen hours, eventually had something to balance them out.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bruna de Noni

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2015

Liked: The location is the only good thing.

Disliked: There's only one bathroom for each gender. The female one was always dirty. There wasn't hot water in most of the times I took a shower. If you want to have "breakfast", you have to wake up early. The pancakes can be over before the breakfast ends. The manager was rude and disrespectful. We had to move from rooms because the staff made a mistake and my friend had his clothes stolen. We paid more than the amount we should've paid according to Hostelbookers.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2015

Liked: Beds were good. Nightlife was cool.

Disliked: Terrible locker, charges 25 cents every single time you need to open it and there was only 3 if a 6 bed dorm. Also 1 locker was broken and the other broke while my friends stuff was in it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Philipp Mentis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2015

Liked: The location is awesome. Right in the middle of Hollywood Boulevard.

Disliked: -My room was very smelly. The stench didn't even go away after we had the window open all day. -Some staff members were quite rude. -There's no real kitchen, no place to actually cook. -The atmosphere isn't very comfortable -Wi-Fi doesn't work in the rooms. Conenction is very bad.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 January 2015

Liked: The location. It is right in the middle of Hollywood, with a metro station right in front of the Hostel, so it was easy to get to other places. Also it felt safe to walk around at night.

Disliked: My friend and I lost our Winter Jackets, and there was one particular staff that was very unfriendly. Also, the bed was very uncomfortable; I was able to feel the bed frame when lying down. Every morning I had to shower with cold water since the water would not heat up.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The atmospher

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ASHLEE OSWALD

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2014

Liked: Dorm rooms were good sizes, bathrooms very nice with lots of hot showers etc., good location only if you like being in the middle of hollywood, staff somewhat helpful

Disliked: Beds not comfortable and on squeaky metal frames so you can feel whenever someone slightly moves, matress and pillow were both too thin and not consistant on every bed, rooms and whole hostel very hot even when cool outsise and all windows open, lstaff did not clean very thoroughly e.g. the first two days therw was a bin in the room, then it was taken and not replaced for the rest of my stay. Laundry and kitchen only open certain hours throughout the day, and kitchen very small. Location is on hollywood blvd which is good for a day then frustrating with all the loud outside noise 24/7. Did not get a good vibe in this hostel, only some staff were actually helpful while others were disinterested and rude e.g. had no idea how to get places and did not try to help you find out, or giving wrong information. Probably the worst hostel for atmosphere. Would not recommend if you are staying on your own.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location. Room overlooked Hollywood Boulevard which is a great view for watching the activity but very loud at night. Good, sociable atmosphere. Quirky decor and spacious bathrooms.

Disliked: Seriously rude staff. They're big on security, you have to show your key every time you enter, but TWICE in the space of two days was I personally stopped by the suspicious staff and forced to present my I.D. to prove I was staying there (despite having a key..), this was during the day not exactly the middle of the night. No explanation, no apology. Felt very unwelcoming. I ended up checking out early to which the man on reception was icy cold to me for, he felt offended that I'd want to check out early and barely said a word to me. Awful service.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and some of the staff are very helpful, but thats all. free coffee and tea is a bonus.

Disliked: the place is smells, and the room has not been cleaned over the 5 days while i stayed there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

20 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! The location was the best part,right in the center of hollywood,with metro station Plus the staff was very nice and helpful,especially angela cesar.and peter !!

Disliked: Nothing at all

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Simon Leonard

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014

Liked: the location

Disliked: I thought there was a bad smell as soon as I opened the front door. The decor is horrible. My mobile phone and iPod were stolen on my second day. Another guest staying there had his mobile phone stolen, and the staff were just like "we're really sorry." Personally I suspect the cleaning staff more than the two girls who stayed in the room the night before. The rooms are really warm and stuffy, even at night when it cools down a bit. If you're room is at the front of the hostel you will hear lots of noise from the street, making it difficult to sleep. The common are is really dark, so it's only good at night time. The kitchen is terrible, it's split into tow parts, which is really annoying. Also, there is no oven, just one hotplate. So if you wanna cook pasta or rice etc. just hope nobody else wants to! The location and the friendly guests are the only good things about this place. So if you can put up with all those bad points, go for it! Otherwise, just look for a different place. All in all, terrible.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gerald Verstraten

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Gerald would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome! Other than that a good hostel, clean and Definately value for your money as they are cheap considering the location. Overal great hostel, good vibe, location is spot on and close to everything (Hollywood standards that is).

Disliked: Only letdown I had was the staff sometimes. Not knowledgable, slow, not always willing to help (few exceptions there) and the weirdest thing was I was trying to extend my stay and had to pay 12 dollars a night more as of a "walking rate". Weird way to gratitude guests who want to stay so I ended up booking that night trough hostelbookers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location, price, staff

Disliked: could be cleaner! no aircon in the whole hostel! it's super hot in the rooms, espacially at night- sometimes hard to fall asleep. matresses are very thin. kitchen is not really a kitchen: no real cooking station or cooking utensil! for 1 or 2 nights it's good for the price

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2014

Liked: Great location and staff

Disliked: Very hot in summer; no air conditioning

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Zarko Petrovic

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Zarko would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: atmosphere

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is really great.

Disliked: Parking is either really expensive or you've to park very far away.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ARTUR DASSAYEV

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

12 August 2014 ARTUR would recommend this property

Liked: That is a great place to stay, the heart of the Hollywood. But the main, people you meet there are incredibly interesting

Disliked: I actually really like it