HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Adventurer Hostel

Hostel | 4200 Century Blvd, Los Angeles, California, USA 90304 - 1618

63.0% Overall Rating

294 out of 430 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2014)

Katie Mills thinks…

"The food in the restaurant was good and reasonably priced. They picked us up from the airport and took us back there or our flight."

Read all Adventurer Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Super 8 Inglewood/LAX
35.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
AAE Los Angeles Hostel and Econo Hotel
23.00 USD

Hostel 73.1% 169 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn (LAX / El Segundo)
23.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 37 reviews
Baymont Inn & Suites LAX
49.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Rodeway Inn Gardena Los Angeles
21.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.6% 5 reviews
Los Angeles Surf City Hostel
35.00 USD

Hostel 81.4% 298 reviews
El Dorado Motel Gardena
82.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Lady Ruthelen
35.00 USD

Hostel 78.6% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.0%

Overall Rating

294 out of 430 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Adventurer Hostel'

Atmosphere
60.0%
Location
52.0%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
53.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 335 of 366 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

harta kesuma

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

11 June 2012 harta would recommend this property

Liked: free muffin for breakfast...n free simple dinner....aswell free tea n coffee n pop corn...

Disliked: none

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's pulsating feeling. There are people from all over the world, and always something happening. It's super cheap, and there's free food a cheap bar, and a heated swimming pool.

Disliked: The food, though free, is not exactly healthy, but it's okay.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012

Liked: The room was clean and comfortable, with 2 bathrooms.

Disliked: In a really bad area of town, staff were not very professional, like as in stopped talking to me mid-conversation to joke with a friend..... Some really strange people around...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Seedy people around-people smoking weed in their rooms, people fighting with each other outside our room, noise outside due to windows that don't completely seal when closed. A bald headed shuttle driver who picked us up at the airport was mumbling profanities while making his rounds such as, "Move out of the way, Your going to get hit in the face!" to people standing on the sidewalks who couldn't hear them waiting for different shuttles at the airport. Other mumbles were something like, "stupid fuck," can't remember exactly. But it seemed like we were going to hit other shuttles several times and then we actually did. - We sped past another shuttle and the mirror on own shuttle hit the mirror on the shuttle next to us-knocking it and moving it forward as we raced off towards the hotel. It just seemed like the guy was stressed and in a big hurry and everyone-at least the people in my party were thinking about the possibility of getting into an accident. It was like someone with an addiction to stress and excitement. The other driver-black lady- seemed calm and relaxed and very friendly. This guy was on edge-I'm sure he's a loyal and valuable asset for some reason but the roller coaster shuttle ride caused some needless stress right off the bat. When we got to the hotel with the open bar and 70's atmospeere instead of feeling excited and it's cool to be in LA it created more of a Welcome to the Jungle atmosphere. But the price was fantastic-so it was worth putting up with.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ericc Powell

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

26 April 2012 Ericc would recommend this property

Liked: The property was close to LAX with a free shuttle, small room size (four people to a room), free food, access to lots of events, etc.

Disliked: Apparently the free morning muffins were not in the same place as the free coffee/tea, so you had to ask for them at the bar. My room had two beds by the door and two beds by the bathroom, so if the room was full, you would have to disturb people while moving around.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joel Jokinen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2012 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: People here seem to complain about safety and location. I found complaints about both of them exaggurated after exploring the area a bit. A stone throw's away from South Bay Galleria for shopping and lots of restaurants at hand. Just with basic traveling precautions, I felt as safe here as I have elsewhere in LA. The dorms are basic, but work if you're in the hostel just for one night. Free shuttle was a definite bonus.

Disliked: Bunks in dorms are shaky, so hope for no restless sleeper above you. The amount of showers/toilets per person per dorm is not enough if the dorm is full. Wifi doesn't have a password, so I wouldn't log on to any important account. Staff was nothing spectacular but not as rude as people make them to be here.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ulrike Neufeld

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 March 2012 Ulrike would recommend this property

Liked: The heated pool and the atmosphere

Disliked: there was a note on the door saying one should keep it locked all the time. actually, the girl who stayed in the room also had to break into it through the window, cos if you lock the door from the inside the key doesn't work anymore

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Stephanie Arapian

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

25 January 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Loads of free stuff!

Disliked: Very far from center. Must have or rent a car to really get anywhere. But it's good for the price, and it's all about the free shuttle to LAX.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap place to stay near the airport. The airport shuttle was convenient and picked me up quickly after I called. They offer a lot for the cheap price - the free tea, coffee, popcorn and cookies were nice! The rooms are quite good for the price and seem more like cheap hotel rooms than hostel dorms. I booked into an 8-bed dorm but ended up in a 4-bed dorm with only one other person.

Disliked: The dinner buffet left a lot to be desired (it was basically chips and rice!), but then again, it's free so I can't really complain...! There were some problems with my room - at first I was assigned a room that was in the process of having the bathroom floor ripped up and re-tiled, which the women at the front desk didn't seem to know about. They then transferred me (at my request) to another room, which was fine until I returned a few hours later to find some men putting all my things into plastic bags and moving me out - apparently there had been a leak in the bathroom and I had to be moved. The internet didn't work in the rooms so you had to go to the lobby or pool area.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value Awesome specials at the pool bar and thought the hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 December 2011

Liked: They had a heated pool.

Disliked: The room was really cold at night, even with 2 blankets and the bed was hard, the music was really loud (starting at 9 am and going on late at night). Some of the staff members was really unfriendly and not helpful at all. The "free" food that is advertised is just dry rice and nacho chips and the breakfast is a dry muffin.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of complimentaries, good place to meet other travellers. The free shuttle to the airport was very useful.

Disliked: Can't describe it properly but the atmosphere was just...very odd.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

manon hamel

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

18 December 2011

Liked: the other travellers

Disliked: manon left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nayeem syed

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 December 2011

Liked: hostelbooker

Disliked: bad manners of staff. lack of security, you are pretty much guaranteed to lose something. my laptop got stolen from the shuttle bus when i was being dropped off to the airport. hotel took no responsibility though they let complete strangers into their shuttle who stole my bag and took out the laptop and walked off. so you can save money here but will more then likely lose a lot more in terms of belongings.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free transport between LAX airport.

Disliked: Not all the staffs, but some staffs were not kind.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carol Prince

Alone

Business / conference

07 December 2011 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean. No drunken brawls, no loud parties. Staff is exceptionally pleasant.

Disliked: Nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2011

Liked: If you're on a budget - You can literally not spent a cent. The free meals and drink do come into consideration. Also, the shuttle was kind of handy

Disliked: The staff werent very helpful at all. I asked one of the staff how to get to hollywood and i got "I drive, i dont use public transport" as an answer. This place is also VERY far from everything and anything! neighborhood also isnt that safe.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free airport shuttle

Disliked: Staff not so friendly , my experience anyway!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jun Wei

Alone

Business / conference

15 November 2011 Jun would recommend this property

Liked: the shuttle bus to airport

Disliked: loud and the staff are not good

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

danielle law

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: The shuttle from the airport took on average 45minutes to pick up even though we were about 1.5miles from the hostel. There was no pool access as there was work being done on it, the whole outdoor area was a construction site i.e nowhere to sit without being covered in dust! Woken up every morning at 7am by building work. Staff most unhelpful i've ever come across in a hostel. Free meals? Ha! Fries, nachos and rice does not class as a buffet! I checked out 2 days early and even with a list of complaints this long they didn't give me any money back, Disgusting.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Laura Hutchinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2011

Liked: -free shuttle to and from the airport and metro station...see dislikes though!! -coffee and cheap drinks -good if youre looking for a nights stay

Disliked: -Shuttle: be prepared to wait, staff are terrible at contacting the shuttle drivers, I called 3 times to see if it was on its way and just got hung up on...ridiculous. -Location, I would NOT recommend this for a girl traveling alone, its not in the safest area, make sure you are with someone, im quite a tall athletic girl whos done alot of traveling and l got scared walking down the street! -Staff...very short with you, its like pulling teeth trying to get answers out of them, useless -Rooms, i stayed in a full 20 bed female dorm...1 bathroom...enough said

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pamela Lampersberger

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: Cheep and cheerful - quite nice actually - was pleasantly surprised, as was expecting very little and just needed a cheep place near the airport to sleep after a long flight - but was quite comfortable with nice pool & vibe

Disliked: n/a

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free popcorn

Disliked: Location

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2011

Liked: cheap, free shuttle was awesome and the drivers were friendly.

Disliked: the location was a bit sketchy, not too safe at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sigrun Seifert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2011 Sigrun would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff. Close to the airport. the shuttleservice to the airport and the beach. The Pool. I came back from 5.9 to 8.9.

Disliked: Nothing