HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Adventurer Hostel

Hostel | 4200 Century Blvd, Los Angeles, California, USA 90304 - 1618

63.0% Overall Rating

293 out of 425 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/05/2014)

CHUN SHING CHENG thinks…

"nice staff,free shuttle to airport ,free trip to beach,free breakfast, free drinks, free wifi ,free cookies and cakes"

Read all Adventurer Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Super 8 Inglewood/LAX
35.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
AAE Los Angeles Hostel and Econo Hotel
23.00 USD

Hostel 73.1% 169 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn (LAX / El Segundo)
23.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 35 reviews
Geneva Motel
28.51 USD

Hotel 69.1% 5 reviews
Baymont Inn & Suites LAX
49.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Rodeway Inn Gardena Los Angeles
21.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.6% 5 reviews
Los Angeles Surf City Hostel
39.00 USD

Hostel 82.9% 291 reviews
El Dorado Motel Gardena
82.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.0%

Overall Rating

293 out of 425 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Adventurer Hostel'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
53.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
56.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
59.2%
Refine your results Showing 331 of 362 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Emilie Boursier

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

09 September 2011 Emilie would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice

Disliked: Swimming pool need to be clean

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2011

Liked: Large hostel

Disliked: The man on reception was very rude to all guests!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had a heated pool unlike most. Melody the shuttle driver to/from the airport was really bubbly and friendly. There was also a free BBQ on when i was staying there and the free champagne party is always a hit. Nice athmosphere in the common room with loads of plants and greenery present.

Disliked: Could do with some lockers for storing personal items.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The amount of people you meet there

Disliked: Some of the staff were not that helpful

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free shuttle services

Disliked: The computer took my money and didn't work

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are so many free facilities e.g shuttle services, tours, food! The pool is amazing :)

Disliked: The staff were sometimes rude and didn't want to be there. The showers had ants. The location was scary.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and had the free shuttle

Disliked: cleanliness

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Addison Tailford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011 Addison would recommend this property

Liked: It was fantastic! So many freebies I couldn't believe my eyes - they even give you a list on a piece of paper as there are so many! Who knew a hostel would give away free popcorn, free food and free champagne?!

Disliked: Location was a little tricky - although good free bus!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Make sure you talk to the guy with long hair. Most of the other employees don't care about customers a lot. He will definitely help you and take really good care of you. The others won't.

Disliked: Some employees at the reception desk.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

06 August 2011

Liked: This place is definitely what you pay for. It is a bed, and thats about it. If your looking for a place to crash and a ride to the airport this is the place for you. If your into clean showers and a clean quite space, this place is not for you. It all depends on what you need it for. It is a room full of bunk beds, and a nasty shower space that 20 people share, 1 toilet and 2 showers, 1 sink. The free "breakfast" is a blueberry muffin w/1 cup of coffee or tea. The free champagne hour, is 1 free glass, and the free shuttle to the beach happens once a day. Essentially, if you are a backpacker willing to live on their schedule its great, if your traveling and need their assistance here and there, hang it up.

Disliked: Its generally pretty filthy, and when their parking lot was full we were asked to double park. When we woke up 3 cars had to be moved so we could get out of their parking lot. It was outrageous.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Natalia Zieba

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011

Liked: I liked the pool, free coffee and tea and the muffin in the morning

Disliked: 1. The bathrooms are filthy (they smell, are very humid and the doors open to the dorms which basically means all the smell goes into the room...) 2. Even thought they say otherwise, they do accept people over 30 in the dorms. Its just awkward to have an old person there. 3. The ventilation in the dorms leave much to desire. 4. The staff is nether helpful nor friendly.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

xu yao

Alone

City break

30 July 2011 xu would recommend this property

Liked: The staff members are nice!

Disliked: The neiborhood is too noisy.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free cookies, coffee,

Disliked: tooo far away from center

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011

Liked: It looks like a proper hostal and there are a lot of services there, like shuttle, car rental, laundry, internet, swimming pool, restaurant, bar etc, which are not standart in a hostel so that is a plus.

Disliked: The rudness of the people working there. Not at all customerservice minded. Also the neighberhood is not safe neighberhood.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good value for money, the pool, the beds were comfi

Disliked: the staff was rather unfriendly, especially one of the drivers' of the shuttle, the shuttle takes ages to pick you up, when I called them from the airport, I had to wait for 2 hours and the other day we had to wait for 1 hour and 45 minutes. This would be ok, since it is a nice deal they offer, but everythime we called them, they would tell us 'they just left and will be there in like 5 minutes'..so that was just annoying

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2011

Liked: free muffins

Disliked: the staff were very rude and didn't really seem to want to help us

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

JONG KEUN PARK

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011 JONG KEUN would recommend this property

Liked: pool

Disliked: noise from air planes

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very convenient to the airport and they certainly have a lot of social activities. My room was pretty quiet.

Disliked: Not really my style, definitely aimed towards drinking and partying. Seems fun though.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Stephen Kimatu

Alone

City break

27 June 2011

Liked: The location is great and the issue of pick up and dropping is a great idea.

Disliked: I was a guest at the same place in 2009 around the same time. The rooms were good and you could occupy alone. Now they have converted the rooms to dorms , not a good idea.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was pretty cheap and I liked the late check out time of 12pm

Disliked: It was not very clean in the dorms and I thought about more than a Muffin for breakfast

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2011

Liked: It offered free food and wifi. the pool area is nice. close to airport.

Disliked: the staff is NOT helpful! they are rude and give you bad direction. never ask the staff for help. when i asked them about how to get into the city by metro, the answer i got from the lady behind the desk was "honestly i dont know, i have never been in the metro in my life!" rude! the location is extremely bad. you have to sit in a bus or metro for at least an hour to get anywhere nice. the hostel is located in the bad neighbourhood of inglewood. You need to be inside the hostel before it gets dark because its NOT safe to walk around in that area.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Weaver

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2011 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff and services, nice rooms easy access to airport

Disliked: Located in not the nicest of areas

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked this place, but they charget too much.

Disliked: They charged too much for us! We paid by credit card and the price was different in my receipt than in my bank account. We have sent already e-mail to them, but they haven't answered!!! So be very carefull, when using credit card there!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, nice stuff, the shuttle service is great, very good atmosphere

Disliked: Inglewood isn't a good area if you're alone (girl)

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2011

Liked: Cheap dorm rates, free pickup

Disliked: free food offered not very good quality, loud at night. some staff unfriendly and off putting. didnt feel very safe in the area its located in