HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Adventurer Hostel

Hostel | 4200 Century Blvd, Los Angeles, California, USA 90304 - 1618

62.2% Overall Rating

294 out of 428 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/08/2014)

Chun Kit MAK thinks…

"A cheap choice, with nice, free muffins as breakfast. Nice location with good pick-up and transit service. Also free snacks (popcorn) provided :) greetings from Hong Kong"

Read all Adventurer Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Super 8 Inglewood/LAX
35.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
AAE Los Angeles Hostel and Econo Hotel
23.00 USD

Hostel 73.1% 169 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn (LAX / El Segundo)
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 37 reviews
Baymont Inn & Suites LAX
49.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Rodeway Inn Gardena Los Angeles
21.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.6% 5 reviews
Los Angeles Surf City Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 81.1% 295 reviews
El Dorado Motel Gardena
82.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Lady Ruthelen
35.00 USD

Hostel 76.2% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.2%

Overall Rating

294 out of 428 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Adventurer Hostel'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
52.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
56.0%
Value
76.8%
Safety
59.2%
Refine your results Showing 333 of 364 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
22.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rachel Sommer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014

Liked: Nothing. Don't stay here.

Disliked: This was the absolute WORST hostel I've ever stayed at. This place should be burnt to the ground! A massive fight of about 20 men occurred when in the pool area with multiple people leaving in stretchers with blood gushing from they're faces, this was even in front of children!!! My phone was even STOLEN during this fight. The most rude and unhelpful staff I've ever encountered. I also had to wait an hour for the shuttle the next day when I was told it would be 10 minutes, I almost missed my flight! I had no phone BECAUSE IT HAD BEEN STOLEN so when I finally was able to call them again, using someone else's phone, they acted as if I was an inconvenience to ask again! When the shuttle finally came, the driver said he was only told ten minutes prior! Also the second night I was there the door broke and we had to sleep with it open in a very unsafe hostel and suburb! There were prostitutes and sleazy men staying at the hostel, clearly NOT backpackers! The staff was just so unhelpful, rude doesn't even describe them accurately, it was as if they were TRYING to make everyone miserable. Don't lose your hard-earned money to this horrible place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chun Kit MAK

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2014 Chun Kit would recommend this property

Liked: A cheap choice, with nice, free muffins as breakfast. Nice location with good pick-up and transit service. Also free snacks (popcorn) provided :) greetings from Hong Kong

Disliked: Staff can be unfriendly, if people keep on asking dump questions. And, I reserved a 8-man room, but it's not available when i arrive. I was pushed to a 20-man room (but it's also nice. )

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gafiia Kurbanova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Gafiia would recommend this property

Liked: It's big, has pool, free stuff.

Disliked: For some people it may be too crowdy and loud.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

CHUN SHING CHENG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 CHUN SHING would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff,free shuttle to airport ,free trip to beach,free breakfast, free drinks, free wifi ,free cookies and cakes

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Dominic Brunning

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2014

Liked: I paid $20 to stay here and oit cost me $16 to yet here from the greyhound bus station. They refunded me the 16 so it was like paying $4 for the night. Good value

Disliked: More like a massive motel with a lot of weid people and not a true hostel/ backpacker atmosphere

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Antonio Jose Cruz Rodrigues

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Antonio Jose would recommend this property

Liked: Its good if you save money

Disliked: You have to pay to lock yours stuffs

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Paulo Afonso Gouveia de Freitas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Paulo Afonso would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the airport with a greaaat value!

Disliked: Nothing.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2014

Liked: Yes, it may be close to the airport and offer free shuttle, but there are too many buts too

Disliked: VERY unfriendly front staff, they treat you like you are an annoyance. This includes the manager. The rooms are superloud and the dorms mega cramped. All in all a very unfriendly, uncomfortable place. The staff does not care, the included breakfast is ust a muffin and so on.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Erik Gale

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap

Disliked: Felt rough

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Samantha Ford

Alone

City break

16 April 2014 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Has lots Of character and a sense of community

Disliked: Staff can be very rude at times

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Stephen Lynn

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 March 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: The swimming pool, and a free shuttle service to/from LAX, bus depot, Manhattan Beach and metro stations for travelling to downtown LA.

Disliked: It's located in Inglewood which is a very poor neighbourhood with a high chance of begging from locals outside, as you walk to nearby stores for food, etc.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and fun

Disliked: Is far

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alex wilcox

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2014 alex would recommend this property

Liked: Upgraded from dorm to private room so very good value for what we got, did get quite a lot of free stuff if you were around during the day.

Disliked: Most of the staff at front desk were quite unfriendly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, fun people. ver safe to park car.

Disliked: Reception staff is not the most friendly.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joseph Allen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

27 December 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: good people

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mohsin Khan

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2013 Mohsin would recommend this property

Liked: Very good management. ..

Disliked: Mohsin left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Bethan Downes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Bethan would recommend this property

Liked: The price was very affordable and even included free coffee, cookies, meals etc. Pool and bar area was convenient. Everything you needed without having to the hostel area.

Disliked: Cleanliness was a little below average and there were ants in the shower. But other than that there was nothing to dislike.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price and local to mini supermarkets. Free coffee available all day and hot water.

Disliked: Stated price not inclusive of tax so despite booking sigh hostel bookers and paying 10%, I had to pay more than the original amount at check-in. Only place so far in USA where I have experienced this. Very poor wifi (virtually nonexistent at times and when is working, at 1998 modem dial-up speeds) and no lock on the bathroom of the dorm I stayed in. Main negative was other travellers that were staying there at the time being very unhygienic and rude.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is good...free wifi...nice staff

Disliked: some noise but not bad

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Michael Marshall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013

Liked: Cheap, close to the airport

Disliked: I've had plenty of bedbugs bite me over the years, but never as many as I had in one night here! I only spent 5hrs in bed! Dorms, you expect to be messy. You don't however, expect the bathroom to be doorless. Basically a sunroom with a mirror and sink instead of a window, with two showers that have plastic garden chairs that you can use to put your clothes on. The toilet... I didn't even bother, I used the one in their common area! Do not be fooled by the cool looking office area at the entrance!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lots of facilities and foods.

Disliked: location and noise.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Cooper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying at adventurer hostel. It was cheap with soo many extra free things such as a muffin breakfast and champaign in the afternoon and free shuttle buses. It couldnt be better value for money!

Disliked: There were a couple of room confusions but they were soon sorted out. Staff were helpful but not the most friendly.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

12 August 2013

Liked: It is pretty cheap, that is the only good thing.

Disliked: The area is horrible there. The hostel itself sucks, the staff is very rude. I stayed there 3 days, and police came there every day. I think they have prostitutes there. I was also bitten by bedbugs. When I was moving in my bed was not clean and some other guy was still staying there. This place is very unorganized.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

02 August 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: I have stayed in a looot of hostels those last years, and I'm not picky This is the most disgusting and horrible hostel I have ever stayed in. First when you arrive, the staff is REALLY UNHELPFUL AND RUDE, they basically ignore you They made us pay the TOTAL AMOUNT OF THE ROOM and didnt consider what we had pay to hostelbookers. The room: we had the bad idea to book the 20 bed dorm: worst mistake ever. It's dirty, I was put in a bed and above me was a scrathced mattress, with all the foam coming out of it. I was supposed to sleep with above me. No way, so I went at the front desk and asked to be put in another bed, she refused saying eveything was booked (which was not true since there were some clean beds in the room that were not taken, and since your name is affiliated to a number marked on the bed, you cant change bed yourself a the risk of seeing your stuff being thrown out...) Since she didn't want to be helpful with that, I asked for a sheet to put above me, to cover that dirty mattress, she gave me one from the laundry basket, A DIRTY ONE!! WITH FOOT MARKS ON IT!!! so i asked for a CLEAN ONE, that she ended up giving me. The bathroom: one bathroom for 20 people, bathroom with NO DOOR, one sink and 2 showers (with just a curtain), and the toilets, you couldnt even close the door (nor lock it), the door was broken so I had to have my partner to stand at the door when I wanted to use the toilets!! And no need to say it was disgusting, the bin was overfilled with dirty tissues, toilet paper, condoms, hygienic stuff, and other kind of craps,and noone would change it, they removed it after 2 days, there was pee on the floor for 2 days, thank god we only spent one night over there. The location: we were "lucky" we had rented a car prior our arrival at the hostel, so we could get around easily, but the location is really bad if you have no car. It's not far from the airport, but there is no metro station, and I did not see any buses, so I guess there are not either... The food: they say FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST but it is actually NOT free as you have to PAY for the continental breakfast, what is free is 1 muffin per person, and some coffe. THAT'S ALL, you also have some popcorn, but made out of so much butter, you'd rather starve. I will never go back there again, you'd go there to save a few bucks but think about it, better add a few dollars and be in a safe and clean place, rather than being there and get some bed bugs (thank god I didnt get any) or whatever crap there must be over there. You'll save on the room, but will take you hours to get in the city or to the beach, and will end up taking a cab.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Abbey Jennings

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013

Liked: The price

Disliked: Extremely unhelpful and rude staff. Worst customer service I have ever experienced. I felt unsafe inside the premise, with no body to tureen to as the staff did not care. Our toilet became blocked and flooded the bathroom no body came to fix it within 24 hours. Shuttle service was very unreliable and I was often left waiting for times up to 3 hours.