We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Adventurer Hostel

Hostel | 4200 Century Blvd, Los Angeles, California, USA 90304 - 1618

62.9% Overall Rating

297 out of 436 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/09/2014)

Han Fang Hsieh thinks…

"1.Nice and helpful manager and staff. 2.Heated swimming pool with some palm trees made me feel relax. 3.It closes to LAX airport. 4. The suit is clean and pretty"

Read all Adventurer Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Super 8 Inglewood/LAX
35.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
AAE Los Angeles Hostel and Econo Hotel
19.00 USD

Hostel 71.7% 170 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn (LAX / El Segundo)
23.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 37 reviews
Geneva Motel
28.51 USD

Hotel 69.1% 5 reviews
Baymont Inn & Suites LAX
49.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Rodeway Inn Gardena Los Angeles
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.6% 5 reviews
Los Angeles Surf City Hostel
27.00 USD

Hostel 81.5% 301 reviews
El Dorado Motel Gardena
82.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.9%

Overall Rating

297 out of 436 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Adventurer Hostel'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
52.0%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
52.0%
Value
76.8%
Safety
63.2%
Refine your results Showing 340 of 371 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Mitchell Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2014

Liked: Checking out...

Disliked: I'm not usually one to complain. I stayed in a shared room - I expected a certain amount of untidiness. There was garbage in the corners of the room (Old food wrappers, so not even where someone has just dumped their belongings and rushed out). Windows where stuck open, so if anyone wanted to, they could just climb in to the ground floor and help themselves. Bed sheets where made for me, but there must have been 50 or so dead insects inside the bed sheets. Staff where rude at front desk on check in. On the cleanliness of the room, I thought i'd give them the benefit of the doubt. It was late at night and it was shared. I then opted for a single room. I waked into my single room to be greeted by the most nasty smelling thing ever. Looked at the table, in the "living area" and there was burn marks. An educated guess would say it was the result of drug use. Bath was disgusting. Brown marks all over it. Toilet had remnants of the previous occupants "bowel movement". Water coming out of the shower was brown. Didn't shower that day. Wifi is provided, but it didn't work. This may have been both my phone and laptop playing up, as the person sitting next to me in the pool reported no problems. People openly smoke cannabis in the communal areas, which made me feel uncomfortable to a certain degree. I dared not sleep in the bed incase I caught something. In the end, spent one night there, slept on a towel I packed from home, on the sofa. Checked out at 6am and found another hostel. Honestly, for the price, you can get much better.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Han Fang Hsieh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2014 Han Fang would recommend this property

Liked: 1.Nice and helpful manager and staff. 2.Heated swimming pool with some palm trees made me feel relax. 3.It closes to LAX airport. 4. The suit is clean and pretty

Disliked: Sometime the bathroom of dorm is smelly.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014

Liked: You can get free breakfast which was a blue berry muffin and tea or coffee. Also, you can get a transportation from and to LAX and bus transit center.

Disliked: Most of the workers are not friendly or helpful at all. Plus, I had to line for a long time.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and young environment

Disliked: A little bit scary to arrive at night

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jonathan Stevens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The amount of free stuff! Free champagne, popcorn, buffet, cake, coffee and muffins. They had a raffle you were entered into when you bought a drink from the tiki bar, there was a heated pool, the free shuttle was there in the morning to take me to the airport, there were loads of places to hang out and meet people. It was amazing! So good. Staff were mostly friendly, especially the bar staff. Angie is amazing! She is a real adage to the place.

Disliked: Front of house staff were a bit abrupt. No wifi in my dorm at all, kind of weak throughout hostel. Ants in sink area at night.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Katie Mills

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2014

Liked: The food in the restaurant was good and reasonably priced. They picked us up from the airport and took us back there or our flight.

Disliked: It's in a really rough area. We were warned not to go out at night but it was scary even in the day. They told us not to stay out but when we rang for the shuttle to collect us the receptionists were rude and uncaring and didn't even tell the driver we rang. The staff were horrible, they were really rude and unhelpful, particularly the ones on reception. Whe we asked to shuttle to pick us up from the bus station at night they took over an hour to come and when they got there pretended that we had missed it half an hour earlier. When we rang to ask for help the receptionist would hang up on us. The rooms were visably clean but around the edges it was filthy, and the bathrooms were gross. The shower stank and there were ants everywhere. The toilet was blocked and three hours later no one had done anything about it. We had one bathroom for a dorm of 20 people.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2014

Liked: The free shuttle was helpful, and the pool is nice. Clean sheets each day - just remember to pack your things off the bed.

Disliked: RUDE staff. Abrupt, treat you like you're an inconvenience. When I asked one girl the directions to venice beach she just said 'I dont know, you can pay to use our computers to goigle it'. No maps or suggestions for things to do in LA. Poor wifi, dodgy are of town. You get what you pay for booking the cheapest hostel.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rachel Sommer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014

Liked: Nothing. Don't stay here.

Disliked: This was the absolute WORST hostel I've ever stayed at. This place should be burnt to the ground! A massive fight of about 20 men occurred when in the pool area with multiple people leaving in stretchers with blood gushing from they're faces, this was even in front of children!!! My phone was even STOLEN during this fight. The most rude and unhelpful staff I've ever encountered. I also had to wait an hour for the shuttle the next day when I was told it would be 10 minutes, I almost missed my flight! I had no phone BECAUSE IT HAD BEEN STOLEN so when I finally was able to call them again, using someone else's phone, they acted as if I was an inconvenience to ask again! When the shuttle finally came, the driver said he was only told ten minutes prior! Also the second night I was there the door broke and we had to sleep with it open in a very unsafe hostel and suburb! There were prostitutes and sleazy men staying at the hostel, clearly NOT backpackers! The staff was just so unhelpful, rude doesn't even describe them accurately, it was as if they were TRYING to make everyone miserable. Don't lose your hard-earned money to this horrible place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chun Kit MAK

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2014 Chun Kit would recommend this property

Liked: A cheap choice, with nice, free muffins as breakfast. Nice location with good pick-up and transit service. Also free snacks (popcorn) provided :) greetings from Hong Kong

Disliked: Staff can be unfriendly, if people keep on asking dump questions. And, I reserved a 8-man room, but it's not available when i arrive. I was pushed to a 20-man room (but it's also nice. )

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gafiia Kurbanova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Gafiia would recommend this property

Liked: It's big, has pool, free stuff.

Disliked: For some people it may be too crowdy and loud.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

CHUN SHING CHENG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 CHUN SHING would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff,free shuttle to airport ,free trip to beach,free breakfast, free drinks, free wifi ,free cookies and cakes

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Dominic Brunning

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2014

Liked: I paid $20 to stay here and oit cost me $16 to yet here from the greyhound bus station. They refunded me the 16 so it was like paying $4 for the night. Good value

Disliked: More like a massive motel with a lot of weid people and not a true hostel/ backpacker atmosphere

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Antonio Jose Cruz Rodrigues

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Antonio Jose would recommend this property

Liked: Its good if you save money

Disliked: You have to pay to lock yours stuffs

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Paulo Afonso Gouveia de Freitas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Paulo Afonso would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the airport with a greaaat value!

Disliked: Nothing.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2014

Liked: Yes, it may be close to the airport and offer free shuttle, but there are too many buts too

Disliked: VERY unfriendly front staff, they treat you like you are an annoyance. This includes the manager. The rooms are superloud and the dorms mega cramped. All in all a very unfriendly, uncomfortable place. The staff does not care, the included breakfast is ust a muffin and so on.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Erik Gale

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap

Disliked: Felt rough

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Samantha Ford

Alone

City break

16 April 2014 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Has lots Of character and a sense of community

Disliked: Staff can be very rude at times

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Stephen Lynn

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 March 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: The swimming pool, and a free shuttle service to/from LAX, bus depot, Manhattan Beach and metro stations for travelling to downtown LA.

Disliked: It's located in Inglewood which is a very poor neighbourhood with a high chance of begging from locals outside, as you walk to nearby stores for food, etc.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and fun

Disliked: Is far

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alex wilcox

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2014 alex would recommend this property

Liked: Upgraded from dorm to private room so very good value for what we got, did get quite a lot of free stuff if you were around during the day.

Disliked: Most of the staff at front desk were quite unfriendly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, fun people. ver safe to park car.

Disliked: Reception staff is not the most friendly.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joseph Allen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

27 December 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: good people

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mohsin Khan

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2013 Mohsin would recommend this property

Liked: Very good management. ..

Disliked: Mohsin left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Bethan Downes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Bethan would recommend this property

Liked: The price was very affordable and even included free coffee, cookies, meals etc. Pool and bar area was convenient. Everything you needed without having to the hostel area.

Disliked: Cleanliness was a little below average and there were ants in the shower. But other than that there was nothing to dislike.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price and local to mini supermarkets. Free coffee available all day and hot water.

Disliked: Stated price not inclusive of tax so despite booking sigh hostel bookers and paying 10%, I had to pay more than the original amount at check-in. Only place so far in USA where I have experienced this. Very poor wifi (virtually nonexistent at times and when is working, at 1998 modem dial-up speeds) and no lock on the bathroom of the dorm I stayed in. Main negative was other travellers that were staying there at the time being very unhygienic and rude.