HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Adventurer Hostel

Hostel | 4200 Century Blvd, Los Angeles, California, USA 90304 - 1618

56.7% Overall Rating

289 out of 419 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/03/2014)

Stephen Lynn thinks…

"The swimming pool, and a free shuttle service to/from LAX, bus depot, Manhattan Beach and metro stations for travelling to downtown LA."

Read all Adventurer Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Super 8 Inglewood/LAX
35.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
AAE Los Angeles Hostel and Econo Hotel
19.00 USD

Hostel 73.1% 169 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn (LAX / El Segundo)
23.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.1% 32 reviews
Geneva Motel
28.51 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Baymont Inn & Suites LAX
44.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Rodeway Inn Gardena Los Angeles
21.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.6% 5 reviews
Los Angeles Surf City Hostel
27.00 USD

Hostel 84.1% 277 reviews
El Dorado Motel Gardena
82.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
56.7%

Overall Rating

289 out of 419 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Adventurer Hostel'

Atmosphere
52.8%
Location
44.0%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
49.6%
Value
72.8%
Safety
53.6%
Refine your results Showing 325 of 356 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nabil Boutaleb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Nabil would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great and the value for money is simply amazing!

Disliked: It wasn't the cleanest or (maybe more accurately) the newest of places...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2012

Liked: You could live off $30 a day. That's about all.

Disliked: This place was run down and old, the beds were dirty and smelt, our party of two were not even placed next to each other. There was bugs on my bed and flying around the bed. We were in the back ally away from a lot of things which felt dodgy in it self. The place felt unsafe even as we were arriving, we immediately took all valuables and found another place to stay, when we checked out there was no apology or question, to me this seems that a lot of people check out without even staying one night.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was plenty to do if you wanted to stay in the hostel and chill for a day and lots of free thing, which is great when your on a budget!

Disliked: It's not in a very good area.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was stayng there before flying home from LAX so it was ideal for getting to the airport quickly! Liked that it had a pool and sun loungers!

Disliked: I stayed in a 4person dorm which was ideal...our sink was blocked in our bathroom though and the bathroom flooded a bit one nite as there was a bucket under the sink collecting drops that overflowed. Had i known it was there, I wouldn't have minded emptying it to avoid that!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joanna Wilson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2012 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: it was a really good location from the airport and a really efficient shuttle that also can drop you at the train station if your planning to see some sights. friendly helpful staff and lots of free food...cookies, muffins and cake! more more could you ask for!! (and $2 margaritas)

Disliked: not much. location good for the airport and trains near by.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Axelle BOQUET

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2012 Axelle would recommend this property

Liked: There is free wifi, free food and also a free shuttle to the airport. Really useful!

Disliked: The staff was totally unwelcoming

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The value and the free airport transfers. Despite what many reviews have said I found the staff very friendly in any queries.

Disliked: I did hear one member of staff being rude about customers and she didn't censor herself in front of me as a customer, her manner was very rude.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chun Hin Chan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Chun Hin would recommend this property

Liked: Totally out of my expectation. But it's much better than what I thought. A lot of services are free of charge. They provide free breakfast(coffee and muffin), free drinks(campaign or soda, 1 cup per day), free snacks(cakes, popcorn, etc.). They also helped me to print out my voucher for LA Grand tour. I think it's absolutely value for money as it's just around $30 (tax included) for the best rooms (I.e, the 4 beds suite). Highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Chun Hin left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

kirsty ashton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

13 August 2012

Liked: NOTHING

Disliked: - The fact me and my friends got bed bugs and bit crazy - No toilet paper in toilets so people where usnig towels to wipe there bum - pubic hair all over the bathroom - Weed everywhere - Flys in the pool none stop - Computer charged me money and never worked and they would not give refund - Parked the car outside a street there and we got a threating letter off a gang - no where to go

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 August 2012

Liked: Free muffins in the morning and 2 dollar beer

Disliked: Where do I begin??!! We waited for over an hour for the free shuttle from LAX, when we arrived we were told that the owner went sick at the guests the night before and when we checked in the staff were rude and unfriendly. I asked where I could get the bus from and they said 'I don't know I don't get the bus' if you have any questions to ask them they will go out of there way to give an unhelpful response. The room had 2 doors one that locked and one that didn't so the roomkey was pointless and anyone could walk in at any time. The beds all squeeked so badly you can't blink without waking someone up. The pillow smelt like someone elses head and the sheets wernt the right shape for the bed. The pool had flooded over the side so all the floor was wet everywhere. At one point I didn't have a pillow and when I asked for one they didn't have any spare when I could see loads of pillows in the housekeeping room! The free dinner is free but its just fried nachos, fries and rice. The computers are one dollar for ten mins and froze for 8 minutes. There were cats in the room. The bathroom in the 20 bed dorm didn't lock! The room stank. The free shuttle is good if you want to arrive one hour later to all your plans. The soft drinks are flat. I cannot express how rude the staff are!!!!! They roll their eyes at you and talk to you like your stupid. The area is really bad and they double book beds which happened to other guests. Its not even safe to hang out in inglewood at night. Spend the extra ten dollars and stay in another area like santa monica or venice beach, DO NOT STAY HERE!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and convenient for those who need to stay near the airport. Dorm was a bit smelly but the bathroom was kept spotless. Good music at the pool side bar.

Disliked: Nothing major

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Heribert Marihart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Heribert would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: WiFi works not sufficient, all is like a kind of saftyvariant

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Emily Binsted

Alone

City break

20 July 2012

Liked: I liked that it is near the airport and they have a shuttle service.

Disliked: Welcome to tacky America where the hostel looks like a brightly lit up christms tree. THe staff do their job but they seem very resentful about being there. The hostel may be cheap but there is a reason...they charge in other ways 1 dollar a for 10 minutes of internet, 1 dollar per time you use the lockers. I wouldn't recommend this hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: almost everything

Disliked: internet connection is soooo slow

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

karen taylor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2012 karen would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are clean, you get free tea/coffee 24/7, they do a muffin for breakfast and a free tea which is okay. They also do a free pick up/drop off at airport and also to the bus station which is a big bonus.

Disliked: Some of the staff were just plain rude. its a motel not a hostel so if you want to cook your own food you got no chance, can be very loud at night if you are trying to sleep. Unless you like fried food and burgers you will go hungry. The location is not so good, and I would not go out at night. We stayed there a couple of times just as a base for sight seeing and its good for that as you get free transfers, we wanted to stay 1 more time, as we were flying early and the transfers are 24/7 and they put the prices up to 80 dollers, which was crazy, so we never stayed again

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

harta kesuma

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

11 June 2012 harta would recommend this property

Liked: free muffin for breakfast...n free simple dinner....aswell free tea n coffee n pop corn...

Disliked: none

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's pulsating feeling. There are people from all over the world, and always something happening. It's super cheap, and there's free food a cheap bar, and a heated swimming pool.

Disliked: The food, though free, is not exactly healthy, but it's okay.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012

Liked: The room was clean and comfortable, with 2 bathrooms.

Disliked: In a really bad area of town, staff were not very professional, like as in stopped talking to me mid-conversation to joke with a friend..... Some really strange people around...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Seedy people around-people smoking weed in their rooms, people fighting with each other outside our room, noise outside due to windows that don't completely seal when closed. A bald headed shuttle driver who picked us up at the airport was mumbling profanities while making his rounds such as, "Move out of the way, Your going to get hit in the face!" to people standing on the sidewalks who couldn't hear them waiting for different shuttles at the airport. Other mumbles were something like, "stupid fuck," can't remember exactly. But it seemed like we were going to hit other shuttles several times and then we actually did. - We sped past another shuttle and the mirror on own shuttle hit the mirror on the shuttle next to us-knocking it and moving it forward as we raced off towards the hotel. It just seemed like the guy was stressed and in a big hurry and everyone-at least the people in my party were thinking about the possibility of getting into an accident. It was like someone with an addiction to stress and excitement. The other driver-black lady- seemed calm and relaxed and very friendly. This guy was on edge-I'm sure he's a loyal and valuable asset for some reason but the roller coaster shuttle ride caused some needless stress right off the bat. When we got to the hotel with the open bar and 70's atmospeere instead of feeling excited and it's cool to be in LA it created more of a Welcome to the Jungle atmosphere. But the price was fantastic-so it was worth putting up with.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ericc Powell

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

26 April 2012 Ericc would recommend this property

Liked: The property was close to LAX with a free shuttle, small room size (four people to a room), free food, access to lots of events, etc.

Disliked: Apparently the free morning muffins were not in the same place as the free coffee/tea, so you had to ask for them at the bar. My room had two beds by the door and two beds by the bathroom, so if the room was full, you would have to disturb people while moving around.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joel Jokinen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2012 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: People here seem to complain about safety and location. I found complaints about both of them exaggurated after exploring the area a bit. A stone throw's away from South Bay Galleria for shopping and lots of restaurants at hand. Just with basic traveling precautions, I felt as safe here as I have elsewhere in LA. The dorms are basic, but work if you're in the hostel just for one night. Free shuttle was a definite bonus.

Disliked: Bunks in dorms are shaky, so hope for no restless sleeper above you. The amount of showers/toilets per person per dorm is not enough if the dorm is full. Wifi doesn't have a password, so I wouldn't log on to any important account. Staff was nothing spectacular but not as rude as people make them to be here.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ulrike Neufeld

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 March 2012 Ulrike would recommend this property

Liked: The heated pool and the atmosphere

Disliked: there was a note on the door saying one should keep it locked all the time. actually, the girl who stayed in the room also had to break into it through the window, cos if you lock the door from the inside the key doesn't work anymore

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Stephanie Arapian

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

25 January 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Loads of free stuff!

Disliked: Very far from center. Must have or rent a car to really get anywhere. But it's good for the price, and it's all about the free shuttle to LAX.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap place to stay near the airport. The airport shuttle was convenient and picked me up quickly after I called. They offer a lot for the cheap price - the free tea, coffee, popcorn and cookies were nice! The rooms are quite good for the price and seem more like cheap hotel rooms than hostel dorms. I booked into an 8-bed dorm but ended up in a 4-bed dorm with only one other person.

Disliked: The dinner buffet left a lot to be desired (it was basically chips and rice!), but then again, it's free so I can't really complain...! There were some problems with my room - at first I was assigned a room that was in the process of having the bathroom floor ripped up and re-tiled, which the women at the front desk didn't seem to know about. They then transferred me (at my request) to another room, which was fine until I returned a few hours later to find some men putting all my things into plastic bags and moving me out - apparently there had been a leak in the bathroom and I had to be moved. The internet didn't work in the rooms so you had to go to the lobby or pool area.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value Awesome specials at the pool bar and thought the hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.