We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Adventurer Hostel

Hostel | 4200 Century Blvd, Los Angeles, California, USA 90304 - 1618

59.3% Overall Rating

304 out of 450 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2015)

"Checking out. We lasted 8 hours there. We didn't leave earlier because there was no where to go until we decided we can just go to the airport."

Read all Adventurer Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please be informed that our dorms only accommodate students and backpackers. Also they must be between the ages of 18 and 30 and have valid and current International passport. If your client has children under 18 accompanying them they must book a private room. Children are strictly not allowed in the dorms. We do not accept locals at the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Super 8 Inglewood/LAX
45.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
AAE Los Angeles Hostel and Econo Hotel
23.99 USD

Hostel 71.5% 172 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn (LAX / El Segundo)
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.1% 38 reviews
Geneva Motel
32.90 USD

Hotel 66.5% 7 reviews
Baymont Inn & Suites LAX
49.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Los Angeles Surf City Hostel
40.00 USD

Hostel 81.3% 305 reviews
El Dorado Motel Gardena
82.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Cimarron House
20.00 USD

Hostel 81.1% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.3%

Overall Rating

304 out of 450 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Adventurer Hostel'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
54.4%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
55.2%
Staff
48.0%
Value
68.8%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 351 of 385 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Liani Baylis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2015

Liked: Close to the airport.

Disliked: The girls on receptions are unprofessional and have little patience to answer simple questions of eager travellers. They are rude and a smile is rare. In fact when I mentioned that the woman shouldn't speak to anyone, let alone a customer, in the manner she was she threw the quarters I had asked her to change from dollar bills at me! I can't express enough how poor this hostel is.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: The dormbeds make sound

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2015

Liked: Checking out. We lasted 8 hours there. We didn't leave earlier because there was no where to go until we decided we can just go to the airport.

Disliked: Everything. The staff are horrendous. I agree with every other review about how terrible the staff are. You don't get what you book for. The rooms are horrible. I was that unimpressed that I didn't set foot in the bathroom and locked my luggage because I knew I wouldn't bothered opening it or staying long enough to need to. A lady in the room we went in had a stash of empty wine bottles which kept getting larger by the hour. She was eventually drunk yelling at the TV. The area is definitely not safe and the worst thing is, the hostel lets anyone in to wonder around. There are people who are clearly not sobering just walking around and being creepy making you feel extremely uneasy and stressed (especially when you and your friend are young females). When we were entering our room the room next door smelt so heavily of pot. There is virtually no point in having a key to your room because the back door was broken so anyone could have climbed up and in. We felt that uneasy that we slept hugging our luggage until we finally decided to run for the airport which was at 3AM. They said they would organise a shuttle but we ditched and paid for uber knowing we would actually get out quicker and safer. Do not stay here. We did it as a last minute booking because it was close to the airport and had an early flight. It's not worth it, if worse comes to worst just stay at the airport. I can guarantee you'll be safer. Or if available spend the extra money and stay somewhere that will respect your presence. Even though I had read other reviews and decided to give it the benefit of the doubt, don't. This hostel should be reviewed and managed properly. OR even better, shut down.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: that is the cheapest

Disliked: unfriendly staff in the lobby

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2015

Liked: It was very tacky and grungy.staff were sliw and unhelpful. Rooms were packed and unclean.

Disliked: It was very tacky and grungy.staff were sliw and unhelpful. Rooms were packed and unclean.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samantha Jane Smith

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 May 2015 Samantha Jane would recommend this property

Liked: The layout, cleanliness and the price

Disliked: Bunk bed was a little loose

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many free stuff. Free shuttle to LAX or transition center. People are nice there. Great place for meeting new friends from all over the world. I stayed in a 8-bed room but everyone is quiet inside, so you don't need to be afraid of their disturbing you (perhaps it depends on whom you meet, but all of my roommates were good).

Disliked: overall acceptable because the price is really low.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 April 2015

Liked: Reasonable price

Disliked: Unfriendly staff, cockroaches in dorm rooms

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 April 2015

Liked: Free shuttle

Disliked: Everything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

15 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location, free shuttle and affordable convenient roo

Disliked: The management is not perfect.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Mitchell Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2014

Liked: Checking out...

Disliked: I'm not usually one to complain. I stayed in a shared room - I expected a certain amount of untidiness. There was garbage in the corners of the room (Old food wrappers, so not even where someone has just dumped their belongings and rushed out). Windows where stuck open, so if anyone wanted to, they could just climb in to the ground floor and help themselves. Bed sheets where made for me, but there must have been 50 or so dead insects inside the bed sheets. Staff where rude at front desk on check in. On the cleanliness of the room, I thought i'd give them the benefit of the doubt. It was late at night and it was shared. I then opted for a single room. I waked into my single room to be greeted by the most nasty smelling thing ever. Looked at the table, in the "living area" and there was burn marks. An educated guess would say it was the result of drug use. Bath was disgusting. Brown marks all over it. Toilet had remnants of the previous occupants "bowel movement". Water coming out of the shower was brown. Didn't shower that day. Wifi is provided, but it didn't work. This may have been both my phone and laptop playing up, as the person sitting next to me in the pool reported no problems. People openly smoke cannabis in the communal areas, which made me feel uncomfortable to a certain degree. I dared not sleep in the bed incase I caught something. In the end, spent one night there, slept on a towel I packed from home, on the sofa. Checked out at 6am and found another hostel. Honestly, for the price, you can get much better.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Han Fang Hsieh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2014 Han Fang would recommend this property

Liked: 1.Nice and helpful manager and staff. 2.Heated swimming pool with some palm trees made me feel relax. 3.It closes to LAX airport. 4. The suit is clean and pretty

Disliked: Sometime the bathroom of dorm is smelly.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014

Liked: You can get free breakfast which was a blue berry muffin and tea or coffee. Also, you can get a transportation from and to LAX and bus transit center.

Disliked: Most of the workers are not friendly or helpful at all. Plus, I had to line for a long time.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and young environment

Disliked: A little bit scary to arrive at night

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jonathan Stevens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The amount of free stuff! Free champagne, popcorn, buffet, cake, coffee and muffins. They had a raffle you were entered into when you bought a drink from the tiki bar, there was a heated pool, the free shuttle was there in the morning to take me to the airport, there were loads of places to hang out and meet people. It was amazing! So good. Staff were mostly friendly, especially the bar staff. Angie is amazing! She is a real adage to the place.

Disliked: Front of house staff were a bit abrupt. No wifi in my dorm at all, kind of weak throughout hostel. Ants in sink area at night.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Katie Mills

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2014

Liked: The food in the restaurant was good and reasonably priced. They picked us up from the airport and took us back there or our flight.

Disliked: It's in a really rough area. We were warned not to go out at night but it was scary even in the day. They told us not to stay out but when we rang for the shuttle to collect us the receptionists were rude and uncaring and didn't even tell the driver we rang. The staff were horrible, they were really rude and unhelpful, particularly the ones on reception. Whe we asked to shuttle to pick us up from the bus station at night they took over an hour to come and when they got there pretended that we had missed it half an hour earlier. When we rang to ask for help the receptionist would hang up on us. The rooms were visably clean but around the edges it was filthy, and the bathrooms were gross. The shower stank and there were ants everywhere. The toilet was blocked and three hours later no one had done anything about it. We had one bathroom for a dorm of 20 people.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2014

Liked: The free shuttle was helpful, and the pool is nice. Clean sheets each day - just remember to pack your things off the bed.

Disliked: RUDE staff. Abrupt, treat you like you're an inconvenience. When I asked one girl the directions to venice beach she just said 'I dont know, you can pay to use our computers to goigle it'. No maps or suggestions for things to do in LA. Poor wifi, dodgy are of town. You get what you pay for booking the cheapest hostel.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rachel Sommer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014

Liked: Nothing. Don't stay here.

Disliked: This was the absolute WORST hostel I've ever stayed at. This place should be burnt to the ground! A massive fight of about 20 men occurred when in the pool area with multiple people leaving in stretchers with blood gushing from they're faces, this was even in front of children!!! My phone was even STOLEN during this fight. The most rude and unhelpful staff I've ever encountered. I also had to wait an hour for the shuttle the next day when I was told it would be 10 minutes, I almost missed my flight! I had no phone BECAUSE IT HAD BEEN STOLEN so when I finally was able to call them again, using someone else's phone, they acted as if I was an inconvenience to ask again! When the shuttle finally came, the driver said he was only told ten minutes prior! Also the second night I was there the door broke and we had to sleep with it open in a very unsafe hostel and suburb! There were prostitutes and sleazy men staying at the hostel, clearly NOT backpackers! The staff was just so unhelpful, rude doesn't even describe them accurately, it was as if they were TRYING to make everyone miserable. Don't lose your hard-earned money to this horrible place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chun Kit MAK

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2014 Chun Kit would recommend this property

Liked: A cheap choice, with nice, free muffins as breakfast. Nice location with good pick-up and transit service. Also free snacks (popcorn) provided :) greetings from Hong Kong

Disliked: Staff can be unfriendly, if people keep on asking dump questions. And, I reserved a 8-man room, but it's not available when i arrive. I was pushed to a 20-man room (but it's also nice. )

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gafiia Kurbanova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Gafiia would recommend this property

Liked: It's big, has pool, free stuff.

Disliked: For some people it may be too crowdy and loud.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

CHUN SHING CHENG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 CHUN SHING would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff,free shuttle to airport ,free trip to beach,free breakfast, free drinks, free wifi ,free cookies and cakes

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Dominic Brunning

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2014

Liked: I paid $20 to stay here and oit cost me $16 to yet here from the greyhound bus station. They refunded me the 16 so it was like paying $4 for the night. Good value

Disliked: More like a massive motel with a lot of weid people and not a true hostel/ backpacker atmosphere

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Antonio Jose Cruz Rodrigues

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Antonio Jose would recommend this property

Liked: Its good if you save money

Disliked: You have to pay to lock yours stuffs

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Paulo Afonso Gouveia de Freitas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Paulo Afonso would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the airport with a greaaat value!

Disliked: Nothing.