HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Venice Beach Hostel - Pacific Avenue

Hostel | 1515 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, California, USA 90291

72.6% Overall Rating

312 out of 409 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/08/2014)

Pierre LAPORTE thinks…

"Young team spirit...the good place for back packers! It's not a normal hotel, it's a clearly "youth hostel". Close to the beach."

Read all Venice Beach Hostel - Pacific Avenue reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.00
  • Towel USD 0.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that a refundable deposit will be asked for at check in. *Important notices* Please note: This micro site info and terms control the reservation. Please note: all shared is same price; no specific room/size is reserved (not responsible for reservation service form limitations); VBH places shared in any room as per availability at check-in as it determines. *** off - season SPECIAL NOTICE *** All Specials require minimum 2 DAY stay. Specials on-line are 1 time only; may not be re-booked through on-line services. *Check-in notice* Check-in by 4PM or earlier time provided by guest. Reservation may be released after this time - all or part. If later check-in is needed - Please email or call before 4 pm and request late check-in. Not responsible for released reservation for late arrival without required notice of late arrival. (Original reservation notice is not enough.) *Last minute reservation notice* *Please note: Please make reservations early - special re last minute reservations: Last minute reservations are reservations made within 3 days and have special handling and limitations. Last minute reservations are subject to written email confirmation of reservation by hostel. They are otherwise tentative. You must check for an email confirmation from hostel. With the difference in times between reservation services and hostel; and other crossing reservations - there exists the possibility of no availability for last minute reservations. Venice Beach Hostel Rules and Regulations (R and R's) apply - listed on our website (plant Venice) - please review website. (Planet Venice) Important R & R's (not all), e.g.: Venice Beach Hostel Rules and Regulations (R and R's) apply - listed on our websites (planet Venice) - please review websites. Important R & R's (not all), e.g.: (1) Cancellation requirements (a) By making a reservation you specifically agree to these cancellation conditions. (b) Cancellation is 72 hours prior to arrival date. No partial cancellation of reservation dates. (c) Cancellation only by email or other writing. (d) Please note: VBH cancellation time is different than Reservation Company and controls; (2) PRICES: cash prices quoted - without taxes, deposit or non-cash payment pricing; (3) Due at check-in: city occupancy tax, refundable security deposit; balance of price; and non-cash pricing extra: (4) Reservations more than 30 days in advance may be required to be fully paid. Credit card provided will be used. (5) In event of cancellation within 72 hr. of reservation date/no show: cardholder agrees that credit card will be charged for room reserved if: no-show; on-timely cancellation plus merchant charges incurred for charging these items on card and/or merchant charges incurred for returning any portion will be paid for by cardholder. (6) At check-in: you may not change reservation by reducing the time reserved. You agree to be responsible for the time reserved. Otherwise it may be treated as you making an untimely cancellation. (7) Low price guarantee is for a shared room with the same amenities in room and in hostel and location. (Details in VBH) (8) Reservation company 10%commission will be deducted from VBH room/bed rates; but each day's balance amount is rounded up to the nearest one-half dollar. Items listed above added. Check-in charges will therefore be different than reservation company print-out. (9) Children only in private rooms. (10) Proper and valid ID required. VBH reserves the right to refuse service. (11) Special rules/limits apply for locals in shared-read R and R's before reserving for shared. This reservation service is only for foreign & out-of state travelers who are continuing travels. All others must contact VBH directly to confirm reservation and verify that they are non-locals & travelers.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

SameSun Venice Beach
35.00 USD

Hostel 80.5% 734 reviews
Cadillac Hotel
85.00 USD

Hostel 84.2% 13 reviews
Venice Beach Hostel - Washington Bld
35.00 USD

Hostel 71.0% 239 reviews
Marina 7 Motel
32.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Ocean Park Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.7% 42 reviews
Rodeway Inn
30.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Geneva Motel
28.51 USD

Hotel 69.1% 5 reviews
Howard's Hostel-Hotel
20.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.6%

Overall Rating

312 out of 409 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Venice Beach Hostel - Pacific Avenue'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
68.8%
Value
62.4%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 265 of 291 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone is very happy and friendly. Included breakfast and dinner saves $ which is great.

Disliked: They do not reply to any emails! Took over a week to get my $100 deposit back.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people are friendly and travelers are great to be around. The location is so perfect! If you just want to walk around and enjoy the views, you are definely in the right place. The price is right on top of all that.

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013

Liked: Good location and friendly staff member called Alex.

Disliked: Rude staff especially the manager of the hostel. Upon waiting for over 30 minutes to check in, he said he would be right with us, however when we went to check where he was after waiting even longer, he was in the kitchen having a smoke even though were signs stating no smoking in the hostel. Computers did not work in the rooms, nor the wifi. I hated stayed in many a hostel and I understand staying in a hostel there will always be partying, however there was no quieter times from 12am onwards so there was a constant barrage of people roaming the hallways at all hours drinking and having conversations right outside your room. So much could be done with this hostel if a little bit of their profits was pumped back into the upkeep and management of it. Really disappointing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right on the beach. Friendly staff. Big common rooms.

Disliked: Could be a bit cleaner (a fresh paint job would go a long way) and the neighborhood is loud, but that's to be expected being right on the beach. It's one of the few hostels I've come across that includes dinner - just wish the veggie chili was vegan (not just vegetarian).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful with all enquiries. The location is fantastic, except for heading into downtown via bus.

Disliked: To get to hollywood and a few of the other tourist sites you need a car. Parking is difficult in the summer season.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Rolton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2013 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Location and large private room. Also free waffles for breakfast were excellent

Disliked: Laundry not open long enough during day

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anton Claite

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013 Anton would recommend this property

Liked: The best backpackers I've stayed so far..amazing staff and always helpful 24/7..karaoke night on Thursdays was so much fun..I never realised how terrible I sound on the mic haha :)

Disliked: Anton left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Venice Beach Hostel is in a great location, just one block from the beach and the Venice Beach strip! The staff were really friendly on arrival and gave us a tour of the hostels facilities. We had a private double room which was clean and spacious!!! We also got perfect Wifi from our room, which was a real plus. The free breakfast and dinner was really basic but perfect for a hungry traveler on a budget, loved our stay here and would highly recommend this hostel to other travelers! Great value for money.

Disliked: The only downside was having to pay a $100 deposit for the room and the luggage hold facilities weren't very secure (situated in a tiny hole in the wall, with no door in the middle of the lobby). Other then those two minor details an absolutely fantastic hostel!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Charlotte Gjedsted

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Great, friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Charlotte left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012

Liked: The staff were absolutely lovely. Very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: While we were there there was a student film crew filming in the hostel. It meant that for the majority of the day and evening you couldn't access the communal areas and kitchen. On a couple of occasions ( as we actually stayed there a week) we missed dinner due to the times being changed to accommodate the crew. I'm afraid the dinner included in the price can only be described as inedible and the hostel is run down, poorly decorated and not very clean despite the fact that the cleaners insist on accessing your room every morning before 11 which means you have to get out. I won't recommend this place to anyone and if I hadn't paid upfront I would have moved hostels. From what I gather the cotel nearby is a better bet for pretty much the same price.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pavels Starostins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 December 2012 Pavels would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely amazing location, facilities and staff! Right at the entrance to the Venice Beach, with great room, numerous facilities and services on offer (pool, TV & movies, books, etc.) and excellent staff! We've even had a Thanksgiving dinner made by the staff for all the guests on the Thanksgiving day! The best hostel out of 4 that I visited on my trip to the States.

Disliked: The only suggestion I could probably make would be to make the breakfast selection a bit bigger (even at additional cost).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very helpful and attentive. They made my stay great and looked after my bags while I went shopping for the day.

Disliked: The surrounding area is noisy and a little sketchy at night.. but earplugs made me sleep wonderfully.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

katie spong

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 November 2012 katie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly from the moment I arrived and the guests were great. As soon as I went down for dinner everyone who like me was there travelling independently got talking and planned our evenings out. The location is great right on the beach, and I had a great time here, just me as a girl, felt safe and fine and made friends with the other travellers.

Disliked: The food is basic but you're not forced to eat it. It was great to have dinner and breakfast there so you get chatting to people, but yes it's simple but easy enough to go get something else locally.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Mcgregor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with friendly and funny stuff that go the extra mile to help you out. This place had a great vibe while we were here and with free breakfasts and dinners the dinning and rec rooms were always full of buzz.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fredrik Wollsén

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

03 October 2012 Fredrik would recommend this property

Liked: Seems to be a place where great open and fun people like to stay at

Disliked: The building is a bit worn down

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Campbell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 September 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: free food

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alan Woo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: It is literally a 5 minute walk to the stripe of Venice beach. It is close to everything, and you get a 10% off of rentals at the board shop around the corner.

Disliked: NOthing was bad about the protperty, its just 1-2 staff there that are always being unresonable and "TWO-FACE"

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thomas El-Hariry

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in an excellent location, literally around the corner from the beach, right in the heart of Venice! There are large common areas, which makes it really easy to socialise. The staff are friendly and helpful, and we left intending to go back during our next visit to Venice.

Disliked: Although it is good value for money that breakfast and dinner is provided, the meals were pretty much the same each day, and the food was quite stodgy and bland. However, we saved a lot of money by eating two meals a day at the hostel, so couldn't really complain.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Stefano Piazza

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2012

Liked: Great location. The building is old but with character, it could be nice.

Disliked: Staff are rude with hosts. Cameras in every corner to record hosts. Messages everywhere warn the host about what he MUST do and what is PROHIBITED. I mean, rules are important, especially if many unknown people need to live together, but 1. there are ways and ways to communicate the conventions of an hostel, and they decided to adopt the worse, and 2. too many rules are unpleasant and make the host unconfortable, expecially if the staff is excessively rigid with them. If you want to stay in the area, I would definetly suggest Venice beach Cotel, which is just 10 meters to this, beach direction, is much cleaner and staff is nice.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Laura-Romina Goede

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

06 September 2012

Liked: it is very close to the beach. the stuff is very friendly.

Disliked: we complained about bad roommates and the dirtyness but nothing changed. we saw a huge bug in the room. everything was very old. the bathroom was just nasty. no towels. not enough toiletpaper.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great! It's only 50m away from the beach! This is the 2. hostel I've been with free dinner which is great.

Disliked: There are only two waffle makers in the morning which means most of the time there's a long line waiting but hey it's free breakfast and tastes great so you cannot really complain =) 100$ deposit for a 4 bed private room is a bit over the top.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

KYLIE NOTT

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 KYLIE would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff. This hostel is a great option if your budget is tight and you want to have an excellent location. From the entrance you can walk right around the corner to the Venice boardwalk where the skate park is located. The hostel offers dinner and breakfast included in the rate so you could easily eat for under $10 per day if you use that option (recommend the $3 slice of Margarita pizza at Big Daddy and Sons on the board walk). Complimentary wifi is available. I was with my husband and we booked a private room which was very spacious. The staff clean the rooms daily so although the building is old and reminds me of a quirky holiday home, the place is quiet clean.

Disliked: We were on the 3rd floor and if you have difficulty walking up stairs, request a lower floor as they do not have a lift. The internet on our floor was poor but works well in the common room. More of a destination issue, Venice Beach is free spirited so some people may find the locals a little intimidating, especially at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is right by the beach, really close to bars and restourants. Also close to the bus stop, so it's really easy to move around even if you don't have a car. The stuff is great, they are all so nice and fun. You can always find something to do there. If you want to party you can and if you want to chill you can always watch a movie (they have netflix) or play pool. Free breakfast..it's good for you if you like waffles!

Disliked: they only have one loundry machine

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location! Location! Location!

Disliked: I booked two beds in a 4-bed dorm and ended up in a 12-bed dorm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Venice. Right by the board walk and not too far from Santa Monica only a $1.50 bus journey into downtown LA

Disliked: The directions from LAX are out of date you now have to take the 3 and transfer to the 1 NOT the 2 like it says in the email.