HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Adventurer Hostel

Hostel | 4200 Century Blvd, Los Angeles, California, USA 90304 - 1618

63.0% Overall Rating

293 out of 425 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/05/2014)

CHUN SHING CHENG thinks…

"nice staff,free shuttle to airport ,free trip to beach,free breakfast, free drinks, free wifi ,free cookies and cakes"

Read all Adventurer Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Super 8 Inglewood/LAX
35.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
AAE Los Angeles Hostel and Econo Hotel
23.00 USD

Hostel 73.1% 169 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn (LAX / El Segundo)
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 35 reviews
Geneva Motel
28.51 USD

Hotel 69.1% 5 reviews
Baymont Inn & Suites LAX
49.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Rodeway Inn Gardena Los Angeles
21.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.6% 5 reviews
Los Angeles Surf City Hostel
39.00 USD

Hostel 82.9% 291 reviews
El Dorado Motel Gardena
82.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.0%

Overall Rating

293 out of 425 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Adventurer Hostel'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
53.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
56.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
59.2%
Refine your results Showing 331 of 362 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

claudia rodriguez alvarez

Alone

Family Holiday

01 October 2010 claudia would recommend this property

Liked: the free pick up

Disliked: claudia left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Trung Tran

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

24 September 2010 Trung would recommend this property

Liked: So good peoples and service

Disliked: Not so awesome

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kahn Johnston

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2010 Kahn would recommend this property

Liked: The free shuttle is great. Free food and drink offered was also good for traveling on a budget

Disliked: Front counter staff rather abrubt

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For the money you pay you get a lot.

Disliked: The staff is helpfull, but sometimes a bit rude. Besides it's not a very nice location. But if you want to got to the airport or arrive from there, it's the best place you can stay!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

amber curtin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2010 amber would recommend this property

Liked: fun and livly. good facilities. free wifi (not alwaysworking properly), laundry area, bar, restraunt, heated pool.

Disliked: bathroom door did not shut properly

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: have free shuttle food coffe & tea!

Disliked: not so clean~

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Outdoor pool, clean towels and linens everyday including soap, confortable mattresses, adequate electricity in facility and good jukebox in pool area, heated pool.

Disliked: The entire wifi system needs to be updated and fixed, very difficult time getting wireless internet, need router setup to broadcase in outside area and secure password so people who are staying have full access. Restaurant staff is not the friendliest or the most outgoing at all, but they serve well. I like outgoing people and did not experience that, but everything else was fine.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had very good facilities, a pool, a bar/restrauint, and free tea, coffee, popcorn and cookies. The food in the restraunt was good but the free buffet was just fries, nachos, rice and little has brown type things. It also has a free airport shuttle.

Disliked: The hostels location was very bad. It took at least an hour closer to an hour and a half to get to Hollywood or Santa Monica beach.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: very much i dislike the staff, all girls on the reception have been so very unfriendly, its like they´re anoyed of anyone who is asking any question

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Oliver Sisson

Alone

16 August 2010 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place for stopping off from the airport. Super cheap, lots of free things and free shuttle.

Disliked: The room with the showers had no door. The showers only had a cover each. I have no idea where they expected you to change or dry. The staff were from Russia and very rude.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Rachel Wynn

Alone

Business / conference

16 August 2010 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Free shuttle was nice and very necessary.Free coffee, popcorn, and drink coupons were nice.

Disliked: Not very clean. I got placed in a mixed dorm when I paid for an all-Female dorm and when I asked to be switched to an 8-person dorm and pay the difference, the fee was unreasonable. There was hair in my "breakfast" of a blueberry muffin. WiFi not in rooms, you had to use them outside in the courtyard which was cold. No free internet use, their computers charged $1 per 10 minutes.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Salvador Castello Branco

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

12 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: shuttle buses were as advertised and convenient. very close to airport. did have free food as promised. Breakfast was just a cup of coffee and a muffin, but both were decent quality, and the waitress seemed nice enough. The tater tots at the "free dinner" was good.

Disliked: The reception staff have terrible attitudes and were not helpful. They lost my reservation and acted like it was my fault even though I had proof of my reservation. When they finally found my reservation, I was treated as if I was bothering them, and instead of explaining things clearly, they acted frustrated and started talking in another language (seemingly about me). While I was standing there, another person staying there came in to tell them that her car was smashed in in the parking lot, and the two girls at the front didn't seem to care at all. The manager seemed to be more helpful with her situation. On checking out, I got a similar bad attitude and the girl just let me stand there for about 5 minutes without telling me whether or not I was done checking out. During this time, she put another guest who was trying to find her mom and brother through what seemed like an inquisition. (These were different people from the check-in receptionists). Maybe I've had a bad experience. My room smelled like a mix of must and mold and dirt, which was extremely unpleasant. And, being 2 doors from the lounge, heard loud music for a while into the night and very early the next morning.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

11 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pick up to and from airport... plus the random free food and drinks throughout the day... would deffinatly stay there again!

Disliked: nothing

25.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Edward Best

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

08 August 2010

Liked: I stayed at the adventurer for 2 nights. The company that you will meet at this hotel can be very great as its full of people from almost all walks of life. Well that's it for the good points. The area is a terrible one so don't even think about going out and exploring. There is little to do/see in this area and the first person we met had a knife in his back pocket. I was quite happy to accept the fact that i may have to stay inside the hotel complex. I later found that this wasn't much better. The staff at the desk do not speak great english and were very unhelpful.Sometimes they would talk in their native tongue infront of customers. They didn't know anything regarding the area and local transportation and seemed fustrated with anyone even willing to ask them a question. I felt like I was a burden to them. The staff seem to be clueless about the rules and every member on the front desk would give a different answer regarding transport/payment/rooms etc. I spoke to the manager on the phone and in person (reluctantly) too. He wasn't any more helpful AT ALL and he was incredibly rude. Even uttering the words "I don't care about it" regarding a question i had. This attitude is present throughout the hotel. When I arrived to my room the key did not work. Eventually I got inside and the bed was broken. After another trip to the front desk the staff changed my room and didnt take note of the broken bed. The rooms had water damage and were covered in ants. Im not a picky traveller and have stayed in many run down hotels before but this was a joke. I also spoke to one guest who had been bitten my a poisonous spider while sleeping in a room there. He had to be taken to hospital and risked losing his hand. I've heard of somethings costing "an arm and a leg" but this was just ridiculous! It's true, there is free food and shuttle services, but they are not as advertised and the buffet was made of fries and other carbs. I didn't expect much for the price so I don't complain. I heard stories about unauthorised credit card transactions too so be sure to check your statements if you stay at the Adventurer Hotel! I was attracted by the price and didn't expect much but it's true that you get what you pay for. This trip will cost you more than $20 a night. In some cases it will cos you your health and credit card. If I could give this a 0 Star review I would. Don't ruin a perfectly good trip to LA by staying here. It's just not worth it.

Disliked: I disliked everything apart from the company.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

06 August 2010

Liked: The muffins were nice.

Disliked: The staff was unfriendly, the made mistakes in their bookings and tried to make us pay more than we should. The place wasn't cleaned.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

02 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. That's by far the best part. Open social area to meet people and hang out. Love the free muffins in the morning, free cookies in the afternoon, and free fries, tater tots, rice, and jalapeno nachos in the evening. The free champagne (two glasses) is great as is the 24/7 supply of coffee, tea, and popcorn. Free internet available in the lobby and social area around the pool. The lockers and secure parking area in the back is nice. It's very close to the airport and they offer free shuttle services all day and night. Warm and clean pool available and plenty of area to go sunbathing.

Disliked: Staff all seem pretty unhappy. Unpaid and overstressed by the employers. It was quite common to find staff yelling at the customers, even flicking them off and cussing them out. They can at times be short and rude, walking up to the jukebox and turning it off without explanation after hours when someone's trying to flip through the music, etc. It can also be a bit messy, there's ants and spiders around, and I even found a bed bug (a mite of some sort) in my bed one evening. A number of people have complained of bugs. I do find myself itching in the dorm beds. Not sure how clean they keep them. The area is in a sketchy and unsafe area. (The Taco Bell down the street has bullet proof glass at the ordering counter.. something I've never seen anywhere else.) I wouldn't suggest going out alone here at night, but inside the complex it's safe and I never felt in danger. The pool tables aren't supposed to be used at night, but there's no signs. If you use them after a certain hour, the staff will come out and yell at you. Usually they'll give you your money back if you ask them though.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Elena Nasyrova

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

11 July 2010 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: they really provide free transfer from the airport and back, to the beach. you just need to prepare, that it may take 1 hour longer than promised... the price is the best we found in LA. also has secured parking inside the property.

Disliked: ants everywhere, even in beds. very poor breakfast. staff is not too friendly, at least not all of them. but ok for the price.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT IF YOU'RE BUDGETING. This is one of the few accommodation that actually provide the services advertised.Facilities are great and spacious.

Disliked: Location is not great especially if you want to party late in the evening in Downtown or Hollywood and you don't drive, have a car or can't afford the taxi fare. During the day, when public transport is working, the free shuttle makes up for it.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2010

Liked: the 24 hr shuttle is a life saver and the shuttle drivers are especially milissa is very very nice! there are also lots of food places around the hostel (if you dare to step outside after dark). and the heated pool although tiny, is nice.

Disliked: where do i start?!?! 1. the toilets were blocked EVERYDAY and one point the showers didnt work either. 2. the WiFi connection is next to nonexistant many of the guests i spoke to complained about it. 3. it is a pig sty at any time of day or night, im not sure they even have maids to clean the place. 4. the staff (esp the manager and reception staff) are very rude, unhelpful, uninformed, english is clearly not their first language and slow. 5. location is hellish - its at least an hr away from anywhere you may want to go and is in inglewood - which IS like the hollywood movies and descriptions rapped by Dr Dre etc. 6. the dorms are big and disgusting with creeky old bunkbeds which are too small.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice view on the roof. In front of the bus station wich runs all night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself is pretty awesome. The location is in a sketchy place but close to the airport. The staff is unhappy and stressed out and it shows in how they treat their customers. That said, I keep going back because the people that stay there are awesome. Lots of backpackers from around the world and great energy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: for a hostel of such cheap price, it's good. free buffet, muffin, cake, popcorn, tea and coffee, but don't expect them to be high quality. the 20-bed dorm is ok for about 10 people. it won't be too comfortable for 20 people. (imagine 20 people share one bathroom!) besides, if you're very sensitive to noise, you'd better reconsider it. the sound of airplanes and loud music near the pool could be annoying.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Murat Aydogdu

12 June 2010 Murat would recommend this property

Liked: Adventurer Hostel is realy close to LAX , It was very important for me because in LA transportation is hard for people who come from diffrent country like me...

Disliked: Murat left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Andrea McDonald

10 June 2010

Liked: The pool and free internet when it worked

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.