HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Adventurer Hostel

Hostel | 4200 Century Blvd, Los Angeles, California, USA 90304 - 1618

62.4% Overall Rating

297 out of 435 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/09/2014)

Han Fang Hsieh thinks…

"1.Nice and helpful manager and staff. 2.Heated swimming pool with some palm trees made me feel relax. 3.It closes to LAX airport. 4. The suit is clean and pretty"

Read all Adventurer Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Super 8 Inglewood/LAX
35.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
AAE Los Angeles Hostel and Econo Hotel
19.00 USD

Hostel 71.7% 170 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn (LAX / El Segundo)
23.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 37 reviews
Geneva Motel
28.51 USD

Hotel 69.1% 5 reviews
Baymont Inn & Suites LAX
49.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Rodeway Inn Gardena Los Angeles
21.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.6% 5 reviews
Los Angeles Surf City Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 81.5% 301 reviews
El Dorado Motel Gardena
82.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.4%

Overall Rating

297 out of 435 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Adventurer Hostel'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
52.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
51.2%
Value
76.8%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 339 of 370 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Michael Marshall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013

Liked: Cheap, close to the airport

Disliked: I've had plenty of bedbugs bite me over the years, but never as many as I had in one night here! I only spent 5hrs in bed! Dorms, you expect to be messy. You don't however, expect the bathroom to be doorless. Basically a sunroom with a mirror and sink instead of a window, with two showers that have plastic garden chairs that you can use to put your clothes on. The toilet... I didn't even bother, I used the one in their common area! Do not be fooled by the cool looking office area at the entrance!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lots of facilities and foods.

Disliked: location and noise.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Cooper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying at adventurer hostel. It was cheap with soo many extra free things such as a muffin breakfast and champaign in the afternoon and free shuttle buses. It couldnt be better value for money!

Disliked: There were a couple of room confusions but they were soon sorted out. Staff were helpful but not the most friendly.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

12 August 2013

Liked: It is pretty cheap, that is the only good thing.

Disliked: The area is horrible there. The hostel itself sucks, the staff is very rude. I stayed there 3 days, and police came there every day. I think they have prostitutes there. I was also bitten by bedbugs. When I was moving in my bed was not clean and some other guy was still staying there. This place is very unorganized.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

02 August 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: I have stayed in a looot of hostels those last years, and I'm not picky This is the most disgusting and horrible hostel I have ever stayed in. First when you arrive, the staff is REALLY UNHELPFUL AND RUDE, they basically ignore you They made us pay the TOTAL AMOUNT OF THE ROOM and didnt consider what we had pay to hostelbookers. The room: we had the bad idea to book the 20 bed dorm: worst mistake ever. It's dirty, I was put in a bed and above me was a scrathced mattress, with all the foam coming out of it. I was supposed to sleep with above me. No way, so I went at the front desk and asked to be put in another bed, she refused saying eveything was booked (which was not true since there were some clean beds in the room that were not taken, and since your name is affiliated to a number marked on the bed, you cant change bed yourself a the risk of seeing your stuff being thrown out...) Since she didn't want to be helpful with that, I asked for a sheet to put above me, to cover that dirty mattress, she gave me one from the laundry basket, A DIRTY ONE!! WITH FOOT MARKS ON IT!!! so i asked for a CLEAN ONE, that she ended up giving me. The bathroom: one bathroom for 20 people, bathroom with NO DOOR, one sink and 2 showers (with just a curtain), and the toilets, you couldnt even close the door (nor lock it), the door was broken so I had to have my partner to stand at the door when I wanted to use the toilets!! And no need to say it was disgusting, the bin was overfilled with dirty tissues, toilet paper, condoms, hygienic stuff, and other kind of craps,and noone would change it, they removed it after 2 days, there was pee on the floor for 2 days, thank god we only spent one night over there. The location: we were "lucky" we had rented a car prior our arrival at the hostel, so we could get around easily, but the location is really bad if you have no car. It's not far from the airport, but there is no metro station, and I did not see any buses, so I guess there are not either... The food: they say FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST but it is actually NOT free as you have to PAY for the continental breakfast, what is free is 1 muffin per person, and some coffe. THAT'S ALL, you also have some popcorn, but made out of so much butter, you'd rather starve. I will never go back there again, you'd go there to save a few bucks but think about it, better add a few dollars and be in a safe and clean place, rather than being there and get some bed bugs (thank god I didnt get any) or whatever crap there must be over there. You'll save on the room, but will take you hours to get in the city or to the beach, and will end up taking a cab.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Abbey Jennings

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013

Liked: The price

Disliked: Extremely unhelpful and rude staff. Worst customer service I have ever experienced. I felt unsafe inside the premise, with no body to tureen to as the staff did not care. Our toilet became blocked and flooded the bathroom no body came to fix it within 24 hours. Shuttle service was very unreliable and I was often left waiting for times up to 3 hours.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Borninkhof

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2013

Liked: This is definitely value for money. Great free stuff, cheap drinks, food, and entertainment.

Disliked: The neighborhood was a bit sketch.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great clean and big rooms. Breakefast and Dinner ist good.

Disliked: The frontdesk ladys are not friendly!!! Its very far away from the city.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Ka Kin Pang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2013

Liked: It has a shelter and won't fall unless there's an earthquake.

Disliked: I WOULD STRONGLY ADVISE NOT TO STAY IN THIS HOSTEL! 1. shuttle bus is free - yes. But not only would the bus driver not drop off where you request, but the bus is never ever on time and the staff are happy for you to wait in a dangerous area (Lennox) at 1130. 2. the staff there are not friendly and helpful at best. One particular member of staff is very keen on calling the police (not because of me), he called the police at least twice in 3 days' time. One because of the noise in a party at midnight and one because of another traveller lying to him. 3. it is far from everything!!! 2 hrs by train to universal studios and 1 hr to Hollywood. If you think saving a few bucks a night is worth at least 2 hrs of travelling, be my guest. 4. the canteen is smelly and the staff are unhygienic. you don't expect to hv full continental breakfast when you only pay 15 bucks at night.That said, it isn't unreasonable to require the canteen is odour free. I don't know whether the smell is because of the stuffy air or other reasons, it gives you a very unpleasant smell when you walk in. It doesn't stop here, in one occasion, the canteen staff just shuffled the ice that was dropped onto the floor under a table! 5. wifI - depiste claiming to have wifi everywhere on the webstie, it only works weakly in the lobby area. expect to connect to the server at least 20-30 times before being able to connect it. 6. it's near the airport and the surrounding area is infamous for being unsafe at night. again, if you think saving a few bucks is worth exposing to all the danger, be my guest.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

ronny leknes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2013

Liked: free coffee, free popcorn, muffins ..

Disliked: there was a person who was stolen from the backpack and passport. when he asked to see surveillance cameras so they said no. After this he became irritated and he was thrown out hostel. he had paid for 4 nights and was not refunded anything. 9 o'clock in the evening kicked out on the street in LA worst areas without passport and no place to go. he asked to collect the rest of their stuff and were denied by the hostel and was told he had to pay $ 2 a day they had his things. the only way he could get back things were to be the police. whether to stay lock off EVERYTHING! everyone can just go straight into something no one checks the id or room key. stay away!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Ainge-Roy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2013 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Àll the extras that come with the place. Free airport shuttle is an awesome perc and it is relatively central, LA speaking.

Disliked: Tom left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

vane todorov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 vane would recommend this property

Liked: all good

Disliked: location

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ruby Honnor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2013 Ruby would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time here, met some really lovely people and the place has definitely has character. You get free food,champagne, cookies and shuttles to airport and transit centre 24 hours a day. One of the most fun stays I have had in a hostel though you definitely have to have a sense of humor staying here!

Disliked: A few of the staff are mega miserable and the rooms aren't spotless but if that doesn't bother you then this place is great for those on a budget!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

robcert `croisdale

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

24 April 2013 robcert would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty to do. Free shuttles to and from public transportation. Free food and hot bevrages. Plenty of nice people to meet. Very reasonable dorm and room rates. Fun, fun and more fun! Heated and clean outdoor pool.

Disliked: robcert left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

kelly Oliveira

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 kelly would recommend this property

Liked: The heated pool, the blueberry muffin and the cheap bar on the permises

Disliked: No atractions near by also it was too far from the beaches and holywoood

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2013

Liked: Close to airport. Had shuttle to beach. V cheap. Nice muffin for breakfast.

Disliked: Hot buffet wasn't v good, noisy because of proximity to airport.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jennifer Rickward

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Heaps of character, despite being quite out of the way the hostel provides shuttles to make it easier to access the sights in LA.

Disliked: Despite being advertised as free wi-fi it was very hard to ever get a good connection.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

roberto monter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013

Liked: Nice pool big spaces

Disliked: No wifi problems to connect the key always bad

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David Matter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 March 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The location was decent... walking distance to a few food places and public transit. The airport shuttle was a great perk! Along with that, the pool area was quite chill and a good place to hang out and meet people! I would stay here again for the price and ease of it!

Disliked: As many people commented, the front desk staff wasn't exactly the nicest or most helpful, but I didn't think they were overly unfriendly. Also, my key needed to get reprogrammed by the second night, but that wasn't a big deal. The wi-fi was pretty slow and had issues connecting, though it worked eventually.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free airport pick up, free popcorn, free champagne on arrival

Disliked: charged me more then the agreed hostelbookers price even though i pointed this out. they didnt respond to my email before i arrived about how to get the free transfer bus. wifi was very weak, staff moody

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013

Liked: near airport

Disliked: A "Unscrupulous hostel", I booked a 4 bed dorm in hostelbookers.com , but when I arrival staff and manager told me 4 bed dorm is full, I need change to 8 bed dorm , but the price is walk-in price , otherwise goto another hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: Inglewood, CA is 3d highest crime rate in LA

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool area

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

michael spells

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 michael would recommend this property

Liked: Location to airport

Disliked: Squeeky beds

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

31 December 2012

Liked: Rooms and bath clean, nice lobby, free and secured parking, inexpensive beds, near to LAX and good if you just have to stay near airport. Free shuttle.

Disliked: Hostel overbooked, had to discuss and change rooms. Girls at the front desk very unmotivated, unintressted and kind of unfriendly. Location isn't very good if you want to visit LA, far away from everything