HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hollywood Youth Hostel

Hostel | 6820 Hollywood Blvd, Los Angeles, California, USA CA 90028

84.5% Overall Rating

295 out of 372 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2014)

"nice location, awesome staffs, party, breakfast, There was my best hostel in my entire life."

Read all Hollywood Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

***Cancellations or changes must be notified to the hostel at least 72 hours in advance via phone or email. In case of a 'NO SHOW,' a total of one night will be charged. You must be 18 years of age to check in and no older than 35 (WE WILL REFUSE SERVICE TO THOSE OVER THE AGE OF 35 THIS IS A "YOUTH" HOSTEL.)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Orange Drive Hostel
40.94 USD

Hostel 86.9% 163 reviews
Hollywood and Highland Hotel and Hostel
35.00 USD

Hostel 75.7% 115 reviews
USA Hostels Hollywood
45.00 USD

Hostel 94.1% 562 reviews
Saharan Motor Hotel
62.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 49 reviews
PodShare
50.00 USD

Hostel 95.8% 21 reviews
Hollywood Palms Inn & Suites
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Banana Bungalow West Hollywood
38.64 USD

Hostel 84.6% 193 reviews
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
38.64 USD

Hostel 83.0% 345 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.5%

Overall Rating

295 out of 372 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hollywood Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 296 of 358 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, awesome staffs, party, breakfast, There was my best hostel in my entire life.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caesar Tawfeeq

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Caesar would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, really nice staff and amazing friendly atmosphere inside! It is absolutely clean and seems to be very well managed and organized!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Mcmanus

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, clean, good atmosphere,friendly staff, got to see vin diesel and Bradley cooper from about 10 yards away from the bedroom window at guardians of the galaxy premiere

Disliked: Dan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to Metro, staff is super friendly, rooms were clean, so really, everything one needs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

karim hegazy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 karim would recommend this property

Liked: Based at the walk of fame, just a few meters opposite of the Dolby Theatre! Great atmosphere and friendly staff. They had vouchers for restaurants, tours and much more that made us safing alot of money.

Disliked: No AC, just ventilators that blow warm air! --> very hot and humid in the room. Very small breakfast, only options are peanutbutter or jelly on toast.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly located at Hollywood boulevard , just one step and you are standing at the walk of fame. Nice rooms and renovated bathrooms!

Disliked: I have never paid for a locker before! It is not nice to make money because the guests want to stay save.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location and great people!

Disliked: The staff can be pretty rude

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lively, location was amazing, rooms large and showers clean. If over 21 lots of activities to take part in, and free coffee and tea all day in the kitchen.

Disliked: At night very noisy outside, hard to sleep till after 2am. Only due to proximity to Hollywood Blvd though, and if you plan to go out to the bars not a problem.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Zoe Blight

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2014

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Rude staff! And dishonest No breakfast, or wasn't on time

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Helen Shaw

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2014 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fab.

Disliked: Doesn't seem overly secure?

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, right on Hollywood Boulevard. Had different events and activities on each night, nice and social, but if you did want a quiet night you couldn't hear any noise from dorm rooms.

Disliked: Not many cooking facilities.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Charles Guthrie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: By far best value. Much cheaper than other hostels and still had everything that was necessary for my stay.

Disliked: Bathrooms were a slight bit dirty and there weren't enough showers for how many people stay there. They still do their room assignments on paper and the receptionist had difficulty placing people in rooms/staying organized.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ewan Richardson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2014 Ewan would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible location! right in the thick of Hollywood Blvd, really couldnt be better located. Nice friendly staff, and cool atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Martin leiva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice personell

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014

Liked: Nothing much It was very close to the Chinese theatre but that's about it

Disliked: The rooms were extremley hot making it difficult to sleep There is a big noise factor. If we had the window shut it was ok but because it was so hot we had to keep it open The doors need to be locked with a key and our roommates didn't lock the room You have to pay to use thr lockers and even then neither of our bags even fit so our luggage was in an unlocked room all day The one staff member we dealt with was very unfriendly and not helpful Didnt even tell us where our rooms were just expected us to guess The area made me feel very unsafe but thats just LA Beds weren't very comfortable and powerpoint was insanely hard to share with 5 other people most of whom had adapters Our roommates were also incredibly inconsiderate staying up with the light on till nearly 1 and had all their luggage all over the room No assigned beds despite tnere being a sign in the room saying to stay in your assigned bed

57.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Said Faraji

Alone

Relaxation/spa

13 May 2014 Said would recommend this property

Liked: Location great

Disliked: rooms are dirty

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Literally over the road from the subway and main hollywood attractions.. I'm not sure there's a hotel in a better spot.

Disliked: Their net is crap, and their staff can sometimes make you feel like you're an annoyance.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

heaju ham

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 heaju would recommend this property

Liked: its was nearby subwaystation and find easy .

Disliked: umm.... shareing the restroom?

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located really great. Just croos the road and get to shopping mall from where you can make photos of Hollywood Sign. Next to it is Kodak and China theatres.

Disliked: It's hostel, it's cheap and not that new as you'd like it to be.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The girls bathroom was clean and had good showers. Location great.

Disliked: Very loud music throughout the day, until the early hours of the morning. I was checked into a room and had to come back down to reception as my room was already full. Front desk staff were nice, although unorganised.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Jason Duncan

Alone

City break

26 April 2014 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, Hollywood Blvd on your doorstep

Disliked: Very noisy, old and run-down hostel. Could do with a clean and fresh coat of paint

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014

Liked: They have a pool table

Disliked: The hostel has some travelers working for it, one of these travelers told me some bad stuff about the manager and I didn't care at the first, because he seems like a nice guy. But, when I came back to the hostel, I CAUGHT him drinking my juicy. I stared at him and he stared at me, I didn't say anything because I was there only for one night and it was only a juicy, but anyway is something that you should be aware before you go there... Another bad thing: the internet is the worst one.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is nearby rail and bus stations Staff was friendly and always willing to help Rooms were clean

Disliked: Wifi is really slow here Showers without tags, just a bank in the middle of the 4 showers

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Catherine Haxell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very good for seeing Hollywood area. Staff were helpful.

Disliked: Luggage storage could be improved.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Broderick Jenkins

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Broderick would recommend this property

Liked: Good spot, easy too get a base setup too see the sights of la. Great pub underneath!

Disliked: Band plays till 1 Friday and Saturday. But that's fine