HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Surf City Hostel Los Angeles Hostel

26 Pier Avenue, Hermosa Beach, Los Angeles, USA

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 82%

Staff 89%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Nightclub
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.00USD

Important Information

Check in; 11am till 1am, if your checking in after 10pm please call in advance

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 82%

Staff 89%

Value 80%

Showing 71-44 of 44 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: We stayed here in May 2012, now I'm looking forward to book here again this year. Hermosa Beach is the most wonderful place in Los Angeles, also very safe. The hostel offers the best location, in front of the beach and in the middle of the promenade with bars and restaurants. If you are young, you wouldn't mine the noise from the bar downstairs, you are here to have a good time! I visited all the hostel recommendations before travelling and this one for me was the best as it hadn't had much negative comments and the price was very convenient. This place is clean, there's warm people, safe, independent (as you have your own key to enter whenever you like). I highly recommend this hostel and I am booking again because Hermosa beach is a place I'm in love with.

Disliked: The only inconvenience may be the loud noise coming from the bars and restaurants downstairs, I recommend this hostel to young people who party and sleeps late (not so late, the bars are open until 12-1 am I think...in my country that's early). Also 1 person bathrooms were full sometimes but I read on their Facebook they renovated their bathrooms so maybe there's more space now.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nice and near to the beach

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the hostel is pretty much ON the beach.

Disliked: it is right above a pub, which can make it loud.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, nice atmosphere, clean facilities and the view from the bedroom window is the beautiful Hermosa Beach. Next door to awesome bars and restaurants as well!

Disliked: A bit noisy due to the bars next door - the bass thumping is not very nice when you're trying to sleep. The kitchen is a bit too small but there always still seemed to be enough room to cook and move around. The common areas aren't too welcoming but Hermosa Beach is best enjoyed outside anyways.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Right inthe beach

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't Great, it was the only thing included so I would say its over priced

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: atmosphere, close to the beach, very friendly staff

Disliked: rooms not as on the pictures, loud (no problem for me, but maybe for others)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is excellent for anyone who likes the beach, night life and sunshine! It's the california you've seen on beverly hills 90210 and the OC ! We stayed three nights longer than we ever intended!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was great the staff are really friendly, and I am staying there again because of it!!!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was in a really good location and the staff were fab! very helpful! They have lot's on offer i.e bikes for only $10 a day!! We cycled to Venice beach which was such a good day. Lot'f of pubs/restaurants on the doorstep... b

Disliked: The kitchen was very small, making it hard to cook and sit down at a table to eat.... and no outdoor area... but apart form that all good :)

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This hostel is great value for money and run by really helpful people. at the time i stayed it was filled with friendly people who were able to meet in the good common roon.a great location on the beach and all the sights are either a bike ride, or bus and metro journey

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability