HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Venice Beach Hostel Los Angeles Hostel

1515 Pacific Avenue, Venice, Los Angeles, USA

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 62%

Location 96%

Safety 72%

Staff 69%

Value 59%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.00USD
  • Towel 0.50USD

Important Information

Please note that a refundable deposit will be asked for at check in.
*Important notices*

Please note: This micro site info and terms control the reservation.
Please note: all shared is same price; no specific room/size is reserved (not responsible for reservation service form limitations); VBH places shared in any room as per availability at check-in as it determines.

*** off - season SPECIAL NOTICE ***
All Specials require minimum 2 DAY stay. Specials on-line are 1 time only; may not be re-booked through on-line services.

*Check-in notice*
Check-in by 4PM or earlier time provided by guest. Reservation may be released after this time - all or part. If later check-in is needed - Please email or call before 4 pm and request late check-in. Not responsible for released reservation for late arrival without required notice of late arrival. (Original reservation notice is not enough.)


*Last minute reservation notice*

*Please note: Please make reservations early - special re last minute reservations:
Last minute reservations are reservations made within 3 days and have special handling and limitations.
Last minute reservations are subject to written email confirmation of reservation by hostel. They are otherwise tentative. You must check for an email confirmation from hostel.
With the difference in times between reservation services and hostel; and other crossing reservations - there exists the possibility of no availability for last minute reservations.

Venice Beach Hostel Rules and Regulations (R and R's) apply - listed on our website (plant Venice) - please review website. (Planet Venice) Important R & R's (not all), e.g.:

Venice Beach Hostel Rules and Regulations (R and R's) apply - listed on our websites (planet Venice) - please review websites. Important R & R's (not all), e.g.:

(1) Cancellation requirements
(a) By making a reservation you specifically agree to these cancellation conditions.
(b) Cancellation is 72 hours prior to arrival date. No partial cancellation of reservation dates.
(c) Cancellation only by email or other writing.
(d) Please note: VBH cancellation time is different than Reservation Company and controls;
(2) PRICES: cash prices quoted - without taxes, deposit or non-cash payment pricing;
(3) Due at check-in: city occupancy tax, refundable security deposit; balance of price; and non-cash pricing extra:
(4) Reservations more than 30 days in advance may be required to be fully paid. Credit card provided will be used.
(5) In event of cancellation within 72 hr. of reservation date/no show: cardholder agrees that credit card will be charged for room reserved if: no-show; on-timely cancellation plus merchant charges incurred for charging these items on card and/or merchant charges incurred for returning any portion will be paid for by cardholder.
(6) At check-in: you may not change reservation by reducing the time reserved. You agree to be responsible for the time reserved. Otherwise it may be treated as you making an untimely cancellation.
(7) Low price guarantee is for a shared room with the same amenities in room and in hostel and location. (Details in VBH)
(8) Reservation company 10%commission will be deducted from VBH room/bed rates; but each day's balance amount is rounded up to the nearest one-half dollar. Items listed above added. Check-in charges will therefore be different than reservation company print-out.
(9) Children only in private rooms.
(10) Proper and valid ID required. VBH reserves the right to refuse service.
(11) Special rules/limits apply for locals in shared-read R and R's before reserving for shared. This reservation service is only for foreign & out-of state travelers who are continuing travels. All others must contact VBH directly to confirm reservation and verify that they are non-locals & travelers.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 62%

Location 96%

Safety 72%

Staff 69%

Value 59%

Showing 51-26 of 26 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Seems to be a place where great open and fun people like to stay at

Disliked: The building is a bit worn down

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly helpful staff. This hostel is a great option if your budget is tight and you want to have an excellent location. From the entrance you can walk right around the corner to the Venice boardwalk where the skate park is located.The hostel offers dinner and breakfast included in the rate so you could easily eat for under $10 per day if you use that option (recommend the $3 slice of Margarita pizza at Big Daddy and Sons on the board walk).Complimentary wifi is available.I was with my husband and we booked a private room which was very spacious.The staff clean the rooms daily so although the building is old and reminds me of a quirky holiday home, the place is quiet clean.

Disliked: We were on the 3rd floor and if you have difficulty walking up stairs, request a lower floor as they do not have a lift. The internet on our floor was poor but works well in the common room.More of a destination issue, Venice Beach is free spirited so some people may find the locals a little intimidating, especially at night.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location in Venice. Right by the board walk and not too far from Santa Monica only a $1.50 bus journey into downtown LA

Disliked: The directions from LAX are out of date you now have to take the 3 and transfer to the 1 NOT the 2 like it says in the email.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location! Location! Location!

Disliked: I booked two beds in a 4-bed dorm and ended up in a 12-bed dorm.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the hostel is right by the beach, really close to bars and restourants. Also close to the bus stop, so it's really easy to move around even if you don't have a car. The stuff is great, they are all so nice and fun. You can always find something to do there. If you want to party you can and if you want to chill you can always watch a movie (they have netflix) or play pool. Free breakfast..it's good for you if you like waffles!

Disliked: they only have one loundry machine

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: The location and not so much more.

Disliked: The staff and the smell in the room. It was loud traffic outside.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: que le dejeuner et le souper etais compris.. donc moiins de frais a payer

Disliked: la propreté et il navais pas de rideaux sur les fenetre.. de plus cetais une chambre de 6 mais nous etions 7

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free but simple dinner, two choices rotated every second night. pancakes for breky. location was good.

Disliked: The common room was a smoking-friendly zone.. which is great if you smoke. If you dont you only have the option of your room to hang out. Check-in process can be long.. in our case 30 mins waiting. Few weird older people staying there.. and the place was old and rundown for the price. And because of the smoking smelt like an old pub!


The property's response is

Friends - We keep ALL GUESTS HAPPY. So, unlike this traveler - we make room for all guests: we have non-smoking rooms and a designated common room for smokers and other common rooms with non-smoking. Something for everyone; not just a grouch who wants it all their way.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Family Holiday, Relaxation / spa

Liked: It's only a block from the beach which is good. Show your room key to get discounts on rental bikes. It's a hostel and fine for the budget traveler.

Disliked: Didn't feel welcome when we arrived a bit before 2p which is their check-in time. Got a bad vide and almost wanted to go find another place. Can't say it was just circumstantial, seemed the check-in person's personality was just that way. Was also a bit disappointed to know they wanted a $100 cash deposit in additon to full payment or you had to pay an extra $6 if you used a credit card. Also, wasn't too pleased to see extra money on top of the 10% deposit which occurs since your bank will charge fees on top of the conversion - HostelBookers is based in the UK.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We GIVE YOU THE SAVINGS! We have cash prices so you don't have to pay for others more expensive ways. We do that by just having those who choose to use a credit card - with its expensive fees - to have the cost of it - so you don't have to pay for their costs ! Not so bad.
And, Why rate us down when a complaint is about their bank conversion charges?
Our deposit and card policy is fully explained in the site info - they know in advance.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The location was really close to the beach and boardwalk where all the stores and shows are during the day.

Disliked: Lacking a little bit of soul which I associate with hostels. For example, they don't have any activities you can sign up for so the people tend to keep to themselves.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability